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Meeting Date: November 17, 2011

Meeting Time: 1:00 P.M.
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Room 431

Meeting City: Indianapolis, Indiana
Meeting Number: 9

Sen: Richard Bray, Chairperson; Sen. Randall Head; Sen. Greg
Taylor; Sen. Lindel Hume; Rep. Ralph Foley; Rep. Greg Steuerwald;
Rep. Matt Pierce; Rep. Linda Lawson; Judge John Marnocha; Judge
Lance D. Hamner; Attorney General Greg Zoeller; Commissioner
Bruce Lemmon; David Powell; Larry Landis.

Chief Justice Randall Shepard; Professor Craig Bradley.

Senator Bray called the meeting to order at 1:20 p.m. and told the Commission members that at
this meeting they would review and vote on preliminary drafts that have been prepared by LSA
staff. He also told the members that this Commission will exist for another year before its
enabling legislation expires. He also expects to have a final meeting of the Commission in

December.

Senator Bray recognized Senator Head to speak on Child solicitation — SB 29 (2011).

Senator Head told Commission members that this bill proposes to make child solicitation a
Class C felony for a person who is at least 21 years of age to: (1) knowingly or intentionally
solicit a child less than 14 years of age, or an individual the person believes to be a child less
than 14 years of age, to engage in sexual intercourse, deviate sexual conduct, or any fondling
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http://www.in.gov/legislative Hard copies can be obtained in the Legislative Information Center in Room 230 of the State House in
Indianapolis, Indiana. Requests for hard copies may be mailed to the Legislative Information Center, Legislative Services Agency,
West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2789. A fee of $0.15 per page and mailing costs will be charged for hard copies.
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or touching intended to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the older
person; and (2) perform an overt act demonstrating an intent to physically meet the child.

Members of the Commission asked Senator Head to defer voting on this bill until after the
Commission examined a proposal to realign the penalties for various crimes. Senator Head

agreed.

Senator Bray deferred action on this bill until the next meeting.

Rep. Foley presented a series of bills dealing with criminal justice issues.

PD 3471 has the following provisions:

It requires the Department of Correction (DOC) to: (1) determine the average daily
marginal cost of incarcerating an offender; (2) determine the average length of stay for
certain Class D felony offenders in the department; and (3) administer an incentive and
disincentive program under which counties are rewarded for reducing the number of
Class D felony offenders committed to the department.

It requires each county to establish a County Offender Fund.

It requires the Division of State Court Administration to submit a report to the DOC
detailing the number of Class D felony convictions for each county.

Senator Bray withdrew the bill.

PD 3481 (Probation Improvement Fund) has the following provisions:

It establishes the Probation Improvement Fund administered by the Indiana Judicial
Conference to award grants based on the recommendation by the Department of
Correction to: (1) county probation departments that supervise persons convicted of a
felony to promote the adoption of certain best practices to improve probation
administration and services and reduce probation revocations; and (2) counties that

" supervise persons who have been convicted of a felony to consolidate and improve the
efficiency of probation administration and services and community corrections
programs.
It creates the County Offender Deferral Fee and the Pretrial Diversion Fee for infraction
or ordinance violations.
It requires the clerk of a circuit court to distribute monthly to the State Auditor for deposit
in the Probation Improvement Fund 100% of the County Offender Deferral Fee and the
Pretrial Diversion Fee for infraction or ordinance violations. :

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of PD 3481 and to investigate other
funding sources for probation improvement funding by vote of 9 to 5.

PD 3499 has the following provisions:
. It creates the Forensic Addiction Fund as a funding source for grants to probation
- departments and community corrections programs to increase substance abuse
‘treatment access for individuals on probation or in a community corrections program.
. It requires the Judicial Conference of Indiana to administer the fund.

The Cdmmission voted to recommend introduction of PD 3499 by a vote of 13 to 0

PD 3488 would restrict Class D felony offenders from belng committed to DOC if thelr
projected time of incarceration was less than six months.
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Rep: Foley withdrew this bill.

PD 3201 requires the Indiana Judicial Conference to adopt rules concerning swift and certain
sanctions that a probation officer may use in supervising persons on probation. It also
creates procedures that probation officers can use to sanction persons on probation.

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of PD 3201 by a vote of 10 to 2.

PD 3501 proposes the following:

. It requires a sentencing court to inform the Department of Correction if the person

sentenced is a credit-restricted felon.

. It requires a court that sentences a person as a credit-restricted felon to state in the
sentencing order and the abstract of judgment that the person is a credit-restricted
felon.

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of the bill by a vote of 12 to 0.
PD 3434 (victim notification system) proposes the following:

. It requires the Department of Correction to: (1) establish an automated victim
notification system; and (2) notify a registered crime victim of changes in a committed
offender’s facility location and date of release if the offender was sentenced for
committing a crime against the victim.

. It specifies when DOC shall make certain victim notifications.

. It provides that if a court imposes a felony sentence that involves a commitment to
DOC, the court shall state in the sentencing order and abstract of judgment certain
information.

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of the bill by a vote of 11 to 1.

PD 3442 requires that credit time earned by certain offenders shall be reduced if application
of the credit time would result in postconviction release or a community transition program
assignment in less than 45 days after the person earns the credit time.

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of PD 3442 by a vote of 9to 3

PD 3484 has the following provisions:

. It authorizes a law enforcement officer to arrest a person who has commltted theft,
even if the theft is not committed in the officer's presence.

. It consolidates cemetery mischief, unlawful acts relating to caves, and computer
tampering into the criminal mischief statute, and repeals redundant statutes.

. It provides that a person who breaks and enters with the intent to commit theft
commits burglary.

. It makes theft a: (1) Class A misdemeanor if the amount of property involved in the

theft is less than $750; (2) Class D felony if the amount is at least $750 and less than
$50,000, if the item stolen was a firearm, or if the person has a prior conviction; and
(3) a Class C felony if the amount of property involved is at least $50,000.

The Commission could not recommend PD 3484 for introduction. The vote was 8 to 4. Nine
votes are necessary for any bill to be recommended by the Commission.

PDOC 20121225003 has the following provisions:
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. It provides that recruiting, harboring, of transporting another person to participate in

sexual conduct by force, threat of force, or fraud constitutes human trafficking.
. it provides that a person who recruits, harbors, or transports a child less than 16 year

of age with the intent of engaging the child in forced labor, involuntary servitude,
prostitution, or sexual conduct commits promotion of human trafficking of a minor, a
Class B felony.

. It prohibits a person at least 18 years of age from selling or transferring custody of a
child less than 16 for the purpose of prostitution or participation in sexual conduct.

The Commission voted to recommend introduction of this document as a bill by a vote of 11
to1. :

Senator Bray announced that final meeting for the interim would be in December at a date to
be specified at a later time.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:17 p.m.



Introduced Version

SENATE BILL No. 29

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED BILL

Citations Affected: 1C 35-42-4-6.

Synopsis: Child solicitation. Makes it child solicitation, a Class C
felony. for a person who is at least 21 vears of age to: (1) knowingly or
mtentionally sohicit a child less than 14 vears of age, or an individual
the person believes to be a child less than 14 years of age, to engage in
sexual intercourse, deviate sexual conduct, or any fondling or touching
ntended to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of ejther the child or the
older person: and (2) perform an overt act demonstrating an intent to
physically meet the child. Makes the offense: (1) a Class B felony if it
1s committed by means of a computer network: and (2) a Class A
felony if 1t is committed by means of a computer network by a person
who has a prior conviction for child solicitation by means of a
computer network. '

Effective: July 1,2011.

Head

. January 5. 2011 rcad first timc and referred to Committee on Corrections. Criminal. and
Civil Matters.
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Introduced

First Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2011)

PRINTING CODE. Amendments: Whencever an existing statute (or a scction of the Indiana
Constitution} is being amended. the 1ext of the existing provision will appear in this style type.
additions will appear in this style type. and delctions will appcear in this styie types

Additions: Whenever a new statutory provision is being enacted {or a new constitutional
provision adopted). the text of the new provision will appear 0 this style type. Also. the
word NEW will appear in that style type in the introductory clause of cach SECTION that adds
a new provision 10 the Indyana Codc or the Indiana Constitution.

Conflict reconciliation: Text in a statutce in this sivle nvpe or thix strfc sype reconciles conflicis
between statutes enacted by the 2010 Regular Session of the General Assemibly.

SENATE BILL No. 29

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
criminal law and procedure.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Siate of Indiana:

SECTION 1. 1C 35-42-4-6, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007,
SECTION 44, 1ISAMENDED TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2011]: Sec. 6. (a) As used in this section, "solicit” means to
command, authorize, urge, incite, reqguest, or advise an individual:

(1) in person;
(2) by telephone;
(3) in writing;
(4) by using a computer network (as defined in IC 35-43-2-3(a));
{5) by advertisement of any kind; or
(6) by any other means;
to perform an act described in subsection (b), or (c), er (d).

(b) Except as provided in subsection (¢),a person at least eighteen

(18) vears of age or oider who knowingly or intentionally solicits a
child mrder less than fourteen (14) years of age, or an individual the
person believes to be a child wnder less than fourteen (14) years of age,
to engage in:

(1) sexual intercourse;

2011 . IN 29—LS 6162/DI 69+
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(2) deviate sexual conduct; or

(3) any fondling or touching intended to arouse or satisfy the

sexual desires of either the child or the older person:
commits child solicitation. a Class D felony. However, the offense is
a Class C felony if it is committed by using a computer network (as
defined in 1C 35-43-2-3(a)), and a Class B felony if the person commits
the offense by using a computer network (as defined in
1C 35-43-2-3(a)) and has a previous unrelated conviction for
committing the offense by using a computer network (as defined n
1C 35-43-2-3(a)).

(c) A person at least twenty-one (21) vears of age whe:

(1) knowingly or intentionally solicits a child less than
fourteen (14) vears of age,or an individual the person believes
to be a child less than fourteen (14) vears of age, to engage in:
(A) sexual intercourse;
(B) deviate sexual conduct; or
(C) any fondling or touching intended to arouse or satisfy
the sexual desires of either the child or the older person;
and
(2) performs an overt act demonstrating an intent to
physically meet the child;
commits child solicitation, a Class C felony. However, the offense
is a Class B felony if it is committed by using a computer network
(as defined in 1C 35-43-2-3(a)), and a Class A felony if the person
commits the offense by using a computer network (as defined in
1C 35-43-2-3(a)) and has a previous unrelated conviction for
committing the offense by using a computer network (as defined in
1C 35-43-2-3(a)).

{cy (d) A person at least twenty-one (21) years of age who
knowingly or intentionally solicits a child at least fourteen (14) vears
of age but less than sixteen (16) years of age, or an individual the
person believes to be a child at least fourteen (14) years of age but less
than sixteen (16) years of age. to engage n:

(1) sexual intercourse;

(2) deviate sexual conducit; or

(3) any fondling or touching intended to arouse or satisfy the

sexual desires of either the child or the older person;
commits child solicitation, a Class D felony. However, the offense is
a Class C felony if it is committed by using a computer network (as
defined in 1C 35-43-2-3(a)), and a Class B felony if the person commits
the offense by using a computer network (as defined in
JC 35-43-2-3(a)) and has a previous unrelated conviction for

2011 IN 29—LS 6162/DI 69+
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3471

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST

Citations Affected: IC 11-8-1-3.1; IC 11-10; IC 33-24-6-3;
IC 36-2-21.

Synopsis: County offender fund and offender incentives. Requires the
department of correction (department) to: (1) determine the average
daily marginal cost of incarcerating an offender; (2) determine the
average length of stay for certain Class D felony offenders in the
department; and (3) administer an incentive and disincentive program
under which counties are rewarded for reducing the number of Class
D felony offenders committed to the department. Requires each county
to establish a county offender fund. Requires the division of state court
administration to submit a report to the department detailing the
number of Class D felony convictions for each county.

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121290

PD 3471/DI1 107+ ' 2012




[o R B e RO L AR A

W W AR N NDNDNDNDNDNDRND = = = e e e
—_—_ OO0~ N DR W= O YW ITOWB W= OO

Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1.1C 11-8-1-3.1 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
ASANEWSECTION TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY
1,2012]: Sec. 3.1.""Average daily marginal cost of incarcerating an
offender" means the average daily cost to the department to
commit one (1) additional offender to the department, as
determined under IC 11-10-13-1(b).

SECTION 2. IC 11-10-13-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 1. (a) The department
shall develop a methodology for determining the average daily cost of
incarcerating an offender. - ‘

(b) The department shall develop a methodology for
determining the average daily marginal cost of incarcerating an
offender. The costs to be considered in determining the average
daily marginal cost of incarcerating an offender:

(1) must include the additional expenses of providing food,
clothing, and health care to a new offender; and
(2) do not include the costs of new facilities or additional staff.

SECTION 3. 1C 11-10-16 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
AS A NEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]:

Chapter 16. County Incentives and Disincentives for Class D
Felony Offenders

Sec. 1. The department shall administer a local rehabilitation
incentive and disincentive program under which counties may:

(1) reduce the number of Class D felony offenders committed
to the department; and

(2) maintain fewer Class D felony offender commitments to
the department.

Sec. 2. The department shall determine the average length of
stay for a Class D felony offender who has an executed sentence of
less than one (1) year in the department. This determination must

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012
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be based on a one (1) year period.

Sec. 3. (a) Before September 1, 2012, the department shall
establish a baseline average number of Class D felony offenders
that each county commits annually to the department based on
each county's Class D felony commitments to the department in the
2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011 calendar years.

(b) The department shall provide a local rehabilitation incentive
to each county that commits to the department in one (1) calendar
year fewer Class D felony offenders than the baseline average
established for that county under subsection (a). Each county that
has a reduction in Class D felony commitments for a calendar year
is entitled to an incentive based on the reduction in the
department's incarceration costs attributable to the county's
reduction in Class D felony commitments, as determined according
to the formula set forth in subsection (c).

(c) Before March 1 each year, the department shall calculate the
incentive described in subsection (b) using the following formula:

STEP ONE: Subtract the number of Class D felony offenders
that a county commits to the department in a calendar year
from the baseline average established for that county under
subsection (a).

STEP TWO: If the STEP ONE remainder is not positive, the
incentive amount is zero (0). Otherwise, multiply the number
of offenders determined under STEP ONE by the average
number of days of the length of stay for a Class D felony
offender in the department, as determined under section 2 of
this chapter.

STEP THREE: Multiply the product determined under STEP
TWO by the average daily marginal cost of incarcerating an
offender, as determined under 1C 11-10-13-1(b).

STEP FOUR: Multiply the amount determined under STEP
THREE by fifty percent (50%).

Sec. 4. (a) The department shall create a disincentive to each

county that in one (1) calendar year commits to the department:
(1) more than ten (10) more Class D felony offenders than the
baseline average established for the county under section 3(a)
of this chapter; or
(2) more offenders than one hundred and five percent (105%)
of the baseline average established for the county under
section 3(a) of this chapter;

whichever is greater.

(b) Before March 1 each year, the department shall calculate the
disincentive described in subsection (a) using the following
formula:

STEP ONE: Subtract the baseline average established for a
county under section 3(a) of this chapter from the number of

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012
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Class D felony offenders that the county ¢ommits to the
department in a calendar year. v

STEP TWO: If the STEP ONE remainder @I or less,
the disincentive amount is zero (0). Otherwise; ultiply the
number of offenders determined under STEP ONE by the
average number of days of the length of stay for a Class D
felony offender in the department, as determined under
section 2 of this chapter.

STEP THREE: Multiply the product determined under STEP
TWO by the average daily marginal cost of incarcerating an
offender, as determined under IC 11-10-13-1(b).

STEP FOUR: Multiply the product determined under STEP
THREE by fifty percent (50%). .

Sec. 5. The department shall withhold the amount of the
disincentive calculated for a county for a particular year under
section 4 of this chapter from the amount of money the department
is otherwise required to deposit in a county's misdemeanant fund
under IC 11-12-6-13 before September 1 of that year.

Sec. 6. (a) Before September 1, 2012, the department, using the
report issued by the division of state court administration under
1C 33-24-6-3(2)(F) for calendar year 2011 and the number of Class
D felony offender commitments made to the department in
calendar year 2011, shall determine the number of offenders
convicted in calendar year 2011 of Class D felonies in all counties
and, of that number, the percentage of Class D felony offenders
who were committed to the department. The statewide average
percentage calculated under this subsection is the baseline average
for the purposes of this section. _

(b) Each year after 2011, the department shall provide a local
rehabilitation incentive to each county that does not commit a
larger percentage of its Class D felony offenders to the department
than the baseline average percentage determined under subsection
(a). A county's eligibility for a local rehabilitation incentive under
this section must be determined according to the formula set forth
in subsection (c).

(c) Before March 1 of each year, the department shall calculate
a county’s eligibility for the incentive described in subsection (b)
using the following formula:

STEP ONE: The department shall determine for a county the
number of Class D felony offenders that the county committed
to the department in the previous calendar year.

STEP TWO: The department shall determine the percentage
of Class D felony offenders that the county committed to the
department in the previous calendar year by dividing the
STEP ONE number by the total number of Class D felony
convictions in that county in the previous calendar year, as

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012
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stated in the report submitted by the division of state court
administration under 1C 33-24-6-3(2)(F).

STEP THREE: If the county's percentage of Class D felony
offenders committed to the department, as calculated under
STEP TWQO, is lower than the baseline average percentage
determined under subsection (a), the county is eligible for an
incentive described in subsection (d).

(d) The incentive under this section shall be paid from funds
remaining from the marginal savings realized by the department
as a result of the counties committing fewer Class D felony
offenders to the department after the incentives have been
distributed under section 3 of this chapter. The department may
adopt rules under 1C 4-22-2 to distribute the remaining funds to
eligible counties equitably, with the amount of each county's
incentive being proportional to the extent to which savings realized
by the department are attributable to the county's reduction in the
percentage of its Class D felony offenders that the county commits
to the department.

Sec. 7. (a) Before June 1 each year, the local incentives
calculated under sections 3 and 6 of this chapter shall be provided
from the marginal savings realized by the department as a result
of the counties committing fewer Class D felony offenders to the
department and shall be distributed to a county's county offender
fund under IC 36-2-21. The county fiscal body shall redistribute
the incentives as set forth in 1C 36-2-21-1.

