For immediate release: Oct 07, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Disaster assistance to begin in more southern Indiana counties this week

INDIANAPOLIS (October 6, 2008) -- Governor Mitch Daniels said today the state will offer help this week to storm victims in more counties that were approved last week for federal individual assistance as the result of severe weather that struck the state in mid-September.

The governor was notified Friday that the federal government has approved Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer and Switzerland counties for federal assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses.

The state will open a one-stop disaster assistance center at the Clark County Fairgrounds, 9608 State Road 62 in Charlestown on Wednesday. The facility will include representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and will include computers and phones for impacted residents to complete applications. State agencies that will be represented are the Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA), Department of Workforce Development, Department of Insurance and the Department of Health. It will be open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. EDT Wednesday through October 14, except Sunday.

The governor has asked the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to allow emergency food stamp distribution for victims in all 10 counties. As of late this afternoon, the state has not received a response to its request, but if approved, emergency food stamp distribution will occur at the Clark County Fairgrounds location for residents of Clark County and at existing FSSA county offices in the nine other counties.

More information about the days and times for emergency food stamp applications will be provided once approval has been received. The sites will be:

Crawford County Division of Family Resources
4030 East Goodman Ridge Road, Suite C

Dearborn County Division of Family Resources
230 Mary Avenue, Suite 140

Jackson County Division of Family Resources
1406 East Tipton Street

Knox County Division of Family Resources
1001 Washington Avenue

Lawrence County Division of Family Resources
918 16th Street, Suite 100-C

Martin County Division of Family Resources
609 Ravine Street

Pike County Division of Family Resources
2105 East Main Street, Suite B

Spencer County Division of Family Resources
201 Elm Street

Switzerland County Division of Family Resources
1035 West Main Street, Suite 3

FEMA representatives and other state agencies will not be stationed at these offices, but FEMA applications can be made online or by telephone 24 hours a day. Residents and business owners who sustained losses can apply for FEMA assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

FEMA assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

So far, federal disaster declarations have been approved for 16 Indiana counties as a result of severe weather caused by Hurricane Ike. Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties previously were approved for federal assistance. Damage assessments continue for several other counties.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Disaster assistance to begin in more southern Indiana counties this week Oct 07, 2008 content_id:27215D3D028D4CE69BBEB080936E59B6; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 07, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release