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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY  

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

DEFINITIONS 
 
“Acquisition Cost” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 3 of this Program Guide. 

 

“Borrower” means any person or persons meeting the qualifications of the Program and the Program 

Guide, and includes any co-borrowers. 

 

“Commitment Expiration Date” means the date on which IHCDA’s commitment under the Program 

expires. 

 

“Committed Approved Date” means the date on which IHCDA approves the MCC loan in the IHSF 

system. 

 

“Federal Recapture Tax” has the meaning set forth in Section 4 of this Program Guide. 

 

“First Time Homebuyer” has the meaning set forth in Section 2 of this Program Guide. 

 

“Program Guide” means the 2014 Mortgage Certificate Program Guide for IHCDA’s MCC Program. 

 

“IHCDA” means Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority. 

 

“IHSF” means the Indiana Housing Single Family online system used by IHCDA to manage the Program. 

 

“MCC” means Mortgage Credit Certificate. 

 

“Participating Lender” means a lender that has signed a Mortgage Credit Certificate Program Registration 

Form and a MCC Mortgage Origination Agreement with IHCDA. 

 

“Program” means the Mortgage Credit Certificate Program. 

 

“Purchase Agreement” means an agreement to purchase real property between, at a minimum, the seller 

of such property and Borrower. 

 

“Qualified Census Tract” has the meaning set forth in Section 1 of this Program Guide. 

 

“Recapture Amount” has the meaning set forth in Section 4 of this Program Guide. 

 

“Targeted Area” has the meaning set forth in Section 1 of this Program Guide. 
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    INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

INTRODUCTION 

 
The Mortgage Credit Certificate Program was authorized by Congress in the Tax Reform Act of 1984 as a 

means of providing housing assistance to persons and families of low and moderate income.  A Borrower 

purchasing a new or existing single family residence may apply for a MCC through a Participating Lender 

at the time it applies for its loan.  A MCC cannot be issued to a Borrower who is refinancing an existing 

mortgage.  A Borrower may not combine the benefits of a MCC with any IHCDA program funded by 

mortgage revenue bonds. 

 

A MCC operates as a federal income tax credit, reducing Borrower’s federal income tax.  This credit, in 

effect, creates additional income that the Borrower may use toward its monthly mortgage payment.  The 

annual amount of the tax credit is equal to a percentage (credit rate) of the annual interest paid and 

accrued on the mortgage loan for the residence.  The maximum annual amount of the tax credit is 

$2,000.00.  The credit rate is based on the total amount of the original mortgage as follows: 

 

Original Mortgage Amount   MCC Credit Rate 

 

$50,000 and under             35% 

$50,001 - $70,000             30% 

$70,001 - $90,000             25% 

$90,001 and above             20% 

 

The amount of tax credit that can be claimed each year cannot exceed the Borrower’s annual federal 

income tax liability after all other credits and deductions.  The itemized deduction for the mortgage 

interest will be reduced by the amount of the tax credit.  Benefits of the MCC are available for the life of 

the original mortgage so long as the Borrower occupies the property as his principal residence. In most 

cases, the MCC may be reissued if the Borrower refinances. 

 

Additional information about the Program, including the eligibility requirements and application 

requirements, are contained in this Program Guide.  
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
This Executive Summary provides a summary of materials provided in this Program Guide. 

 

What a Participating Lender should know about a Borrower and his or her home: 

 

1. A Borrower must meet HUD’s income guidelines.  Income limits vary by county and are dependent 

on family size.  (Please see Section 2 of this Program Guide for a complete explanation of income 

verification requirements.) 

 

2. The cost of purchasing the home must fall under the federally determined acquisition limits.  

Acquisition limits vary by county.  (Please see Section 3 of this Program Guide for a more detailed 

explanation of acquisition costs.) 

 

3. A Borrower must not have had an ownership interest in his or her principal residence within the past 

three (3) years.  This restriction is waived for Borrower’s who purchase in targeted areas and when 

the Borrower is an eligible veteran.  (Please see Section 2 of this Program Guide for a more detailed 

explanation of this requirement.) 

 

4. A Borrower could be subject to a federal recapture tax if he or she sells his or her home within nine 

(9) years of purchase.  On all loans reserved after December 15, 2005 but before April 19, 2012 

IHCDA will refund the Borrower that he or she pays or for the reduction in his or her tax refund due 

to payment of Federal Recapture Tax.  (Please see Section 4 of this Program Guide for a more 

detailed explanation.) 

 

5. The home must be the Borrower’s principal residence.  (Please see Section 2 of this Program Guide 

for a more detailed explanation.) 

6. IHCDA cannot email, fax or mail any document, including any mortgage documents or tax transcripts 

provided by the Participating Lender that contains any Borrower’s Social Security Number. 

 

PARTICIPATING LENDERS WILL NEED TO KNOW: 

 

1. THE INCOME CALCULATION FOR A BORROWER’S ELIGIBILITY IS DIFFERENT THAN 

THAT USED FOR MORTGAGE QUALIFICATION.   

 

2. LOANS WILL NEED THE APPROVAL OF IHCDA PRIOR TO CLOSING. 

 

3. The Participating Lender must complete the reservation through to issuance of the MCC.  IHCDA 

will not acknowledge any third party involvement.  However, the reservation may be transferred or 

assigned to another Participating Lender upon the Borrower’s request, as set forth in Section 5. 

 

4. CO-SIGNERS MAY NOT SIGN THE MORTGAGE OR TAKE TITLE TO PROPERTY BEING 

PURCHASED THROUGH THE PROGRAM.  

 

5. The closing package must be submitted within thirty (30) days of closing or before the 

Commitment Expiration Date, whichever comes first.  IHCDA will charge a late submission fee of 
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0.25% of the loan amount if the closing package is not received within thirty (30) days of closing.  

IHCDA also charges 0.25% of the loan amount for Commitment Extension fees.  

 

6. If the reservation is canceled at any stage, the Participating Lender has thirty (30) days to reinstate the 

reservation, subject to the availability of funds.  If the reservation is not reinstated by the thirty-first 

(31st) day, the reservation will be permanently terminated.   AT THIS TIME, THE APPLICABLE 

PORTION OF THE RESERVATION FEE WILL BE REFUNDED.  THE DECISION 

CONCERNING WHETHER OR NOT A TERMINATED LOAN CAN BE REINSTATED WILL 

BE BASED ON THE FOLLOWING FACTORS:  THE AVAILABILITY OF FUNDS, IHCDA’S 

RECEIPT OF ALL OUTSTANDING CONDITIONS, IHCDA’S RECEIPT OF THE 

REINSTATEMENT FEE, IHCDA’S RECEIPT OF THE RESERVATION FEE, AND IHCDA’S 

SOLE DISCRETION.  Refunds are calculated in accordance with the fee schedule found in Section 5 

of this Program Guide. 

 

7. Any employee, agent, or associate of the Participating Lender caught forging or altering 

documentation or otherwise misrepresenting information will be suspended from the Program 

and the pertinent information will be turned over to the proper state and local authorities. 

