## STATE OF INDIANA EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT INDIANAPOLIS

**EXECUTIVE ORDER: 14-03** 

FOR: DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN 56 INDIANA COUNTIES DUE TO SEVERE SNOW STORMS, EXTREMELY COLD TEMPERATURES, AND DANGEROUSLY WINDY CONDITIONS

TO ALL WHOM THESE PRESENTS MAY COME, GREETINGS.

**WHEREAS**, Ind. Code § 10-14-3-12 provides that the governor shall declare a disaster emergency by executive order if he determines that a disaster involving widespread or severe damage, injury or loss of life or property has occurred or that the occurrence or threat of a disaster is imminent;

WHEREAS, beginning on January 5, 2014 and concluding on January 9, 2014, inclusive of the 29 Indiana counties identified in Executive Order 14-01, a severe weather system moved through Adams, Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Dekalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hancock, Hamilton, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jay, Jasper, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Porter, Pulaski, Putnam, Rush, St. Joseph, Shelby, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, White, Wells and Whitley Counties, and consisted of severe snowstorms, extremely cold temperatures, and dangerously windy conditions;

**WHEREAS**, the weather system caused widespread damages to homes, businesses and public property and resulted in excessive loss

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, Michael R. Pence**, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Indiana, do hereby:

**DECLARE** that a state of disaster emergency existed in Adams, Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Dekalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hancock, Hamilton, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jay, Jasper, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Porter, Pulaski, Putnam, Rush, St. Joseph, Shelby, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warren, White, Wells and Whitley Counties. This state of disaster emergency was in effect beginning January 5, 2014 and ended January 9, 2014.

**ORDER** the Executive Director of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to continue to coordinate all necessary assistance with appropriate state and local agencies.

**IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I, Michael** R. Pence, have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Indiana on this 6th day of March 2014.

Michael R. Pence Governor of Indiana

SEAL

ATTEST: Connie Lawson

Secretary of State

Posted: 05/14/2014 by Legislative Services Agency

An html version of this document.

Date: Apr 25,2024 3:48:26PM EDT DIN: 20140514-IR-GOV140136EOA Page 1