(b) If a county has a Jocal community corrections advisory
board, thelocal community corrections advisory board shall make
a recommendation to the county’s fiscal body regarding how local
incentive funds should be distributed.

Sec. 8. In making the calculations required under this chapter,
the department may not consider a Class D felony offender:

(1) whose probation has been revoked;

(2) whose participation in a community corrections program
has been terminated as a result of a violation of program
requirements;

(3) whose participation in a problem solving court program
has been terminated as a result of a violation of program
requirements; or

(4) who is committed temporarily to the department under
I1C 35-33-11-1.

Sec. 9. This chapter does not affect the rate that the department
pays to house an offender in a jail under IC 35-33-11.

Sec. 10. The department may adopt rules under 1C 4-22-2 to
implement this chapter.

SECTION 4. IC 33-24-6-3, AS AMENDED BY P.L.1-2010,
SECTION 132, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012
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[EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 3. (a) The division of state court
administration shall do the following:

(1) Examine the administrative and business methods and systems
employed in the offices of the clerks of court and other offices
related to and serving the courts and make recommendations for
necessary improvement.
(2) Collect and compile statistical data and other information on
the judicial work of the courts in Indiana. All justices of the
supreme court, judges of the court of appeals, judges of all trial
courts, and any city or town courts, whether having general or
special jurisdiction, court clerks, court reporters, and other
officers and employees of the courts shall, upon notice by the
executive director and in compliance with procedures prescribed
by the executive director, furnish the executive director the
information as is requested concerning the nature and volume of
Judicial business. The information must include the following:
(A) The volume, condition, and type of business conducted by
the courts. :
(B) The methods of procedure in the courts.
(C) The work accomplished by the courts.
(D) The receipt and expenditure of public money by and for
the operation of the courts.
(E) The methods of disposition or termination of cases.
(F) The number of offenders convicted of Class D felonies
in each county in the previous calendar year.
(3) Prepare and publish reports, not less than one (1) or more than
two (2) times per year, on the nature and volume of judicial work
performed by the courts as determined by the information
required in subdivision {2} (2)(A) through (2)(E). Information
collected under subdivision (2)(F) shall be submitted to the
department of correction on or before May 1 of each year.
(4) Serve the judicial nominating commission and the judicial
qualifications commission in the performance by the commissions
of their statutory and constitutional functions.
(5) Administer the civil legal aid fund as required by IC 33-24-12.
(6) Administer the judicial technology and automation project
fund established by section 12 of this chapter.
(7) Develop a standard protocol for the exchange of information,
by not later than December 31, 2009:
(A) between the protective order registry, established by
1C 5-2-9-5.5, and county court case management systems;
(B) at the option of the county prosecuting attorney, for:
(i) a prosecuting attorney's case management system;
(ii) a county court case management system; and
(iii) a county court case management system developed and
operated by the division of state court administration;

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012
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1 to interface with the electronic traffic tickets, as defined by
2 IC 9-30-3-2.5; and
3 (C) between county court case management systems and the
4 case management system developed and operated by the
5 division of state court administration.
6 (8) Establish and administer an electronic system for receiving
7 information that relates to certain individuals who may be
8 prohibited from possessing a firearm and transmitting this
9 information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for inclusion
10 in the NICS.
11 (b) All forms to be used in gathering data must be approved by the
12 supreme court and shall be distributed to all judges and clerks before
13 the start of each period for which reports are required.
14 (c) The division may adopt rules to implement this section.
15 SECTION 5.1C36-2-21 ISADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS
16 A NEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY
17 1,2012]:
18 Chapter 21. County Offender Fund
19 Sec. 1. Each county shall establish, by resolution, a county
20 offender fund to redistribute incentives received under IC 11-10-16
21 to:
22 (1) programs that defray the expense of housing an offender
23 in jail;
24 (2) probation programs;
25 (3) work release programs;
26 (4) community corrections programs;
27 (5) problem solving courts; and
28 (6) substance abuse treatment programs.
29 Sec. 2. Money in a county offender fund established under
30 section 1 of this chapter may be spent only under an appropriation
31 from the county fiscal body.

PD 3471/DI 107+ 2012




PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3481

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST

Citations Affected: IC 11-13-2.5;1C 33-37.

Synopsis: Probation improvement fund. Establishes the probation
improvement fund administered by the judicial conference to award
grants based on the recommendation by the department of correction
to: (1) county probation departments that supervise persons convicted
of a felony to promote the adoption of certain best practices to improve
probation administration and services and reduce probation
revocations; and (2) counties that supervise persons who have been
convicted of a felony to consolidate and improve the efficiency of
probation administration and services and community corrections
programs. Creates the county offender deferral fee and the pretrial
diversion fee for infraction or ordinance violations. Requires the clerk
of a circuit court to distribute monthly to the state auditor for deposit
in the probation improvement fund 100% of the county offender
deferral fee and the pretrial diversion fee for infraction or ordinance
violations.

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121291
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1.1C 11-13-2.5 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
AS A NEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]:

Chapter 2.5. Probation Improvement Fund :

Sec. 1. As used in this chapter, '"fund” refers to the probation
improvement fund established by section 2 of this chapter. '

Sec. 2. (a) The probation improvement fund is established to
provide grants under sections 3 and 4 of this chapter. The fund
shall be administered by the judicial conference of Indiana.

(b) Sources of money for the fund consist of the following:

(1) Donations, gifts, and money received from any other
source, including transfers from other funds or accounts.
(2) Amounts deposited under 1C 33-37-7-2(o).

(3) Amounts deposited under 1C 33-37-7-8(j).

(c) The expenses of administering the fund shall be paid from
money in the fund.

(d) The treasurer of state shall invest the money in the fund not
currently needed to meet the obligations of the fund in the same
manner as other public money may be invested. Interest that
accrues from these investments shall be deposited in the fund.

(e) Money in the fund at the end of a state fiscal year does not
revert to the state general fund.

Sec. 3. (a) After the department of correction makes a
recommendation to the judicial conference of Indiana, the judicial
conference may award a grant from the fund to a county probation
department that supervises persons who have been convicted of a
felony to: '

(1) promote the county probation department's adoption of
best practices:
(A) to:
(i) focus supervision resources on persons who pose a
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high likelihood of committing another offense, as
determined by a validated risk assessment;
(i1) develop and use a progressive sanctions policy to
guide decisions concerning how to respond to violations
of conditions of supervision; and
(iii) reduce the risk posed by persons who have been
convicted of a felony and are on probation, through
effective supervision, sanctions, and addressing any
needs the persons have for substance abuse treatment,
mental health services, or other services; and
(B) as approved by the judicial conference of Indiana; and
(2) reduce the number of probation revocations:
(A) involving persons under the supervision of the county
probation department who have been convicted of a
felony; and
(B) resulting in a person serving a prison sentence.

(b) To receive a grant under this section, a county probation
department must submit an application to the judicial conference
of Indiana:

(1) on a form; and
(2) in the manner;
prescribed by the judicial conference of Indiana.

(c) The judicial conference of Indiana shall determine the
amount of a grant awarded under this section.

Sec. 4. (a) The judicial conference of Indiana:

(1) may award a grant from the fund to a county that
supervises persons who have been convicted of a felony to
consolidate and improve the efficiency of:

(A) probation administration and services; and

(B) community corrections programs;
in the county; and
(2) shall make the awarding of the grant contingent on the
ability of the county probation department to demonstrate a
minimal level of coordination with other offender supervision
agencies operating in the same county, including community
corrections programs, parole authorities, and other probation
agencies.

(b) To receive a grant under this section, a county must submit
an application to the judicial conference of Indiana:

(1) on a form; and
(2) in the manner;
prescribed by the judicial conference of Indiana.

(¢) The judicial conference of Indiana shall determine the
amount of a grant awarded under this section.

Sec. 5. The judicial conference of Indiana may adopt rules
necessary to implement this chapter.
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Sec. 6. Counties may coordinate resources and programming
with funds received under this chapter. '
SECTION 2.1C 33-374-1, AS AMENDED BY P.L.182-2009(ss),
SECTION 392, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
[EFFECTIVEJULY 1,2012]: Sec. 1. (a) For each action that results in
a felony conviction under IC 35-50-2 or a misdemeanor conviction
under IC 35-50-3, the clerk shall collect from the defendant a criminal
costs fee of one hundred twenty dollars ($120).
(b) In addition to the criminal costs fee collected under this section,
the clerk shall collect from the defendant the following fees if they are
required under IC 33-37-5:
(1) A document fee (IC 33-37-5-1, IC 33-37-5-3, or
IC 33-37-5-4).
(2) A marijuana eradication program fee (IC 33-37-5-7).
(3) An alcohol and drug services program user fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(b)).
(4) A law enforcement continuing education program fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(c)).
(5) A drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fee
(IC 33-37-5-9).
(6) An alcohol and drug countermeasures fee (IC 33-37-5-10).
(7) A child abuse prevention fee (IC 33-37-5-12).
(8 A domestic violence prevention and treatment fee
(IC 33-37-5-13).
(9) A highway werk worksite zone fee (IC 33-37-5-14).
(10) A deferred prosecution fee € 33-37F5-17-
(IC 33-37-5-17(b)).
(11) A document storage fee (IC 33-37-5-20).
(12) An automated record keeping fee (IC 33-37-5-21).
(13) A late payment fee (IC 33-37-5-22).
(14) A sexual assault victims assistance fee (IC 33-37-5-23).
(15) A public defense administration fee (IC 33-37-5-21.2).
(16) A judicial insurance adjustment fee (IC 33-37-5-25).
(17} A judicial salaries fee (IC 33-37-5-26).
(18) A court administration fee (IC 33-37-5-27).
(19) A DNA sample processing fee (IC 33-37-5-26.2).
(c) Instead of the criminal costs fee prescribed by this section,
except for the automated record keeping fee (IC 33-37-5-21), the clerk
shall collect a pretrial diversion program fee if an agreement between
the prosecuting attorney and the accused person entered into under
IC 33-39-1-8 requires payment of those fees by the accused person.
The pretrial diversion program fee 1s:
(1) an initial user's fee of fifty dollars ($50); and
(2) a monthly user's fee of ten dollars ($10) for each month that
the person remains in the pretrial diversion program.

The clerk shall collect from an accused person paying a pretrial
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diversion program fee under this subsection an additional county
offender deferral fee of thirty dollars ($30) under IC 33-37-5-17(c).

(d) The clerk shall transfer to the county auditor or city or town
fiscal officer the following fees, not later than thirty (30) days after the
fees are collected:

(1) The pretrial diversion fee.

(2) The marijuana eradication program fee.

(3) The alcohol and drug services program user fee.

(4) The law enforcement continuing education program fee.
The auditor or fiscal officer shall deposit fees transferred under this
subsection in the appropriate user fee fund established under
IC 33-37-8.

(e) Unless otherwise directed by a court, if a clerk collects only part
of a criminal costs fee from a defendant under this section, the clerk
shall distribute the partial payment of the criminal costs fee as follows:

(1) The clerk shall apply the partial payment to general court
costs.
(2) If there is money remaining after the partial payment is
applied to general court costs under subdivision (1), the clerk
shall distribute the remainder of the partial payment for deposit in
the appropriate county user fee fund.
(3) If there is money remaining after distribution under
subdivision (2), the clerk shall distribute the remainder of the
partial payment for deposit in the state user fee fund.
(4) If there is money remaining after distribution under
subdivision (3), the clerk shall distribute the remainder of the
partial payment to any other applicable user fee fund.
(5) If there is money remaining after distribution under
subdivision (4), the clerk shall apply the remainder of the partial
payment to any outstanding fines owed by the defendant.

SECTION 3.1C33-37-4-2, AS AMENDED BY P.L.182-2009(ss),
SECTION 393, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
[EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) Except as provided in
subsections (d) and (e), for each action that results in a judgment:

(1) for a violation constituting an infraction; or
(2) for a violation of an ordinance of a municipal corporation (as
defined in IC 36-1-2-10);
the clerk shall collect from the defendant an infraction or ordinance
violation costs fee of seventy dollars ($70).

(b) In addition to the infraction or ordinance violation costs fee
collected under this section, the clerk shall collect from the defendant
the following fees, if they are required under IC 33-37-5:

(1) A document fee (IC 33-37-5-1, IC 33-37-5-3, or
IC 33-37-5-4).

(2) An alcohol and drug services program user fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(b)).
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(3) A law enforcement continuing education program fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(c)).

(4) An alcohol and drug countermeasures fee (IC 33-37-5-10).
(5) A highway wetl worksite zone fee (IC 33-37-5-14).

(6) A deferred prosecution fee &€ 3IF37=5-17
(I1C 33-37-5-17(b)).

(M A jury fee (IC 33-37-5-19).

(8) A document storage fee (IC 33-37-5-20).

(9) An automated record keeping fee (IC 33-37-5-21).

(10) A late payment fee (IC 33-37-5-22).

(11) A public defense administration fee (IC 33-37-5-21.2).
(12) A judicial insurance adjustment fee (IC 33-37-5-25).

(13) A judicial salaries fee (IC 33-37-5-26).

(14) A court administration fee (IC 33-37-5-27).

(15) A DNA sample processing fee (IC 33-37-5-26.2).

(16) A pretrial diversion fee for an infraction or ordinance
violation (IC 33-37-5-31).

(c) The clerk shall transfer to the county auditor or fiscal officer of
the municipal corporation the following fees, not later than thirty (30)
days after the fees are collected:

(1) The alcohol and drug services program user fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(b)).
(2) The law enforcement continuing education program fee
(IC 33-37-5-8(c)).
(3) The deferral program fee (subsection {e)}- (e)(1)).
The auditor or fiscal officer shall deposit the fees in the user fee fund
established under IC 33-37-8.

(d) The defendant is not liable for any ordinance violation costs fee
in an action if all the following apply:

(1) The defendant was charged with an ordinance violation
subject to IC 33-36.

(2) The defendant denied the violation under 1C 33-36-3.

(3) Proceedings in court against the defendant were initiated
under IC 34-28-5 (or IC 34-4-32 before its repeal).

(4) The defendant was tried and the court entered judgment for
the defendant for the violation.

(e) Instead of the infraction or ordinance violation costs fee
prescribed by subsection (a), except for the automated record keeping
fee (IC 33-37-3-21), the clerk shall collect a deferral program fee if an
agreement between a prosecuting attorney or an attorney for a
municipal corporation and the person charged with a violation entered
into under IC 34-28-5-1 (or IC 34-4-32-1 before its repeal) requires
payment of those fees by the person charged with the violation. The
deferral program fee is:

(1) an initial user's fee not to exceed fifty-two dollars ($52); and
(2) a monthly user's fee not to exceed ten dollars ($10) for each
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month the person remains in the deferral program.

(f) The fees prescribed by this section are costs for purposes of
IC 34-28-5-5 and may be collected from a defendant against whom
judgment is entered. Any penalty assessed is in addition to costs.

SECTION 4. IC 33-37-5-17, AS AMENDED BY P.L.176-2005,
SECTION 10,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 17. (a) This section applies to actions in which the
court defers prosecution under IC 33-39-1-8.

(b) In each action in which prosecution is deferred, the clerk shall
collect from the defendant a deferred prosecution fee of one hundred
twenty dollars ($120) for court costs.

(c) In each action in which prosecution is deferred, the clerk
shall collect from the defendant a county offender deferral fee of
thirty dollars ($30).

SECTION 5.1C33-37-5-31 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
ASANEW SECTION TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY
1, 2012]: Sec. 31. In each action in which a person is required to
pay a pretrial diversion fee for an infraction or ordinance
violation, the clerk shall collect a fee of fifteen dollars ($15).

SECTION 6. IC 33-37-7-2, AS AMENDED BY P.L.229-2011,
SECTION 260, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
[EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) The clerk of a circuit court
shall distribute semiannually to the auditor of state as the state share for
deposit in the homeowner protection unit account established by
IC 4-6-12-9 one hundred percent (100%) of the automated record

~ keeping fees collected under 1C 33-37-5-21 with respect to actions

resulting in the accused person entering into a pretrial diversion
program agreement under IC 33-39-1-8 or a deferral program
agreement under IC 34-28-5-1 and for deposit in the state general fund
seventy percent (70%) of the amount of fees collected under the
following:

(1) IC 33-37-4-1(a) (criminal costs fees).

(2) 1C 33-37-4-2(a) (infraction or ordinance violation costs fees).

(3) IC 33-37-4-3(a) (juvenile costs fees).

(4) IC 33-37-4-4(a) (civil costs fees).

(5) IC 33-374-6(a)(1)(A) (small claims costs fees).

(6) IC 33-37-4-7(a) (probate costs fees).

(7) 1€ 3337517 IC 33-37-5-17(b) (deferred prosecution fees).

(b) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute semiannually to the

auditor of state for deposit in the state user fee fund established in
IC 33-37-9-2 the following:

(1) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the drug abuse, prosecution,

interdiction, and correction fees collected under

IC 33-37-4-1(b)(5).

(2) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the alcohol and drug

countermeasures fees collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(6),
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IC 33-37-4-2(b)(4), and IC 33-37-4-3(b)(5).
(3) Fifty percent (50%) of the child abuse prevention fees
collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(7).
(4) One hundred percent (100%) of the domestic violence
prevention and treatment fees collected under IC 33-37-4-1 (b)(8).
(5) One hundred percent (100%) of the highway work zone fees
collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(9) and IC 33-37-4-2(b)(5).
(6) One hundred percent (100%) of the safe schools fee collected
under IC 33-37-5-18.
(7) The following:
(A) For a county operating under the state's automated judicial
system, one hundred percent (100%) of the automated record
keeping fee (IC 33-37-5-21) not distributed under subsection
(a).
(B) For a county not operating under the state’s automated
judicial system, eighty percent (80%) of the automated record
keeping fee (IC 33-37-5-21) not distributed under subsection
(a).