 

8. IHCDA recommends that each Borrower that meets the definition of a first-time homebuyer complete 
Homeownership training through IHCDA University, which may be accessed at 
http://ihcda.knowledgefactor.com/. 

 

9. Both IHCDA and the Participating Lender reserve their right to request any additional documentation 

needed to make accurate determination on any given file. 

 

10. Faxed conditions are accepted.  Feel free to fax documentation to 317-233-2558. 

8. IHCDA STRONGLY ENCOURAGES PARTICIPATING LENDERS TO PRINT THIS 
PROGRAM GUIDE FROM http://www.in.gov/myichda/2401.htm 

 

  

http://www.in.gov/myichda/2401.htm
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

GEOGRAPHIC ELIGIBILITY 

SECTION 1 
 

Certain geographic areas in Indiana have been designated as “Targeted Areas” according to MCC Program 

requirements.  Areas of the State not designated as Targeted Areas are referred to as “Non-Targeted Areas”.  

For each series of the Program, a portion of the total funds available are set aside for loans in Targeted Areas.     

 

A. TARGETED AREAS ARE EITHER: 

 

1) A Qualified Census Tract:  seventy percent (70%) or more of the families have an income which is 

eighty percent (80%) or less of the statewide median family income. 

 

2) An “Area of Chronic Economic Distress” as designated by the State and approved by the Secretary of the 

Treasury and the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

 

Targeted Areas include the following counties in the State of Indiana: 

 

 Brown  Clinton  Crawford Daviess  Dearborn  Decatur 

 Fayette  Franklin Fulton  Greene  Jackson   Jasper 

 Jefferson Knox  Lawrence Miami  Ohio   Orange 

 Owen  Parke  Perry  Pike  Rush   Scott 

 Shelby  Spencer  Vermillion Vigo  Washington  Wayne 

 

Targeted Areas also include the following census tracts within counties that themselves are not Targeted 

Areas.  The property appraiser must note the qualifying census tract information on the appraisal for a 

census tract to be designated as a Targeted Area. 

 

2014 IRS SECTION 42(d)(5)(B) QUALIFIED CENSUS TRACTS  

  

County  Census Tract        

Allen 0005.00 0006.00 0012.00 0013.00 0016.00 

  0017.00 0021.00 0023.00 0028.00 0030.00 

  0031.00 0043.00 0044.00     

Clark 0503.03 0504.03       

Daviess 9547.00         

Delaware 0004.00 0005.00 0006.00 0009.02 0012.00 

  0016.00 0020.00       

Elkhart 0026.00         

Fayette 9541.00         

Floyd 0702.00 0708.01       

Grant 0002.00         

Henry 9765.00         

Howard 0002.00 0004.00 0012.00     

Jackson 9679.01         
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Jay 9630.00         

Knox 9553.00         

Lake 0102.01 0102.03 0102.05 0103.02 0105.00 

  0110.00 0111.00 0113.00 0114.00 0116.00 

  0119.00 0121.00 0122.00 0123.00 0205.00 

  0206.00 0301.00 0302.00 0303.00 0310.00 

  0412.00         

LaPorte 0413.00         

Madison 0005.00 0008.00 0009.00     

Marion 3103.05 3226.00 3308.03 3308.04 3308.05 

  3401.08 3404.00 3407.00 3412.00 3416.00 

  3417.00 3419.03 3423.00 3503.00 3505.00 

  3508.00 3510.00 3519.00 3521.00 3523.00 

  3524.00 3526.00 3527.00 3528.00 3535.00 

  3547.00 3548.00 3549.00 3550.00 3551.00 

  3557.00 3559.00 3564.00 3569.00 3572.00 

  3573.00 3574.00 3581.00 3601.01 3603.02 

  3604.01 3907.00       

Monroe 0002.01 0002.02 0006.01 0016.00   

Randolph 9516.00         

Shelby 7106.01         

St. Joseph 0004.00 0005.00 0006.00 0017.00 0019.00 

  0020.00 0021.00 0024.00 0028.00 0029.00 

  0030.00 0034.00       

Tippecanoe 0004.00 0054.00 0055.00 0105.00   

Vanderburgh 0011.00 0012.00 0013.00 0014.00 0019.00 

  0020.00 0021.00 0025.00 0026.00   

Vigo 0003.00 0004.00 0005.00 0019.00 0111.00 

Wayne 0005.00         
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

BORROWER ELIGIBILITY 

SECTION 2 

A Borrower applying for an MCC must meet the following eligibility requirements: 

(A) Must be a First-Time Homebuyer. A “First-Time Homebuyer” is someone who has not, at anytime 

during the three (3) years preceding the date of the loan closing, had a present ownership interest in his or 

her principal residence.  This requirement does not apply to all members of the household only to those 

persons executing the loan documents.  However, Borrowers acquiring residences in Targeted Areas 

and eligible veterans are exempt from the First-Time Homebuyer requirement.  See the list of Targeted 

Areas in Section 1 of this Program Guide. 

(B) An ownership interest includes: 

a. A fee simple interest; 

b. A joint tenancy, a tenancy in common, or a tenancy by the entirety; 

c. The interest of a tenant shareholder in a cooperative; 

d. A life estate; 

e. A land contract (i.e. a contract under which possession and the benefits and burdens of 

ownership are transferred although legal title is not transferred until some later time); 

f. An interest held in trust for the Borrower (whether or not created by the Borrower) that 

would constitute a present ownership interest if held directly by the Borrower; or 

g. Ownership of a mobile home permanently affixed to real property and 

taxed as real estate. 

Interests that do not constitute ownership interest include: 

a. A remainder interest; 

b. An ordinary lease; 

c. A mere expectancy to inherit an interest in a principal residence; 

d. The interest that a purchaser of a residence acquires upon the execution of a 

purchase contract; 

e. An interest in other than a principal residence during the previous three (3) years; or 

f. Ownership of a mobile home not permanently affixed to real property and taxed as 

personal property. 

 

 
(C) Must be income eligible.  
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Must be income eligible. Borrowers who are applying for an MCC must meet 

the income and acquisition limits of the county in which the residence that the Borrower is 

planning to purchase is located. The acquisition cost and income limits are located on IHCDA’s 

website. 

Income eligibility includes certain sources of income that a lender typically does not consider in 
determining eligibility or creditworthiness for conventional financing. However, the income 
standards for the Program must be followed.  The “Gross Annual Income” (as defined below) 
of the Borrower must be determined, along with the Gross Annual Income of any other person 
eighteen (18) years old and older who intends to reside at the property and is not a full-time 
student.  IHCDA and/or the Participating Lender may presume that any person who is 
currently residing with the Borrower and/or currently engaged to or married to the Borrower 
“intends to reside at the property” and may include this person’s income when calculating 
income and household size for the Borrower’s household.  IHCDA and/or the Participating 
Lender can request any additional information either needs to make this determination.  For 
any full-time student, you must include his or her earned income up to a maximum of $480.00 
per year unless the student is head of household, co-head or the spouse (in which case the 
entire amount of the student’s income must be included).  Additionally, the Gross Annual 
Income of any other person who is legally married to the Borrower must be included into the 
Gross Annual Income of the Borrower. 

