Chapter 5

Indiana Public Library
Certification Manual

Produced by the Indiana State Library,
Professional Development Office
January 2010

Chapter 5-1

Introduction and History
Chapter 5-2

New Certification Process for Librarians
Chapter 5-3

Renewal Certification Process for Librarians
Chapter 5-4

Library Education Providers
Chapter 5-5

Frequently Asked Questions

53



Chapter 5-1

Introduction and History
Librarian Certification
Looking Back and Moving Forward

Librarian certification has been a state requirement for decades. In 2006, the State Library re-examined the
administrative rule and began a discussion about bringing certification into compliance with the Indiana Code. In
early 2007, the State Library held seven town hall meetings across Indiana. It formed a certification task force in
the Spring of 2007 which worked throughout the year to develop a recommended rule that was unanimously
approved at the final meeting in November 2007. The Indiana State Library then held informational meetings
across the state to discuss the taskforce recommendation in December 2007, and continued to attend meetings
in the spring of 2008 to inform the public libraries of the proposal of the taskforce. Following these meetings, the
Indiana Library and Historical Board held a public hearing and a separate meeting to vote on the rule in May of
2008. These rules were adopted unanimously by the Board. Participants in all meetings overwhelmingly wanted
a meaningful librarian certification program.

Current Law States:

IC 36-12-11-6 - Certification requirements

Sec. 6. All library directors, library department or branch heads, and professional assistants, except
those who are employed at school libraries or libraries of educational institutions, must hold a
certificate under section 7 of this chapter.

Who should be certified?

= Public library directors, branch heads, department heads, and professional assistants

= QOther staff in the library have an option to be certified through the specialist program should they desire to
or a local unit requires certification

How these job classifications are defined (IC 36-12-11-6 and 590 IAC 5-1-9)?
= Director:

There is one Library Director per Library system. Associate directors are considered Department Heads.
The Director will need to complete 100 Library Education Units (LEUs) in each 5-year renewal cycle

=  Branch or Department Head:

Branch or Department Heads who are required to be certified, based on their duties, will be required to
complete 75 LEUs in each 5-year renewal cycle. A branch or department head that devotes more than
half of his or her time to work that requires:

0 knowledge of professional library practice, development and management of collections and of
technical library processes

0 the ability to deal with people in a professional capacity as distinguished from clerical

0 includes but not limited to staff classified as librarians, paraprofessionals, catalogers, reference
assistants, and program coordinators

Branch or Department heads that do not devote more than half of his or her time to the above work
may choose to be certified as a specialist.
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= Professional Assistant Defined (590 IAC 5-1-13):

Includes positions in which the person devotes more than half his or her time to work that requires:

0 knowledge of professional library practice, development and management of collections and of
technical library processes

0 the ability to deal with people in a professional capacity as distinguished from clerical

0 includes but not limited to staff classified as librarians, paraprofessionals, catalogers, reference
assistants, and program coordinators

Who will not be required to be certified?

Pages

Clerks

Marketing staff
Business office staff
Computer staff
Maintenance workers
Volunteers

How Is It Structured?

A three-tiered certification process, structured in this way:

0 Libraries serving a population of 40,000 or more (A)
0 Libraries serving a population of between 10,000 to 39,999 (B)
0 Libraries serving a population of less than 10,000(C)

Librarian Certification Levels

Librarian Certificate 1 (LC1) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent) with 10 years professional library
experience (or 6 years professional experience including 3 years supervisory experience*)

Librarian Certificate 2 (LC2) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent) with 3 years professional library
experience

Librarian Certificate 3 (LC3) - ALA-accredited MLS degree (or equivalent)

Librarian Certificate 4 (LC4) - Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, including 15
semester hours of required library science courses (590 IAC 5-1-8)

= Selection and evaluation of materials;

= Cataloging and organization of materials;
=  Public library administration;

