For immediate release: Oct 10, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Governor requests federal public assistance for 14 counties

INDIANAPOLIS (October 10, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels today requested that President George W. Bush provide federal public assistance to 14 Indiana counties for damage sustained by severe weather that began September 12.

The counties are Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Fayette, Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, Porter, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland, Washington and Wayne.

If approved, public assistance means state government and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in these counties would be eligible to apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and reserved the right to request assistance for additional counties.

The governor is seeking federal assistance following damage that occurred in the northwest and southern parts of the state from strong winds and flooding caused by remnants of Hurricane Ike.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Governor requests federal public assistance for 14 counties Oct 10, 2008 content_id:92DE194D9A3D47DBB5E77FEBE8B641A3; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 10, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release;Show on Home