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1.   New CPA License Applicant Information 
 

 

 Question: Does the State of Indiana provide a license or a certificate? 
 Answer: Technically, the State of Indiana provides certificates per state statutes and rules. However, 

most people refer to this certificate as a license. In the State of Indiana, the use of the 
words certificate and license are interchangeable. 

 
 Question: What forms do I need to complete? 
 Answer:  To apply for a new CPA license you will need to complete and submit the Accountancy 

Application Part 1 & 2 Form (State Form 49209) and notarized CPA Verification of 
Experience Form (State Form 53888) to The Board of Accountancy. 

 
Question:  How many years of experience do I need to meet the work requirements? 
 Answer:  Initial issuance – 2 years (Indiana Code 25-2.1-3-10) 
  Reciprocal – 4 years (Indiana Code 25-2.1-4-4) 
  
 Question: Do I have to work directly under a licensed CPA to gain accounting experience? 
 Answer: No, but a licensee must verify experience. (Indiana Code 25-2.1-3-10) 
 
 Question: I already mailed my transcripts to CPA Exam Services; do I need to re-submit them? 
 Answer: No, IPLA has your application file from CPA Exam Services. 
 
 Question: How do I get a CPA Exam application? 
 Answer Call 1-800-CPA-EXAM ext 4263 
  Email: mshin@nasba.org  
  Website: NASBA.org 
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2. Current Indiana License Holder (Active and Inactive) Information 
 

 
Question: How do I access my information to renew or update? 
 Answer: Go To: mylicense.in.gov/egov 
  License #: (Tip: This is your entire license number (include letters and numbers).) 
  Password: (Tip: Your password is the last four digits of your social security number. If you 

are accessing your business, enter your license number again.) 
 
Question: I forgot my license number, how can I learn my license number? 
 Answer: Go to: mylicense.in.gov/everification/Search.aspx 
  A search for your name will provide your license number. 
 
Question: Why does it cost more to renew online? 
 Answer: The additional cost for online renewals goes directly to the credit card processing companies 

for their processing service. The Board of Accountancy does not receive that additional 
amount.  

 
Question: Why can’t I renew online? It will not let me renew and my license expires in June. 
 Answer: With the exception of the professional corporation license, all accountancy licenses expire 

June 30, 2012. License renewals will be available starting April 18, 2012. If you do not want 
to renew online, you will need to contact our office at accountancy@PLA.IN.gov  to request 
the appropriate forms. 

 
Question: Do I need to submit my CPE certificates and documents when I renew? 
 Answer: You do not need to submit the certificates and documents for review. You, however, must 

make sure that you indeed do meet the requirements if you are seeking an active license.  
 
Question: Do you ever audit licensees? 
 Answer: Yes, the board will be performing an audit of randomly selected license renewals this year. 

The board will be auditing a significantly higher percentage than in the past. Individuals that 
are audited must provide copies of all documents and certificates of Continuing Professional 
Education for the three (3) years from January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2011.  

 
 Question: I have a CPA license in the State of Indiana. Where do I get my proof of the license? 
 Answer: You may download one free license card (wallet size) from our website.  
 
 Question: How do I make changes to my address and email? 
 Answer: Be sure to review Page 10 - Visual Guide to Website to Renew, Update and Order License 

Card. This page will provide you with the specific location on our website to update your 
information. 

 
 Question: How do I request a wall certificate? 
 Answer: You may purchase wall certificates by contacting our service vendor:  
    Website: officialframes.com 
    Toll Free: 877-259-5484 
    In the Indianapolis area: 317-536-5646 
 
 Question: How do I change my license from active to inactive? 
 Answer: This must be done at the time of renewal. 
  Submit the renewal fee and the completed renewal form with the appropriate space 

marked. (Indiana Code 25-2.1-4-5 and 872 IAC 1-3-14.5) 
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 Question: How often do I need to renew my CPA license and what is the fee? 
 Answer: CPAs renew every three years on June 30. Currently the renewal fee is $105.00. (872 IAC 1-1-

10 and 872 IAC 1-3-6) 
 
 Question: Is there a late fee for renewing a CPA license? 
 Answer: Yes, a $50.00 restoration fee plus renewal fee.  
 