= Reference and information sources; and
=  Children’s Materials

Librarian Certificate 5 (LC5) - 60 hours of college or associate's degree plus 9 semester hours of required
library science courses (590 IAC 5-1-8)

= Selection and evaluation of materials;
= Public library administration; and
= Reference and information sources

Librarian Certificate 6 (LC6) - High school diploma or GED with 5 years of library experience or 9 semester
hours of required library science courses. (590 IAC 5-1-8)

*supervisory experience — supervising 2 or more MLS librarians
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Specialist Certification Levels (Voluntary)

Specialist 1, 2, and 3 will need to complete 100 Library Education Units (LEUs) in each 5-year renewal cycle

= Specialist 1- Accredited Master’s degree with 10 years professional experience in subject field (or 6 years of
supervisory experience in subject field including 3 years of supervisory experience)

= Specialist 2- Accredited Master’s degree with 3 years professional experience in subject field

= Specialist 3- Accredited Master’s degree

=  Specialist 4- Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, including 15 semester hours in
subject field

=  Specialist 5- 60 hours of college or associate’s degree plus 9 semester hours in subject field

Terms for Certification

= Certification will be renewable every five years.

= Library staff, required to be certified and working on July 1, 2008, were grandfathered at their present job
level and within their library district.

= Part-time employees in positions requiring certification need to be certified.

Certification Fees

= S50 fee per 5 year certificate upon application or renewal (Initial fee waived for those who were
grandfathered in on July 1, 2008)
= Temporary certificates of a one year term are $10. (Limit of 3)

New Staff

= Newly hired staff that requires certification will have six months to become certified.

= |ndividuals unable to meet the certification requirements for their new position may apply for a one year
temporary certification.

= |ndividuals may apply for up to 3 one-year temporary certifications as they work towards becoming
certified.

Grandfathered Employees Who Change Library Systems or Position/Job Classification

= Must re-apply for certification within 6 months of their new start date
=  Must meet current certification requirements for their new position or be able to meet those requirements
within the span of 3 temporary licenses

Continuing Education as defined in 590 IAC 5-3-4 (Section 3):
Library education units (LEUs):

(a) Library education providers are certified by the Indiana Library and Historical Board, including
certified trainers in library-related or specialist subjects of importance to library operations.

(b) College or university courses (credit and not for credit -1 semester hour =15 LEUs).

(c) Local, state and national library association or specialist-subject related conferences (1 hour=1 LEU),
(d) Workshops, seminars, institutes, lectures, training by certified trainers (1 hour =1 LEU).

(e) The Indiana State Library will consider other library education providers on a case by case basis.

Library Education Units and Renewal*

= Renewal for a director will require the completion of one hundred (100) library education units in 5
(five) years. Ten (10) hours of LEUs will be computer or technology related.
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= Renewal for a department or branch head will require seventy-five (75) library education units in five (5)
years. Ten (10) hours of LEUs will be computer or technology related.

= Renewal for a professional assistant who is not a department or branch head will require fifty (50)
library education units in five (5) years. Ten (10) hours of LEUs will be computer or technology related.

= Renewal for Specialist 1, 2, 3 will require the completion of one hundred (100) library education units in
5 (five) years. Ten (10) hours of LEUs will be computer or technology related.

= Renewal for Specialist 4 and 5 will require the completion of seventy-five (75) library education units in
five (5) years. Ten (10) hours of LEUs will be computer or technology related.

= One hour of class time =1 LEU

*It is the individual’s responsibility to keep track of their own LEUs. Neither the Indiana State Library nor the
continuing education provider is responsible for keeping records of each applicant’s courses.

Continuing Education Opportunities

= Alist of approved LEU providers is available on the State Library’s certification website at
in.webjunction.org/667/-/articles/content/4080024. Classes and Workshops sponsored by the Indiana
Library Federation, OCLC Regional Service Providers, the Indiana State Library, WebJunction Indiana, lvy
Tech Community College, and the Schools of Library and Information Science are generally approved
trainings.

=  Roundtables and committee work of organizations are not considered eligible for LEUs.

