TITLE 511 INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

60 Day Requirement (IC 4-22-2-19)LSA Document #19-251

December 19, 2019

On behalf of the Indiana State Board of Education (Board), I am submitting this notice in compliance with LC 4-22-2-19, which requires an agency to begin the rulemaking process not later than 60 days after the effective date of the statute that authorizes the rule, unless a notice is filed with the Publisher that includes the reason for the noncompliance.

The statutory authority for rulemaking that allows the Board to amend <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-1</u> and <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-3</u>, and add <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-7</u>, <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-8</u>, <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-9</u>, <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-10</u>, and <u>511 IAC 6.2-3.1-11</u> concerning dyslexia screening and intervention and to update the regulatory language is <u>IC 20-19-2-8</u>, <u>IC 20-32-8.5-4</u>, <u>IC 20-35.5-2-6</u>, and <u>IC 20-35.5-7-3</u>.

The Board was unable to begin the rulemaking process within 60 days of the authorizing statute's effective date due to the amount of time needed to prepare the proposed administrative regulations.

The Board initiated the rulemaking process by publishing its Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule in the Indiana Register on May 1, 2019 (DIN: 20190501-IR-511190251NIA).

Timothy Schultz
General Counsel
Indiana State Board of Education

Posted: 12/25/2019 by Legislative Services Agency

An html version of this document.