Information Maintained by the Office of Code Revision Indiana Legislative Services Agency
IC 14-10

IC 14-10-1
     Chapter 1. Establishment of Commission

IC 14-10-1-1
Establishment and members of commission
Sec. 1. The natural resources commission is established. The commission consists of twelve (12) members as follows:
        (1) The commissioner of the Indiana department of transportation or the commissioner's designee.
        (2) The commissioner of the department of environmental management or the commissioner's designated deputy.
        (3) The director of the office of tourism development or the director's designee.
        (4) The director of the department.
        (5) The chairperson of the advisory council established by IC 14-9-6-1.
        (6) The president of the Indiana academy of science or the president's designee.
        (7) Six (6) citizen members appointed by the governor, at least two (2) of whom must have knowledge, experience, or education in the environment or in natural resource conservation. Not more than three (3) citizen members may be of the same political party.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3. Amended by P.L.229-2005, SEC.9; P.L.95-2006, SEC.7.

IC 14-10-1-2
Filling of vacancies of ex officio members
Sec. 2. The governor may fill a vacancy in the ex officio membership of the commission by temporary appointment. However, the term of a member appointed terminates upon the filling of the office.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.

IC 14-10-1-3
Citizen members
Sec. 3. (a) The term of a citizen member of the commission is three (3) years.
    (b) The governor may remove a citizen member for cause.
    (c) The governor shall appoint a person to fill a vacancy in the citizen membership of the commission caused by death, resignation, removal, or other cause for the unexpired term.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.

IC 14-10-1-4

Per diem compensation and traveling expenses
Sec. 4. (a) The members of the commission who are not state employees are entitled to the minimum salary per diem as provided in IC 4-10-11-2.1(b) for each day that the members are engaged in the official business of the commission.
    (b) The members of the commission are entitled to reimbursement for travel, lodging, meals, and other expenses as provided in the state travel policies and procedures established by the Indiana department of administration and approved by the budget agency.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.

IC 14-10-1-5
Sec. 5. (a) One (1) time each year the commission shall elect officers from the membership of the commission. The officers must include the following:
        (1) A chairman, who shall preside at meetings.
        (2) A vice chairman, who shall preside at meetings in the absence of the chairman.
        (3) A secretary, who shall cause the preparation and maintenance of records of the business of the commission.
    (b) Officers:
        (1) serve for terms of one (1) year; and
        (2) may be reelected by the membership of the commission.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.

IC 14-10-1-6
Sec. 6. A majority of the members of the commission constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business, the exercise of powers, or the performance of duties.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.

IC 14-10-1-7
Sec. 7. (a) The commission shall have at least four (4) regular meetings in each fiscal year and as many additional or special meetings as the commission's business, powers, or duties require.
    (b) The chairman:
        (1) may call a special meeting; and
        (2) shall call a special meeting at the request of any five (5) members.
As added by P.L.1-1995, SEC.3.