TITLE 511 INDIANA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

60 Day Requirement (IC 4-22-2-19)

LSA Document #15-203

On behalf of the Indiana State Board of Education (SBOE), I am submitting this notice in compliance with LC 4-22-2-19, which requires an agency to begin the rulemaking process not later than 60 days after the effective date of the statute that authorizes the rule, unless a notice is filed with the Publisher stating the reasons for the agency's noncompliance.

The statutory authority for rulemaking that allows the SBOE to amend <u>511 IAC 15-7-2</u> by shortening the 90-day cut score effective date waiting period is IC <u>20-28-2-6</u> and IC <u>20-28-5-12</u>.

The SBOE previously adopted rules pursuant to IC 20-28-2-6 regarding teacher licensure and certification. Within those rules is 511 IAC 15-7-2, which requires a 90-day waiting period before new SBOE teacher assessment cut scores become effective. Subsequently, the SBOE received comments from the public requesting that the 90-day cut score waiting period in 511 IAC 15-7-2 be shortened.

The SBOE initiated the rulemaking process by publishing its Notice of Intent to Adopt a Rule in the Indiana Register on July 15, 2015 (DIN: 20150715-IR-511150203NIA).

Brian M. Murphy Assistant General Counsel Indiana State Board of Education

Posted: 07/22/2015 by Legislative Services Agency An httml version of this document.