For immediate release: Jun 06, 2008
Posted by: [GOV]
Contact: Jane Jankowski
Phone: 317/232-1622

Daniels declares disaster for 41 counties

INDIANAPOLIS (June 6, 2008) - Governor Mitch Daniels today took the first step to obtain federal assistance for Hoosiers in central and south central Indiana affected by severe storms that began May 30.

In compliance with federal regulations and Indiana Code, the governor signed Executive Order 08-09 to declare a disaster emergency in 41 counties with known destroyed and damaged residential properties because of tornadoes, severe winds, rain and flash flooding. A disaster declaration by the governor is one step needed in the process to request assistance from the federal government.

"No matter how many times I see it, I am constantly amazed and awed by the human spirit and the spirit of compassion that characterizes our state," said Daniels. He, state Senators Jean Breaux and Jim Merritt, state Representative John Bartlett and other local officials walked through the Falcon Point apartment complex that was devastated on the first night of storms.

The National Weather Service has informed state officials it appears that the events from May 30 to June 4 were one weather system event. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials will make the final determination.

Damage assessments for all affected counties are still being collected and analyzed but as soon as that is complete, the governor will submit the request.

Daniels said it is likely the state will seek individual assistance that would qualify eligible residents for individual and household assistance. That would include disaster housing, disaster unemployment assistance, crisis counseling, and individual and household programs, as well as hazard mitigation and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

The disaster declaration includes the counties of Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Dearborn, Decatur, Elkhart, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lagrange, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Ohio, Owen, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warrick, Wayne and White. Further damage may be identified and additional counties may be added to the disaster determination.  

A copy of the governor's executive order may be found at this link:

A map of the counties included in the disaster declaration may be found at this link:

Photos of the walk through may be found at this link later today:


Media contact: Jane Jankowski, Office of the Governor, 317/232-1622,

Media contact: John Erickson, Department of Homeland Security, 317/234-4214, 


« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Daniels declares disaster for 41 counties Jun 06, 2008 content_id:A447D80FEC9948A0905B86CA39588071; type:press; agency:GOV; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Jun 06, 2008; filterDate:200806; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:GOV;06 - June;2008;Press Release