 Question: What is the CPE requirement if I choose to renew active? 
 Answer: If licensed for the full three-year reporting period, 120 CPE hours are required for the three-

year reporting period (20 minimum hours per year) 10% of the total must be in accounting 
and/or auditing and at least 4 hours must be in ethics for accountants starting for reporting 
period of 1/1/09 to12/31/11. No more than 50% of the total may be in self-study. (872 IAC 1-3-3 

and 872 IAC 1-3-3.1) 
 

 Question: How do I know if the CPE I am taking counts toward renewal of my license? 

 Answer: Neither CPE courses nor CPE sponsors are required to be pre approved by the Indiana 
Board of Accountancy. For a course to qualify and be included in the CPE minimum hour 
requirement, it must be formally organized, primarily instructional, and contribute directly to 
professional competence in the practice of public accountancy. (872 IAC 1-3-3.4) 

 
 Question: If I am not practicing when I renew, do I need CPE? 
 Answer: No. You may renew inactive without obtaining any CPE hours. When in an inactive status 

you may not practice or hold yourself out as a licensee. You may use the initials “CPA, PA, 
or AP” only if the word “inactive” follows. (Indiana Code 25-2.1-4-5(c)) 

 

 Question: How do I activate my inactive license? 

 Answer: Obtain 120 hours of CPE. The hours must be obtained no EARLIER than 3 years prior to 
the date the application is submitted for activation. Ten percent of the 120-hour requirement 
must be in accounting and/or auditing and at least 4 hours of the 120-hour requirement 
must be in ethics for accountants. No more than 50% of the total 120 may be in self-study. 
(872 IAC 1-3-14.5 and 872 IAC 1-3-3 – 872 IAC 1-3-5

 
 Question: Who should I contact if I have more questions? 
 Answer: Please email accountancy@PLA.IN.gov and you should receive a response within 24 

hours. 
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3. Continuing Professional Education Information  
 

 
When submitting your renewal as an Active license holder, you will be attesting that you have met the 
following CPE requirements: 

 A minimum of 120 total hours of instruction during the three year reporting period of 
  January 1, 2009 – December 31, 2011. 

 

 No less than 20 hours per calendar year. 
 

 No less than 10% of the total hours (12 hours), for the reporting period, must be in 
  Accounting and/or Auditing (A&A). 

 

 No less than 4 hours, for the reporting period, must be in Ethics (Ethics). 
 

 No more than 50% of the required 120 hours for the reporting period, will be accepted 
  as self study. 

 
 
 Question: How much CPE do I need if my license was issued in the current reporting period?  
 Answer: Please refer to the table below for the CPE required to renew in an active status. 
 
 

 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Requirements   

Date of Issuance of Certificate 
Required Hours for 

Three (3) Year 
Reporting Period 

Required Minimum 
Hours for the Year of 

Issuance or 
Reactivation 

First Year of the Reporting Period   
January 1 – March 31  120 20 
April 1 – June 30  110 15 
July 1 – September 30  100 10 
October 1 – December 31  90 0 
   
Second Year of the Reporting Period   
January 1 – March 31  80 20 
April 1 – June 30  70 15 
July 1 – September 30  60 10 
October 1 – December 31  50 0 
   
Third Year of the Reporting Period   
January 1 – March 31  40 N/A 
April 1 – June 30 30 N/A 
July 1 – September 30  20 N/A 
October 1 – December 31  0 0 
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 Question: What is the difference between Renewal Periods and Reporting Periods? 
 Answer: License Renewal Periods 
   Licenses have a three (3) year cycle 
   July 1, 2009 – expires June 30, 2012 
   July 1, 2012 – expires June 30, 2015 
   June 30, 2015 – expires June 30, 2018 
 
  CPE Reporting Periods 
  Reporting period for license issued 2012 
   January 1, 2009 – December 31, 2009 
   January 1, 2010 – December 31, 2010 
   January 1, 2011 – December 31, 2011 
 
  Reporting period for license issued 2015 
   January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2012 
   January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2013 
   January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2014 
 
 Question: What do you mean by Group Program?  
 Answer: Education received through real-time interaction with an instructor and other participants. 
   May be in a classroom, conference room setting, telephonic, or by using the internet. 
   (872 IAC 1-0.5) 

 

 Question: I teach a college course in beginning accounting, can I include that class as a CPE 
credit? 

