Document: Final Rule, **Register Page Number:** 26 IR 788

Source: December 1, 2002, Indiana Register, Volume 26, Number 3

Disclaimer: This document was created from the files used to produce the official CD-ROM Indiana Register . However, this document is unofficial.

TITLE 876 INDIANA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

LSA Document #01-369(F)

DIGEST

Amends 876 IAC 4-2-2 to modify the curricula for salesperson under IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1). Amends 876 IAC 4-2-3 to modify the curricula for broker under IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1). Amends 876 IAC 4-2-9 to require licensees to obtain six hours of continuing education to reactivate an inactive license during a two year licensure period and to require a licensee who has reactivated their license to obtain 10 hours of continuing education in order to renew the license at the end of the two year licensure period. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

876 IAC 4-2-2 876 IAC 4-2-3 876 IAC 4-2-9

SECTION 1. 876 IAC 4-2-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

876 IAC 4-2-2 Curricula for salesperson under IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1)

Authority: IC 25-34.1-9-21 Affected: IC 25-34.1-9-11

Sec. 2. (a) This section establishes the six (6) hour continuing education requirement under IC 25-34.1-9-11(1) **IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1)** for salespersons.

- (b) To qualify for license renewal, salespersons must have two (2) hours of continuing education **instruction** in each of any three (3) of the following:
 - (1) **Indiana** licensure and escrow law.
 - (2) Indiana agency law.
 - (3) Fair housing and civil rights law.
 - (4) Listing contracts and purchase agreements.
 - (5) Settlement procedures.
 - (6) Antitrust.
 - (7) Environmental issues.
 - (8) Ethics and standards.

(Indiana Real Estate Commission; 876 IAC 4-2-2; filed Dec 1, 1993, 10:30 a.m.: 17 IR 768; filed Jun 21, 1996, 10:00 a.m.: 19 IR 3112; readopted filed Jun 29, 2001, 9:56 a.m.: 24 IR 3824; filed Nov 4, 2002, 11:42 a.m.: 26 IR 788)

SECTION 2. 876 IAC 4-2-3 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

876 IAC 4-2-3 Curricula for brokers under IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1)

Authority: IC 25-34.1-9-21 Affected: IC 25-34.1-9-11

Sec. 3. (a) This section establishes the six (6) hour continuing education requirement under IC 25-34.1-9-11(1) **IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1)** for brokers.

- (b) To qualify for license renewal, brokers must have two (2) hours **of continuing education instruction** in each of any three (3) of the following:
 - (1) **Indiana** licensure and escrow law.
 - (2) **Indiana** agency law.
 - (3) Fair housing and civil rights law.
 - (4) Listing contracts and purchase agreements.
 - (5) Settlement procedures.
 - (6) Antitrust.
 - (7) Environmental issues.
 - (8) Ethics and standards.

(Indiana Real Estate Commission; 876 IAC 4-2-3; filed Dec 1, 1993, 10:30 a.m.: 17 IR 768; filed Jun 21, 1996, 10:00 a.m.: 19 IR 3112, eff Jan 1, 1997; readopted filed Jun 29, 2001, 9:56 a.m.: 24 IR 3824; filed Nov 4, 2002, 11:42 a.m.: 26 IR 788)

SECTION 3. 876 IAC 4-2-9, AS AMENDED AT 25 IR 104, SECTION 10, IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

876 IAC 4-2-9 License activation

Authority: IC 25-34.1-9-21 Affected: IC 25-34.1-9-11

- Sec. 9. (a) In order to reactivate an inactive license at the time of license renewal, the licensee must have obtained all sixteen (16) hours of continuing education which would have been required for renewal had the license been active.
- (b) In order to reactivate an inactive license during a two (2) year licensure period, the licensee must obtain the sixteen (16) six (6) hours of continuing education required by IC 25-34.1-9-11(1) and IC 25-34.1-9-11(2) IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(1) for that two (2) year licensure period and pay a ten dollar (\$10) fee.
- (c) A licensee who has reactivated the licensee's license during a two (2) year licensure period under subsection (b) must obtain the ten (10) hours of continuing education required by IC 25-34.1-9-11(a)(2) in order to renew the license at the end of the two (2) year licensure period. (Indiana Real Estate Commission; 876 IAC 4-2-9; filed Dec 1, 1993, 10:30 a.m.: 17 IR 769; readopted filed Jun 29, 2001, 9:56 a.m.: 24 IR 3824; filed Aug 15, 2001, 9:05 a.m.: 25 IR 104; filed Nov 4, 2002, 11:42 a.m.: 26 IR 788)

LSA Document #01-369(F)

Notice of Intent Published: 25 IR 409

Proposed Rule Published: October 1, 2002; 26 IR 179

Hearing Held: October 24, 2002

Approved by Attorney General: October 29, 2002

Approved by Governor: October 31, 2002

Filed with Secretary of State: November 4, 2002, 11:42 a.m. Incorporated Documents Filed with Secretary of State: None