NOTE: The following persons shall not be included when calculating the Borrower’s 
household size for the purpose of determining whether the Borrower’s Gross Annual Income 
falls within the income limits: foster children, live-in aides (as defined in 24 CFR 5.403), 
children of live-in aides, unborn children, children that the Borrower is not legally obligated to 
care for, and children being pursued for legal custody or adoption who are not currently living 
with the household. Upon request, the Borrower must be able to provide legal documents, 
issued by a court or other government agency, that demonstrate proof of an adoption, 
guardianship, record of birth, etc. 

Gross Annual Income includes gross wages and salaries from employment, including any part-
time, seasonal, or sporadic income, shift differentials, overtime pay, commissions, fees, tips, 
and bonuses. Gross Annual Income also includes: 

1. Child support, alimony and separate maintenance payments; 

2. Periodic payments for trust, annuities, inheritances, insurance policies, pensions, retirement 

funds and lotteries; 

3. All public assistance payments (excluding Medicaid and food stamps) including any amount 

by which educational grants, scholarships, and/or Veteran Administration educational benefits 

exceed expenses for tuition, fees, books, and equipment and reasonable rent and utility costs 

for a student living away from home; 

4. Interest and dividends; 

5. Payments in lieu of earnings, including social security, unemployment benefits, worker’s 

compensation, severance pay, disability or death benefits; 

6. Income from partnerships; 

7. Rental income from property owned; 

8. Recurring monetary contributions or gifts regularly received from a person not living in the 

residence; and 
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9. All regular pay, special pay, and allowances of a member of the Armed 

Forces, except special pay to a family member serving in the Armed Forces who is 

exposed to hostile fire.  

(D) Income Verification Documentation.   The Participating Lender must supply the following 

documentation in order to comply with the Program’s income verification requirements:  (1) one 

(1) copy of certified tax return transcripts for the past three (3) consecutive years for each 

Borrower(s), utilizing IRS Form 4506T; and (2) one (1) copy of current pay stub (not dated more 

than thirty (30) days before the date that the application was submitted to IHCDA) each member 

of Borrower’s household age eighteen (18) years or older.  IHCDA, in its sole discretion, may 

request any other type of documentation that it may need in order to make an accurate 

determination (additional paystubs, third-party verification, etc.).  

(E) Requirement of a Divorced Borrower.  The income of a Borrower’s Spouse must be 

included in the Gross Annual income for the household, unless a Borrower is legally divorced 

from his or her spouse.  A Borrower must provide IHCDA with a copy of a divorce decree signed 

by a judge in order to be considered “legally divorced”.  If a Borrower cannot provide IHCDA with 

the divorce decree that meets the requirements referenced above, its loan will be underwritten as if 

both parties are still married.  A legal separation agreement or a petition for dissolution will not 

suffice.  In addition, IHCDA and/or the Participating Lender may presume that any person who is 

currently residing with the Borrower and/or currently engaged to the Borrower “intends to reside at 

the property” and may include this person’s income when calculating income and household size for 

the Borrower’s household.  IHCDA and/or the Participating Lender can request any additional 

information either needs to make this determination. 

(F) Expectation of Residency.  The Borrower must reasonably expect to reside in the property 

as his or her principal residence within sixty (60) days after the loan closing date on existing homes 

AND within sixty (60) days of completion for a newly constructed home. 

(G) Training. IHCDA recommends that Borrower successfully complete the IHCDA University 
Homeownership training program, if Borrower is a first-time homebuyer. A “First-Time 
Homebuyer” is someone who has not, at any time during the three (3) years preceding the date of 
the loan closing, had an ownership interest in his/her principal residence.   IHCDA University may 
be accessed at http://ihcda.knowledgefactor.com/.  

(H) Aliens.  U.S. citizenship is not required under current Fannie Mae and Ginnie Mae guidelines. 
However, the Participating Lender is required to determine the Borrower's residency status, in 
accordance with Fannie Mae, Ginnie Mae or the Master Servicer’s guidelines, as 
applicable.   IHCDA and/or the Participating Lender may request any additional immigration 
documentation needed to verify or make a determination on residency status or household size. 

  

http://ihcda.knowledgefactor.com/
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

PROPERTY ELIGIBLITY 

SECTION 3 
 

The proceeds of an MCC must be used to acquire the principal residence of the Borrower.  The residence 

must meet the following requirements: 

 

(A) The property must be located in the State of Indiana. 

 

(B) The property must be a single-family house, which term includes for the purposes of FHA financing 

only could include a manufactured home permanently affixed to real estate and taxed as such. 

 

(C) The “Acquisition Cost” of the residence must not exceed the applicable Program acquisition cost limits.  

The IHCDA website contains acquisition cost limits.  The term “Acquisition Cost” means the cost of 

acquiring a residence from the seller(s) as a completed residential unit.  The Acquisition Cost includes: 

 

(1) All amounts paid, either in cash or in kind, by the Borrower (or a related party for the benefit 

of the Borrower) to the seller(s) (or a related party of the seller(s)) as consideration for the 

residence; 

 

(2) If the residence is incomplete, the reasonable cost of completing the residence whether or not 

financed by the MCC loan; 

 

(3) If the residence is in need of repair and the repairs are necessary to make the residence 

habitable, to meet local building codes, or to meet Program requirements, the reasonable cost 

of making the repairs whether or not financed by the MCC loan; 

 

(4) Settlement and financing costs in excess of amounts which are usual and reasonable (e.g. 

points paid by the Borrower for the purpose of “buying down” the interest rate); 

 

(5) Property taxes, if not prorated between ownership by Borrower and seller (e.g., Borrower 

pays next installment due); and 

 

(6) The cost of the land, or if a gift the appraised value, is to be added to the Acquisition Cost if 

the Borrower has owned the land for less than two (2) years prior to construction of 

residence. 

   

(D) Acquisition cost does not include: 

 

 (1) Usual and reasonable settlement and financing costs including: 

 

  (a) Title and transfer costs; 

 

  (b) Title insurance; 

 

  (c) Survey fees and other similar costs; 

 

  (d) Credit reference fees; 

 

  (e) Legal fees; 
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  (f) Appraisal expenses; 

 

  (g) Usual and reasonable financing points; 

 

  (h) Structural and systems or pest inspections; and 

 

  (i) Other related costs of financing the residence. 

 

(2) Land owned by the Borrower for more than two (2) years prior to construction. 

 

(3) The imputed value of “sweat equity” performed by the Borrower or members of the 

Borrower’s immediate family. 

 

(E) The Borrower must reasonably expect to reside in the property as his or her principal residence within 

sixty (60) days after the loan closing date on existing homes or within sixty (60) days of completion for a 

newly constructed home. 

 

(F) No more than ten percent (10%) of the total area of the residence can reasonably be used as: 

 

(1) The principal place of business for, or connected with, any trade or business on an exclusive 

or regular basis; 

 

(2) A place where inventory is held for use in the trade or business of the selling of products at 

wholesale or retail, unless the residence is the sole fixed location of such trade or business; 

or 

 

(3) A place used on a regular basis in a trade or business. 

 

(G) A residence used as an investment property or a recreational home would not qualify as a principal 

residence. 