= See Chapters 3 and 4 of this manual for more information

Chapter 5-2
New Certification Process for Librarians and Upgrading Certification Level

Librarians who are statutorily obligated to be certified and have not been grandfathered in (i.e. new library
directors, branch heads, department heads and professional assistants) will need to complete an application and
remit the fee to the Indiana State Library. Applications can be obtained by download from the State Library’s
certification website at in.webjunction.org/667/-/articles/content/4079938, contacting our office at
pdo@library.in.gov or by calling 317-234-5650 or 1-800-451-6028, and an application will be mailed to you.

The fee is $50.00 for a five year certificate and $10.00 for a temporary and will need to be sent via a personal
check or money order along with the application and a certified copy of your school transcripts to the address
below. Transcripts must arrive from the school in unopened sealed envelopes. In order to guarantee their
authenticity, the envelopes should have the institution’s Registrar’s seal stamped across the back Please keep
your contact information current as it is used to send your renewal notice along with any updates regarding
continuing education. Staff who are grandfathered are NOT required to pay the $50.00 fee until a new
certificate is issued due to a change in certificate level, library district, or upon certification renewal in 5 years.
Note: The information on your application is public as is the status of your certification; however your personal
information will not be published.

Professional Development Office Indiana State Library
140 North Senate Avenue Indianapolis, IN 46204

Upgrading Certifications

If you are upgrading the level of your certificate you will need to follow the same procedures as above
(excluding school transcripts). If the Indiana State Library has current school transcripts on file they will not
need to send those again.
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When you upgrade certificate level, your previous certificate will be void along with the expiration date. The
new expiration date will coincide with the new certificate. Please keep in mind that library education units will

not transfer to another certificate level. For example, if you are grandfathered in at a librarian certificate 2
(LC2) and in three years you are eligible and apply for a librarian certificate 1 (LC1) you will not be able to carry
the LEUs you have completed to the new certificate. The certificate cycle would start with the new certificate
and you would have five years to complete the library education units.
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Chapter 5-3

Renewal Certification Process for Librarians/Specialists

The renewal date will be based on the month in which you obtain your certification. Renewal cycles will be on a
quarterly schedule. The quarter in which you renew would be based on the month in which the certificate was
received.

* January through March would renew no later than March 31 of the fifth year certificate was held.

= April through June would renew no later than June 30" of the fifth year certificate was held.

= July through September would renew no later than September 30" of the fifth year certificate was held.

» October through December would renew no later than December 31* of the fifth year certificate was
held.

On July 1, 2008, staff employed by a library in a position that required certification were grandfathered at their
library district and at their current level.

Those who have been grandfathered will need to renew by no later than September 30, 2013.

The Indiana State Library will send out a renewal reminder to the address we have on file sixty (60) days prior to
the renewal deadline. A certificate holder will have the option of renewing using an automated system through
an online process utilizing the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, renewing through mail, or in person at the
Indiana State Library. Renewal will include:

1. Certification that the applicant has completed the correct number of Library Education Units (LEUs)
for renewal. (Please note that if you change positions during a renewal cycle but do NOT change
certification levels you will need to complete the number of hours associated with the job title you
held the majority of the time.)

a. Professional Assistants need to have completed 50 hours of approved educational units,
including 10 hours of technology related training

b. Branch/Department heads need to have complete 75 hours of approved library education
units, including 10 hours of technology related training.

c. Library Directors need to have completed 100 hours of approved library education units,
including 10 hours of technology related training.

2. Submit the $50 renewal fee

The Indiana State Library will audit a percentage of each renewal cycle at random to ensure that LEUs have been
completed. The individuals who are audited will receive a letter in the mail, notifying them that they are being
audited. The applicant would then have an additional 60 days to send in proof of LEUs to the Indiana State
Library. It is very important that to keep personal records of the LEUs taken. The Indiana State Library strongly
advises that each certified librarian create a file in order to keep track of the classes taken and the number of
hours received. There will not be any “roll-over” LEUs. If an applicant completes more hours than required, the
additional hours will not count toward the next renewal cycle.

