Document: Final Rule, Register Page Number: 25 IR 4110 Source: September 1, 2002, Indiana Register, Volume 25, Number 12 Disclaimer: This document was created from the files used to produce the official (printed) Indiana Register. However, this document is unofficial.

TITLE 865 STATE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR LAND SURVEYORS

LSA Document #01-426(F)

DIGEST

Amends 865 IAC 1-11-1 to revise the fees charged and collected by the board. Amends 865 IAC 1-13-5 to allow licensees to submit continuing education course material for credit within six months after taking the course. Effective 30 days after filing with the secretary of state.

865 IAC 1-11-1 865 IAC 1-13-5

SECTION 1. 865 IAC 1-11-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

865 IAC 1-11-1 Fees charged by board

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14 Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 1. The board shall charge and collect the following fees, which shall all be nonrefundable and nontransferable:

(1) For review of an application for examination for registration as a land surveyor other than comity, a fee of ten dollars (\$10).

(2) For the examination or reexamination of any applicant under the Act, a fee in the amount of fifty sixty dollars (\$50). (\$60).

(3) For the processing and review of qualifications for registration as a land surveyor by comity, a fee of fifty seventy-five dollars (\$50). (\$75).

(4) For issuance of the original certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor following passage of the examination or approval for registration on the basis of comity when the certificate is dated between August 1 of an:

(A) odd-numbered year and July 31 of the following even-numbered year, inclusive, twenty-five fifty dollars (\$25); (\$50); or

(B) even-numbered year and July 31 of the following odd-numbered year, inclusive, fifty one hundred dollars (\$50). (\$100).

(5) For biennial renewal of the certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, a renewal fee of seventy one hundred dollars (\$70) (\$100) and a fee of two dollars (\$2) for each hour of continuing education required both payable no later than July 31 of each even-numbered year. No fee shall be required to renew a certificate in inactive status under 865 IAC 1-13-13.

(6) For renewal of an expired certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, ten dollars (\$10), plus all unpaid renewal fees for the four (4) years of delinquency. A certificate may not be renewed after four (4) years of delinquency.

(7) For a duplicate or replacement certificate to practice as a registered land surveyor, ten twenty-five dollars (\$10): (\$25).

(8) For a replacement pocket card to practice as a registered land surveyor, five ten dollars (\$5). (\$10).

(9) For examination and enrollment as a land-surveyor-in-training, a fee in the amount of twenty twenty-five dollars (\$20). (\$25).

(10) The fee shall be fifty seventy-five dollars (\$50) (\$75) for the proctoring of examinations taken in this state

for purposes of registration in other states. This fee shall be in addition to the examination fee. (State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; Rule 12, Sec 1; filed Feb 29, 1980, 3:40 p.m.: 3 IR 637; filed Oct 14, 1981, 1:30 p.m.: 4 IR 2459; filed Oct 17, 1986, 2:20 p.m.: 10 IR 442; errata, 10 IR 445; filed Oct 13, 1992, 5:00 p.m.: 16 IR 884; filed Jun 14, 1996, 3:00 p.m.: 19 IR 3110; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1025; readopted filed May 22, 2001, 9:55 a.m.: 24 IR 3237; filed Jul 17, 2002, 3:36 p.m.: 25 IR 4110) NOTE: 864 IAC 1.1-12-1 was renumbered by Legislative Services Agency as 865 IAC 1-11-1.

SECTION 2. 865 IAC 1-13-5 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

865 IAC 1-13-5 Courses from approved and unapproved providers

Authority: IC 25-21.5-2-14; IC 25-21.5-8-7 Affected: IC 25-21.5

Sec. 5. (a) Hours of continuing education will be granted to registered land surveyors who have successfully completed courses offered by land surveyor continuing education providers approved pursuant to 865 IAC 1-14 or specific courses from nonapproved providers that the board has approved.

(b) It is the obligation of the registered land surveyor to submit course material from unapproved providers either not more than three (3) six (6) months after taking the course or three (3) months before the end of the renewal cycle, whichever comes first. The required information must include the following:

(1) The course outline or description.

- (2) A certified statement signed by the registered land surveyor stating that the entire course was completed.
- (3) The information required in 865 IAC 1-14-13.
- (4) The name and professional biography of the instructor.

(c) To qualify under subsection (b), courses must be on the subject matter listed in section 6 or 7 of this rule and instructors must meet the requirements of 865 IAC 1-14-9. Course content, instructor qualifications, and provider qualifications must meet the requirements provided in 865 IAC 1-14. If the submitted information does not meet the requirements for approval, the course may be rejected and credit denied. *(State Board of Registration for Land Surveyors; 865 IAC 1-13-5; filed Nov 20, 2000, 3:01 p.m.: 24 IR 1026; readopted filed May 22, 2001, 9:55 a.m.: 24 IR 3237; filed Jul 17, 2002, 3:36 p.m.: 25 IR 4111)*

LSA Document #01-426(F) Notice of Intent Published: 25 IR 1198 Proposed Rule Published: March 1, 2002; 25 IR 2043 Hearing Held: June 14, 2002 Approved by Attorney General: July 2, 2002 Approved by Governor: July 15, 2002 Filed with Secretary of State: July 17, 2002, 3:36 p.m. Incorporated Documents Filed with Secretary of State: None