(H) The Participating Lender must advise each Borrower of the importance of obtaining an independent 

home inspection for any home it plans to purchase. 

 

(I) All appraisals must be conducted by a licensed appraiser in accordance with the US Department of 

Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Handbook No. 4150.1 Rev-1, however on conventional loans 

with LTVs greater than 95% appraisals must comply with the Master Servicer’s guidelines.  

 

(J) The amount paid to the seller(s) for consideration for the residence cannot be higher than it would be had 

the sale occurred without the benefit of the Program. 

 

(K) Mortgage financing eligibility: 

 

(1) The MCC loan cannot finance the following: 

 

a. Acquisition of personal property; 

 

b. Land not appurtenant to the residence; 

 

c. Land appurtenant to the residence but not necessary to maintain the basic livability of 

the residence or which provides, other than incidentally, a source of income to the 

Borrower; or 
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d. Settlement and financing costs. 

 

(2) The MCC loan cannot refinance an existing loan or acquire or replace existing mortgages of the 

Borrower for the property. 

 Land sale contracts will be considered existing financing, regardless of whether or not they 
have been recorded. 

 

(3) The closing date of the loan cannot precede the Committed Approved Date shown in the IHSF 

online system. 

 

(4) A MCC loan cannot be financed from the proceeds of a Qualified Mortgage Revenue Bond or 

Qualified Veterans’ Mortgage Bond. 

 

(5) None of the interest of a MCC loan can be paid to a member of the Borrower’s immediate 

family. 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

THE FEDERAL RECAPTURE TAX 

SECTION 4 
 

Congress enacted legislation in 1988, subsequently amended in October 1990, to recapture, under certain 

circumstances, some or the entire subsidy from homebuyers who receive qualified mortgage bond assistance 

after January 1, 1991 (the “Federal Recapture Tax”).  Because the recapture rules apply to loans that were 

based on an MCC, a Borrower participating in the Program could be subject to the Federal Recapture Tax.  

THE FOLLOWING DOES NOT CONSTITUTE TAX OR LEGAL ADVICE AND EACH BORROWER IS 

ADVISED TO CONSULT WITH A TAX SPECIALIST TO DETERMINE WHETHER HE OR SHE IS 

RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING THE FEDERAL RECAPTURE TAX.   

 

IHCDA will reimburse any Borrower of a loan reserved after December 15, 2005 and before April 19, 2012, 

who is required to pay the Federal Recapture Tax for the entire amount paid or for the reduction in his or her 

tax refund due to payment of Federal Recapture Tax.  Please see the MCC-ALL for important details and 

instructions. 

 

The law mandates a “recapture” of some of the benefit of the program if a Borrower meets all three (3) of the 

following criteria:  (1) the property ceases to be the principal residence in the first full nine (9) years after the 

date that the mortgage loan is closed; (2) there is a profit on the sale of the home, AND (3) the household 

income is more than that year’s adjusted qualifying income for Borrower’s family size that year. 

 

If Federal Recapture Tax is owed, it is computed and paid to the IRS for the tax year in which the home is 

sold.  For the average Borrower, it is unlikely that he or she will be required to pay because his or her income 

is lower than the qualifying amount.  But if Federal Recapture Tax must be repaid, it will never exceed the 

lesser of 6.25% of the original loan amount or one-half (1/2) of the gain on the sale of the home. 

 

The most that a Borrower will ever be required to pay when a Borrower sells his or her home within the first 

nine (9) years of purchasing it is 6.25% of the highest principal amount of the mortgage loan that was 

federally subsidized during the life of the loan.  This amount is considered to be the federally subsidized 

amount.  When a Borrower sells his or her home is as important as the amount a Borrower receives for the 

sale of his or her home and his or her income at the time of the sale.  The actual Federal Recapture Tax, if 

any, can only be determined when the Borrower sells his or her home. 

 

Remember: 

• If a Borrower sells his or her home after nine (9) years of purchasing it, there is no Federal Recapture 

Tax due; 

• If he or she does not receive a gain (net profit) on the sale of his or her home, there is no Federal 

Recapture Tax due, or 

• If the household income is not more than that year’s adjusted qualifying income for Borrower’s family 

size that year, there is no Federal Recapture Tax due. 

 

A Borrower is Not Subject to the Federal Recapture Tax if: 

• His or her home is disposed of as a result of his or her death. 

• A Borrower transfers his or her home to his or her spouse or his or her former spouse incident to a 

divorce and a Borrower has no gain or loss included in his or her income as a result of the transfer. 

• A Borrower refinances his or her home (unless Borrower later meets the recapture rules). 

• Borrower’s home is destroyed by fire, storm, flood or other casualty if home is replaced on its original 

site within two (2) years after the end of the tax year when the casualty happened. 
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However, if a Borrower gives away his or her home (other than incident to a divorce), Federal Recapture Tax 

amounts must be calculated as if the home was sold at fair market value at the time of disposition. 

 

Income Increase: 

If a Borrower sold his or her home and made a net profit, then a Borrower may have to pay Federal 

Recapture Tax, depending on whether his or her income has increased above the maximum allowable 

amount.  Within ninety (90) days from the date of the Final Approval, IHCDA will send to each Borrower a 

Notice to Borrower of Maximum Recapture Tax and of Method to Compute Recapture Tax on Disposition of 

Home.  A sample of this notice is included on the following pages.  Borrower should keep this notice for 

future reference in calculating the Federal Recapture Tax. 

 

How much do I owe? 

The amount a Borrower owes will be the lesser of fifty percent (50%) of the gain realized from the sale of 

his or her home OR the amount resulting from a calculation that uses: 

• The income percentage (Consider the amount by which his or her income exceeds the limit in the year 

that a Borrower sells.  If the amount is $5,000.00 or more, then his or her income percentage is one 

hundred percent (100%).  If less than $5,000.00 then divide the amount by which his or her income 

exceeds the limit by $5,000.00 and round to the nearest whole percentage.) 

• The maximum recapture tax or federally subsidized amount (this is .0625 x the highest principal amount 

of his or her loan). 

• The holding period percentage as shown on the chart below: 

 

Disposition Within # 

Months of Closing 
Holding Period 

Percentage 
1 - 12 20% 

13 - 24 40% 
25 - 36 60% 
37 - 48 80% 
49 - 60 100% 
61 - 72 80% 
73 - 84 60% 
85 - 96 40% 
97 - 108 20% 

109 or More No Recapture Tax 
 

Again, a Borrower should consult with a tax advisor to determine whether he or she owes Federal Recapture 

Tax. 

 

For more information, contact the IRS and request Form 8828 and the instructions for Form 8828 (both 

available on the IRS Website: http://www.irs.gov). 
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SAMPLE LETTER 
 

INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

30 SOUTH MERIDIAN STREET, SUITE 1000 

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204-3413 

 

April 00, 2004    Series:          First Home 

     Orig :      (Code) Bank Name (Code) 

     SF #:     Number   

     Loan Amount:     $00,000.00 

     Term:    xx Months 

     Property:  Street Address 

     City/Zip:  City, zip 

     County:   County name 

     Reserv/Appl Date:   00-00-00 

     Commitment Date:  00-00-00 

     Closing Date:     00-00-00 

     Loan Purchase:  00-00-00 

 

 

Notice to Borrower(s) of Maximum Recapture Tax  

and of Method to Compute Recapture on Dispositions of Home 

 

In accordance with Section 143 (m) of the Internal Revenue Code, the maximum recapture tax that you may 

be required to pay upon disposition of this property is $0000.00.  This amount is 6.25% of the highest 

principal amount of the above-referenced mortgage loan, and is your federally subsidized indebtedness with 

respect to the loan. 

