IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana Real Estate Commission > How Do I... > Continuing Education (CE) Continuing Education (CE)

View CE Requirements

What are the CE requirements?

Each year, July 1st through June 30th, twelve (12) hours of continuing education is required. For more detailed information on continuing education requirements, click here.

What happens if I did not get all my CE hours by June 30th of any given year?

You are subject to audit and if found to be in non compliance you will be subject to a civil penalty of up to $5000 and will be required to make up the deficient hours.

I just received my license, do I need CE in this year?

You are not required to complete the CE required before the following June 30th of the year you were licensed in. However, you are required to complete 30 hours of post licensure education within the next 2 years. Click here for more information.

Where should I take my continuing education courses?

The Commission cannot recommend a specific course provider. Please review the list of all approved courses and their providers that is made available on the Commission website.

When are continuing education courses being offered?

Please contact a course provider directly with questions about course offerings, schedules, and costs. The Commission does not maintain any records of these details for licensees.

Mandatory Subjects

Are there any mandatory subjects?

No, however if you were acting as a manager of a company or was working as a sole proprietor during any part of the CE year, 4 of the 12 hours must be managing broker specific.

Approved Providers

Where can I find an approved provider of continuing education?

Approved continuing education providers are viewable here.

Reporting Continuing Education

How do I report my continuing education?

You will attest to your completion of continuing education on the renewal application.  Send proof of completion only if you are notified that you have been chosen for the random continuing education audit after renewals are collected.

Can I get an extension of time to get my CE to renew my license?

The Commission does not grant extensions.  You are subject to audit and if found to be in non compliance you will be subject to a civil penalty of up to $5000 and will be required to make up the deficient hours.

Can I get my CE waived?

There are two conditions under which a waiver of continuing education requirements could be granted.  One is service in the United States Armed Forces for one (1) year or more of the two (2) year license period.  The other is an incapacitating illness preventing either part-time or full-time employment for at least twelve (12) months of the three (3) year license period.

How do I apply for a waiver of continuing education?

An application for a waiver can be found here