IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

Licensure as a Wholesale Drug Distributor Licensure as a Wholesale Drug Distributor

Application for Licensure as a Wholesale Drug Distributor

The Board shall issue a wholesale drug distributor ("WDD") license to a facility that submits:

  1. a completed WDD application;
  2. $100 application fee; and
  3. verification of Verified-Accredited Wholesale Distributors® (VAWD®) accreditation (copy of VAWD certificate).
  4. (if applicable) a letter stating that the application is for a change of location or ownership and providing the current license number of the facility. When changing ownership you will be issued a new license number.

→  These instructions refer to facilities both in Indiana and outside of Indiana.

→  If you have responded in the affirmative ("yes") to one of the questions on the application, then you must explain fully, including all related details, in a signed and notarized statement.  You must also submit documentation regarding the incident(s) in question.

Fee Information

Applicants must submit a $100 application fee in the form of a check or money order made payable to the "Professional Licensing Agency".   The fee must be submitted with the application to the following:

Professional Licensing Agency
402 W Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, IN  46204.

Verified-Accredited Wholesale Distributors® (VAWD®) Requirement

Indiana law requires wholesale drug distributors (WDD) of legend drugs to obtain and maintain accreditation from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy®’s (NABP®).  If you are required to be licensed as a Wholesale Drug Distributor in Indiana, then you are required to be VAWD accredited.  There is no legal basis to be exempted out from the VAWD requirement.

If you are physically shipping legend drugs into or within Indiana, you must be licensed and obtain VAWD unless you are explicitly excepted out of the licensure requirement by statute; as such, any company that does not take physical possession of the legend drugs or is exempted as referenced below does not need a license in Indiana.

A VAWD application form and instructions can be obtained on NABP’s website.

 

License Card

Once your license is issued, an e-mail will be sent to the e-mail address indicated on the application form.  This e-mail will advise you of the new license number and to go to our website at http://www.in.gov/pla/license.htm to get a license card.   You need to login with your Indiana wholesale drug distributor license number, including the "A" at the end (4800XXXXA), as the login ID and password.  You can then download a free license card for immediate printing or to purchase a blue license card to be mailed to you.   

Questions

If you have any questions, please contact our office at pla4@pla.IN.gov.