 

  Disposition           Holding                     Adjusted Qualifying Income 

  Within Months      Period           On date of Disposition, for Family Size 

  of Closing          Percentage   2 or Less  3 or More 

 

       1 - 12      20%    62,900   72.335 

     13 - 24      40%    66,045   75,951 

     25 - 36      60%    69,347   79,748 

     37 - 48      80%    72,814   83,735 

     49 - 60     100%    76,454   87,921 

     61 - 72      80%    80,276   92,317  

     73 - 84      60%    84,289   96,932  

     85 - 96      40%    88,503            101,778 

     97 - 108      20%    92,928                      106,866 

    109 or More   No Recapture Tax   

 

A. Introduction 

 

1. General.  When you sell your home you may have to pay a recapture tax as calculated 

below.  The recapture tax may also apply if you dispose of your home in some other way.  

Any reference in this notice to the “sale” of your home also includes other ways of disposing 

of your home.  

 2. Exceptions.  In the following situations, no recapture tax is due: 
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(a) You dispose of your home later than nine (9) years after you close your mortgage loan; 

 

 (b) Your home is disposed of as a result of your death; 

 

(c) You transfer your home either to your spouse or to your former spouse incident to divorce 

and you have no gain or loss included in your income under Section 1041 of the Internal 

Revenue Code; or 

 

 (d) You dispose of your home at a loss. 

 

B. Maximum Recapture Tax.  The maximum recapture tax amount is 6.25% of the highest principal 

amount of your mortgage loan and is your federally subsidized amount with respect to the loan. 

 

C. Actual Recapture Tax.  The actual recapture tax, if any, can only be determined when you sell your 

home, and is the lesser of (1) fifty (50%) of your gain on the sale of your home, regardless of whether you 

have to include that gain in your income for federal income tax purposes, or (2) your recapture amount 

determined by multiplying the following three (3) numbers: 

 

 1. The maximum recapture tax, as described in paragraph B above; 

 

 2. The holding period percentage, as listed in Column 1 in the table; and 

 

 3. The income percentage, as described in paragraph D below. 

 

D. Income Percentage.  You calculate the income percentage as follows: 

 

1. Subtract the applicable adjusted qualifying income in the taxable year in which you sell your 

home, as listed in column 2 of the table on page one (1) of this letter, from your modified 

adjusted gross income in the taxable year in which you sell your home. 

 

Your modified adjusted gross income means your adjusted gross income shown on your federal 

income tax return for the taxable year in which you sell your home, with the following two 

adjustments:  (a) your adjusted gross income must be increased by the amount of any interest that 

you receive or acquire in the taxable year from tax-exempt bonds that is excluded from your gross 

income (under Section 103 of the Internal Revenue Code); and (b) your adjusted gross income must 

be decreased by the amount of any gain included in your gross income by the reason of the sale of 

your home. 

 

2. If the amount calculated in (1) above is zero (0) or less, you owe no recapture tax and do not 

need to make any more calculations.  If it is $5000.00 or more, your income percentage is 

one hundred percent (100%).  If it is greater than zero (0) but less than $5000.00, it must be 

divided by $5000.00.  This fraction, expressed as a percentage, represents your income 

percentage.  For example, if the fraction is $1000.00/$5000.00, your income percentage is 

twenty percent (20%).  

 

E. Limitations and Special Rules on Recapture Tax 

 

1. If you give away your home (other than to your spouse or ex-spouse incident to divorce), 

you must determine your actual recapture tax as if you had sold your home for its fair market value. 

 

2. If your home is destroyed by fire, storm, flood, or other casualty, there generally is no 

recapture tax if, within two (2) years, you purchase additional property for use as your principal 
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residence or construct a new home on the site of the home financed with your original subsidized 

mortgage loan. 

 

3. In general, except as provided in future regulations, if two (2) or more persons own a home 

and are jointly liable for the subsidized mortgage loan, the actual recapture tax is determined 

separately for each individual based on each individual’s interests in the home. 

 

4. If you repay your loan in full during the nine (9) year recapture period and you sell your 

home during this period, your holding period percentage may be reduced under the special rule in 

Section 143(m)(4)(c)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

 

5. Other special rules may apply in particular circumstances.  You may wish to consult with a 

tax advisor or the local office of the Internal Revenue Service when you sell or otherwise dispose of 

your home to determine the amount, if any, of your actual recapture tax.  See Section 143(m) of the 

Internal Revenue Code generally. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Authorized Officer 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

FEE SCHEDULE 

SECTION 5 

 
Reservation Fee: 

 

0.50% of the mortgage amount Personal checks not accepted. Borrower’s Certified Funds or Participating 

Lender’s Check. 

 

Extension Fee: 
 

Commitment Extension:  0.25% of the mortgage amount for one (1) thirty (30) day extension.  

 

Late Submission of Closing Package:  0.25% of the mortgage amount for a closing package received by 

IHCDA more than thirty (30) days after closing.  

 

Reinstatement Fee: 

 

Amount of Time Terminated  Fee 

1-90 days       $500.00 

91-180     $1,000.00 

Greater than 180 days   $1,500.00 plus the appropriate reservation fee. 

 

Refund of Reservation Fee: 

 

If the application package has not been reviewed by IHCDA, the full reservation fee (i.e., the 0.50% will be 

refunded upon the Participating Lender’s request for cancellation of the reservation).  

 

If IHCDA has reviewed the application package, 0.25% of the reservation fee will be retained by IHCDA, 

and the remaining reservation fee received by IHCDA will be refunded upon cancellation or denial to the 

Participating Lender. 

 

Reinstatement, extension and late submission fees cannot be paid by the Borrower and are non-refundable. 

 

Participation Fees for Participating Lenders: 

 

Fees paid by the Participating Lender to IHCDA for the Program are non-refundable and are as follows: 

 

1. Fees will be collected from Participating Lenders at the time of execution of the MCC Mortgage 

Origination and Sales Agreement.  Any lenders choosing to become a Participating Lender later in 

the year will be required to pay the full amount.  All Participating Lenders are required to execute the 

MCC Mortgage Origination and Sales Agreement and Program Registration Form.   

 

2. Fee Structure 

 

Participating Lender             $500.00 

Additional offices or branches     $125.00 (offices that require separate user IDs) 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

RESERVATION REQUEST PROCEDURES 

SECTION 6 
 

Preliminary Eligibility Review 

 

Before making a reservation request for a MCC loan, the Participating Lender is required to receive a fully 

executed Purchase Agreement.  The Participating Lender should determine if the home is located in a 

Targeted Area or Non-Targeted Area and whether the Borrower meets other Program eligibility 

requirements.  NOTE:  A PARTICIPATING LENDER CANNOT RESERVE A LOAN THAT IT CANNOT 

CLOSE IN ITS OWN NAME, EXCEPT IN THE CASE OF A BROKER WORKING WITH A 

SUPPORTING LENDER AND CLOSING THE LOAN IN THAT SUPPORTING LENDER’S NAME.  