 Answer: You cannot receive CPE credit for day-to-day course instruction. (872 IAC 1-3-3.1) 

 
Question:  I want to take a course online; can I include that course as a CPE credit? 
 Answer: The course must be formally organized, primarily instructional, and designed to enhance 

your knowledge and skill in providing services in the practice of public accountancy. (872 IAC 

1-3-4) 

 
 Question: I plan to teach a seminar. Can I include that seminar as a CPE credit? 
 Answer: Lecturing, Instructing, and Discussion Leaders: You will be permitted 1 hour of CPE for 

every 2 hours preparation for the first time you prepare. You will not be able to count this 
preparation time again if you repeat the lecture, instruction, or discussion leadership. This 
amount cannot exceed 50% of the required minimum of the subject. (872 IAC 1-3-3) 

  Example: Teaching a course in ethics. You can only receive credit for no more than 2 hours 
of CPE. To receive 2 hours of CPE you will need to have prepared a total of 4 hours.  

 
 Question: Can I include lunch meetings and committee work with the state CPA organization?   
 Answer: You are not permitted to include them as CPE. In addition, you can not include business 

meetings that relate to elections of directors or officer; treasurers’ reports and committee 
reports. You will not be able to include local or national professional groups. (872 IAC 1-3-4) 
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 Question: How do I calculate time? 
 Answer:  

 One (1) fifty (50) minute period is equal to one (1) hour. 

 Twenty-five (25) minutes is equal to one-half (.5) hour. Half hour increments will only be 
accepted after one full hour has been completed. 

 When the total minutes of a course are greater than fifty (50) minutes, but not divisible by 
fifty (50), CPE credit hours granted will be rounded down to the nearest one-half (.5) credit.  

  Example: a course with a total of 140 minutes will equate to 2.5 hours of CPE credit. 
  (872 IAC 1-3-3) 

 
 Question: Can I take some college courses to meet my CPE credit? 
 Answer: You can receive CPE credit for graduate level courses. PA’s and AP’s who do not have a 

Bachelor’s degree in accounting, business administration and economics may receive CPE 
credit for taking courses at an accredited university or college in accounting, business 
administration, and economics. (872 IAC 1-3-3.3) 

 
 Question: My license expires June 30, 2012, will I be sent something by email or mail closer to 

that time or will I need to contact someone? 
 Answer: You will be sent an email alerting you it is time to renew your license. You will be permitted 

to renew your license online on or after April 18, 2012. If you prefer to renew by mail, you 
may contact our office anytime after May 1, 2012 and request the appropriate forms be 
sent to you. 

 
 Question: How do we become a sponsor of CPE in Indiana?  
 Answer: The Board of Accountancy (the board) does not pre-approve a CPE sponsor. (872 1AC 1-3-5.1 
  and 872 IAC 1-3-4) 

 
 Question: If I have 110 CPE hours for the first two years, would I still be required to obtain 20 

CPE hours from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011 or would I just need 10 
hours for the completion of my 120 CPE hours for the third year period? 

 Answer: The CPE reporting period is January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2011. Yes, you must 
obtain the minimum of 20 hours each calendar year, regardless of how many hours you 
obtained in the previous years. The minimum yearly requirement must be obtained each 
year, and cannot be made up or carried over. 

 
 Question: Why does it cost more to renew online? 
 Answer: The additional cost for online renewals goes directly to the credit card processing 

companies for their processing service. The board does not receive that additional amount. 
 
