For immediate release: Oct 16, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

14 counties approved for federal public assistance

INDIANAPOLIS (October 16, 2008 ) -- Governor Mitch Daniels has received word that President George W. Bush has approved 14 counties for federal public assistance for damage sustained by severe weather that began September 12.

They are: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Fayette, Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, Porter, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland, Washington and Wayne counties

Public assistance means state government and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and reserved the right to request assistance for additional counties.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

14 counties approved for federal public assistance Oct 16, 2008 content_id:4647176F7FCD4895BBD336B98C54C3C5; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 16, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release;Show on Home