 

A RESERVATION IS IMPORTANT: THE BORROWER CANNOT EXECUTE IHCDA’S DOCUMENTS 

WITHOUT AN IHCDA RESERVATION NUMBER. 

 

Reservation Request 

 

1. Reservation requests are made using the IHSF online system.  All reservations will be accepted on a 

first-come, first-served basis and are always subject to availability of funds.  At the time of 

reservation, the Participating Lender must provide a check (Borrower’s certified funds or 

Participating Lender’s check) payable to IHCDA for the applicable reservation fee (See Section 5 

for the Fee Schedule).  A SEPARATE CHECK MUST BE ENDORSED FOR EACH 

RESERVATION FEE.  IHCDA DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH OR COINS.  

 

2. The Participating Lender must provide the following information at the time the reservation is made: 

 

 Borrower name(s) (Last, First, Middle Initial) 

 Property Address 

 City, Zip Code, and County in which property is located 

 Whether the property is a new or existing residence 

 Whether the property is located in a Targeted Area or Non-Targeted Area 

 Loan Type (FHA, VA, RHS-Guaranteed or Fannie Mae) 

 Program (MCC) 

 Borrower’s social security number(s) 

 Purchase (Sales) Price 

 First Mortgage amount w/Mortgage Insurance Premium (if applicable) 

 Household size 

 Interest rate 

 Borrower’s annual gross income 

 Co-Borrower’s and anyone else residing in the household’s annual gross income 

 

3. PARTICIPATING LENDER MUST SUBMIT RESERVATION FEES WITH THE 

APPLICATION PACKAGE.  IF THE FEES ARE NOT RECEIVED, THE PARTICIPATING 

LENDER WILL BE NOTIFIED THAT THE RESERVATION FEES ARE DUE AND THE 

APPLICATION PACKAGE WILL BE HELD BY IHCDA FOR FIVE (5) DAYS.  IF THE FEES 

ARE NOT RECEIVED WITHIN THE FIVE (5) DAY PERIOD, IHCDA WILL RETURN THE 

APPLICATION PACKAGE TO THE PARTICIPATING LENDER. 
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4. IHCDA will not review any application packages until it receives the reservation fee. 

 

Modifications 

 

A Participating Lender must request, in writing or email, any change to a Borrower’s reservation, subject to 

the following conditions: 

 

a) (a) Increase in Loan Amount.  Requests for increases in loan amounts will be subject to the 

availability of funds.  The Participating Lender should include the purchase price and loan amount 

(original and revised) by written request or via email. Mortgage decreases can be made at the time 

the closing package is received. 

b) Change of Address.  The Participating Lender should contact the Homeownership Department and 

the appropriate changes will be made at that time.  In this case the commitment expiration date will 

start over.  If the file has already been underwritten by IHCDA the Participating Lender will need 

to contact the appropriate Homeownership Department underwriter. 

c) Transfer of Reservation (Borrower).  IHCDA will not allow a transfer of a reservation from one 

Borrower to another. 

d) Transfer of Reservation (Participating Lender).  IHCDA will allow a transfer of a reservation 

from one Participating Lender to another.  The original Participating Lender must submit a letter or 

e-mail stating that the reservation and the reservation fees are to be transferred to the new 

Participating Lender.  The new Participating Lender must submit a letter or e-mail stating that 

he or she will accept the transfer of the reservation with a reservation request.  The original 

reservation will be canceled allowing the new Participating Lender to reserve the loan.  The 

reservation fee will be transferred to the new reservation number, if applicable. Commitment 

expiration dates will start over.  A new application file must be submitted.  The new 

Participating Lender cannot close without an approval from IHCDA with the new Participating 

Lender’s name specified on the documents. The loan application will start over in the IHSF 

processing system because of an approved Participating Lender change. 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

APPLICATION PACKAGE SUBMISSION  

SECTION 7 

 
Participating Lenders are responsible for performing a thorough investigation to determine whether both the 

Borrower and the property meet program requirements. The unified residential loan application (1003) can 

be dated prior to the date of the purchase agreement, however, IHCDA’S DOCUMENTS CANNOT BE 

DATED PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE RESERVATION.   

 

SUBMISSION 

 

The following information must be submitted to IHCDA to obtain the preliminary approval needed to close: 

 

 Reservation Fee  

 Document Order Checklist – (MCC-1) 

 Loan Application – Copy (FNMA 1003)  

 Informational Certification – (MCC-All) 

 Current Paystubs from All Household Members Over the Age of 18, including Fulltime 

Students over the Age of 18 – Copy (within last 30 days) 

 Zero Income Affidavit, Signed – Copy (if applicable) 

 Legal Documentation of Child Support/Custody/Guardianship – Copy (if applicable) 

 Judge Signed, Final Divorce Decree – Copy (if applicable) 

 Three Years’ Certified 4506T Tax Transcripts – Copy 

 Purchase Sales Agreement Fully Executed – Copy  

 Appraisal – Copy 

 

The Application Package must be submitted in a legal size file folder and “Acco” fastened to the right inside 

cover. PLEASE DO NOT STAPLES.   

 

If the loan amount has changed since the date it was reserved, the Participating Lender should make note of it 

on the file and enclose the additional reservation fees, if applicable. 

 

CERTIFIED TAX TRANSCRIPTS  

 

All tax transcripts must be certified by the IRS, therefore the Participating Lender must submit certified tax 

return transcripts utilizing IRS Form 4506T.  

 

APPLICATION PACKAGE SUBMISSION (APPROVAL) 

 

All files will be reviewed in the order that they are received.  Any mail received by IHCDA before 12:00 

(noon) EST will be stamped as being received that day.  If the mail is received after 12:00 (noon) EST, it will 

not be stamped or logged in until the next business day. When IHCDA determines that the application 

package is complete and in compliance with program requirements, IHCDA will approve the loan in IHSF 

online system and the status will show “Committed Approved”.  The Participating Lender may check the 

status in the IHSF online system forty-eight (48) hours after the date the package was submitted to IHCDA 

for approval.  The Participating Lender cannot close the loan before receiving “Committed Approved Status” 

in the IHSF online system.   
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APPLICATION PACKAGE SUBMISSION (PENDED) 

 

If IHCDA needs additional information or if the application package is incomplete, the application package 

will be considered “pended” and the status will show “Application Package Review Incomplete” in IHSF.   