 Question: I am taking college courses. Do they count for CPE? 
 Answer: All licensees will be given CPE credit for graduate level courses. Credit shall be given at 

the rate of 15 CPE hours for each semester credit hour. CPE credit granted for these hours 
will be given only for a grade of C or above. A grade of C- or below is not considered as 
satisfactory completion of a course by the board. Please note that all courses must meet 
the definition of a CPE course pursuant to 872 IAC 1-3-3.4. (872 IAC 1-3-4) 

 
 Question: How do I report my CPE? 
 Answer: Report the continuing education on the renewal application. Licensees are required to sign 

a statement on the renewal form attesting that they have complied with the CPE 
requirements, if applicable. The Board may verify any information submitted by the 
applicant and may request the applicant to submit evidence supporting the course 
information. (872 IAC 1-3-6)  
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4.  Expired Indiana License Holder Activity  
 

 
 Question: Do I have to retake the exam to reinstate my license? 
 Answer: If your license is expired from the State of Indiana, you do not need to retake the CPA 

exams. 
 
 Question: How do I reinstate a license that has been expired more than 18 months? 
 Answer: Request a renewal form by email to pla11@pla.in.gov, after you receive the renewal form 

submit of $155.00, ($50.00 restoration fee plus $105.00 renewal fee) a letter of explanation 
of your employment since expiration and proof of the 120 hours of CPE for an active 
license.  

 
 Question: What is the difference between Expired and an Inactive License? 
 Answer: Inactive License holders maintain their license and pay the licensing fees but they do not 

participate in Continuing Professional Education (CPE). A license that is expired does not 
pay licensing fees or participate in Continuing Professional Education.  
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5.  Foreign State/Territory or Nation Information  
 

 
 Question: What Forms do I need to complete to file to obtain an active license in the State of 

Indiana if I am from another state? 
 Answer: If you have never obtained a license in another state you will need to utilize our Transfer of 

Grades process. If you have a license in another state you will need to utilize our 
Substantial Equivalency Process. 

 
 Question: How do I transfer my CPA exam grades from Indiana to another state? 
 Answer: You will need the Indiana Score Transfer Authorization Form which is available on 
  NASBA's website under Indiana at NASBA.org 
  Go to, EXAMS  
  CPA EXAM  
  Click- Indiana State 
  Click- First time application 
 
 Question: How do I transfer my grades from another state into Indiana? 
 Answer: You will need the Indiana Score Transfer Authorization Form which is available on 

NASBA's website under Indiana at NASBA.org 
  Go to, EXAMS  
  CPA EXAM  
  Click- Indiana State 
  Click- First time application 
 
 Question: How do I receive a verification or certification of my Indiana license for another 

state? 
 Answer: If you hold an Indiana license, the license is verified at http://www.in.gov/pla/verify.htm 
 

http://www.nasba.org/
http://www.nasba.org/
http://www.in.gov/pla/verify.htm
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6.  Board of Accountancy General Information  
 

 
 Question: When does the Board of Accountancy meet? 
 Answer: For the 2012 Year they are as follows: 

January 13, 2012  CC 14  9:00am  10:00am 

February 17, 2012  W064  9:00am  10:00am 

April 20, 2012     IUPUI* 9:00am  10:00am 

May 18, 2012    W064  9:00am  10:00am 

July 13, 2012    Conference Room #5  9:00am  10:00am 

August 17, 2012   W064  9:00am  10:00am 

October 19, 2012   W064  9:00am  10:00am 

November 16, 2012  W064  9:00am  10:00am 
 
  All meetings, except the month of April, are held at the: 
    Government Center South 
    402 W. Washington Street 
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 
 
  *April Meeting will be held at: 
    IUPUI Campus 
    Business/SPEA Building  
    801 W. Michigan Street 
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202 
 
 Question: Can I call and get the Board of Accountancy decisions? 
 Answer: No, you will be notified by email. 
 
 Question: Who is on the Board of Accountancy? 
 Answer: Shelley R. Johnson, CPA, Chairman  
  Gregory S. Coy, CPA, Vice-Chairman  
  Timothy R. Deisher, CPA 
  John P. Kane, CPA  
  James O'Brien, Esq., CPA  
  Randolph G. Holt, Esq., Consumer Member 
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7.   Visual Guide to Website to Renew, Update and Order License Card 
 
 


