For immediate release: Feb 07, 2008
Posted by: [DWD]
Contact: Joe DiLaura
Phone: 317-232-3396

Deadline for Disaster Unemployment Assistance March 7, 2008

INDIANAPOLIS (February 7, 2008) - As a result of the recent federal disaster declaration issued for Northern Indiana, some workers in Carroll, Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Jasper, Marshall, Pulaski, Tippecanoe, and White Counties, Indiana may be eligible for special Disaster Unemployment Assistance Benefits (DUA), according to the Department of Workforce Development.   The disaster declaration was issued as a result of severe storms and flooding which took place in January 2008.

To be eligible for assistance, workers or self-employed individuals must be unemployed as a result of a major disaster in a major disaster area. 

The deadline for affected workers to file is Friday, March 7, 2008.

The Federal Disaster Relief Act of 1974 provides assistance to individuals who have lost their employment as a direct result of a major disaster. Federal assistance becomes available to eligible individuals when an area is declared a major disaster by the President.

On January 30, 2008, following a request from Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels, President Bush signed a disaster declaration making Northern Indiana counties eligible for an array of federal disaster relief programs.

Unemployment assistance is available to unemployed workers if, as a direct result of the disaster, the individual:

Interested claimants may apply for benefits at their local WorkOne center. To find the location of your closest WorkOne center go to



« Back to News Release List

Link to this event:

Deadline for Disaster Unemployment Assistance March 7, 2008 Feb 07, 2008 content_id:9C6AABC451F4467EB69C21B83F55C08A; type:press; agency:DWD; showOnHomepage:Yes; sortDate:Feb 07, 2008; filterDate:200802; isBanner:no; agencyDivision:DWD;02 - February;2008;Press Release