For immediate release: Aug 07, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Brad Rateike
Phone: 317/232-1800

Wabash County approved for public assistance

INDIANAPOLIS (August 7, 2008) -  Governor Mitch Daniels received word from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that Wabash County is now eligible for federal public assistance.

The public assistance declaration - which now has been made for 42 Indiana counties - means state government and local governments and certain non-profit organizations in these counties are now eligible to apply for federal public assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Counties previously approved for public assistance are Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Decatur, Franklin, Fountain, Gibson, Greene, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Jackson, Jay, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Switzerland, Union, Vermillion, Vigo and Washington.


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Wabash County approved for public assistance Aug 07, 2008 content_id:B8FC0ED1F1FC4D8C97FBEF945CA5CC36; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Aug 07, 2008; filterDate:200808; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;08 - August;2008;Press Release