For immediate release: Oct 10, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Governor requests federal individual assistance for Floyd County

INDIANAPOLIS (October 10, 2008) -- Governor Mitch Daniels today requested that President George W. Bush add Floyd County to the disaster declaration for severe weather that began September 12.

If granted, the federal disaster declaration would qualify residents for individual assistance. Specifically, the governor has requested the Individual Assistance programs including the Individual and Household Program, Disaster Housing, Other Needs Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and US Small Business Administration Disaster Loans.

On September 23, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties were designated for federal assistance. Three days later, on September 26, Harrison, Jefferson and Jennings counties were approved.  On October 3, Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer and Switzerland counties were added bringing the current number of counties approved for federal individual assistance to 16.

Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and reserved the right to request the public assistance program when damage to the public infrastructure is better understood.



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Governor requests federal individual assistance for Floyd County Oct 10, 2008 content_id:D6AAD43702B946A09EA18311BB6B1A43; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 10, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release;Show on Home