Please keep all proof of the LEUs for ninety days (90) after receipt of certification renewal.
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Chapter 5-4

Library Education Unit Providers

In addition to the workshops, conferences, and courses offered by the Indiana State Library, the Indiana Library
and Historical Board recognizes other library training course providers as appropriate providers to offer
opportunities to earn Library Education Units. These include, but are not limited to, the American Library
Association conferences, Indiana Library Federation conferences, OCLC Regional Service Providers workshops for
library staff, Indiana University School of Library and Information Science courses, IVY Tech Library Technical
Assistant courses, and WebJunction Indiana courses.

A list will be provided at in.webjunction.org/667/-/articles/content/4080024 and will continue to be updated as
more courses and providers are approved.

An application to provide Library Education Units is available on the WebJunction Indiana Certification webpage
at in.webjunction.org/667/-/articles/content/4080024. Please note the following information must be
provided:

=  Provider organization

= Trainer(s) names and related experience

= Agendas of library related courses or workshops

=  Approximate time (in hours) to complete the course or workshop

The Indiana State Library will review the applications to become LEU provider. If approved, the named provider
and trainer will be eligible to offer LEU opportunities to Indiana library staff. The course, as it is submitted, is
approved for a period of two years as long as the agenda, objectives, content, and instructors remain the same.
A change to even one of those aspects requires re-submission for approval. LEUs are awarded on an hour for
hour basis, rounded up at the half hour.

It is the responsibility of the provider to provide proof of attendance to Indiana library staff. Proof of
attendance must verify provider name, course name, date of course, length of course, general or technology,
and attendee’s name. The Indiana State Library will provide a template to the provider upon request.

Libraries that will be participating in a training opportunity from a source that is not an approved provider may
send that information to the Indiana State Library Professional Development Office (pdo®@library.in.gov) at least
30 days prior to the training. Trainings that have not been pre-approved by ISL are not eligible for LEUs and any
certificates participants receive from unapproved trainings will not be honored. If library staff finds workshops
that interest them, they should contact PDO to confirm if the session is approved or eligible.

Technology Classes

Technology classes that must account for 10 hours of LEUs for every certified librarian every 5 years may include
trainings on specific programs libraries use, such as ILLiad, training on an Integrated Library System; and web
development courses, INSPIRE training, etc. Additional topics may be acceptable. Please verify any topics with
the Indiana State Library staff.

College Courses

Library Science courses from an accredited college or university are preapproved. LEUs will be awarded 15 LEUs
per college credit (3 Credit Hour college course will be worth 45 LEUs). Official transcripts from the school will
serve as proof of LEUs.

All other college courses will need to be preapproved.

Course approval criteria
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The Indiana State Library uses the following criteria when approving courses/workshops for Library Education
Units. The course or workshop:

Must provide the participants with knowledge of professional library practice, collections and of
technical library processes;

Must provide the participants with ability to deal with people and organizations in a professional
capacity as distinguished from clerical; and

Can include, but is not limited to, topics such as reference, cataloging, digitization, management,
finance, computer software and hardware, and web development.

LEUs will be awarded for Technology for those courses/workshops that teach a specific computer
software (e.g. Microsoft Office, SirsiDynix Symphony, Online databases, etc.), or hardware

Course and workshops that instruct employees on individual library policies, procedures, and benefits
(e.g. How to fill out library forms, Time Management software, and Open Enrollment) are not skills that
further the profession of librarianship, but assist the individual to function in a particular organization,
and therefore do not count for LEUs.
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Chapter 5-5

Certification Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

Certification level versus job function

Question: If I’'m a professional assistant, can | be certified at a higher level if | meet the education and
experience requirements?

Individual certification is issued on the basis of education and experience, not on job function. The rule provides
guidance for the lowest certification level required for a particular job function. It does not dictate the
certification level that a person holding a particular job function can be awarded, only the lowest level that must
be achieved by an individual.

