For immediate release: Sep 25, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Governor requests federal assistance for three more counties

INDIANAPOLIS (September 25, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels today requested that President George W. Bush add Harrison, Jefferson and Jennings counties to the disaster declaration for severe weather that began September 12.

If granted, the federal disaster declaration would qualify residents for individual assistance. Specifically, he has requested the Individual Assistance programs including the Individual and Household Program, Disaster Housing, Other Needs Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and US Small Business Administration Disaster Loans.

On September 23, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties were designated for federal assistance.

Daniels indicated further damage may be identified and reserved the right to request the public assistance program when damage to the public infrastructure is better understood. Additional counties may also be added as part of the major disaster determination as damage assessments are completed. Other counties that have suffered severe damage include Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Jasper, Martin, Newton, Perry, Scott, Spencer and Switzerland.



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Governor requests federal assistance for three more counties Sep 25, 2008 content_id:45E33867937E4277A3DCAA9E3B382209; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Sep 25, 2008; filterDate:200809; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;09 - September;2008;Press Release