For immediate release: Oct 02, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Governor requests federal assistance for 10 more counties

INDIANAPOLIS (October 2, 2008) -- Governor Mitch Daniels today requested that President George W. Bush add 10 counties to the disaster declaration for severe weather that began September 12. They are Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer and Switzerland counties.

Preliminary assessments indicate the amount of damage in these counties is less than the six counties that have previously been approved for federal assistance as a result of the severe September weather but the governor is hopeful assistance will be provided.

If granted, the federal disaster declaration would qualify residents for individual assistance. Specifically, he has requested the Individual Assistance programs including the Individual and Household Program, Disaster Housing, Other Needs Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and US Small Business Administration Disaster Loans.

On September 23, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties were designated for federal assistance. Three days later, on September 26, Harrison, Jefferson and Jennings counties were approved.

Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and reserved the right to request the public assistance program when damage to the public infrastructure is better understood. Additional counties may also be added as part of the major disaster determination as damage assessments are completed. They are Floyd, Jasper, Newton, Perry, Scott and St. Joseph.



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Governor requests federal assistance for 10 more counties Oct 02, 2008 content_id:42613ED23869426B8FA9C28DEF189783; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Oct 02, 2008; filterDate:200810; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;10 - October;2008;Press Release