(c) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county

auditor the following:
(1) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the drug abuse, prosecution,
interdiction, and correction fees collected wunder
IC 33-37-4-1(bX5).
(2) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the alcohol and drug
countermeasures fees collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(6),
IC 33-37-4-2(b)(4), and IC 33-37-4-3(b)(5).
The county auditor shall deposit fees distributed by a clerk under this
subsection into the county drug free community fund established under
IC 5-2-11.

(d) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county
auditor fifty percent (50%) of the child abuse prevention fees collected
under IC 33-37-4-1(b)}(7). The county auditor shall deposit fees
distributed by a clerk under this subsection into the county child
advocacy fund established under IC 12-17-17.

(e) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county
auditor one hundred percent (100%) of the late payment fees collected
under IC 33-37-5-22. The county auditor shall deposit fees distributed
by a clerk under this subsection as follows:

(1) If directed to do so by an ordinance adopted by the county
fiscal body, the county auditor shall deposit forty percent (40%)
of the fees in the clerk's record perpetuation fund established
under IC 33-37-5-2 and sixty percent (60%) of the fees in the
county general fund.

(2) If the county fiscal body has not adopted an ordinance
described in subdivision (1), the county auditor shall deposit all
the fees in the county general fund.

PD 3481/DI 107+ 2012




[c B B N Y S

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26

27

28
29
30
3]
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46

8

(f) The clerk of the circuit court shall distribute semiannually to the
auditor of state for deposit in the sexual assault victims assistance
account established by IC 5-2-6-23(h) one hundred percent (100%) of
the sexual assault victims assistance fees collected under
IC 33-37-5-23.

(g) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county
auditor the following:

(1) One hundred percent (100%) of the support and maintenance
fees for cases designated as non-Title IV-D child support cases in
the Indiana support enforcement tracking system (ISETS)
collected under 1C 33-37-5-6. ’
(2) The percentage share of the support and maintenance fees for
cases designated as Title IV-D child support cases in ISETS
collected under IC 33-37-5-6 that is reimbursable to the county at
the federal financial participation rate.
The county clerk shall distribute monthly to the office of the secretary
of family and social services the percentage share of the support and
maintenance fees for cases designated as Title IV-D child support cases
in ISETS collected under IC 33-37-5-6 that is not reimbursable to the
county at the applicable federal financial participation rate.

(h) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county
auditor the following:

(1) One hundred percent (100%) of the small claims service fee
under IC 33-374-6(a)(1)(B) or IC 33-37-4-6(a)(2) for deposit in
the county general fund.

(2) One hundred percent (100%) of the small claims garishee
service fee under IC 33-37-4-6(a)(1}(C) or IC 33-37-4-6(a)(3) for
deposit in the county general fund.

(i) This subsection does not apply to court administration fees
collected in small claims actions filed in a court described in IC 33-34.
The clerk of a circuit court shall semiannually distribute to the auditor
of state for deposit in the state general fund one hundred percent
(100%) of the following:

(1) The public defense administration fee collected under
1C 33-37-5-21.2.

(2) The judicial salaries fees collected under IC 33-37-5-26.

(3) The DNA sample processing fees collected under
IC 33-37-5-26.2.

(4) The court administration fees collected under IC 33-37-5-27.

(3) The clerk of a circuit court shall semiannually distribute to the
auditor of state for deposit in the judicial branch insurance adjustment
account established by IC 33-38-5-8.2 one hundred percent (100%) of
the judicial insurance adjustment fee collected under IC 33-37-5-25.

(k) The proceeds of the service fee collected under
1C 33-37-5-28(b)(1) or IC 33-37-5-28(b}(2) shall be distributed as
follows:
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(1) The clerk shall distribute one hundred percent (100%) of the
service fees collected in a circuit, superior, county, or probate
court to the county auditor for deposit in the county general fund.
(2) The clerk shall distribute one hundred percent (100%) of the
service fees collected in a city or town court to the city or town
fiscal officer for deposit in the city or town general fund.

() The proceeds of the garnishee service fee collected under
IC 33-37-5-28(b)(3) or IC 33-37-5-28(b)(4) shall be distributed as
follows:

(1) The clerk shall distribute one hundred percent (100%) of the
garnishee service fees collected in a circuit, superior, county, or
probate court to the county auditor for deposit in the county
general fund. .

(2) The clerk shall distribute one hundred percent (100%) of the
garnishee service fees collected in a city or town court to the city
or town fiscal officer for deposit in the city or town general fund.

(m) The clerk of the circuit court shall distribute semiannually to the
auditor of state for deposit in the home ownership education account
established by IC 5-20-1-27 one hundred percent (100%) of the
following: .

(1) The mortgage foreclosure counseling and education fees
collected under IC 33-37-5-30 (before its expiration on January
1,2013).

(2) Any civil penalties imposed and collected by a court for a
violation of a court order in a foreclosure action under
IC 32-30-10.5.

(n) This subsection applies to a county that is not operating under
the state's automated judicial system. The clerk of a circuit court shall
distribute monthly to the county auditor twenty percent (20%) of the
automated record keeping fee (JC 33-37-5-21) not distributed under
subsection (a) for deposit in the clerk's record perpetuation fund.

(0) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the
auditor of state for deposit in the probation improvement fund
established by 1C 11-13-2.5 one hundred percent (100%) of the
following:

(1) The county offender deferral fee (IC 33-37-5-17(c)).
(2) The pretrial diversion fee for an infraction or ordinance
violation (IC 33-37-5-31). '

SECTION 7.1C 33-37-7-8, AS AMENDED BY P.L.182-2009(ss),
SECTION 396, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
[EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 8. (a) The clerk of a city or town
court shall distribute semiannually to the auditor of state as the state
share for deposit in the homeowner protection unit account established
by IC 4-6-12-9 one hundred percent (100%) of the automated record
keeping fees collected under IC 33-37-5-21 with respect to actions
resulting in the accused person entering into a pretrial diversion
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program agreement under IC 33-39-1-8 or a deferral program
agreement under IC 34-28-5-1 and for deposit in the state general fund
fifty-five percent (55%) of the amount of fees collected under the
following:
(1) IC 33-37-4-1(a) (criminal costs fees).
(2) IC 33-37-4-2(a) (infraction or ordinance violation costs fees).
(3) IC 33-37-4-4(a) (civil costs fees). '
(4) IC 33-374-6(a)(1)(A) (small claims costs fees).
(5) 1€ 33=37-5=17 I1C 33-37-5-17(b) (deferred prosecution fees).
(b) The city or town fiscal officer shall distribute monthly to the
county auditor as the county share twenty percent (20%) of the amount
of fees collected under the following:
(1) IC 33-37-4-1(a) (criminal costs fees).
(2) IC 33-37-4-2(a) (infraction or ordinance violation costs fees).
(3) IC 33-37-4-4(a) (civil costs fees).
(4) IC 33-37-4-6(a)}(1)(A) (small claims costs fees).
(5) 1€ 33-37=5-17 1C 33-37-5-17(b) (deferred prosecution fees).
(c) The city or town fiscal officer shall retain twenty-five percent
(25%) as the city or town share of the fees collected under the
following:
(1) IC 33-37-4-1(a) (criminal costs fees).
(2) IC 33-37-4-2(a) (infraction or ordinance violation costs fees).
(3) IC 33-37-4-4(a) (civil costs fees).
(4) IC 33-37-4-6(a)(1)(A) (small claims costs fees).
(5) 13337517 IC 33-37-5-17(b) (deferred prosecution fees).
(d) The clerk of a city or town court shall distribute semiannually to
the auditor of state for deposit in the state user fee fund established in
IC 33-37-9 the following:
(1) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the drug abuse, prosecution,
interdiction, and correction fees collected wunder
IC 33-374-1(b)(5).
(2) Twenty-five percent (25%) of the alcohol and drug
countermeasures fees collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(6),
IC 33-37-4-2(b)(4), and IC 33-37-4-3(b)(5).
(3) One hundred percent (100%) of the highway work zone fees
collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b}9) and IC 33-37-4-2(b)(5).
(4) One hundred percent (100%) of the safe schools fee collected
under IC 33-37-5-18.
(5) One hundred percent (100%) of the automated record keeping
fee (IC 33-37-5-21) not distributed under subsection (a).
(e) The clerk of a city or town court shall distribute monthly to the
county auditor the following:
(1) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the drug abuse, prosecution,
interdiction, and correcttorts correction fees collected under
IC 33-37-4-1(b)(5).
(2) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the alcohol and drug

PD 3481/DI 107+ 2012




[c RN e N A

AR DD WWWWWWWWWWRNDNDNDNDNDDNDRNDNDN = = - —
W= OOWHOIANWULMPAWNRL,OOVWOTANWMPEWNE=OWOVWOITONWVA WND— OO

11

countermeasures fees collected under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(6),
1C 33-37-4-2(b)(4), and IC 33-37-4-3(b)(5).
The county auditor shall deposit fees distributed by a clerk under this
subsection into the county drug free community fund established under
IC 5-2-11.

(f) The clerk of a city or town court shall distribute monthly to the
city or town fiscal officer (as defined in IC 36-1-2-7) one hundred
percent (100%) of the following:

(1) The late payment fees collected under 1C 33-37-5-22.
(2) The small claims service fee collected under
IC 33-37-4-6(a)(1)(B) or IC 33-37-4-6(a)(2).
(3) The small claims garnishee service fee collected under
IC 33-37-4-6(a)(1)(C) or IC 33-37-4-6(a)(3).
The city or town fiscal officer (as defined in IC 36-1-2-7) shall deposit
fees distributed by a clerk under this subsection in the city or town
general fund.

(g) The clerk of a city or town court shall semiannually distribute to
the auditor of state for deposit in the state general fund one hundred
percent (100%) of the following:

(1) The public defense administration fee collected under
IC 33-37-5-21.2.
(2) The DNA sample processing fees collected under
IC 33-37-5-26.2.
(3) The court administration fees collected under 1C 33-37-5-27.

(h) The clerk of a city or town court shall semiannually distribute to
the auditor of state for deposit in the judicial branch insurance
adjustment account established by IC 33-38-5-8.2 one hundred percent
(100%) of the judicial insurance adjustment fee collected under
1C 33-37-5-25.

(i) The clerk of a city or town court shall semiannually distribute to
the auditor of state for deposit in the state general fund seventy-five
percent (75%) of the judicial salaries fee collected under
IC 33-37-5-26. The city or town fiscal officer shall retain twenty-five
percent (25%) of the judicial salaries fee collected under
IC 33-37-5-26. The funds retained by the city or town shall be
prioritized to fund city or town court operations.

(j) The clerk of a.city or town court shall monthly distribute to
the auditor of state for deposit in the probation improvement fund
established by I1C 11-13-2.5 one hundred percent (100%) of the
following: '

(1) The county offender deferral fee (IC 33-37-5-17(c)).
(2) The pretrial diversion fee for an infraction or ordinance
violation (IC 33-37-5-31). '
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3499

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST
Citations Affected: 1C 11-13-2.7.

Synopsis: Forensic addiction fund. Creates the forensic addiction fund
to create a funding source for grants to probation departments and
community corrections programs to increase substance abuse treatment
access for individuals on probation or in a community corrections
program. Requires the judicial conference of Indiana to administer the
fund.

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121292
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Second Regular Session 1 17th General Assembly (2012}

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections and to make an appropriation.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1.1C 11-13-2.7 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
AS A NEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]:

Chapter 2.7. Forensic Addiction Fund

Sec. 1. As used in this chapter, "fund" refers to the forensic
addiction fund established by section 2 of this chapter.

Sec. 2. (a) The forensic addiction fund is established to provide
grants under section 3 of this chapter. The judicial conference of
Indiana shall administer the fund.

(b) Sources of money for the fund consist of the following:

(1) Appropriations from the general assembly.
(2) Donations, gifts, and money received from any other
source, including transfers from other funds or accounts.

(c) The expenses of administering the fund shall be paid from
money in the fund.

(d) The treasurer of state shall invest the money in the fund not
currently needed to meet the obligations of the fund in the same
manner as other public money may be invested. Interest that
accrues from these investments shall be deposited in the fund.

(e) Money in the fund at the end of a state fiscal year does not
revert to the state general fund. '

(f) Money in the fund is appropriated continuously for the
purposes stated in section 3 of this chapter.

Sec. 3. (a) The judicial conference of Indiana may award a grant
from the fund to a probation department or a community
corrections program to increase substance abuse treatment access
for individuals on probation or individuals placed in a community
corrections program who are under court supervision and who
have been diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder or
co-occurring disorder.

(b) To receive a grant under this section, a probation
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department or community corrections program and the agency
that will be providing treatment if the grant is approved must
submit an application to the judicial conference of Indiana:

(1) on a form; and

(2) in the manner;
prescribed by the judicial conference of Indiana.

(¢) The judicial conference of Indiana shall determine the
amount of a grant awarded under this section in consultation with
the division of mental health and addiction and the local probation
department or community corrections program.

(d) Mental health and substance abuse counseling provided by
grants under this section must be contracted for with a certified
mental health or addiction provider as determined by the division
of mental health and addiction.

Sec. 4. The judicial conference of Indiana may adopt rules
necessary to implement this section.
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3488

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST

Citations Affected: IC 11-10-13-5; 1C 35-38-3-3.

Synopsis: Class D felony sentencing and incarceration costs. Provides
that the minimum daily rate the department of correction shall pay a
county for incarcerating an offender in a county jail is $35. Provides
that a person convicted of a Class D felony may not be committed to
the department of correction unless the person's entire period of
incarceration is at least six months at the time of sentencing,

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121293
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. IC 11-10-13-5 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 5. (a) The department
may use the semiannual incarceration cost analysis of a county sheriff
under IC 36-2-13-5 as the daily cost of incarcerating an offender in that
county jail.

(b) The daily rate the department must pay a county for
incarcerating an offender in a county jail is at least thirty-five
dollars ($35).

SECTION 2. IC 35-38-3-3 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 3. (a) Except as
provided by subsection (b), a person convicted of a misdemeanor may
not be committed to the department of correction.

(b) Upon a request from the sheriff, the commissioner may agree to
accept custody of a misdemeanant:

(1) if placement in the county jail:
(A) places the inmate in danger of serious bodily injury or
death; or
(B) represents a substantial threat to the safety of others;
(2) for other good cause shown; or
(3) if a person has more than five hundred forty-seven (547) days
remaining before the person's earliest release date as a result of
consecutive misdemeanor sentences.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (d) and IC 35-33-11-1, a
person convicted of a Class D felony may not be committed to the
department of correction unless, as of the date of sentencing and
assuming the application of Class I credit time to the person's
entire period of incarceration, the offender will serve atleast six (6)
months in the department.

(d) Upon a request from the sheriff or a court, the commissioner
may agree to accept a person convicted of a Class D felony:

(1) if placement in the county jail:
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(A) places the inmate in danger of serious bodily injury or
death; or ‘
(B) represents a substantial threat to the safety of others;
(2) for other good cause shown; or
(3) if the person has become ineligible for participation in a:
(A) community correction program; or
(B) problem solving court program;
as a result of a violation of program requirements.
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3201

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST

Citations Affected: 1C 11-13-1-8; IC 35-38-2-3.

Synopsis: Probation sanctions. Requires the judicial conference to
adopt rules concerning swift and certain sanctions that a probation
officer may use in supervising persons on probation. Provides
procedures for a person on probation to be sanctioned by a probation
officer.

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121294
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. IC 11-13-1-8, AS AMENDED BY P.L.1-2007,
SECTION 102, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
[EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 8. (a) As used in this section,
"board" refers to the board of directors of the judicial conference of
Indiana established by IC 33-38-9-3.

(b) The board shall adopt rules consistent with this chapter,
prescribing minimum standards concerning:

(1) educational and occupational qualifications for employment
as a probation officer;

(2) compensation of probation officers;

(3) protection of probation records and disclosure of information
contained in those records; and

(4) presentence investigation reports;

(5) a schedule of progressive probation incentives and
violation sanctions, including judicial review procedures; and
(6) qualifications for probation officers to administer
probation violation sanctions under 1C 35-38-2-3(e).

(c) The conference shall prepare a writlen examination 10 be used
in establishing lists of persons eligible for appointment as probation
officers. The conference shall prescribe the qualifications for entrance
to the examination and establish a minimum passing score and rules for
the administration of the examination after obtaining recommendations
on these matters from the probation standards and practices advisory
committee. The examination must be offered at least once every other
month.

(d) The conference shall, by its rules, establish an effective date for
the minimum standards and written examination for probation officers.

(e) The conference shall provide probation departments with
training and technical assistance for:

(1) the implementation and management of probation case
classification; and
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(2) the development and use of workload information.
The staft of the Indiana judicial center may includc a probation casc
management coordinator and probation case management assistant.

(f) The conference shall, in cooperation with the department of child
services and the department of education, provide probation
departments with training and technical assistance relating to special
education services and programs that may be available for delinquent
children or children in need of services. The subjects addressed by the
training and technical assistance must include the following:

(1) Ehgibility standards.
(2) Testing requirements and procedures.
(3) Procedures and requirements for placement in programs
provided by school corporations or spccial education coopcratives
under IC 20-35-5.
(4) Procedures and requirements for placement in residential
special education institutions or facilities under IC 20-35-6-2 and
S111AC 7-27-12.
(5) Development and implementation of individual education
programs for cligible children in:
(A) accordance with applicable requirements of state and
federal laws and rules; and
(B) coordination with:
(1) individual case plans; and
(11) informal adjustment programs or dispositional decrees
entered by courts having juvenile jurisdiction under
IC 31-34 and IC 31-37.
(6) Sources of federal, state, and local funding that is or may be
available 1o support special education programs for children for
whom proceedings have been initiated under IC 31-34 and
IC 31-37.
Training for probation departments may be provided jointly with
training provided to child welfare caseworkers relating to the same
subject matter.

(g) The conference shall, in cooperation with the division of mental
health and addiction (IC 12-21) and the division of disability and
rehabilitative services (1C 12-9-1), provide probation departments with
training and technical assistance concerning menial illness, addictive
disorders, mental retardation, and developmental disabilities.

(h) The conference shall make recommendations to courts and
probation departments concerning:

(1) selection, training, distribution, and removal of probation
officers;

(2) methods and procedure for the administration of probation,
including investigation, supervision, workloads, record keeping,
and reporting; and

(3) use of citizen volunteers and public and private agencies.
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(1) The conference may delegate any of the functions described in
this section to the advisory committee or the Indiana judicial center.

