For immediate release: Jun 19, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Seven counties added to individual assistance declaration

INDIANAPOLIS (June 20, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels received word this afternoon that President George W. Bush has approved seven more counties for individual federal assistance. That brings the total number of approved Indiana counties to 37. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Grant, Huntington, Jefferson, Lawrence, Pike, Ripley and Washington counties.  Grant, Pike and Washington counties were not on the original list of counties declared as disasters by the governor, but have been added and received approval because the state has met the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) threshold for damage from the storms that struck from May 30 to June 7. These counties are close or contiguous to others that previously have been declared as disasters and have isolated areas of damage. It is likely there are only a limited number of individuals and businesses that will qualify for assistance in those counties. Gibson, Hamilton, Knox, Parke, Posey, and Putnam also were not on the original list of counties declared as disasters by the governor.

Applications for FEMA assistance are made by telephone or computer and can be done as soon as a county is declared for individual assistance. It is not necessary for a storm victim to visit an office to complete an application. The applications may be found at or the state's emergency assistance Web site at The toll free number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

To date, the 37 counties approved for individual assistance are Adams, Bartholomew, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington and Wayne counties.



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Seven counties added to individual assistance declaration Jun 19, 2008 content_id:88D723D8E5EB44DBBE3840AC3399438B; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Jun 19, 2008; filterDate:200806; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;06 - June;2008;Press Release