INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR ALL MASSAGE
THERAPIST APPLICANTS APPLYING BY 
GRANDFATHERING

GRANDFATHERING APPLICATION DEADLINE: JULY 1, 2009.  Grandfathering applications postmarked after July 1, 2009 will not be accepted.

Applicants applying for certification under the grandfathering provision can apply by falling under one of the following: (All proof is subject to board approval)

You MUST prove that you have practiced massage therapy in INDIANA after June 30, 2001 and before July 1, 2009, and either:

1. PRACTICED FOR 2+ YEARS: Practiced massage therapy for at least 2 consecutive years in any location in Indiana and provides business records or IRS records as proof; or
2. PRACTICED & 500 HOURS: Has completed at least 500 hours of supervised classroom and hands on instruction in massage therapy; or
3. PRACTICED & APPROVED SCHOOL: Has completed a program in massage therapy accredited by:

A.  ICOPE, or

B. another state with substantially equivalent standards, or
C. approved by the board.

If you do not meet any of the above requirements, you may qualify under this grandfathering provision:

4. Enrolled in a massage therapy program that was in good standing and required at least 500 hours of supervised classroom and hands on instruction before July 1, 2007 and graduated before January 1, 2008.
****You MUST submit documentation to support each box that you check on the application. All copies must be notarized*****
If you did not start practicing in Indiana until after January 1, 2009, you will not qualify under grandfathering. You may wish to apply under the regular certification process which will require you to take an exam approved by the board.

SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION

1. Completed application. NOTE: Your Social Security number is required by the Professional Licensing Agency in accordance with IC 4-1-8-1. Disclosure is mandatory and this application cannot be processed without it. 

2. Application fee of $100.00. Application fees are nonrefundable. Make check or money order payable to “Indiana Professional Licensing Agency”.
3. Passport Photo: A recent passport type photograph of the applicant, approximately two (2) inches by two (2) inches in size.
4. Massage Therapy Program/School: If you attended a program in Massage Therapy you must submit an official, certified, or notarized copy of a transcript of grades or certificate/diploma from the school from which the applicant obtained his or her degree that shows that the applicant has met all requirements for graduation/completion. Graduates of a foreign program must submit an official translation if the transcript is not in English. 
If you are a foreign graduate, you must also submit a credentials evaluation. The credential evaluation must be specifically prepared for the State of Indiana by the service listed below:

International Education Research Foundation, Inc.  (IERF) 

P.O. Box 3665 
Culver City, CA  90231
Phone: 310.258.9451
Fax: 310.342.7086
www.ierf.org
5. Business Records/IRS Records: You must submit proof of practice in Indiana by submitting one or a combination of the following:
Business records* could include, but are not limited to:

· Appointment books/logs (must be notarized)
· Notarized affidavit from accountant verifying occupation and employment, if self employed

· Notarized affidavit from client(s) (minimum of 3)
IRS Records must be notarized, verifiable, and must state that the applicant was employed as a massage therapist. 

*The Board may request other information in addition to the above listed items in order to consider your application for approval.

6. Positive Response: If you answered “yes” to any questions on page 2 of your application, explain fully, including all related details in a signed and notarized statement. Include the violation, location, date, and disposition. You should also include any court records available regarding the incident
7. Other State Licensure/Certification: If you hold or have held a license/certificate/permit in any state, including Indiana, to practice any regulated profession, you must have that state board provide verification directly to the Professional Licensing Agency. We do not need verification of county or city permits. 
8. Name Change documentation: A notarized copy of a marriage certificate or an official affidavit indicating any legal name change must be submitted if your name differs from that on any documents.

The board could request additional documentation as they deem appropriate to make a determination on your application. All pending files (incomplete) shall be closed after one (1) year from date of application, at which time reapplication will be necessary.

THE FAIR INFORMATION PRACTICE ACT

In compliance with IC 4-1-6, this agency is notifying you that you must provide the requested information or your application will not be processed. You have the right to challenge, correct, or explain information maintained by this agency. The information you provide will become public record. Your examination scores and grade transcripts are confidential except in circumstances where their release is required by law, in which case you will be notified.

PROFESSIONAL LICENSING AGENCY

If you have questions concerning the application process, please call 317-234-2051, visit our website at http://www.in.gov/pla/massage.htm or e-mail us at pla6@pla.In.gov.

If you have any changes to the information you provided during the application process or after you are licensed (i.e. name change, address), be advised that it is your responsibility to update that information with the Professional Licensing Agency within thirty (30) days of a change. To update your name, you must submit proof of change (marriage certificate, legal name change court document, divorce decree) by mail or fax at (317) 233-4236.  To update your address, you may submit this information by mail, fax, or e-mail.