SECTION 2. IC 35-38-2-3, AS AMENDED BY P.L.106-2010.
SECTION 11,ISAMENDED TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 3. (a) The court may revoke a person's probation
if:

(1) the person has violated a condition of probation during the
probationary period; and
(2) the petition to revoke probation is filed during the
probationary period or before the earlier of the following:
(A) One (1) year after the termination of probation.
(B) Forty-five (45) days after the state receives notice of the
violation.

(b) When a petition is filed charging a violation of a condition of

probation, the court may: '
(1) order a summons to be issued to the person to appear; or
(2) order a warrant for the person's arrest if there is a risk of the
person's fleeing the jurisdiction or causing harm to others.

(¢) The issuance of a summons or warrant tolls the period of
probation until the final determination of the charge.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (e), the court shall conduct
a hearing concerning the alleged violation. The court may admit the
person to bail pending the hearing. A person who is not admitted to
bail pending the hearing may not be held in jail for more than
fifteen (15) days without a hearing on the alleged violation of
probation.

(e) A person may admit to a violation of probation and waive
the right to a probation violation hearing after being offered the
opportunity to consult with an attorney. If the person admits to a
violation and requests to waive the probation violation hearing, the
probation officer shall advise the person that by waiving the right
to a probation violation hearing the person forfeits the rights
provided in subsection (f). The sanction administered shall follow
the schedule of progressive probation violation sanctions adopted
by the judicial conference of Indiana under I1C 11-13-1-8.

e} (f) Except as provided in subsection (e), the state must prove
the violation by a preponderance of the evidence. The evidence shall
be presented in open court. The person is entitled to confrontation,
cross-examination, and representation by counsel.

B (g) Probation may not be revoked for failure to comply with
conditions of a sentence that imposes financial obligations on the
person unless the person recklessly, knowingly. or intentionally fails to
pay. .

tg) (h) If the court finds that the person has violated a condition at
any time before termination of the period, and the petition to revoke is
filed within the probationary period, the court may impose one (1) or
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more of the following sanctions:
(1) Continue the person on probation, with or without modifying
or enlarging the conditions.
(2) Extend the person's probationary period for not more than one
(1) year beyond the original probationary period.
(3) Order execution of all or part of the sentence that was
suspended at the time of initial sentencing.

@) (i) If the court finds that the person has violated a condition of
home detention at any time before termination of the period, and the
petition to revoke probation is filed within the probationary period, the
court shall:

(1) order one (1) or more sanctions as set forth in subsection ¢g);
(h); and

(2) provide credit for time served as set forth under
IC 35-38-2.5-5.

9 (j) If the court finds that the person has violated a condition
during any time before the termination of the period, and the petition
1s filed under subsection (a) afier the probationary period has expired,
the court may:

(1) reinstate the person's probationary period, with or without
enlarging the conditions, if the sum of the length of the original
probationary period and the reinstated probationary period does
not exceed the length of the maximum sentence allowable for the
offense that is the basis of the probation; or

(2) order execution of all or part of the sentence that was
suspended at the time of the initial sentencing.

) (K) If the court finds that the person has violated a condition of
home detention during any time before termination of the period, and
the petition is filed under subsection (a) after the probation period has
expired, the court shall:

(1) order a sanction as set forth in subsection ¢1y; (j); and
(2) provide credit for time served as set forth under
1C 35-38-2.5-5.

) (1) A judgment revoking probation is a final appealable order.

h (m) Failure to pay fines or costs (including fees) required as a
condition of probation may not be the sole basis for commitment to the
department of correction.

{m) (n) Failure to pay fees or costs assessed against a person under
IC 33-40-3-6, IC 33-37-2-3(e), or IC 35-33-7-6 is not grounds for
revocation of probation.
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3501

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST
Citations Affected: IC 35-38-1-7.8.

Synopsis: Credit restricted felons. Requires a sentencing court to
inform the department of correction if the person sentenced is a credit
restricted felon, and makes a person who commits additional offenses
a credit restricted felon. Requires a court that determines that a person
sentenced is a credit restricted felon to state in the sentencing order and
the abstract of judgment that the person is a credit restricted felon.

Effective: July 1,2012.

20121296
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana.

SECTION 1.1C35-38-1-7.8 ISADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
ASANEW SECTION TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY
1, 2012]: Sec. 7.8. (a) At the time of sentencing, a court shall
determine whether a person is a credit restricted felon (as defined
in IC 35-41-1-5.5).

(b) A determination under subsection (a) must be based upon:

(1) evidence introduced at trial; or
(2) a factual basis provided as part of a guilty plea.

(c) Upon determining that a defendant is a credit restricted
felon, a court shall advise the defendant of the consequences of this
determination.

(d) A judge shall record a determination that a defendant is a
credit restricted felon on a form prepared by the division of state
court administration.

(e) If a court determines that a person is a credit restricted
felon, the court shall state in the person's sentencing order and
abstract of judgment that the person is a credit restricted felon.
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT
No. 3434

PREPARED BY
LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY
2012 GENERAL ASSEMBLY

DIGEST
Citations Affected: IC 11-8-7-2; IC 11-13-3-3; IC 35-38-1-31.

Synopsis: Victim rights. Requires the department of correction
(department) to: (1) establish an automated victim notification system;
and (2) notify a registered crime victim of certain changes affecting the
committed offender who committed the crime against the victim.
Specifies when the department shall make certain victim notifications.
Provides that if a court imposes a felony sentence that involves a
commitment to the department, the court shall state in the sentencing
order and abstract of judgment certain information.

Effective: July1,2012.

20121295
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
corrections.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

1 SECTION 1.1C 11-8-7-2, AS ADDED BY P.L.64-2005, SECTION
2 4, 1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
3 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) The department may shall establish an automated
4 victim notification system that must do the following:
5 (1) Automatically notify a registered crime victim when a
6 committed offender who committed the crime against the victim:
7 (A) is assigned to a:
8 (i) department facility; or
9 (ii) county jail or any other facility not operated by the
10 department;
11 (B) is transferred to a:
12 (i) department facility; or
13 (ii) county jail or any other facility not operated by the
14 department;
15 (C) is given a different security classification;
16 (D) is released on temporary leave;
17 (E) is discharged; or
18 (F) has escaped;
19 (G) has a change in the committed offender’s expected date
20 of release from incarceration;
21 (H) is scheduled to have a parole release hearing;
22 (I) has requested clemency or pardon consideration;
23 (J) is to be placed in a minimum security:
24 (i) facility; or
25 (ii) work release program;
26 or is permitted to participate in another minimum security
27 assignment; or
28 (K) dies during the committed offender's period of
29 incarceration.
30 (2) Allow a registered crime victim to receive the most recent
31 status report for an offender by calling the automated victim
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notification system on a toll free telephone number.

(3) Allow a crime victim to register or update the victim's
registration for the automated victim notification system by
calling a toll free telephone number.

(b) For purposes of subsection (a), if the department establishes an
automated victim notification systerm; a sheriff responsible for the
operation of a county jail shall immediately notify the department if a
committed offender:

(1) is transferred to another county jail or another facility not

operated by the department of correction;

(2) 1s released on temporary leave;

(3) is discharged; or

(4) has escaped.
Sheriffs and other law enforcement officers and prosecuting attorneys
shall cooperate with the department in establishing and maintaining an
automated victim notification system.

(c) An automated victim notification system may transmit
information to a person by:

(1) telephone;
(2) electronic mail; or
(3) another method as determined by the department.

(d) The department shall provide the opportunity for a
registered crime victim to receive periodic status reports
concerning the committed offender who committed the crime
against the registered crime victim, including reports stating:

(1) the committed offender's projected date of release from
imprisonment;

(2) the facility where the committed offender is imprisoned;
and

(3) the current security classification of the committed
offender.

(e) A registered crime victim may choose to receive a status
report described in subsection (d):

(1) annually;

(2) quarterly;

(3) monthly; or

(4) when triggered by an event described in subsection (a)(1).

SECTION 2. IC 11-13-3-3, AS AMENDED BY P.L.105-2010,
SECTION 5,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 3. (a) A person sentenced under IC 35-50 shall be
released on parole or discharged from the person's term of
imprisonment under IC 35-50 without a parole release hearing.

(b) A person sentenced for an offense under laws other than
IC 35-50 who is eligible for release on parole, or a person whose parole
is revoked and is eligible for reinstatement on parole under rules
adopted by the parole board shall, before the date of the person's parole
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eligibility, be granted a parole release hearing to determine whether
parole will be granted or denied. The hearing shall be conducted by one
(1) or more of the parole board members. If one (1) or more of the
members conduct the hearing on behalf of the parole board, the final
decision shall be rendered by the full parole board based upon the
record of the proceeding and the hearing conductor's findings. Before
the hearing, the parole board shall order an investigation to include the
collection and consideration of:

(1) reports regarding the person's medical, psychological,

educational, vocational, employment, economic, and social

condition and history;

(2) official reports of the person's history of criminality;

(3) reports of earlier parole or probation experiences;

(4) reports concerning the person's present commitment that are

relevant to the parole release determination;

(5) any relevant information submitted by or on behalf of the

person being considered; and

(6) such other relevant information concerning the person as may

be reasonably available.

(¢) Unless the victim has requested in writing not to be notified, the
department shall notify a victim of a felony (or the next of kin of the
victim if the felony resulted in the death of the victim) or any witness
involved in the prosecution of an offender imprisoned for the
commission of a felony when the offender is:

(1) to be discharged from imprisonment;

(2) to be released on parole under 1C 35-50-6-1;

(3) to have a parole release hearing under this chapter;

(4) to have a parole violation hearing;

(5) an escaped committed offender; or

(6) to bereleased from departmental custody under any temporary

release program administered by the department, including the

following:
(A) Placement on minimum security assignment to a program
authorized by IC 11-10-1-3 or IC 35-38-3-6 and requiring
periodic reporting to a designated official, including a
regulated community assignment program.
(B) Assignment to a minimum security work release program.

(d) The department shall make the notification required under
subsection (c):

(1) not later than twenty-four (24) hours after the escape of a

committed offender;

B (2) at least forty (40) days before: a
(A) the discharge or release of a committed offender; or
(B) the date of a hearing oecurs; concerning a committed
offender's possible discharge or release; and

2 (3) if the date of a committed offender's discharge or
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release as referred to in subdivision (2)(A) is changed during
the forty (40) day notification period referred to in
subdivision (2), not fater more than twenty=four 24y hours after
the eseape of a commuitted offender- forty-eight (48) hours after
the change in the discharge or release date.
The department shall supply the information to a victim {or a next of
kin of a victim in the appropriate case) and a witness at the address
supplied to the department by the victim (or next of kin) or witness. A
victim (or next of kin) is responsible for supplying the department with
any change of address or telephone number of the victim (or next of
kin).

(e) The probation officer conducting the presentence investigation
shall inform the victim and witness described in subsection (c), at the
time of the interview with the victim or witness, of the right of the
victim or witness to receive notification from the department under
subsection (c). The probation department for the sentencing court shall
forward the most recent list of the addresses or telephone numbers, or
both, of victims to the department of correction. The probation
department shall supply the department with the information required
by this section as soon as possible but not later than five (5) days from
the receipt of the information from the victim. A victim (or next of kin)
is responsible for supplying the department with the correct address
and telephone number of the victim (or next of kin).

(f) Notwithstanding 1C 11-8-5-2 and 1C 4-1-6, an inmate may not
have access to the name and address of a victim and a witness. Upon
the filing of a motion by any person requesting or objecting to the
release of victim information, witness information, or both that is
retained by the department, the court shall review the information that
is the subject of the motion in camera before ruling on the motion.

() The notice required under subsection (c¢) must specify whether
the prisoner is being discharged, is being released on parole, is being
released on lifetime parole, is having a parole release hearing, is having
a parole violation hearing, or has escaped. The notice must contain the
following information:

(1) The name of the prisoner.

(2) The date of the offense.

(3) The date of the conviction.

(4) The felony of which the prisoner was convicted.

(5) The sentence imposed.

(6) The amount of time served.

(7) The date and location of the interview (if applicable).

(h) The parole board shall adopt rules under 1C 4-22-2 and make
available to offenders the criteria considered in making parole release
determinations. The criteria must include the:

(1) nature and circumstances of the crime for which the offender
is committed;
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(2) offender's prior criminal record,
(3) offender's conduct and attitude during the commitment; and
(4) offender’s parole plan.

(1) The hearing prescribed by this section may be conducted in an

informal manner without regard to rules of evidence. In connection

* with the hearing, however:

(1) reasonable, advance written notice, including the date, time,
and place of the hearing shall be provided to the person being
considered;
(2) the person being considered shall be given access, in accord
with IC 11-8-5, to records and reports considered by the parole
board in making its parole release decision;
(3) the person being considered may appear, speak in the person's
own behalf, and present documentary evidence;
(4) irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious evidence shall be
excluded; and
(5) arecord of the proceeding, to include the results of the parole
board's investigation, notice of the hearing, and evidence adduced
at the hearing, shall be made and preserved.

(j) If parole is denied, the parole board shall give the person written
notice of the denial and the reasons for the denial. The parole board
may not parole a person if it determines that there is substantial reason
to believe that the person:

(1) will engage in further specified criminal activity; or
(2) will not conform to appropriate specified conditions of parole.

(k) If parole is denied, the parole board shall conduct another parole
release hearing not earlier than five (5) years after the date of the
hearing at which parole was denied. However, the board may conduct
a hearing earlier than five (5) years after denial of parole if the board:

(1) finds that special circumstances exist for the holding of a
hearing; and :

(2) gives reasonable notice to the person being considered for
parole.

(1) The parole board may parole a person who is outside Indiana on
a record made by the appropriate authorities of the jurisdiction in
which that person is imprisoned.

(m) If the board is considering the release on parole of an offender
who is serving a sentence of life in prison, -a determinate term of
imprisonment of at least ten (10) years, or an indeterminate term of
imprisonment with a minimum term of at least ten (10) years, in
addition to the investigation required under subsection (b), except as
provided in subsection (n), the board may order and consider a
community investigation, which may include an investigation and
report that substantially reflects the attitudes and opinions of:

(1) the community in which the crime committed by the offender
occurred;
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(2) law enforcement officers who have jurisdiction in the

community in which the crime occurred;

(3) the victim of the crime committed by the offender, or if the

victim is deceased or incompetent for any reason, the victim's

relatives or friends; and

(4) friends or relatives of the offender.
If the board reconsiders for release on parole an offender who was
previously released on parole and whose parole was revoked under
section 10 of this chapter, the board mayuse a community investigation
prepared for an earlier parole hearing to comply with this subsection.
However, the board shall accept and consider any supplements or
amendments to any previous statements from the victim or the victim's
relatives or friends.

(n) The board shall conduct the community investigation described
in subsection (m) if:

(1) the person was convicted of a crime of violence (as defined in
IC 35-50-1-2); or
(2) the person is a sex offender (as defined in IC 11-8-84.5).

(o) As used in this section, "victim" means a person who has
suffered direct harm as a result of a violent crime (as defined in
IC 5-2-6.1-8).

SECTION 3.1C 35-38-1-311S ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE
AS ANEW SECTION TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY
1, 2012]: Sec. 31. If a court imposes on a person convicted of a
felony a sentence thatinvolves a commitment to the department of
correction, the court shall state in the sentencing order and the

abstract of judgment:
(1) the minimum and maximum amount of time am
could be incarcerated considering:

(A) the application of credit time under I1C 35-50-6;

(B) the possibility of supervision after incarceration; and
(C) credit for tim erson has already served in jail;
(2) each offense the person is convicted of; T
(3) the sentence, including whether the sentence includes a
suspended sentence, probation, or direct commitment to
community corrections; and
(4) if probation, parole, or a community corrections
placement has been revoked, the reasons for the revocation.
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Second Regular Session 117th General Assembly (2012)

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning
criminal law and procedure.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. IC 24-4.6-5-7, AS ADDED BY P.L.97-2011,
SECTION 2, 1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 7. If a vehicle owner does not:

(1) pay the total pump price of the motor fuel pumped and the
service charge in response to a notice sent by a retailer under this
chapter; or .
(2) reply to the retailer's notice with a written notice under section
6(b)(1) or 6(b)(2) of this chapter;
the vehicle owner's civil liability under this chapter does not preclude
criminal liability under IC 35-43-4-2, IC 35-43-4-3 (before its repeal),
IC 35-43-4-8, or any other law.

SECTION 2. IC 28-7-5-33 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 33. A pawnbroker has
a firstlien on all pledges for the amount of his the pawnbroker's loan,
interest, and charges except:

(1) when the property that constitutes the pledge is stolen
(IC35-43-4-2) or criminally converted (IC 35-43-4-3) (before its
repeal) property; or

(2) where a prior lien exists under another statute.

SECTION 3. IC 31-37-19-17.2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 17.2. (a) This section
applies if a child is a delinquent child under IC 31-37-1 due to the
commission of a delinquent act that, if committed by an adult, would
be a theft or criminal conversion (before its repeal) described in
IC 35-43-4-8 (fuel theft).