 

DENIED RESERVATION 
 

The IHSF online system will post the status “Rejected” if the information included in the application package 

indicates that the Borrower or the property does not meet Program requirements.   
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

 MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

CLOSING PACKAGE SUBMISSION 

SECTION 8 
 

SUBMISSION 

 

After the loan closing, the Participating Lender shall forward to IHCDA the executed closing package which 

must be received by IHCDA within 30 days of closing. The closing package consists of the following: 

 

 Balance of Any Fees (if applicable) 

 Transmittal Letter – (MCC-7) 

 Final Signed Loan Application – Copy (FNMA 1003) 

 Final Signed Informational Certificate – Original (MCC-All) 

 Signed HUD-1 Settlement Statement - Copy 

 Mortgage Note - Copy 

 First Page of Mortgage – Copy 

 Conditions from Preliminary Approval 

 

The closing package must be submitted in a legal size file folder and “Acco” fastened to the right inside 

cover. PLEASE DO NOT USE STAPLES. 

 

IHCDA documents cannot be dated prior to the date of closing. 

 

CLOSING PACKAGE SUBMISSION (APPROVAL) 
 

If IHCDA determines the closing package is in compliance with Program requirements, IHCDA will issue a 

final approval and the MCC.   

 

CLOSING PACKAGE SUBMISSION (PENDED) 

 

If IHCDA requires additional information or the closing package is incomplete, the closing package will be 

considered “incomplete” and the status will show as such in IHSF.  The additional information or corrected 

documents must be submitted to IHCDA within thirty (30) days of the original closing package review date 

shown in IHSF online system or prior to the Commitment Expiration date whichever comes first.  If the file 

is “updated” electronically, the documents still must be submitted to IHCDA within thirty (30) days from the 

original closing package review date shown in IHSF. Merely updating the file in response to IHCDA 

questions or requests is not sufficient.   

 

DENIED RESERVATION 

 

The IHSF online system will post the status “Rejected” if the information included in the closing package 

indicates that the loan does not meet Program requirements.   

 

FORMS: 

 

Final MCC-ALL 

 

The Borrower must read, and with the Participating Lender’s assistance, complete all sections of the MCC-

ALL.  The Borrower must sign the Final Original copy of the MCC-ALL document in the presence of the 
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Participating Lender’s representative.  The Participating Lender cannot sign and date the MCC-ALL prior to 

the date of the Borrower’s and Seller’s signatures. The Participating Lender’s representative must sign and 

date as a witness and certify that the Participating Lender believes the information included therein to be 

accurate. PLEASE CHECK THIS DOCUMENT CAREFULLY AS IT IS OFTEN DIFFICULT TO 

LOCATE THE SELLER AFTER CLOSING. 

 

Seller’s Affidavit 
 

If a power of attorney of the seller executes the MCC-ALL, evidence of authorization to act on behalf of the 

seller must be included in the closing package. In the case where a builder or lender is the seller; any 

representative from those companies signing the MCC-ALL must provide an authorization form stating their 

ability to sign documents for the company and that must be included in the closing package.   
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

DUE DATES AND EXTENSIONS 

     SECTION 9 

 

DUE DATE 

The application and closing package must be approved by the Commitment Expiration Date shown on the 

reservation confirmation or in the IHSF. 

 

The Participating Lender must submit the closing package for each loan to IHCDA and each loan must have 

“Closing Package Review Approved” showing in the IHSF by the Commitment Expiration Date listed in the 

IHSF.  The Commitment Expiration Date is ninety (90) days after the date of reservation on ALL loans 

EXCEPT for new construction loans, which expire one hundred (180) days after the date of reservation.  

Additionally, the closing package must be received within thirty (30) days of the closing date. If the package 

is received on the 31
st
 day or after, a late fee of 0.25% of the first mortgage amount will be assessed and must 

be paid by the Participating Lender prior to receiving final approval or “Closing Package Review Approved” 

in the IHSF for the loan. 

 

EXTENSIONS 

 

Subject to the availability of funds, IHCDA will review and consider requests for extensions at that time.  

Extensions will be granted solely at the discretion of IHCDA and will only be considered upon IHCDA’s 

receipt of: 

 

(a) A written or email request that lists specific reasons for the extension request; and 

 

(b) An extension fee (for each thirty (30) day extension requested).  A fee schedule is included 

in Section 5 of this Program Guide. 

 

(c) There are no extensions allowed on a pended loan, although IHCDA may grant additional 

time to complete the file in the event of extenuating circumstances.   

 

Extension, reinstatement and late submission fees cannot be paid by the Borrower and are not 

refundable!  Extension, reinstatement and late submission fees must be paid by either of the following:  

the Participating Lender, builder, real estate agent, or seller.  Any Participating Lender who allows 

the Borrower to pay extension, reinstatement or late submission fees must refund those fees to the 

Borrower and show proof of refund to IHCDA.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 22 

INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

CANCELLATION AND REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURE 

SECTION 10 

 
PARTICIPATING LENDER’S CANCELLATION OF A RESERVATION 

If the Participating Lender determines that it will not close a loan for which it has received a reservation 

number, the Participating Lender should notify IHCDA’s Homeownership Department in writing or email as 

soon as possible.  All refunds will be issued to the Participating Lender via ACH wire transfer.  To obtain a 

refund of the reservation fee, the following information must be included in the letter or email: 

 Borrower name(s); 

 Reservation number; 

 Property address; 

 Loan amount; 

 Amount of reservation fee submitted; and 

 Reason for cancellation 

 

CANCELLATION DUE TO INCOMPLETE FILES OR EXPIRATION OF COMMITMENT DATE  

 

If the reservation is canceled by IHCDA because the proper documentation was not received on time or the 

Commitment Expiration date has passed, the Participating Lender may request reinstatement of the 

reservation. Reinstatements will be approved at IHCDA’s sole discretion, and subject to the availability of 

funds. The Participating Lender has thirty (30) days to reinstate the reservation. 

 

PERMANENT TERMINATION 

 

If the reservation is not reinstated by the thirty-first (31st) day, the reservation will be permanently 

terminated.  At this time, the applicable portion of the reservation fee will be refunded.  The decision 

concerning whether or not a permanently terminated loan can be reinstated will be based on the following 

factors: the availability of funds, IHCDA’s receipt of all outstanding conditions, IHCDA’s receipt of the 

Reinstatement fee, IHCDA’s receipt of the Reservation fee and IHCDA’s sole discretion. 

 

REJECTED FILES 

 

IHCDA will permanently terminate denied loans ten (10) days after the date the application is given 

“Rejected” status in the IHSF system, and any funds previously allocated to the property shall be made 

available for use for other MCC applications. 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

PARTICIPATING LENDER’S TAX ADVISORY OBLIGATION TO THE 

BORROWER(S) 

SECTION 11 

 
The Participating Lender has an obligation to provide the Borrower(s) with a copy of the Internal Revenue 

Service Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate.  This form contains the Internal 

Revenue Service instructions for the Borrower to file with his or her employer the number of exemptions to 

be used in calculating the payroll withholding for Federal Income Tax purposes.  The Borrower(s) must 

decide whether or not to adjust his and/or her withholding exemptions and decrease his and/or her federal 

Income Tax withholding in an amount comparable to the expected credit usable by the Borrower(s). 

