For immediate release: Jun 07, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Daniels declares flood emergency for 10 Indiana counties

INDIANAPOLIS (June 7, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels has issued a disaster emergency for 10 Indiana counties because of severe storms that have caused flooding, closed roads, downed power lines and other severe damage to homes, businesses and structures.

The governor signed Executive Order 08-10 to include Brown, Clay, Greene, Johnson, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Shelby, Vermillion and Vigo counties. Initially, the governor indicated he would declare a disaster emergency for Johnson and Morgan counties, but he has expanded the declaration after receiving additional reports from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security.

At the current time, these 10 counties appear to be the most severely impacted by the current flooding emergency, but as additional requests come to the state Emergency Operations Center, the disaster declaration may be expanded to include more counties.

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take needed actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step needed to request assistance from the federal government.

The executive order signed today is separate from one signed by the governor June 6 for 41 counties in the state affected by tornadoes and severe storms from May 30 to June 4.


Media contact: Jane Jankowski, Office of the Governor, 317/232-1622,

Media contact: John Erickson, Department of Homeland Security, 317/234-4214, 

« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Daniels declares flood emergency for 10 Indiana counties Jun 07, 2008 content_id:73A49492092E42E5861D133F7B0508EA; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Jun 07, 2008; filterDate:200806; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;06 - June;2008;Press Release