(b) The juvenile court shall, in addition to any other order or decree
the court makes under this chapter, order the bureau of motor vehicles
to:

(1) suspend the child's operator's license; or
(2) invalidate the child's learner's permit;
under IC 9-25-6-21 in the same manner as the bureau of motor vehicles
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| is required to suspend the driving privileges of a person convicted of
2 fuel theft,
3 SECTION 4. IC 32-35-2-9 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
4 FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY 1,2012]: Sec. 9. The court may issue
5 an order for possession under this chapter before the hearing if
6 probable cause appears that any of the following subdivisions apply:
7 (1) The defendant gained possession of the property by theft or
8 criminal conversion (before its repeal).
9 (2) The property consists of one (1) or more negotiable
10 instruments or credit cards.
11 X (3) Byreason of specific, competent evidence shown by testimony
12 within the personal knowledge of an affiant or witness, the
13 property is:
14 (A) perishable, and will perish before any noticed hearing can
15 be had;
16 (B) in.immediate danger of destruction, serious harm,
17 concealment, removal from Indiana, or sale to an innocent
18 purchaser; or
19 (C) held by a person who threatens to destroy, harm, or
20 conceal the property, remove the property from Indiana, or sell
21 the property to an innocent purchaser.
22 SECTION 5. IC 34-24-1-1, AS AMENDED BY P.L.182-2011,
23 SECTION 8, 1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
24 JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 1. (a) The following may be seized:
25 (1) All vehicles (as defined by IC 35-41-1), if they are used or are
26 intended for use by the person or persons in possession of them to
27 transport or in any manner to facilitate the transportation of the
28 following:
29 (A) A controlled substance for the purpose of committing,
30 attempting to commit, or conspiring to commit any of the
31 following:
32 (i) Dealing in or manufacturing cocaine or a narcotic drug
33 (IC 35-48-4-1).
34 (ii) Dealing in methamphetamine (IC 35-48-4-1.1).
35 A (iii) Dealing in a schedule I, II, or III controlled substance
36 (IC 35-48-4-2).
37 (iv) Dealing in a schedule IV controlled substance
38 (IC 35-48-4-3).
39 (v) Dealing in a schedule V controlled substance
40 (IC 35-48-4-4). '
41 (vi) Dealing in a counterfeit substance (IC 35-48-4-5).
42 (vii) Possession of cocaine or a narcotic drug (IC 35-48-4-6).
43 (viii) Possession of methamphetamine (IC 35-48-4-6.1).
44 (ix) Dealing in paraphemalia (IC 35-48-4-8.5).
45 (x) Dealing in marijuana, hash oil, hashish, salvia, or a
46 synthetic cannabinoid (IC 35-48-4-10).
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(B) Any stolen (IC 35-43-4-2) or converted property
(IC 35-43-4-3) (before its repeal) if the retail or repurchase
value of that property is one hundred dollars ($100) or more.
" (C) Any hazardous waste in violation of IC 13-30-10-1.5.
(D) A bomb (as defined in IC 35-41-1-4.3) or weapon of mass
destruction (as defined in IC 35-41-1-29.4) used to commit,
used in an attempt to commit, or used in a conspiracy to
commit an offense under IC 35-47 as part of or in furtherance
of an act of terrorism (as defined by IC 35-41-1-26.5).
(2) All money, negotiable instruments, securities, weapons,
communications devices, or any property used to commit, used in
an attempt to commit, or used in a conspiracy to commit an
offense under IC 35-47 as part of or in furtherance of an act of
terrorism or commonly used as consideration for a violation of
IC 35-48-4 (other than items subject to forfeiture under
IC 16-42-20-5 or IC 16-6-8.5-5.1 before its repeal):
(A) furnished or intended to be furnished by any person in
exchange for an act that is in violation of a criminal statute;
(B) used to facilitate any violation of a criminal statute; or
(C) traceable as proceeds of the violation of a criminal statute.
(3) Any portion of real or personal property purchased with
money that is traceable as a proceed of a violation of a criminal
statute.
(4) A vehicle that is used by a person to:
(A) commit, attempt to commit, or conspire to commit;
(B) facilitate the commission of; or
(C) escape from the commission of;
murder (IC 35-42-1-1), kidnapping (IC 35-42-3-2), criminal
confinement (IC 35-42-3-3), rape (IC 35-42-4-1), child molesting
(IC 35-42-4-3), or child exploitation (IC 35-42-4-4), or an offense
under IC 35-47 as part of or in furtherance of an act of terrorism.
(5) Real property owned by a person who uses it to commit any of
the following as a Class A felony, a Class B felony, or a Class C
felony:
(A) Dealing in or manufacturing cocaine or a narcotic drug
(1C 35-48-4-1).
(B) Dealing in methamphetamine (IC 35-48-4-1.1).
(C) Dealing in a schedule I, II, or III controlled substance
(IC 35-48-4-2).
(D) Dealing in a schedule IV controlled substance
(1C 35-48-4-3).
(E) Dealing in marijuana, hash oil, hashish, salvia, or a
synthetic cannabinoid (1C 35-48-4-10).
(6) Equipment and recordings used by a person to commit fraud
under IC 35-43-5-4(10).
(7)Recordings sold, rented, transported, or possessed by a person
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in violation of IC 24-4-10.
(8) Property (as defined by IC 35-41-1-23) or an enterprise (as
defined by IC 35-45-6-1) that is the object of a corrupt business
influence violation (IC 35-45-6-2).
(9) Unlawful telecommunications devices (as defined in
IC 35-45-13-6) and plans, instructions, or publications used to
commit an offense under IC 35-45-13,
(10) Any equipment, including computer equipment and cellular
telephones, used for or intended for use in preparing,
photographing, recording, videotaping, digitizing, printing,
copying, or disseminating matter in violation of IC 35-42-4.
(11) Destructive devices used, possessed, transported, or sold in
violation of IC 35-47.5.
(12) Tobacco products that are sold in violation of IC 24-3-5,
tobacco products that a person attempts to sell in violation of
IC 24-3-5, and other personal property owned and used by a
person to facilitate a violation of IC 24-3-5.
(13) Property used by a person to commit counterfeiting or
forgery in violation of IC 35-43-5-2.
(14) After December 31, 2005, if a person is convicted of an
offense specified in IC 25-26-14-26(b) or IC 35-43-10, the
following real or personal property:
(A) Property used or intended to be used to commit, facilitate,
or promote the commission of the offense.
(B) Property constituting, derived from, or traceable to the
gross proceeds that the person obtained directly or indirectly
as a result of the offense.
(15) Except as provided in subsection (e), a motor vehicle used by
a person who operates the motor vehicle:
(A) while intoxicated, in violation of IC 9-30-5-1 through
1C9-30-5-5, if in the previous five (5) years the person has two
(2) or more prior unrelated convictions:
(i) for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in
violation of IC 9-30-5-1 through IC 9-30-5-5; or
(ii) for an offense that is substantially similar to IC 9-30-5-1
through IC 9-30-5-5 in another jurisdiction; or
(B) on a highway while the person's driver's license is
suspended in violation of IC 9-24-19-2 through IC 9-24-19-4,
if in the previous five (5) years the person has two (2) or more
prior unrelated convictions:
(i) for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in
violation of IC 9-30-5-1 through IC 9-30-5-5; or
(ii) for an offense that is substantially similar to IC 9-30-5-1
through IC 9-30-5-5 in another jurisdiction.
If a court orders the seizure of a motor vehicle under this
subdivision, the court shall transmit an order to the bureau of
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motor vehicles recommending that the bureau not permit a motor
vehicle to be registered in the name of the person whose motor
vehicle was seized until the person possesses a current driving
license (as defined in IC 9-13-2-41).
(16) The following real or personal property:
(A) Property used or intended to be used to commit, facilitate,
or promote the commission of an offense specified in
IC 23-14-48-9, IC 30-2-9-7(b), IC 30-2-10-9(b), or
IC 30-2-13-38(f).
(B) Property constituting, derived from, or traceable to the
gross proceeds that a person obtains directly or indirectly as a
result of an offense specified in IC 23-14-48-9,1C 30-2-9-7(b),
IC 30-2-10-9(b), or IC 30-2-13-38(f).

(b) A vehicle used by any person as a common or contract carrier in
the transaction of business as a common or contract carrier is not
subject to seizure under this section, unless it can be proven by a
preponderance of the evidence that the owner of the vehicle knowingly
permitted the vehicle to be used to engage in conduct that subjects it to
seizure under subsection (a).

(c) Equipment under subsection (2)(10) may not be seized unless it
can be proven by a preponderance of the evidence that the owner of the
equipment knowingly permitted the equipment to be used to engage in
conduct that subjects it to seizure under subsection (a)(10).

(d) Money, negotiable instruments, securities, weapons,
communications devices, or any property commonly used as
consideration for a violation of IC 35-48-4 found near or on a person
who is committing, attempting to commit, or conspiring to commit any
of the following offenses shall be admitted into evidence in an action
under this chapter as prima facie evidence that the money, negotiable
instrument, security, or other thing of value is property that has been

- used or was to have been used to facilitate the violation of a criminal

statute or is the proceeds of the violation of a criminal statute:
(1) 1C 35-48-4-1 (dealing in or manufacturing cocaine or a
narcotic drug).
(2) IC 35-48-4-1.1 (dealing in methamphetamine).
(3) IC 35-48-4-2 (dealing in a schedule I, 1, or IlI controlled
substance).
(4) IC 35-48-4-3 (dealing in a schedule IV controlled substance).
(5) IC 35-48-4-4 (dealing in a schedule V controlled substance)
as a Class B felony.
(6) IC 35-48-4-6 (possession of cocaine or a narcotic drug) as a
Class A felony, Class B felony, or Class C felony.
(7) IC 35-48-4-6.1 (possession of methamphetamine) as a Class
A felony, Class B felony, or Class C felony.
(8) IC 35-48-4-10 (dealing in marijuana, hash oil, hashish, salvia,
or a synthetic cannabinoid) as a Class C felony.
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(e) A motor vehicle operated by a person who is not:
(1) an owner of the motor vehicle; or
(2) the spouse of the person who owns the motor vehicle;
is not subject to seizure under subsection (a)(15) unless it can be
proven by a preponderance of the evidence that the owner of the
vehicle knowingly permitted the vehicle to be used to engage in
conduct that subjects it to seizure under subsection (a)(15).

SECTION 6. 1C 34-24-3-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) For purposes of
determining the amount of damages recoverable under section 1(1) of
this chapter, there is an irrebuttable presumption that a retailer who
brings a civil action under this chapter (or IC 34-4-30 before its repeal)
as the result of a violation of IC 35-43-4-2 (theft) or IC 35-43-4-3
(criminal conversion) (before its repeal) suffers a pecuniary loss in
the amount of’

(1) one hundred dollars ($100) regardless of whether:
(A) the property is returned to the retailer; or
(B) the actual retail value of the property is less than one
hundred dollars ($100); or
(2) the retailer's actual damages;
whichever is greater.

(b) Anindividual found liable in a civil action under this chapter (or
IC 34-4-30 before its repeal) for violating IC 35-43-4-2 or1C35-43-4-3
(before its repeal) may not be indemnified or insured for any
penalties, damages, or settlement arising from the violation.

SECTION 7. IC 34-30-3-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) The definitions
set forth in IC 22-11-20 apply to this section.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c), the victim or an agent of
the victim of a theft #€35-43=4=2ta)y (IC 35-43-4-2) or criminal
conversion (IC 35-43-4-3) (before its repeal) of:

(1) anhydrous ammonia (NH,);

(2) an ammonia solution; or

(3) a container used to store or transport anhydrous ammonia or

an ammonia solution;
is immune from civil liability for injury or damage resulting from the
possession or use of the anhydrous ammonia, ammonia solution, or
container by another person to commit a violation of IC 35-48-4,

(c) A victim or an agent described in subsection (b) is not immune
from civil liability under subsection (b) if:

(1) the victim or agent committed a crime involving the

anhydrous ammonia, ammonia solution, or container that is the

subject of the theft or criminal conversion; or

(2) the victim's or agent's willful or intentional commission of a

violation of an applicable law, rule, or regulation governing the:
(A) design;
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(B) construction;

(C) location;

(D) installation; or

(E) operation;
of equipment for storage, handling, use, or transportation of
anhydrous ammonia or ammonia solution proximately caused the
theft or criminal conversion.

SECTION 8. IC 34-30-20-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 1. A person is immune
from civil liability based on an act or omission related to the use of a
firearm or ammunition for a firearm by another person if the other
person directly or indirectly obtained the firearm or ammunition for a
firearm through the commission of the following:

(1) Burglary (IC 35-43-2-1).

(2) Robbery (IC 35-42-5-1).

(3) Theft (1C 35-43-4-2).

(4) Receiving stolen property (IC 35-43-4-2).

(5) Criminal conversion (IC 35-43-4-3) (before its repeal).

SECTION 9. IC 35-32-2-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 2. (a) A person may be
tried for theft or conversion (for an act committed before its repeal)
in any county in which he the person exerted unauthorized control
over the property.

{(b) A person may be tried for receiving stolen property (for an act
committed before its repeal) in any county in which ke the person
receives, retains, or disposes of the property.

SECTION 10. IC 35-33-1-1, AS AMENDED BY P.L.171-2011,
SECTION 20, 1S AMENDED TOREAD AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 1. (a) A law enforcement officer may arrest a
person when the officer has:

(1) a warrant commanding that the person be arrested;
(2) probable cause to believe the person has committed or
attempted to commit, or is committing or attempting to commit,
theft or a felony;
(3) probable cause to believe the person has violated the
provisions of IC 9-26-1-1(1), IC 9-26-1-1(2), IC 9-26-1-2(1),
IC 9-26-1-2(2), IC 9-26-1-3, IC 9-26-1-4, or IC 9-30-5;
(4) probable cause to believe the person is committing or
attempting to commit a misdemeanor in the officer's presence;
(5) probable cause to believe the person has committed a:
(A) battery resulting in bodily injury under IC 35-42-2-1; or
(B) domestic battery under I1C 35-42-2-1.3.
The officer may use an affidavit executed by an individual alleged
to have direct knowledge of the incident alleging the elements of
the offense of battery to establish probable cause;
(6) probable cause to believe that the person violated
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1 IC 35-46-1-15.1 (invasion of privacy);
2 (7) probable cause to believe that the person violated
3 IC 35-47-2-1 (carrying a handgun without a license) or
4 IC 35-47-2-22 (counterfeit handgun license);
5 (8) probable cause to believe that the person is violating or has
6 violated an order issued under IC 35-50-7;
7 (9) probable cause to believe that the person is violating or has
8 violated 1C 35-47-6-1.1 (undisclosed transport of a dangerous
9 device);
10 (10) probable cause to believe that the person is:
11 (A) violating or has violated IC 35-45-2-5 (interference with
12 the reporting of a crime); and
13 (B) interfering with or preventing the reporting of a crime
14 involving domestic or family violence (as defined in
15 IC 34-6-2-34.5);
16 (11) a removal order issued for the person by an immigration
17 court;
18 (12) a detainer or notice of action for the person issued by the
19 United States Department of Homeland Security; or
20 (13) probable cause to believe that the person has been indicted
21 for or convicted of one (1) or more aggravated felonies (as
22 defined in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(43)).
23 (b) A person who:
24 (1) is employed full time as a federal enforcement officer;
25 (2) is empowered to effect an arrest with or without warrant for a
26 violation of the United States Code; and
27 (3) is authorized to carry firearms in the performance of the
28 person's duties;
29 may act as an officer for the arrest of offenders against the laws of this
30 state where the person reasonably believes that a felony has been or is
31 about to be committed or attempted in the person's presence.
32 SECTION 11. IC 35-37-4-6, AS AMENDED BY P.1.28-2011,
33 SECTION 1,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
34 JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 6. (a) This section applies to a criminal action
35 involving the following offenses where the victim is a protected person
36 under subsection (c)(1) or (c)(2):
37 (1) Sex crimes (IC 35-42-4).
38 (2) Battery upon a child (1C 35-42-2-1(a)(2)(B)).
39 (3) Kidnapping and confinement (IC 35-42-3).
40 (4) Incest (IC 35-46-1-3).
41 (5) Neglect of a dependent (IC 35-46-1-4).
42 (6) Human and sexual trafficking crimes (IC 35-42-3.5).
43 (7) An attempt under IC 35-41-5-1 for an offense listed in
44 subdivisions (1) through (6).
45 (b) This section applies to a criminal action involving the following
46 offenses where the victim is a protected person under subsection (c)(3):
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1 (1) Exploitation of a dependent or endangered adult
2 (IC 35-46-1-12).
3 (2) A sex crime (1C 35-42-4).
4 (3) Battery (1C 35-42-2-1).
5 (4) Kidnapping, confinement, or interference with custody
6 (IC 35-42-3).
7 (5) Home improvement fraud (1C 35-43-6).
8 (6) Fraud (IC 35-43-5). v
9 (7) Identity deception (IC 35-43-5-3.5).
10 (8) Synthetic identity deception (IC 35-43-5-3.8).
11 (9) Theft (IC 35-43-4-2).
12 (10) Criminal conversion (IC 35-43-4-3) (before its repeal).
13 (11) Neglect of a dependent (IC 35-46-1-4).
14 (12) Human and sexual trafficking crimes (IC 35-42-3.5).
15 (c) As used in this section, "protected person” means:
16 (1) a child who is less than fourteen (14) years of age;
17 (2) an individual with a mental disability who has a disability
18 attributable to an impairment of general intellectual functioning
19 or adaptive behavior that:
20 (A) is manifested before the individual is eighteen (18) years
21 of age;
22 (B) is likely to continue indefinitely;
23 (C) constitutes a substantial impairment of the individual's
24 ability to function normally in society; and
25 (D) reflects the individual's need for a combination and
26 sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic care,
27 treatment, or other services that are of lifelong or extended
28 duration and are individually planned and coordinated; or
29 (3) an individual who is:
30 (A) at least eighteen (18) years of age; and
31 (B) incapable by reason of mental illness, mental retardation,
32 dementia, or other physical or mental incapacity of:
33 (i) managing or directing the management of the individual's
34 property; or
35 (ii) providing or directing the provision of self-care.
36 (d) A statement or videotape that:
37 (1) is made by a person who at the time of trial is a protected
38 person;
39 (2) concerns an act that is a material element of an offense listed
40 in subsection (a) or (b) that was allegedly committed against the
41 person; and
42 (3) is not otherwise admissible in evidence;
43 is admissible in evidence in a criminal action for an offense listed in
44 subsection (a) or (b) if the requirements of subsection (e) are met.
45 (e) A statement or videotape described in subsection (d) is
46 admissible in evidence in a criminal action listed in subsection (a) or
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(b) if, after notice to the defendant of a hearing and of the defendant's
right to be present, all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The court finds, in a hearing:
(A) conducted outside the presence of the jury; and
(B) attended by the protected person in person or by using
closed circuit television testimony as described in section 8(f)
and 8(g) of this chapter;
that the time, content, and circumstances of the statement or
videotape provide sufficient indications of reliability.
(2) The protected person:
(A) testifies at the trial; or
(B) is found by the court to be unavailable as a witness for one
(1) of the following reasons:
(i) From the testimony of a psychiatrist, physician, or
psychologist, and other evidence, if any, the court finds that
the protected person's testifying in the physical presence of
the defendant will cause the protected person to suffer
serious emotional distress such that the protected person
cannot reasonably communicate.
(i1) The protected person cannot participate in the trial for
medical reasons.
(iii) The court has determined that the protected person is
incapable of understanding the nature and obligation of an
oath.

