## **TITLE 512 DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION**

## 60 Day Requirement (IC 4-22-2-19)

LSA Document #14-509

<u>IC 4-22-2-19</u>(c) requires an agency to begin the rulemaking process not later than 60 days after the effective date of the statute that authorizes the rule. If the agency cannot comply, the agency shall provide written notification to the Publisher stating the reasons for the agency's noncompliance.

The statute authorizing the rulemaking for LSA Document #14-509 became effective on July 1, 2013. The statute also gave the Department of Education authority to adopt emergency rules, which the Department of Education did. On December 24, 2014, the Notice of Intent for LSA Document #14-509 was published in the Indiana Register (DIN: <a href="https://document.org/2014/1224-IR-512140509NIA">20141224-IR-512140509NIA</a>). The Department of Education started the rulemaking process more than 60 days after the effective date of the statute due to additional collaboration with stakeholders.

Kirstie Andersen
Office of Legal Affairs
Indiana Department of Education

Posted: 01/21/2015 by Legislative Services Agency An html version of this document.

Date: Apr 25,2024 11:42:28PM EDT DIN: 20150121-IR-512140509ARA Page 1