IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

CLOSE MENU
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > INDIANA BOARD OF PHARMACY > Home Medical Equipment Services Providers ("HME") Information > HME Facility Application & Instructions HME Facility Application & Instructions

 

Application for Licensure as a Home Medical Equipment Service Provider
 

If you are providing home medical equipment services, as defined in IC 25-26-21, to residents in Indiana, you are required to hold an Indiana HME license.  You are required to have a physical facility and medical equipment inventory in the State of Indiana. Licenses are location specific. 

Initial Application Requirements - In-State Provider

1. Completed HME application;
2. $150 application fee;
3. Proof of product liability and professional liability insurance which is location specific;
4. Verification letters as indicated on the application, as applicable;
5. Inspection by a Board of Pharmacy Compliance Officer

* Upon receipt of all requested information, the Board office will contact the individual listed on the application to schedule an inspection.

Initial Application Requirements - Non-Resident Provider

Effective July 1, 2016, an out-of-state provider may obtain a HME license on the basis of reciprocity if:
1. The out-of-state provider possesses a valid license granted by another state;
2. The legal standards for licensure in the other state are comparable to Indiana's standards; and,
3. The other state extends reciprocity to providers licensed in Indiana.

Application requirements:
1. Completed HME application;
2. $150 application fee;
3. Proof of product liabiliy and professional liability insurance which is location specific;
4. Verification letters as indicated on the application, if applicable;
5. Official verification of licensure in another state;
6. A copy of their home state's statutes/rules regarding HME services; and,
7. A letter from their home state stating that they offer reciprocity to Indiana HME providers.  This can also be documented on the official verification.

An inspection is not required.

Relocation

The Board shall relocate a Home Medical Equipment Service Provider ("HME") license to a facility that submits: 

  1. a completed HME application;
  2. attach a letter indicating your current HME license number and advising that the application and information is for a change of location; 
  3. $150.00 initial application fee;
  4. verification letters as indicated on the application, if applicable; the verification letters must indicate the new address;  
  5. proof of product liability and professional liability insurance, location specific;
  6. to an inspection* by a Board of Pharmacy Compliance Officer.

* Upon receipt of all requested information, the Board office will contact the individual listed on the application to schedule an inspection. 

Change of Ownership

  1. a completed HME application;
  2. attach a letter indicating your current HME license number and advising that the application and information is for a change of ownership; 
  3. $150.00 initial application fee;
  4. verification letters as indicated on the application, if applicable;
  5. proof of product liability and professional liability insurance, location specific; must contain new owner's information if applying for a change of ownership

Exceptions to Licensure

The following entities are not required to obtain an HME license to provide home medical equipment services:

1. A home health agency (as defined in IC 16-27-1-2) that does not sell, lease or rent home medical equipment.
2. A hospital licensed under IC 16-21-2 that:
(A) provides home medical equipment services only as an integral part of patient care; and
(B) does not provide home medical equipment services through a separate business entity.
3. A manufacturer or wholesale distributor that does not sell, lease or rent home medical equipment directly to a consumer.
4. A practitioner (as defined in IC 25-1-9-2) who does not sell, lease or rent home medical equipment.
5. A veterinarian.
6. A hospice program (as defined in IC 16-25-1.1-4) that does not sell, lease or rent home medical equipment.
7. A health facility licensed under IC 16-28 that does not sell, lease or rent home medical equipment.
8. A provider that:
(A) provides home medical equipment services within the scope of the licensed provider's professional practice;
(B) is otherwise licensed by the state; and
(C) receives annual continuing education that is documented by the provider or the licensing entity.
9. An employee of a licensed HME.
10. A pharmacist or pharmacy; however, they are subject to the requirements of IC 25-26-21 and 856 IAC 1-39.

Fee Information

New applications and change of ownership submissions must be accompanied by a $150 application fee in the form of a check or money order made payable to the "Professional Licensing Agency". The fee(s) must be submitted with the application to the following:

Professional Licensing Agency
402 W Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, IN  46204.

Updated License Card

To receive an updated license card, you need to verify the requested updates have been completed by using the "Search" function on our License Express website at http://www.in.gov/pla/license.htm.   Upon verification of the update, you need to login at the "Order License Card" link to request and pay for a duplicate registration card.  You will use the HME license number, including the "A" at the end (i.e. 6900XXXXA), as the login ID and password.

 

Additional Information

For questions regarding the Indiana HME license, please contact our office by e-mail at pla4@pla.IN.gov.