(f) If a protected person is unavailable to testify at the trial for a
reason listed in subsection (e)(2)(B), a statement or videotape may be
admitted in evidence under this section only if the protected person was
available for cross-examination:

(1) at the hearing described in subsection (e)(1); or
(2) when the statement or videotape was made.

(g) A statement or videotape may not be admitted in evidence under
this section unless the prosecuting attorney informs the defendant and
the defendant's attorney at least ten (10) days before the trial of:

(1) the prosecuting attorney's intention to introduce the statement
or videotape in evidence; and
(2) the content of the statement or videotape.

(h) If a statement or videotape is admitted in evidence under this
section, the court shall instruct the jury that it is for the jury to
determine the weight and credit to be given the statement or videotape
and that, in making that determination, the jury shall consider the
following: '

(1) The mental and physical age of the person making the
statement or videotape.

(2) The nature of the statement or videotape.

(3) The circumstances under which the statement or videotape
was made.
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(4) Other relevant factors.

(i) If a statement or videotape described in subsection (d) is
admitted into evidence under this section, a defendant may introduce
a:

(1) transcript; or
(2) videotape;
of the hearing held under subsection (e)(1) into evidence at trial.

SECTION 12, IC 35-43-1-2, AS AMENDED BY P.L.216-2007,
SECTION48,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) Subsection (e) does not apply to the
following:

(1) A person who acts in a proper and acceptable manner as
authorized by 1C 14-21 other than a person who disturbs the
earth for an agricultural purpose under the exemption to
IC 14-21 that is provided in I1C 14-21-1-24,

(2) A person who acts in a proper and acceptable manner as
authorized by 1C 23-14.

(b) As used in this section:

(1) "Cave" means any naturally occurring subterranean
cavity, including a cavern, pit, pothole, sinkhole, well, grotto,
and tunnel, whether or not it has a natural entrance.
(2) "Computer network" and "computer system' have the
meanings set forth in 1C 35-43-2-3.
(3) "Computer program™ means an ordered set of
instructions or statements that, when executed by a computer,
causes the computer to process data.
(4) "Data" means a representation of information, facts,
knowledge, concepts, or instructions that:
(A) may take any form, including computer printouts,
magnetic storage media, punched cards, or stored
memory;
(B) has been prepared or is being prepared; and
(C) has been processed, is being processed, or will be
processed;
in a computer system or computer network.
(5) "Owner" means the person who holds title to or is in
possession of the land on or under which a cave is located, or
the person's lessee or agent.
(6) "Scientific purposes" means exploration and research
conducted by persons affiliated with recognized scientific
organizations with the intent to advance knowledge and with
the intent to publish the results of the exploration or research
in an appropriate medium.

€ay (¢) A person who:

(1) recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally damages or defaces
property of another person without the other person's consent; or
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(2) knowingly or intentionally causes another to suffer pecuniary
loss by deception or by an expression of intention to injure
another person or to damage the property or to impair the rights
of another person;
commits criminal mischief, a Class B misdemeanor. However, the
offense is:
(A) a Class A misdemeanor if:

[o-BEN e R R S

e B W WL W WWLWLWWWIRRNNPNDNDNDPDNNDPDE = == = =

(i) the pecuniary loss is at least two hundred fifty dollars
($250) but less than two thousand five hundred dollars
($2,500);

(ii) the property damaged was a moving motor vehicle;
(ii1) the property damaged contained data relating to a
person required to register as a sex or violent offender under
IC 11-8-8 and the person is not a sex or violent offender or
was not required to register as a sex or violent offender;
(iv) the property damaged was a locomotive, a railroad car,
a train, or equipment of a railroad company being operated
on a railroad right-of-way;

(v) the property damaged was a part of any railroad signal
system, train control system, centralized dispatching system,
or highway railroad grade crossing warning signal on a
railroad right-of-way owned, leased, or operated by a
railroad company;

(vi) the property damaged was any rail, switch, roadbed,
viaduct, bridge, trestle, culvert, or embankment on a
right-of-way owned, leased, or operated by a railroad
company; or

(vii) the property damage or defacement was caused by paint
or other markings; and

(B) a Class D felony if:

(1) the pecuniary loss is at least two thousand five hundred
dollars ($2,500);

(ii) the damage causes a substantial interruption or
impairment of utility service rendered to the public;

(ii1) the damage is to a public record,

(iv) the property damaged contained data relating to a
person required to register as a sex or violent offender under
IC 11-8-8 and the person is a sex or violent offender or was
required to register as a sex or violent offender;

(v) the damage causes substantial interruption or impairment
of work conducted in a scientific research facility;

(vi) the damage is to a law enforcement animal (as defined
in IC 35-46-34.5); or

(vii) the damage causes substantial interruption or
impairment of work conducted in a food processing facility.

@) (d) A person who recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally
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damages:
(1) a structure used for religious worship;
(2) a school or community center;
(3) the grounds:
(A) adjacent to; and
(B) owned or rented in common with;
a structure or facility identified in subdivision (1) or (2); or
(4) personal property contained in a structure or located at a
facility identified in subdivision (1) or (2);
without the consent of the owner, possessor, or occupant of the
property that is damaged, commits institutional criminal mischief, a
Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense is a Class D felony if the
pecuniary loss is at least two hundred fifty dollars ($250) but less than
two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), and a Class C felony if the
pecuniary loss is at least two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500).
(e) A person who recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally:
(1) damages a cemetery, a burial ground (as defined in
IC 14-21-1-3), or a facility used for memorializing the dead; .
(2) damages the grounds owned or rented by a cemetery or
facility used for memorializing the dead; or
(3) disturbs, defaces, or damages a cemetery monument, grave
marker, grave artifact, grave ornamentation, or cemetery
enclosure;
commits cemetery mischief, a Class A misdemeanor. However, the
offense is a Class D felony if the pecuniary loss is at least two
thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500).
(f) A person who knowingly and without the express consent of
the cave owner:
(1) disfigures, destroys, or removes any stalagmite, stalactite,
or other naturally occurring mineral deposit or formation, or
archeological or paleontological artifact in a cave, for other
than scientific purposes;
(2) breaks any lock, gate, fence, or other structure designed to
control or prevent access to a cave;
(3) deposits trash, rubbish, chemicals, or other litter in a cave;
or
(4) destroys, injures, removes, or harasses any cave-dwelling
animal for other than scientific purposes;
commits cave mischief, a Class A misdemeanor.
(2) A person who knowingly or intentionally alters or damages
a computer program or data that comprises a part of a computer
system or computer network without the consent of the owner of
the computer system or computer network commits computer
tampering, a Class D felony. However, the offense is a:
(1) Class C felony if the offense is committed for the purpose
of terrorism; and
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1 (2) Class B felony if the offense is committed for the purpose
2 of terrorism and results in serious bodily injury to a person.
3 €ey (h) If a person is convicted of an offense under this section that
4 involves the use of graffiti, the court may, in addition to any other
5 penalty, order that the person's operator's license be suspended or
6 invalidated by the bureau of motor vehicles for not more than one (1)
7 year.
8 ) (i) The court may rescind an order for suspension or invalidation
9 under subsection ey (h) and allow the person to receive a license or
10 permit before the period of suspension or invalidation ends if the court
11 determines that:
12 (1) the person has removed or painted over the graffiti or has
13 made other suitable restitution; and
14 (2) the person who owns the property damaged or defaced by the
15 criminal mischief or institutional criminal mischief is satisfied
16 with the removal, painting, or other restitution performed by the
17 person.
18 SECTION 13.IC 35-43-1-2.1 ISREPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY
19 1. See: 21 €2y Thts section does not apply to the folowing:
20 <<&‘(—1-)74*;pcrsm‘twhvt)frctsiﬂatprcr]::vera'm‘lzrcf:epifa-b}errrfn-n'reras
21 attherized by 1€ 14=21 other than a person who disturbs the earth
22 } for an agriculturat purpose under the exemption to 1€ 142+ that
23 . s provided in 1€ +4=2+-124
24 &) A person who acts in a proper and aceeptable manner as
25 atthorized by 1€ 23-14- ;
26 {b) A person who reckiessty; knowimgly; or intentionatly: '
27 ) damages a cemetery; a burtal ground fas defined
28 1€ H=21=1=33; or a facility used for memoriatizing the dead;
29 Zydamages the grounds owned or rented by a cemetery or facility
30 tsed for memoriatizing the dead; or
31 {3) disturbs; defaces; or damages a eemetery monument; grave
32 marker; grave artifact, grave ornamentatiom; or cemetery
33 enclosure:
34 commits cemetery mischief; a €lass A misdemeanor: However; the
35 offense ts a Elass D fetonry if the peeuntary loss 1s at teast two thousand
36 frve hundred dolttars (52;566)-
37 SECTION 14.1C 35-43-1-3 ISREPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
38 2012]. Sees 3 fa) As used in this seetron:
39 I€Cave" means any maturally occurring subterrancan cavitys
40 mchrding a eaverm; pit; pothote; sinkhote; well; grotto; and tunnet
41 whether or not 1t has a natural entrance:
42C¢5  “Owner" means the person who hotds titte to or is in possession of
43 the tand on or under which a eave 1s tocated; or his tessee; or agent:
44 “Setentifte purposes” means exploration and research conducted by

45 persons affitiated with recognized scientifie organtzations with the
46 intent to advance knowledge and with the intent to publish the results
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of satd explorattoty or research in an appropriate mediun::

by A person who knowingly and without the express consent of the
cave owner:

D disfrgures; destroys; or removes any statagmite; stalactite; or

other naturally oceurring mineral deposit or formation; or

archeotogical or paleontologieat artifact m & cave; for other than

sctentifre purposes;

{2) breaks any lock; gate; fence; or other structure destgned to

eontrol or prevent aceess to a cave;

3) depostts trash; rubbish; chemteals; or other litter na cave; or

&) destroys; mjures; removes; or harasses any cave=dwelling

animat for other than sctentific purposes;
commits a €lass A misdemeanor:

SECTION 15.1C 35-43-1-4 ISREPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
2012]. See: 4- (a) As used m this seetion:

“Computer network™ and “computer system™ have the meanings set
forth it 1€ 35-43-2-3-

YComputer program' means an ordered set of instruictions or
statcmcnfsfhat—whcncxccufcdbyacomputcrcauscsthccomptrtcrto
process datar

"Pata" means a representatron of mformation; facts; knowledge;
coneepts; or instructions that:

H—)maytakcanyfornrmchtdmgconmtrtcrprnﬁouts;magncﬁc

storage medra; putrelred eards; or stored memory:

) has been prepared or 1s being prepared; and

3) has been proeessed; 1s bemg processed; or will be processed;
in a computer system or computer networks

{h) A person who knowingly or intentrorally alters or damages a
computer program or data; which comprises @ part of a computer
system or computer network without the consent of the owrrer of the
computer system or comptter network commits comptter tamperiirg;
a Class D felony- However; the offense 1s a

) €lass € felony f the offense 1s committed for the purpose of
terrorisny: amnd

) €lass B fetony if the offense 1s committed for the purpose of
terrorism and results in sertous bodily mjury to a person:

SECTION 16. IC 35-43-2-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVEJULY 1,2012]: Sec. 1. A person who breaks
and enters the building or structure of another person, with intent to
commit theft or a felony in it; the building or structure, commits
burglary, a Class C felony. However, the offense is:

(1) a Class B felony if:
(A) it is committed while armed with a deadly weapon; or
(B) the building or structure is a:
(1) dwelling; or
(ii) structure used for religious worship; and
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(2) a Class A felony if it results in:
(A) bodily injury; or
(B) serious bodily injury;

to any person other than a defendant.

SECTION 17. IC 35-43-4-2, AS AMENDED BY P.L.158-2009,
SECTION 8, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 2. €2y A person who knowingly or intentionally
exerts unauthorized control over property of another person, with intent
to deprive the other person of any part of its value or use, commits
theft, a €lass D fetony- Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense
is a Class D felony if the fair market value of the property is at
least seven hundred fifty dollars ($750), if the item stolen was a
firearm, or if the person has a prior unrelated conviction for

theft, and a Class C felony if:
(1) the fair market value of the property is at least ome hundred’
fifty thousand dollars ($1+66;666); (850,000); or _
(2) the property that is the subject of the theft is a valuable metal
(as defined in IC 25-37.5-1-1) and:
(A) relates to transportation safety;
(B) relates to public safety; or
(C) is taken from a:
(1) hospital or other health care facility;
(i1) telecommunications provider;
(iii) public utility (as defined in IC 32-24-1-5.9(a)); or
(iv) key facility;
and the absence of the property creates a substantial risk of bodily

X injury to a person.

" bY A person who knowingly or intenttonrally reeetves; retains; or
disposes of the property of another person that has been the subject of
theft commits recerving stoten property; a Class B felonry: However; the
offense ts a €lass € felony it

b the fair market value of the property ts at least one hundred

I\ thousand dottars (5166;006): or
(\\(\ {2 the property that 1s the subject of the theft is a vatuable metat

tas defined in 1€ 25-37-5-+-1) anc:
&) relates to transportation safety:
(B refates to publte safety; or
€€ 1s taken from
1) hospitat or other health care facthity;
E i) publte utility tas defined in 1€ 32-24=1+=59¢=)); or
- and the absenee of the property ereates a substantial risk of bodity
mjury to a persomn:
SECTION 18. IC 35-43-4-2.5 IS REPEALED [EFFECTIVE
~JULY 1, 2012]. See: 25 (a) As used in this seetion; Umotor vehicte®
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has the meanng set forth m 1€ 9-13-2-165(a):
tb) A person who knmowingly or intentromally exerts unautherized
control over the motor vehicle of another person; with intent to deprive
the ewner of:
b the vehicle's value or use: or
2) a component part (as defined in 1€ 9-13-2-34) of the vehicle;
commits auto theft; a €lass B felony: However; the offense is a €lass
€ fetony 1f the person has a prier convieton of an offense under this
subsectton or subsection {e):
fe) A person who knowingly or intentionally recetves; retains; or
disposes of a motor vehicle or any part of a motor vehicle of another
person that has been the subject of theft commits receiving stolen auto
patts; a Class D felony: However; the offense 1s 2 Class € fetony tf the
person has a prior conviction of an offense under this subseetion or
subsection (b
SECTION 19.1C 35-43-4-3 IS REPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
2012]. See: 3; €ay A person who knowimngly or mtentionally exerts
unatthorized control over property of another person commits eriminat
conversion; a €lass A misdemeanor:
by The offense under subscetion fa) 15 a €lass B felony if
conmmitted by a person who exerts unauthortzed controt over the motor
vehicle of another person with the mtent to use the moter vehtele to
assist the person m the commisston of a erime-
fc) The offense under subsection (a) 1s a Class € felony it
D committed by a person who exerts nnauthorized eontrot over
the motor vehicle of another person; and
) the person uses the motor vehiele to asstst the person m the
commisston of a felony:
) The offense under subsection (a) s a €lass P felony it
1) the person acquires the property by tease;
2 the property 1s a motor vehtele;
{3) the person signs a written agreement to return the property to
a speetifted loeation within a speetfred time: and
4) the person fails to return the property:
A) within thirty (36) days after the spectfted time; or
B) within three (3} days after 2 written demand for return of
) persorally served on the person; or
{11) sent by registered mail to the person's address that 1s
SECTION 20. 1C 35-43-4-8 1S AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 8. (a) A conviction for
an offense under section 2 of this chapter or section 3 of this chapter
(before its repeal) that involves exerting unauthorized control over
gasoline or motor vehicle fuel:
(1) by operation of a motor vehicle to leave the premises of an
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establishment at which gasoline or motor vehicle fuel is offered
for sale after the gasoline or motor vehicle fuel has been
dispensed into the fuel tank of the motor vehicle; and
(2) without payment or authorization of payment by a credit card,
debit card, charge card, or similar method of payment;
shall result in the suspension of the driving privileges of the person.
(b) The court imposing a sentence for a violation under subsection
(a) shall issue an order to the bureau of motor vehicles:
(1) stating that the person has been convicted of an offense under
section 2 of this chapter or section 3 of this chapter (before its
repeal) involving the unauthorized taking of gasoline or motor
vehicle fuel; and _
(2) ordering the suspension of the person's driving privileges
under IC 9-25-6-21.
The suspension of a person's driving privileges under this section is in
addition to other penalties prescribed by 1€ 35-56-3=2 for a Class A
misdemeanor or by 1€ 35-50-2-7 for a €tass D felony: IC 35-50.
SECTION 21. IC 35-43-5-2, AS AMENDED BY P.L.106-2006,
SECTION 3,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 2. (a) A person who knowingly or intentionally:
(1) makes or utters a written instrument in such a manner that it
purports to have been made:
(A) by another person;
(B) at another time;
(C) with different provisions; or
(D) by authority of one who did not give authority; or
(2) possesses more than one (1) written instrument knowing that
the written instruments were made in a manner that they purport
to have been made:
(A) by another person;
(B) at another time;
(C) with different provisions; or
(D) by authority of one who did not give authority;
commits counterfeiting, a Class D felony.
(b) A person who, with intent to defraud, makes, utters, or possesses

" a written instrument in such a manner that it purports to have been

made:

(1) by another person;

(2) at another time;

(3) with different provisions; or

(4) by authority of one who did not give authority;
commits forgery, a €lass € Class D felony.

