IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > INDIANA BOARD OF PHARMACY > Licensee Information and Applications > Pharmacy Technician in Training Requirements and Application Pharmacy Technician in Training Requirements and Application

Application for Certification as a Pharmacy Technician
Affidavit of Completion of a Board Approved Training and Education Program 
List of Board Approved Training and Education Programs

The Board shall issue a pharmacy technician in training permit to an individual who:

  1. submits a completed application and $25 application fee;
  2. is at least 18 years of age (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information);
  3. is a high school graduate or has a GED (in lieu of meeting this requirement, you will need to submit additional documentation; see below for more information); 
  4. submits to a criminal background check;  and 
  5. has not been convicted of a crime that has direct bearing upon their ability to work with legend drugs or controlled substances.

Age Requirement
Indiana law requires a certified pharmacy technician/technician in training to be at least 18 years old.  If you are not yet 18, then you must have the qualifying pharmacist at the pharmacy at which you will be employed to submit a statement supporting your request to be a certified pharmacy technician/technician in training.

High School Diploma or GED Certificate Requirement
If you are currently enrolled in high school, then you will need to have your high school counselor submit a statement advising the Board of your academic performance as well as a copy of your current transcript.  You must also have the qualifying pharmacist at the pharmacy at which you will be employed to submit a statement supporting your request to be a certified pharmacy technician/technician in training.

If you are currently working on your GED, then you will need to have an individual from the center at which you are taking the GED to provide the Board with a statement advising them of your progress.  You must also have the qualifying pharmacist at the pharmacy at which you will be employed to submit a statement supporting your request to be a certified pharmacy technician/technician in training.

If you are not currently in high school or working on your GED, then you will need to have the qualifying pharmacist at the pharmacy at which you will be employed to submit a statement supporting your request to be a certified pharmacy technician/technician in training.

What Do I Submit With My Completed Application for a Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Permit? 
What is a Pharmacy Technician in Training? 
What Do I Submit to the Board Once I Complete My Board Approved Training or Examination? 
The Technician Training Program 
Training Records Required 
Prohibited Activities 
Identification in Pharmacy 
Questions


What Do I Submit With My Completed Application for a Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Permit?

✓  $25 application fee;
✓  if under 18 years of age, statement from your qualifying pharmacist;
✓  copy of high school diploma, college diploma, or GED or documentation as stated in the section above; 
✓  if you answered “yes” to any of the questions on page 2 of the application, then you must explain fully, including all related details, in a signed and notarized  statement.  You must also submit documentation regarding to the incident(s) in question.  Below, find a list of documentation that will be requested by the Board if not submitted.  The Board may, however, request information in addition to what is listed below upon reviewing the information you submit.

Documentation Required for “Yes” Responses on Page 2 of the application
Question #1:  Copies of all Board orders filed against the license.  If action has been lifted against your license, then verification of this is required as well.
Question #2:  Submit a copy of the denial notification as well as any other documentation relating to the denial.
Question #3:  Submit a current evaluation from an approved addictionologist.
Question #4a or 4b:  Submit all related court documentation that indicate the charge, plea, sentence requirements, and, if the sentence requirements have been met, verification of completion of sentencing requirements.
Question #5 & #6:  Nothing additional; however, after reviewing your statement, the Board may request additional information. 

What is a Pharmacy Technician in Training?

A pharmacy technician in training is an individual who is enrolled or who will be enrolled in a training program for pharmacy technicians as prescribed by the Board.  The Board will also issue a permit to an individual who will be taking a Board approved certification examination; currently, there are two (2) approved:  PTCB (http://www.ptcb.org/) and ExCPT (http://www.nationaltechexam.org/).   The technician in training works under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist; the pharmacist is responsible for the work performed by the technician in training.

A technician in training cannot legally work in the State of Indiana unless they have received their "blue card" permit from the Board; an individual who knowingly practices as a pharmacy technician without being certified commits a Class D felony.

The technician in training permit is a nonrenewable permit that is valid for up to one (1) year after the date of issuance.  During this one(1) year period of time, the permit holder needs to complete either the Board approved training and education program or certification, and submit documentation verifying this completion in order to be issued the pharmacy technician certification.

What Do I Submit to the Board Once I Complete My Board Approved Training or Examination?

If you have successfully completed a Board approved training and education program, as long as your technician in training permit has not yet expired, then you will need only to submit either the completed Affidavit of Completion of a Board Approved Training and Education program or a copy of your certificate of completion.  This information may be submitted to the Board by mail, fax, or e-mail; you do not need to submit another application and application fee.

If you have successfully one of the Board approved certification examinations, as long as your technician in training permit has not yet expired, then you will need only to submit to the Board a copy of the certificate issued to you by either PTCB or ExCPT.  This information may be submitted to the Board by mail, fax, or e-mail; you do not need to submit another application and application fee.

HOWEVER, if you have completed one of the above AND your technician in training permit is now expired, then your application is no longer valid with the Board office and you must submit a new application, application fee, and either your proof of completion of a training program or certification examination.  This information must be mailed to our office.

The Technician Training Program

The contents of the training program include specific training in duties required to assist a pharmacist in the technical functions associated with the practice of pharmacy, and shall include, at a minimum, the following:

  1. understanding the duties and responsibilities of the technician and the pharmacist, including the standards of patient confidentiality and ethics governing pharmacy practice;
  2. tasks and technical skills, policies, and procedures related tot he technician's position;
  3. working knowledge of the pharmaceutical-medical terminology, abbreviations, and symbols commonly used in prescriptions and drug orders;
  4. working knowledge of the general storage, packaging, and labeling requirements of drugs, prescriptions, or drug orders;
  5. ability to perform the arithmetic calculations required for the usual dosage determinations;
  6. working knowledge and understanding of the essential functions related to drug purchasing and inventory control; and
  7. the record keeping functions associated with prescriptions and drug orders.

Training Records Required [856 IAC 1-35-4(5)]

A record of the pharmacy technician training and education must be maintained in the pharmacy where the technician is employed and shall include the following:

  1. the name of the technician; 
  2. the starting date of employment as a pharmacy technician;
  3. the starting date of the technician training program;
  4. the completion date of the training program or proof of passing the board approved certification examination, if successfully completed;
  5. a copy of the training manual, if on-the-job training is used by the employer, or certificate of successful completion of another approved program, or other training program completed prior to employment.

Prohibited Activities [IC 25-26-19-8]

  1. provide advice or consultation with the prescribing practitioner;
  2. provide advice or consultation with the patient;
  3. dispense prescription drug information to the patient;
  4. final check on all aspects of completed prescription, including appropriateness of drug and accuracy of filled prescription; 
  5. receive new prescription over telephone or electronically unless original information is recorded so a pharmacist may review it (refill approval or denial is OK);
  6. any activity required by law to be performed only by a pharmacist;
  7. any activity that requires clinical judgment of a pharmacist.

Identification in Pharmacy [856 IAC 1-35-7]

The public must be able to distinguish between a pharmacist and pharmacy technician [856 IAC 1-35-7].  A pharmacy technician/technician in training shall wear identification stating they are a pharmacy technician/technician in training and they must identify themselves verbally in any telephone or electronic communication as a pharmacy technician/technician in training. The pharmacy technician/technician in training is required to also post their certification ("blue card") in the same location as the pharmacists’ licenses.

Questions

If you have questions, please call (317) 234-2067 or e-mail at pla4@pla.IN.gov.