IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

PLA > Professions > Indiana State Board of Dentistry > Renewal Information Renewal Information

Renewal Information 
Dentists, Dental Hygienists, Controlled Substance Registrations (CSR), General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation Permits, Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permits, and Mobile Dental Practice Permits expire on March 1of even-numbered years.

Continuing Education
Continuing Education is required to renew your license. Information and requirements are
available here.

Renewal Information 
Renewal notices are sent approximately sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date.   Licensees with a valid email address on file will be emailed the renewal information.   Licensees that do not have a valid email address on file will be mailed license renewal information.  This notice is mailed to the licensee's address of record with the Board.

Online Renewal
You can renew your license online using
PLA Online Services 

Renew by Mail 
You may print a renewal from the
Renewal Documents page.

License Cards
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency no longer automatically mails updated license cards when your license is renewed.   You can determine if your renewal has been received and processed by accessing our free
Online Verification Search.  Please allow 24 hours (1 business day) for your license to be updated.  Once you verify that your license has been renewed, you may order a new license card onlineYou will be given the option to download a free license card for immediate printing or to purchase a blue license card to be mailed to you. 

Display of License Requirement

  • Dentist :  The license shall be properly displayed at all times in the office of the person named as the holder of the license, and a person may not be considered to be in legal practice if the person does not possess the license and renewal card.
  • Dental Hygienist:  The license to practice must be displayed at all times in plain view of the patients in the office where the holder is engaged in practice.   No person may lawfully practice dental hygiene who does not possess a license and its current renewal 

Renewal Fees
Dentist - $120
Dental Hygienists - $70
Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $60
General Anesthesia, Deep Sedation (GADS) - $50
Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation (LPCS) - $50
Dental Hygiene Local Anesthesia Permit - $25
Mobile Dental Facility - $150

Expired License - Penalty Fees
A licensee may reinstate a license, registration or permit up to three (3) years after the expiration date by paying a late fee of $50.00 each in addition to the renewal fee.
Dentist - $150
Dental Hygienist - $100
Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) - $110
General Anesthesia, Deep Sedation (GADS) - $100
Light Parenteral Conscious Sedation (LPCS) - $100
Mobile Dental Facility - $200

Expired License - After Three (3) Years
If your dental or dental hygiene license has been expired for three (3) years or more you will need to contact our office at (317) 234-2054 or by email at 
pla8@pla.IN.gov to have a reinstatement application emailed to you.   You will be required to complete the following:

1.  Completion of reinstatement application.
2.  Proof of continuing education for the time period the license has been expired.
3.  Payment of a Reinstatement Fee (Current renewal fee plus the current application fee)

Upon receipt of the above items you will be scheduled to appear before the Board at their next scheduled meeting.  The Board will determine if you will need to complete such remediation and/or additional training as deemed appropriate by the Board given the lapse of time involved.  

Failure to Renew
Failure to renew a license on or before the expiration date automatically renders the license, registration and permit invalid without any action by the Board.  You may not practice at any time on an expired license. 

Inactive Status
A Dentist or Dental Hygienist may request to be placed on "Inactive Status" at renewal by submitting the following:

  1. Completed Renewal Application.
  2. Written request to be placed on "Inactive Status"

There is no renewal fee or continuing education required to be placed on inactive status. Please contact our office to have a renewal application sent to you.