(c) This subsection applies to a person who applies for a driver's
license (as defined in IC 9-13-2-48) or a state identification card (as
issued under IC 9-24-16). A person who:

(1) knowingly or intentionally uses a false or fictitious name or
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gives a false or fictitious address in an application for a driver's
license or a state identification card or for a renewal or a
duplicate of a driver's license or a state identification card; or
(2) knowingly or intentionally makes a false statement or conceals
a material fact or otherwise commits fraud in an application for a
driver's license or a state identification card;
commits application fraud, a Class D felony.
td) This subscction applies to a person who applies for a state -
tdenttfteatton card (as tssued under 1€ 9-24-16): A person who:
B knowingly or intentionally uses false information m an
application for an rdentifreation card or for a renewat or duplicate
of an identifteation card: or -
& knmowingly or intentionally makes a false statement or
card;
commits application fratd; a €tass b fetony-
SECTION 22. 1C 35-43-5-3 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 3. (a) A person who:
(1) being an officer, manager, or other person participating in the
direction of a credit institution, knowingly or intentionally
receives or permits the receipt of a deposit or other investment,
knowing that the institution is insolvent;
(2) knowingly or intentionally:
(A) makes a false or intentionally misleading written
statement; or » '
(B) materially misrepresents:
(i) the identity of the person or another person;
(ii) a person as being a physician licensed under
I1C 25-22.5; or '
(iii) the identity or quality of property;
with intent to obtain property, employment, or an educational
opportunity;
(3) misapplies entrusted property, property of a governmental
entity, or property of a credit institution in a manner that the
person knows is unlawful or that the person knows involves
substantial risk of loss or detriment to either the owner of the
property or to a person for whose benefit the property was
entrusted;
(4) knowingly or intentionally, in the regular course of business,
either:
(A) uses or possesses for use a false weight or measure or
other device for falsely determining or recording the quality or
quantity of any commodity; or
(B) sells, offers, or displays for sale or delivers less than the
represented quality or quantity of any commodity;
(5) with intent to defraud another person furnishing:
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-1 (A) electricity, gas, water, telecommunication, or any other
2 utility service;
3 (B) cable service;
4 (C) Internet service; or
5 (D) any service provided by cable, the Internet, or another
6 telecommunication service;
7 avoids a lawful charge for that service by scheme or device or by
8 tampering with facilities or equipment of the person furnishing
9 the service;
10 6) with intent to defratnd; misrepresents the tdentity of the person
11 or another person or the tdentity or quality of property:
12 7 (6) with intent to defraud an owner of a coin machine, deposits
13 a slug in that machine;
14 €8> (7) with intent to enable the person or another person to
15 deposit a slug in a coin machine, makes, possesses, or disposes of
16 a slug; or
17 £9) (8) disseminates tothe public an advertisement that the person
18 knows is false, misleading, or deceptive, with intent to promote
19 the purchase or sale of property or the acceptance of employment;
20 16) with mtent to defrand; mistepresents a person as being a
21 phystetan lieensed under 1€ 25-22.5; o
22 ) knowmngly amd intentionally defrauds anether person
23 furntshittg cable TW serviee by avording paying compensation for
24 that service by any scheme or device or by tampering with
25 faetlities or equipment of the person furnishing the serviee:
26 commits deception, a Class A misdemeanor.

(b) A person who knowingly or intentionally falsely represents:
(1) any entity as a disadvantaged business enterprise (as
defined in IC 5-16-6.5-1) or a women owned business
enterprise (as defined in IC 5-16-6.5-3) in order to qualify for
certification as such an enterprise under a program
conducted by a public agency (as defined in 1C 5-16-6.5-2)
designed to assist disadvantaged business enterprises or
women owned business enterprises in obtaining contracts with
public agencies for the provision of goods and services; or
(2) an entity with which the person will subcontract all or part
of a contract with a public agency (as defined in I1C 5-16-6.5-2)
as a disadvantaged business enterprise (as defined in
IC 5-16-6.5-1) or a women owned enterprise (as defined in
IC 5-16-16.5-3) in order to qualify for certification as an
eligible bidder under a program conducted by a public agency
designed to assist disadvantaged business enterprises or
women owned enterprises in obtaining contracts with public
agencies for the provision of goods and services;

45 commits a business enterprise deception, Class D felony.
“46 (c) A person who knowingly or intentionally provides false
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information to a governmental entity to obtain a contract from the
governmental entity commits a Class A misdemeanor. However,
the offense is a Class D felony if the provision of false information
results in financial loss to the governmental entity.

) (d) In determining whether an advertisement is false,
misleading, or deceptive under subsection (a}9); (a)(8), there shall be
considered, among other things, not only representations contained or
suggested in the advertisement, by whatever means, including device
or sound, but also the extent to which the advertisement fails to reveal
material facts in the light of the representations.

SECTION 23. 1C 35-43-5-4.5, AS ADDED BY P.L.181-2005,
SECTION 7,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 4.5. (a) A person who, knowingly and with intent
to defraud:

(1) makes, utters, presents, or causes to be presented to an insurer
or an insurance claimant, a claim statement that contains false,
incomplete, or misleading information concerning the claim;
(2) presents, causes to be presented, or prepares with knowledge
or belief that it will be presented to or by an insurer, an oral, a
written, or an electronic statement that the person knows to
contain materially false information as part of, in support of, or
concerning a fact that is material to:

(A) the rating of an insurance policy;

(B) a claim for payment or benefit under an insurance policy;

(C) premiums paid on an insurance policy;

(D) payments made in accordance with the terms of an

insurance policy;

(E) an application for a certificate of authority;

(F) the financial condition of an insurer; or

(G) the acquisition of an insurer;
or conceals any information concerning a subject set forth in
clauses (A) through (G);
(3) solicits or accepts new or renewal insurance risks by or for an
insolvent insurer or other entity regulated under IC 27;
(4) removes:

(A) the assets;

(B) the record of assets, transactions, and affairs; or

(C) a material part of the assets or the record of assets,

transactions, and affairs; »
of an insurer or another entity regulated under IC 27, from the
home office, other place of business, or place of safekeeping of
the insurer or other regulated entity, or conceals or attempts to
conceal from the department of insurance assets or records
referred to in clauses (A) through (B); or
(5) diverts funds of an insurer or another person in connection
with:

PD 3484/DI 106+ 2012




00 1IN bW —

[
S o

— e
AN R W N —

—y
—
[ <IN

19
20
21
22
23
24
25

27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46

22

(A) the transaction of insurance or reinsurance;
(B) the conduct of business activities by an insurer or another
entity regulated under 1C 27; or
(C) the formation, acquisition, or dissolution of an insurer or
another entity regulated under 1C 27;
commits insurance fraud. Except as provided in subsection (b),
insurance fraud is a Class D felony.

(b) An offense described in subsection (a) is a Class C felony if:
(1) the person who commits the offense has a prior unrelated
conviction under this section; or
(2) the:

(A) value of property, services, or other benefits obtained or
attempted to be obtained by the person as a result of the
offense; or
(B) economic loss suffered by another person as a result of the
offense;
is at least two thousand five hundred doHars ($2;5060): fifty
thousand dollars ($50,000).

(c) A person who knowingly and with intent to defraud makes a
material misstatement in support of an application for the issuance of
an insurance policy commits insurance application fraud, a Class A
misdemeanor.

SECTION 24. 1C 35-43-5-5 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 5. (a) A person who
knowingly or intentionally issues or delivers a check, a draft, or an
order on a credit institution for the payment of or to acquire money or
other property, knowing that it will not be paid or honored by the credit
institution upon presentment in the usual course of business, commits
check deception, a Class A misdemeanor. However, the offense is a
Class D felony if the amount of the check, draft, or order is at least two
thousand five hundred seven hundred fifty dollars ¢52;506) and the
property acquired by the person was a motor vehicte: (3750).

(b) An unpaid and dishonored check, a draft, or an order that has the
drawee's refusal to pay and reason printed, stamped, or written on or
attached to it constitutes prima facie evidence:

(1) that due presentment of it was made to the drawee for payment
and dishonor thereof; and
(2) that it properly was dishonored for the reason stated.

(c) The fact that a person issued or delivered a check, a draft, or an
order, payment of which was refused by the drawee, constitutes prima
facie evidence that the person knew that it would not be paid or
honored. In addition, evidence that a person had insufficient funds in
or no account with a drawee credit institution constitutes prima facie
evidence that the person knew that the check, draft, or order would not
be paid or honored.

(d) The following two (2) items constitute prima facie evidence of
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the identity of the maker of a check, draft, or order if at the time of its
acceptance they are obtained and recorded, either on the check, draft,
or order itself or on file, by the payee:
(1) Name and residence, business, or mailing address of the
maker.
(2) Motor vehicle operator's license number, Social Security
number, home telephone number, or place of employment of the
maker.

(e) It is a defense under subsection (a) if a person who:

(1) has an account with a credit institution but does not have

sufficient funds in that account; and

(2) issues or delivers a check, a draft, or an order for payment on

that credit institution;
pays the payee or holder the amount due, together with protest fees and
any service fee or charge, which may not exceed the greater of
twenty-seven dollars and fifty cents ($27.50) or five percent (5%) (but
not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250)) of the amount due, that
may be charged by the payee or holder, within ten (10) days after the
date of mailing by the payee or holder of notice to the person that the
check, draft, or order has not been paid by the credit institution. Notice
sent in the manner set forth in IC 26-2-7-3 constitutes notice to the
person that the check, draft, or order has not been paid by the credit
institution. The payee or holder of a check, draft, or order that has been
dishonored incurs no civil or criminal liability for sending notice under
this subsection.

(f) A person does not commit a crime under subsection (a) when:
(1) the payee or holder knows that the person has insufficient
funds to ensure payment or that the check, draft, or order is
postdated; or :

(2) insufficiency of funds or credit results from an adjustment to
the person's account by the credit institution without notice to the
person.

SECTION 25. IC 35-43-5-7 1S AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 7. (a) A person who
knowingly or intentionally:

(1) obtains public relief or assistance by means of impersonation,
fictitious transfer, false or misleading oral or written statement,
fradulent fraudulent conveyance, or other fraudulent means;
(2) acquires, possesses, uses, transfers, sells, trades, issues, or
disposes of; ' '
(A) an authorization document to obtain public relief or
assistance; or
(B) public relief or assistance;
except as authorized by law;
(3) uses, transfers, acquires, issues, or possesses a blank or
incomplete authorization document to participate in public relief
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1 or assistance programs, except as authorized by law;
2 (4) counterfeits or alters an authorization document to receive
3 public relief or assistance, or knowingly uses, transfers, acquires,
4 or possesses a counterfeit or altered authorization document to
5 receive public relief or assistance; or
6 (5) conceals information for the purpose of receiving public relief
7 or assistance to which hre the person is not entitled;
8 commits welfare fraud, a Class A misdemeanor, except as provided in
9 subsection (b).
10 (b) The offense is:
11 (1) a Class D felony if
12 &) the amount of public relief or assistance involved is more
13 than two humdred fifty dotars (§256) seven hundred fifty
14 dollars ($750) but less than twoe thousand five hundred dolars
15 $2;500); or
16 {B) the amount invotved 1s not more than two hundred fifty
17 dottars (5256} and the person has a prior conviction of wetfare
18 fratd under this sectrom; fifty thousand dollars ($50,000);
19 and
20 (2) a Class C felony if the amount of public relief or assistance
21 involved is two thousand five hundred dollars (52,5669 at least
22 fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). or more: regardiess of whether
23 the person has a prior conviction of welfare fraud under this
24 sectior:
25 (c) Whenever a person is convicted of welfare fraud under this
26 section, the clerk of the sentencing court shall certify to the appropriate
27 state agency and the appropriate agency of the county of the defendant's
28 residence:
29 (1) bis the person's conviction; and
30 (2) whether the defendant is placed on probation and restitution
31 is ordered under IC 35-38-2.
32 SECTION 26. IC 35-43-5-7.1, AS AMENDED BY P.L.1-2006,
33 SECTION 531, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS
34 [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 7.1. (a) Except as provided in
35 subsection (b), a person who knowingly or intentionally:
36 (1) files a Medicaid claim, including an electronic claim, in
37 violation of IC 12-15;
38 (2) obtains payment from the Medicaid program under IC 12-15
39 by means of a false or misleading oral or written statement or
40 other fraudulent means;
41 (3) acquires a provider number under the Medicaid program
42 except as authorized by law;
43 (4) alters with the intent to defraud or falsifies documents or
44 records of a provider (as defined in 42 CFR 1000.30) that are
45 required to be kept under the Medicaid program; or

46 (5) conceals information for the purpose of applying for or
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receiving unauthorized payments from the Medicaid program;
commits Medicaid fraud, a Class D felony.
(b) The offense described in subsection (a) is a Class C felony if the
fair market value of the offense is at least one hnmdred thousand deflars |
5106,069): fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).
SECTION 27. IC 35-43-5-7.2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 7.2. (a) Except as
provided in subsection (b), a person who knowingly or intentionally:
(1) files a children's health insurance program claim, including an
electronic claim, in violation of IC 12-17.6;
(2) obtains payment from the children's health insurance program
under IC 12-17.6 by means of a false or misleading oral or written
statement or other fraudulent means; '
(3) acquires a provider number under the children's health
insurance program except as authorized by law;
(4) alters with intent to defraud or falsifies documents or records
of a provider (as defined in 42 CFR 1002.301) that are required
to be kept under the children's health insurance program; or
(5) conceals information for the purpose of applying for or
receiving unauthorized payments from the children's health
insurance program;

commits insurance fraud, a Class D felony.

(b) The offense described in subsection (a) is a Class C felony if the
fair market value of the offense is at least otre hindred theusand dottars
5106;06063: fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).

SECTION 28 IC 35-43-5-8, AS AMENDED BY P.L.57-2006,
SECTION 80,1S AMENDED TOREAD ASFOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 8. (a) A person who knowingly executes, or
attempts to execute, a scheme or artifice:

(1) to defraud a state or federally chartered or federally insured
financial institution; or
(2) to obtain any of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities,
or other property owned by or under the custody or control of a
state or federally chartered or federally insured financial
institution by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,
representations, or promises; '
commits bank fraud, a €lass € Class D félony. However, the offense
is a Class C felony if the total amount of property obtained is at
least fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). -

(b) As used in this section, the term "state or federally chartered or
federally insured financial institution" means: _

(1) an institution with accounts insured by the Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation;

(2) a credit union with accounts insured by the National Credit
Union Administration Board;

(3) a federal home loan bank or a member, as defined in Section
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2 of the Federal Home Loan Bank Act (12 U.S.C. 1422), as in
effect on December 31, 1990, of the Federal Home Loan Bank
System; or

(4) a bank, banking association, land bank, intermediate credit
bank, bank for cooperatives, production credit association, land
bank association, mortgage association, trust company, savings
bank, or other banking or financial institution organized or
operating under the laws of the United States or of the state.

The term does not include a lender licensed under IC 24-4.5.

SECTION 29.1C 35-43-5-9 IS REPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY 1,
2012]. See: 9: €a) A person who knowingly or intenttonally falsely
represents atry entity as a disadvantaged business enterprise (as defined
m 1€ 5=16-6-5-1) or a women owned business enterprise (as defined in
1€ 5-16-6-5-3) m order to qualify for certifreatron as such an enterprise
under a program condueted by a public agency (as defined in
1€ 5-16-6-5-2) designed to assist disadvantaged business enterprises or
agenctes for the proviston of goods and services commits a €lass B
fetony:

) A person who krmowingly or intentronatty falsely represents an
entity with which the person wilt subcontract alt or part of a contract
with a public ageney (as defined in 1€ 5=16-6-5-2) as a disadvantaged
business enterprise {as defined m 1€ 5-16-6-5=1 or a women owned
enterprise fas defined in 1€ 516-16:5-3) mn order to qualify for
certifteation as an eligible brdder under a program conducted by a
public ageney designed to assist disadvantaged business enterprises ér
for the proviston of goods and services commits a €lass P felony-

SECTION 30. IC 35-43-5-11 IS REPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY
1, 2012]. See: H: A person who knowingly or intenttonally provides
false mformatron to a governmentat entity to obtaitt a contract from the
governmental entity commits a Elass A misdemeanor: However; the
offcnscsaefasste}cnyrfﬂTepmvmonoffa%senﬁbrma&mrcsn’rts
it finanetal toss to the governmental entity:

SECTION 31. IC 35-43-5-12 IS AMENDED TO READ AS
FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 12. (a) As used in this
section, "financial institution" refers to a state or federally chartered
bank, savings bank, savings association, or credit union.

(b) A person who knowingly or intentionally obtains property,
through a scheme or artifice, with intent to defraud:

(1) by issuing or delivering a check, a draft, an electronic debit,
or an order on a financial institution:
(A) knowing that the check, draft, order, or electronic debit
will not be paid or honored by the financial institution upon
presentment in the usual course of business;
(B) using false or altered evidence of identity or residence;
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(C) using a false or an altered account number; or
(D) using a false or an altered check, draft, order, or electronic
instrument;
(2) by:
(A) depositing the minimum initial deposit required to open an
account; and
(B) either making no additional deposits or making insufficient
additional deposits to insure debits to the account; or
(3) by opening accounts with more than one (1) financial
institution in either a consecutive or concurrent time period,
commits check fraud, a Class D felony. However, the offense is a Class
C felony if the person has a prior unrelated conviction under this
section or the aggregate amount of property obtained is at least
twenty=five thousand dotars ($25,060): fifty thousand dollar;o
($50,000). ' :
SECTION 32. IC 3543-5-18, AS ADDED BY P.L.171-2005,
SECTION 2, 1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1, 2012]: Sec. 18. (a) A person who knowingly or intentionally
possesses a: '
(1) device; or
(2) substance;
designed or intended to be used to interfere with a drug or alcohol
screening test commits possession of a device or substance used to
interfere with a drug or alcohol screening test, a Class B misdemeanor.
(b) A person who interferes with or attempts to interfere with
a drug or alcohol screening test by:
(1) using a:
(A) device; or
(B) substance;
(2) substituting a human bodily substance that is tested in a
drug or alcohol screening test; or
(3) adulterating a substance used in a drug or alcohol
screening test;
commits interfering with a drug or alcohol screening test, a Class
B misdemeanor.
SECTION 33. IC 35-43-5-19 IS REPEALED [EFFECTIVE JULY
1, 2012]. See- 19: A person who interferes with or attempts to interfere
with a drug or alcohot sereening test by:
b using a2
&) deviee; or
(B) substanee;
@subshmgahnmanbcéfysnbstanccﬁrattsfcstcdmadmg
or alcohol sereermmg test; or
3 adulterating a substance used i a drug or aleohol sereening
test;
commtts mterfering with a drug or alcohol screening test; a Class B
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SECTION 34. IC 35-43-5-20, AS ADDED BY P.L.81-2008,
SECTION 5,1S AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE
JULY 1,2012]: Sec. 20. (a) As used in this section, "inmate" means a
person who is confined in:

(1) the custody of:
(A) the department of correction; or
(B) a sheriff;

(2) a county jail; or

(3) a secure juvenile facility.