Library Education Units (LEUs)
Question: What kinds of continuing education courses are accepted?

¢ Accredited college and university courses (a 3 semester hour course over 15 weeks = 45 LEUs);

¢ OCLC Network classes, Indiana Library Federation conferences, Indiana State Library workshops and
presentations by Professional Development Office staff (1 hour = 1 LEU);

e American Library Association and other library organization conferences (1 hour = 1 LEU);

* Professional conferences or workshops related to a specialist’s job (1 hour = 1 LEU);

¢ Workshops and seminars relating to library services (1 hour = 1 LEU);

* Presentations by approved library trainers (1 hour = 1 LEU).

Question: What is the process of approving LEUS from providers not on the list?

The Indiana State Library has an application for the provider and/or the trainer to complete prior to the event
for Indiana State Library to evaluate and then either approve or disapprove of the program for LEU credit.
Informal education (regional meetings with an educational component, library trainer presentations) would
need to be approved by the Indiana State Library prior to the event in order for LEUs to be approved.

Question: How will the LEUs be verified?

The Indiana State Library will audit a random percentage of each renewal cycle to ensure that LEUs have been
completed. The individuals who are audited will receive a letter in the mail, notifying them, that they are being
audited. The applicant would then have an additional 60 days to send in proof of LEUs to the Indiana State
Library. It is very important that for each individual to keep records of the LEUs taken. The Indiana State Library
strongly advises that you create a file in order to keep track of the classes taken and the number of hours
received. There will not be any “roll-over” LEUs. If you complete more hours than required, the additional
hours will not count toward the next renewal cycle. If you have not been audited, you may choose to dispose of
the proof of the LEUs ninety days (90) after you receive your renewal.

Question: Are there any specific continuing education requirements?

All staff requiring certification must complete ten (10) hours of computer/technology LEUs in each five year
renewal cycle. Otherwise, LEUs are at the discretion of the employee, library board, and administration. In each
five year renewal period, library directors will be required to complete 100 LEUs, branch heads and department
heads 75, and professional assistants 50. Safety training, (CPR, first aid, etc.), while valuable in a public facility,
do not directly relate to library service, and would not be considered for LEUs. If you have any question, please
consult with the Indiana State Library certification staff.
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Question: Is there a database of continuing education providers?

The Indiana State Library posts and regularly updates the WebJunction Indiana website to list authorized
trainers and education providers.

Question: If | don’t currently work for a library, but | want to be certified, how many LEUs do | have to
complete every 5 years to remain certified?

The number of LEUs for those not currently employed is determined by the position the person could hold.
Therefore if someone has the qualifications to hold a Librarian Certificate 1, but not currently working in a
library, s/he would be eligible to be employed as a director in a Class A library, and would therefore need to
complete 100 hours of LEUs over 5 years to keep the certification current. A person with a high school diploma
and 9 semester hours of library science courses or 5 years of library science experience (Librarian Certificate 6),
but not currently working for a library would be qualified to be a Branch or Department Head at a Class C library,
and would therefore need to complete 75 hours of LEUs over 5 years to keep his/her certification current.

Question: Will Spanish courses count as LEUs? What about roundtable discussion or tours of other libraries?

No. While Spanish, or any number of foreign languages, could be appropriate for assisting diverse populations
throughout Indiana, it is not directly related to library service. Tours and round tables do not offer specific
objectives that can be applied uniformly for the profession.

Question: What kinds of sessions count at conferences?

Presentations at conferences, including keynote speeches and author talks, count on an hour for hour basis.
Attendees of sessions in which professional skills are developed, for example readers' advisory, expanded
knowledge of literary works, and trends in librarianships may earn LEUs on an hour for hour basis.

Meetings, registrations, autograph sessions, social events, and time spent at vendor booths are not eligible for
LEUs.