 

The Participating Lender shall advise the Borrower(s): 

 

(a) To consult a tax advisor or accountant to determine the Federal Income Tax consequences of 

participating in the Mortgage Credit Certificate Program and not to rely on statements made by 

IHCDA, the Participating Lender or others; and 

 

(b) That the use of the Mortgage Credit Certificate will reduce the Borrower(s) itemized deduction 

for mortgage interest used to compute Federal Taxable Income and that the credit is only usable 

if the Borrower(s) has a Federal Income Tax Liability and, depending upon the amount of such 

liability, may not be fully usable; and 

 

(c) Any such credit, which may be available, will be prorated during the first year and the last year 

the credit is available based upon the number of months during which the Borrower(s) and the 

single-family residence qualify under the Internal Revenue Code for the credit; and 

 

(d) That the Borrower(s) must prepare his Federal Income Tax Return on Form 1040 in order to be 

able to take any such credit which may be available.  IRS Form 1040A or 1040EZ cannot be 

used in conjunction with the MCC.  
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

PARTICIPATING LENDER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

SECTION 12 
 

IRS FORM 8329 

 

IHCDA is responsible for mailing the original MCC to the Borrower and a copy of the MCC to the 

Participating Lender.  The Participating Lender must keep a copy of the MCC in order to complete IRS Form 

8329. 

 

IRS Form 8329 must be completed for each MCC series for which the Participating Lender originated MCC 

loans and IHCDA issued a MCC.  The IRS Form 8329 is to be completed and filed with the IRS no later than 

January 31 following the applicable calendar year.  An MCC assisted mortgage need only be reported once 

on IRS Form 8329. 

 

RECORDS RETENTION 

 

The Participating Lender must retain the following information for each MCC holder for six (6) years: 

  

1. Name, address, and Social Security Number or Tax Identification (TIN) of each of the MCC 

holders. 

 

2. Name, address, and TIN of issuer: 

Indiana Housing & Community Development Authority 

30 South Meridian Street, Suite 1000 

Indianapolis, IN 46204 

 

3. Date of loan closing, certified indebtedness amount (original mortgage amount) and the MCC 

rate. 

 

Please consult www.irs.gov for the appropriate address to deliver the Form 8329 to the IRS. 
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

REVOCATION PROCEDURES 

SECTION 13 
 

 

Automatic revocation of an MCC occurs when the single-family dwelling for which the MCC was issued 

ceases to be the MCC holder’s principal residence or when the MCC loan is paid in full or assumed. 

 

The Participating Lender must notify IHCDA within five (5) days of the following occurrences with respect 

to any MCC loan: 

 

1. Foreclosure of the MCC loan; 

 

2. Payment of the MCC loan in full; 

 

3. Assumption of the MCC loan; or 

 

4. Refinancing of the MCC loan. 

 

The Participating Lender shall be responsible for advising any person servicing the MCC loan of this 

reporting requirement. 

 

The MCC holder must notify IHCDA within five (5) days if the single-family dwelling ceases to be the MCC 

holder’s principal residence. 

 

In the event that IHCDA determines that a MCC holder’s eligibility for the MCC was possibly based on 

misrepresentation or on fraudulent statements made, IHCDA will notify the Participating Lender and the 

MCC holder of its intent to revoke the MCC.  The notification will give the reasons for the intended 

revocation and give the Participating Lender and the MCC holder fifteen (15) days to respond in writing 

and/or provide additional information for IHCDA’s consideration.  

 

If no response is received from either the Participating Lender or the MCC holder, the MCC will be revoked 

by IHCDA.  Upon receipt, IHCDA will review and consider additional information or documentation 

presented in support of the MCC holder’s eligibility and determine whether to revoke the MCC.  If the 

decision is made to revoke the MCC, IHCDA will notify the Participating Lender and the MCC holder of 

such decision. 

 

Revocations of MCCs are reported to the IRS by IHCDA quarterly on IRS Form 8330.  The MCC holder’s 

name, address, and Social Security Number or Taxpayer Identification Number are reported on the form.  
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INDIANA HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

MORTGAGE CREDIT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM 

RE-ISSUANCE AFFIDAVIT 
 

 
THERE ARE IMPORTANT LEGAL CONSEQUENCES TO THIS AFFIDAVIT: 

 

***READ IT CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING*** 

 

*(Please print or type)* 

 
*BORROWER NAME: _________________________________________SS#___________________  

*CO-BORROWER NAME: ______________________________________SS#___________________  

*EMAIL ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________________  

TELEPHONE NUMBER (HOME) ______________________________________________________  

BORROWER TELEPHONE NUMBER (WORK) _________________________________________  

CO-BORROWER TELEPHONE NUMBER (WORK) _____________________________________  

*ADDRESS: _________________________________________________________________________  

_____________________________________, INDIANA ___________________________  

(CITY)         (ZIP CODE)  

 

THE UNDERSIGNED, DO HEREBY AFFIRM UNDER THE PENALTIES FOR PERJURY THAT 

THE FOLLOWING REPRESENTATIONS ARE TRUE AND COMPLETE:  

 

The property for which we were originally issued a Mortgage Credit Certificate (“MCC”) and for which the 

address is shown above is currently our principal residence. NOTE: If your address has changed for 911 

purposes please specify.  

 

Except only for reason of death or divorce (see number 5, attached), we are the same persons to who the 

existing, original MCC was issued. 

  

We have refinanced our mortgage after December 22, 1992 and a MCC was previously issued. We are 

requesting that a MCC be re-issued for our new mortgage indebtedness.  

 

We will not use both the original and re-issued MCC and, we will use only the amortization of the Certified 

Indebtedness rather than the principal balance of our new Mortgage when calculating our annual tax credit.  

 

We are/were not restricted as to which Lender we used to refinance our MCC mortgage loan.  

 

We understand that we will be dealing directly with IHCDA in regards to being issued another MCC, not the 

mortgage Lender.  

 

In support of our request that a MCC be re-issued for our refinanced mortgage loan, we hereby submit to 

IHCDA the following:  

1. This Affidavit together with a Certified Check, Cashier’s Check or Money Order (payable to Indiana 

Housing & Community Development Authority /IHCDA) for the re-issuance fee in an amount equal to 

.25% of your new mortgage loan. (new loan amount x .25% = fee)  

 

2. Copy of the HUD-1 Settlement Statement for the re-financed loan (which has been signed by the Lender 

and you). (Obtain a copy from the Lender.)  
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3. Copy of the Mortgage Promissory Note for the re-financed loan (which must be signed by you). (Obtain a 

copy from Lender.)  

 

4. Original or, if lost, a copy of the Mortgage Credit Certificate originally issued to us. If you have 

previously had your certificate re-issued you should also include a copy of the re-issued certificate.  
 

5. If a change from original recipients, copy of Death Certificate or Decree of Divorce.  

 

6. Payoff Statement showing exact principal balance and payoff of old mortgage. (Needed if this is the first 

time refinanced.)  

 

All of the required documentation must be sent to the address below:  

 

Indiana Housing & Community Development Authority  
Attn: MCC Re-Issuance  

30 South Meridian Street  

Suite 1000  

Indianapolis, IN 46204  

 

_____________________________________________________  __________________________  

Borrower Signature         Date Signed  

_____________________________________________________   ________________________  

Co-Borrower Signature        Date Signed 
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