(b) An inmate in pretrial status who, with the intent of obtaining
money or other property from a person who is not an inmate, knowingly
or intentionally:

(1) makes a misrepresentation to a person who is not an inmate
and obtains or attempts to obtain money or other property from
the person who is not an inmate; or
(2) obtains or attempts to obtain money or other property from the
person who is not an inmate through a misrepresentation made by
another person;
commits inmate fraud, a €tass € Class D felony. However, the offense -
is a Class C felony if the inmate is serving the sentence for a crime
of which the inmate has been convicted, or if the property that was
the subject of the fraud was at least fifty thousand dollars
($50,000).
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Provides that recruiting, harboring, or transporting another person to participate in sexual
conduct by force, threat of force, or fraud constitutes human trafficking. Provides that a person

. who recruits, harbors, or transports a child less than 16 years of agewith the intent of engaging

the child in forced labor, involuntary servitude, prostitution, or sexual conduct commits
promotion of human trafficking of a minor, a Class B felony. Prohibits a person at least 18 years
of age from selling or transferring custody of a child less than 16 for the purpose of prostitution
or participation in sexual conduct.

~ SECTION 1.1C 11-8-8-4.5, AS ADDED BY P.L.216-2007, SECTION 12.1S

AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE]: Sec. 4.5. (a) Except
as provided in section 22 of this chapter, as used in this chapter, "sex offender” means a person
convicted of any of the following offenses:
(1) Rape (1C 35-42-4-1).
(2) Criminal deviate conduct (IC 35-42-4-2).
(3) Child molesting (1C 35-42-4-3).
(4) Child exploitation (1C 35-42-4-4(b)). _
(5) Vicarious sexual gratification (including performing sexual conduct in the
presence of a minor) (1C 35-42-4-5).
(6) Child solicitation (IC 35-42-4-6).
(7) Child seduction (IC 35-42-4-7).
(8) Sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class A, Class B, or Class C felony (IC
35-42-4-9), unless:
(A) the person is convicted of sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class
C felony;
(B) the person is not more than:
(1) four (4) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed after June 30, 2007; or
(11) five (5) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed before July 1, 2007; and
(C) the sentencing court finds that the person should not be required to
register as a sex offender.
(9) Incest (IC 35-46-1-3).
(10) Sexua! battery (1C 35-42-4-8).
(11) Kidnapping (IC 35-42-3-2), if the victim is Jess than eighteen (18) years of
age, and the person who kidnapped the victim is not the victim's parent or
guardian.
(12) Criminal confinement (IC 35-42-3-3), if the victim is less than eighteen (18)
years of age, and the person who confined or removed the victim is not the
victim's parent or guardian.
(13) Possession of child pornography (IC 35-42-4-4(c)).
(14) Promoting prostitution (IC 35-45-4-4) as a Class B felony.
(OBDAR)/106 (1) November 16. 2011 (12:33pm)
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(15) Promotion of human trafficking (IC 35-42-3.5-1(a)(2)) if the victim is less
than eighteen (18) years of age.

(16) Sexual trafficking of a minor (€ 35-42=3-5-Hb)): (IC 35-42-3.5-1(c)).
(17) Human trafficking (1€ 35-42-3-5=H<c)3)) (1C 35-42-3.5-1(d)(3)) if the
victim is less than eighteen (18) years of age.

(18) An attempt or conspiracy to commit a crime listed in subdivisions (1)
through (17).

(19) A crime under the laws of another jurisdiction, including a military court,
that is substantially equivalent to any of the offenses listed in subdivisions (1)
through (18).

(b) The term includes:

(1) a person who 1s required to register as a sex offender in any junisdiction; and
(2) a child who has committed a delinquent act and who:
(A) is at least fourteen (14) years of age;
(B) 1s on probation, is on parole, is discharged from a facility by the
department of correction, is discharged from a secure private facility (as
defined in 1C 31-9-2-115), or 1s discharged from a juvenile detention
facility as a result of an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that
would be an offense described in subsection (a) if committed by an
adult; and
(C) 1s found by a court by clear and convincing evidence to be likely 1o
repeat an act that would be an offense described in subsection (a) if

commitied by an adult.

(c) In making a determination under subsection (b)(2)(C), the court shall consider expert

lestimony concerning whether a child is likely to repeat an act that would be an offense described

in subsection (a) if commitied by an adult.
SECTION 2. 1C 11-8-8-5, AS AMENDED BY P.1..216-2007, SECTION 13, 1S
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE]: Sec. 5. (a) Except as

provided in section 22 of this chapter, as used in this chapter, "sex or violent offender” means a

person convicted of any of the following offenses:

(OBDAR)/106
20121225003 . wpd

(1) Rape (IC 35-42-4-1).

(2) Criminal deviate conduct (IC 35-42-4-2).

(3) Child molesting (IC 35-42-4-3).

(4) Child exploitation (IC 35-42-4-4(b)).

(5) Vicarious sexual gratification (including performing sexual conduct in the
presence of a minor) (IC 35-42-4-5).

(6) Child solicitation (1C 35-42-4-6).

(7) Child seduction (I1C 35-42-4-7).

(8) Sexual misconduct with a manor as a Class A, Class B, or Class C felony (1C
35-42-4-9), unless:

(2) November 16, 2011 (12:33pm)
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(A) the person is convicted of sexual misconduct with a minor as a Class
C felony;
(B) the person 1s not more than:
(i) four (4) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed after June 30, 2007; or
(i1) five (5) years older than the victim if the offense was
committed before July 1, 2007; and
(C) the sentencing court finds that the person should not be required to
register as a sex offender.
(9) Incest (IC 35-46-1-3).
(10) Sexual battery (1C 35-42-4-8).
(11) Kidnapping (1C 35-42-3-2), 1f the victim is less than eighteen (18) years of
age, and the person who kidnapped the victim is not the victim's parent or
guardian.
(12) Criminal confinement (1C 35-42-3-3), if the victim is less than eighteen (18)
years of age, and the person who confined or removed the victim is not the
victim's parent or guardian.
(13) Possession of child pornography (1C 35-42-4-4(c)).
(14) Promoting prostitution (JC 35-45-4-4) as a Class B felony.
(15) Promotion of human trafficking (1C 35-42-3.5-1(a)(2)) if the victim is less
than eighteen (18) years of age.
(16) Sexual trafficking of a minor € 35=42=3-5=Hb)): (1C 35-42-3.5-1(c)).
(17) Human trafficking € 35-42=35-Hc)t3)) (1C 35-42-3.5-1(d)(3)) if the
victim is less than eighteen (18) years of age.
(18) Murder (IC 35-42-1-1).
(19) Voluntary manslaughter (1C 35-42-1-3).
(20) An attempt or conspiracy to commit a cnme listed in subdivisions (1)
through (19).
(21) A cnme under the laws of another junisdiction, including a military court,
that is substantially equivalent 10 any of the offenses listed in subdivisions (1)
through (20).

(b) The term includes:

(OBDAR)/106
20121225003.wpd

(1) a person who 1s required to register as a sex or violent offender in any
jurisdiction; and
(2) a child who has committed a delinquent act and who:
(A) is at least fourteen (14) years of age;
(B) is on probation, is on parole, is discharged from a facility by the
department of correction, is discharged from a secure private facility (as
defined m IC 31-9-2-115). or is discharged from a juvenile detention

facility as a result of an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that

3) November 16, 2011 (12:33pm)
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would be an offense described in subsection (a) if committed by an

adult; and

(C) 1s found by a court by clear and convincing evidence to be likely to
repeat an act that would be an offense described in subsection (a) if
committed by an adult.

(c) In making a determination under subsection (b}(2)(C). the court shall consider expert
testimony concerning whether a child is likely to repeat an act that would be an offense described
in subsection (a) if committed by an adult.

SECTION 3. 1C 35-42-3.5-1, AS ADDED BY P.L.173-2006, SECTION 52, 1S
AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE UPON PASSAGE]: Sec. 1. (a) A person
who, by force, threat of force, or fraud, knowingly or intentionally recruits, harbors. or
transports another person: by foree; threat of foree; or fraud:

(1) to engage the other person in:
(A) forced labor: or
(B) involuntary servitude: or
(2) to force the other person into:
(A) marmage; or
(B) prostitution; or
(C) participating in sexual conduct (as defined by 1C 35-42-4-4);
commits promotion of human trafficking, a Class B felony.

(b) A person who knowingly or intentionally recruits, harbors, or transports a child

less than sixteen (16) years of age with the intent of:
(1) engaging the child in:
(A) forced labor; or
(B) involuntary servitude; or
(2) inducing or causing the child to:
(A) engage in prostitution; or
(B) participate in sexual conduct (as defined by 1C 35-42-4-4);
commits promotion of human trafficking of a minor, a Class B felony. 1t is not a defense to
a prosecution under this subsection that the child consented to engage in prostitution or to
participate in sexual conduct.

b) A parent; guardian; or custodian of (¢) A person who is at least a child fess than
eighteen (18) years of age who knowingly or intentionally sells or transfers custody of the a child
less than sixteen (16) years of age for the purpose of prostitution or participating in sexual
conduct (as defined by IC 35-42-4-4) commits sexual trafficking of a minor, a Class A felony.

tc) (d) A person who knowingly or intentionally pays, offers to pay, or agrees to pay
money or other property to another person for an individual who the person knows has been
forced into:

(1) forced labor;
(2) involuntary servitude; or
(OBDAR)/106 4) November 16, 2011 (i2:33pm)
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] (3) prostitution;

2 commits human trafficking, a Class C felony.

3 ) SECTION 4. An emergency is declared for this act.

4

{OBDAR)/106 (5) November 16, 2011 (12:33pm)
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2007 2008 2009 2010
Alcohol and Drug Countermeasures Fee County $3,588,178  $4,038,028  $3,291,404  $3,240,242
Drug Abuse, Prosecution, Interdiction, and Correction Fee $2,305,699 $1,986,638  $1,375,607  $1,542,833
trial totals $5,893,877 56,024,666 $4,667,011 $4,783,075
courts -
‘counties reporting Alc & Countermeasures Fee 77 79 75 79
counties reporting Drug Abuse etc. Fee 61 63 68 72
2007 2008 2009 2010
Alcohot and Drug Countermeasures Fee County $339,093 $298,036 $257,053 $242,253
city and | Drug Abuse, Prosecution, Interdiction, and Correction Fee $192,012 $190,726 -$351,691 $440,501
town totals $531,105 $488,762 5608,744 $682,754
courts
counties reporting Alc & Countermeasures Fee 10 10 9 6
counties reporting Drug Abuse etc. Fee 7 7 10 .10 ‘
Grand Totals $6,424,982 $6,513,428 $5,275,755 $5,465,829



33-37-5-10 alcohol and drug countermeasures fee

Sec. 10. (a) The clerk shall collect an alcohol and drug countermeasures fee of two hundred
doltars ($200) in each action in which:

(1) a person is found to have:
(A) committed an offense under IC 9-30-5;
(B) violated a statute defining an infraction under IC 9-30-5; or

(C) been adjudicated a délinquent for an act that would be an offense under IC 9-30-5, if committed by
an adult; and

(2) the person's driving pri_{/ileges are suspended by the court or the bureau of motor vehicles as a result
of the finding.

(b} The clerk shall collect an alcohol and drug countermeasures fee of two hundred dollars
(5200) in each action in which:

(1) a person is charged with an offense under IC 9-30-5; and

(2) by a plea agreement or an agreement of the parties that is approved by the court:
(A) judgment is entered for an offense under:

(i) IC 9-21-8-50;

(i) 1C 9-21-8-52;

(i) 1€ 7.1-5-1-3; or.

(iv) IC 7.1-5-1-6; and

(B) the defendant agrees to pay the alcohol and drug counter measures fee.

As added by P.L.98-2004, SEC.16.

33-37-5-9 drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fee
33-37-5-9Year Enacted 2004; Year Amended 2004

Sec. 9. (a) This section applies to criminal actions.



(b) The court shall assess a drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fee of at least
two hundred dollars ($200) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) against a person convicted
of an offense under I1C 35-48-4.

(¢} In determining the amount of the drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fee
assessed against a person under subsection (b}, a court shall consider the person's ability to pay the fee.

(d) The clerk shall collect the drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fee set by the
court when a person is convicted of an offense under IC 35-48-4.

As added by P.L.98-2004, SEC.16.

33-37-7-2 distribution (c)
(c) The clerk of a circuit court shall distribute monthly to the county auditor the following:

(1) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the drug abuse, prosecution, interdiction, and correction fees collected
under IC 33-37-4-1(b)(5).

(2) Seventy-five percent (75%) of the alcoho! and drug countermeasures fees collected under IC 33-37-4-
1(b)(6), IC 33-37-4-2(b)(4), and IC 33-37-4-3(b)(5).

The county auditor shall deposit fees distributed by a clerk under this subsection into the county drug
free community fund established under IC 5-2-11.

Chapter 11. County Drug Free Community Fund
5-2-11

5-2-11-0.5

5-2-11-0.5Year Enacted 2006; Year Amended 2606

Sec. 0.5. As used in this chapter, "criminal justice services and activities" means programs that
assist:

(1) law enforcement agencies;
(2) courts;

(3) correctional facilities;



(4) programs that offer probation services; and
(5) community corrections programs;

with individuals who have alcohol or drug addictions and who are suspected of having committed a
felony or misdemeanor, have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor, or have been convicted of a
felony or misdemeanor.

As added by P.L.44-2006, SEC.4.
5-2-11-1
5-2-11-1Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 1990

Sec. 1. As used in this chapter, "fund" refers to a county drug free community fund established
by this chapter.

As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3.
5-2-11-1.3
5-2-11-1.3Year Enacted 1995; Year Amended 1995
Sec. 1.3. As used in this chapter, "intervention" means:
(1) activities performed to identify persons in need of addiction treatment services; and
(2) referring persons to or enroll.ing.persons in addiction treatment programs.
As added by P.L.62-1995, SEC.1.
5—2-11—1.6
5-2-11-1.6Year Enacted 2006; Year Amended 2006

Sec. 1.6. As used in this chapter, "local coordinating council” means a countywide citizen body
approved and appointed by the commission for a drug free Indiana to plan, monitor, and evaluate
- comprehensive local alcohol and drug abuse plans.

As added by P.L.44-2006, SEC.5.
5-2-11-1.8
5-2-11-1.8Year Enacted 2006; Year Amended 2006

Sec. 1.8. As used in this chapter, "prevention” means the anticipatory process that prepares and
supports an individual and programs with the creation and reinforcement of healthy behaviors and
lifestyles.



As added by P.L.44-2006, SEC.6.
5-2-11-1.9
5-2-11-1.9Year Enacted 2006; Year Amended 2006

Sec. 1.9. As used in this chapter, "prevention initiative" means a program that is designed to
decrease alcohol or drug use. -

As added by P.L.44-2006, SEC.7.
5-2-11-2
5-2-11-2Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 2006

Sec. 2. A county drug free community fund is established in each county to promote
comprehensive local alcohol and drug abuse prevention initiatives by supplementing local funding for
treatment, education, and criminal justice efforts. The fund consists of amounts deposited under IC 33-
37-7-2(c) and IC 33-37-7-8(e).

As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3. Amended by P.1.98-2004, SEC.57; P.L.1-2006, SEC.91.
5-2-11-3
5-2-11-3Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 1990

Sec. 3. The county auditor shall administer the fund. Expenditures from the fund shall be made
in accordance with appropriations made under section 5 of this chapter.

As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3.
5-2-11-4-
5-2-11-4Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 1990
Sec. 4. Money in the fund at the end of a fiscal year does not. revert to any other fund.
As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3.
5-2-11-5
5-2-11-5Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 2007

Sec. 5. {a) As used in this section, "commission'; means the commission for a drug free Indiana
established by IC 5-2-6-16.

{b) Subject to subsections (c) and (d), a county fiscal body shall annually appropriate from the
fund amounts allocated by the county legislative body for the use of persons, organizations, agencies,
and political subdivisions to carry out recommended actions contained in a comprehensive drug free



communities plan submitted by the local coordinating council and approved by the commission as
follows:

{1) For persons, organizations, agencies, and political subdivisions to provide prevention and education
services, at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the money in the fund.

‘at least twent

{3) For persons, organizations, agencies, and political subdivisions to provide criminal justice services
and activities, at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the money in the fund. ’

(4) A county fiscal body shall allocate the remaining twenty-five percent (25%) of the money in the fund
to persons, organizations, agencies, and political subdivisions to provide services and activities under
subdivisions (1) through {3) based on the comprehensive drug free communities plan submitted by the
local coordinating council and approved by the commission.

(c) In the comprehensive drug free communities plan, the local coordinating council shall
determine the amount of funds the county fiscal body shall appropriate to implement the objectives
approved in the comprehensive drug free communities plan.

{d) If the comprehensive drug free communities plan is not approved by the commission, the
county fiscal body may not appropriate any funds at the request of the local coordinating councii or any
other local entity. '

{e) If funds are allocated by a county legislative body under subsection {b) and the commission
has not approved the comprehensive drug free communities plan for the county, the commission may:

(i) approve and appoint a new local coordinating council for the county;
(2) freeze funds allocated by the county legislative body; or
(3) reevaluate the comprehensive drug free communities plan.

As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3. Amended by P.L.50-1993, SEC.4; P.L.62-1995, SEC.2; P.L.44-2006, SEC.8;
P.L.26-2007, SEC.1.

5-2-11-6
5-2-11-6Year Enacted 1990; Year Amended 1990

Sec. 6. The fund may not be used to replace other funding for alcohol and drug abuse services
provided to the county.

As added by P.L.12-1990, SEC.3."