Question: What are the guidelines for approved LEU courses?
1. knowledge of professional library practice, collections and of technical library processes;
2. ability to deal with people and organizations in a professional capacity as distinguished from clerical; and

3. includes, but not limited to, courses in reference, cataloging, digitization, management, finance,
computer software and hardware, and web development.

Question: Can | get LEUs for a course that | teach?

There is no mechanism for instructors to earn LEUs for the courses/workshops they offer. Those instructors can
be certified instructors and the staff who attend can earn LEUs for attending.

Consequences of non-compliance with certification

Question: Under proposed rule changes, what are the consequences for not meeting certification
requirements? Will all "public monies" be withheld? What is the definition of public monies (state? federal?
local?)

The term "public monies" does not appear anywhere in the administrative rule. "Public funds" is used in a
section defining what types of libraries are required to follow the certification requirements - 590-IAC-4-1-5,
those receiving public funds. Public funds include federal, state, and local tax revenues. The State Library's
practice has been to treat failure to comply with certification requirements as a failure to comply with
standards. Libraries not meeting standards have generally been ineligible to receive State and federal funding
and programs.
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Cost

Question: How much does certification cost?

The 5 year certificate costs $50.00 for a five year certificate. Grandfathered applicants will have this fee waived
but are required to pay the $50.00 upon renewal or if a change in position or library district occurs.

Question: How much does temporary certification cost?

A temporary certificate, valid for 1 year, costs $10. Up to 3 temporary certificates may be issued. Once three
certificates are purchased then client is ineligible for 4" temporary and is out of compliance. Therefore the
library does not meet standards for certified staff.

Question: What forms of payment does the Indiana State Library accept for certification?

The certification fee, either temporary or for 5 years, must be paid from the applicant’s personal funds. A library
district may choose to increase the applicant’s salary in order to cover the cost of the required certificate
(amounting to less than $0.20 per week).

Question: How much does continuing education cost?

Continuing education costs will vary. There are free courses offered directly by the Indiana State Library and
through WeblJunction Indiana. The Indiana Library Federation (ILF) and Indiana’s OCLC network also offer low
cost educational opportunities. Some ILF conferences offer scholarships, with varying requirements. There may
be tax advantages when paying for continuing education, including college and university courses; consult a tax
professional. There are many opportunities for education through the Internet and distance education, allowing
for little or no travel.

Question: Can my library pay for continuing education?

Your library board may be able to pay for continuing education, either in full or in part. In accordance with state
regulations, college and university class tuition, if library funds are made available, should be reimbursed only
after successful completion of the course, not paid by the library in advance. The library’s Friends group or
Foundation may pay for all or a portion of continuing education costs.

Effective dates

Question: When did the previous certification rule expire?

It expired December 31, 2007

Question: When did the new certification rule become effective?

July 1, 2008

Experience

Question: Does library experience completed before earning a B.A. or MLS count towards the experience
requirement?

Yes, library experience completed before earning a B.A. or MLS counts towards the experience requirement on a
year for year basis.
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Grandfathering

Question: What does that term mean?

Grandfathered librarian certification is defined as those staff who were employed in positions that require
certification on July 1, 2008, who did not need to meet the new education and experience requirements for
certification and will remain grandfathered as long as they remain with the same library district and at the same
job level.

Grandfathered librarians are required to meet the number of library education units (LEUs) established for their
position in order to meet standards. A library director, employed as such before July 1, 2008 must have met the
previous certification requirements to be considered grandfathered or must meet the new requirement. If the
library director could not meet certification requirements in 2007 and cannot meet them in 2008, the library
would not in compliance with standards until the library director does meet certification requirements.

Question: Why the difference between library director and library employee?

Library director certification pre-dates the changes in certification and was required prior to 2008. It has been
tied to public library standards for many years.

Question: May | apply as a new applicant even though | was grandfathered in?

Yes, a librarian whom had been grandfathered may submit an application, $50, and school transcripts and apply
for a new certificate. The new certificate would not be considered a "grandfathered" certificate, would not be
tied to a particular position in a particular library and could therefore be transported to different positions and
libraries.

When an applicant receives a new certificate, a new 5 year cycle starts. The applicant would begin to
accumulate LEUs from the date of issue of the newest certificate.

Merger

Question: What effect would a merger of two or more library districts have on current staff certification
levels?

If a current grandfathered staff member leaves the newly created library district for a position in another library
district, that person would have to meet certification requirements. (The temporary process by which that
person could be hired before meeting new requirements provides 3% years to gain the education/experience
needed).

A merger would have no effect upon the certification of grandfathered staff remaining in similar or
organizationally lower positions before and after a merger.

New hires
Question: How do new hires become certified?

Staff hired after the effective date of the certification rule on July 1, 2008 will become certified by applying
through the State Library process, which includes paying $50.00 from their personal funds, submitting a certified
copy of their school transcripts, and completing the application.

Question: What if a new hire does not have the required education/experience for the certification level
required by their position?
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There is a temporary certification process, to allow the person to obtain the required education/experience.
The first temporary certificate needs to be applied for within six months of being hired and is valid for 12
months, at a cost of $10. If a second or third temporary is needed, it needs to be applied for at a cost of $10 and
will be valid for 12 months. The temporary certificates thus covers 3 % years for a cost of $30. The five year
certificate is applied for when the applicant fully meets the certification requirements, at a cost of $50.

Part time staff certification
Question: Are part time staff required to become certified?

The certification task force recommended that part time staff be certified. The law does not allow for exception
according to the number of hours worked. Part time employees are expected to be as qualified as full time
employees in order to provide the best possible service to patrons.

Population categories
Question: How were the population ranges set as Class A, 40,000 and up; Class B,
10,000 to 39,999; and Class C, under 10,000?

The three categories of libraries as defined in the certification rule are based upon the current requirement to
participate in ADOLPLI (40,000 and up), and state law, which requires the minimum population size to establish
a new library district in Indiana as 10,000.

Positions requiring certification
Question: Who must be certified?

According to Indiana Code 36-12-11-6: All library directors, library department or branch heads, and professional
assistants, except those who are employed at school libraries or libraries of educational institutions, must hold a
certificate under section 7 of this chapter.

Question: What about people with an MLS who are not dept. heads? On the chart
I don't see any LEU requirements listed for them?

Anyone who is not a library director, branch head, or department head and holds a job which requires
certification would be a professional assistant and would be required to be certified and to achieve 50 hours of
LEUs, whatever their certification level. Certification level and job function may be two different things.

Question: Are department heads of business offices, IT and facilities be required to be certified?

Department heads not classified as librarians may, if desired, be certified either as Librarian, or Specialist,
whichever their education, experience and job dictates. Computer staff and Local History/Genealogy staff are
examples of staff who perform vital services but whose education and experience are often of a specialist, not
librarian, nature.

Question: Could a percentage of staff be certified, instead of all?

State law does not allow for a percentage of staff.
Promotion

Question: What if | am promoted to a position which requires more LEUs than my previous position?

You need to complete the amount of LEUs associated with the job you held the majority of the 5 year renewal
cycle.
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Substitute certification

Question: We use substitute employees on occasion. Would they need to be certified?

Certification is for public library staff. Substitutes are not, by definition, permanent library staff. However, in
order to offer equivalent service to library patrons, substitutes should be of equal quality and comparable
education to existing library staff, which would require similar education and experience, including continuing
education. If a substitute is hired as a permanent library employee, that person would then be required to be
certified should the position require it.

Additional Information may be found at the following links:

e Certification Law — IC 36-12-11
www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title36/ar12/ch11.html

e Certification Rule — 590 IAC 5
www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac title?iact=595

e Certification taskforce, summary, etc.

www.in.webjunction.org

67


http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title36/ar12/ch11.html
http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/iac_title?iact=595
http://www.in.webjunction.org/



