-IR- Database Guide
-IR- Database: Indiana Register





WHEREAS, injuries are the leading cause of death for Hoosiers one to thirty-four years of age and are the fifth leading cause of death overall;

WHEREAS, more than 86,000 Hoosiers are hospitalized each year due to trauma injuries;

WHEREAS, motor vehicle collisions are the leading cause of unintentional injury death and the second leading cause of unintentional injury overall;

WHEREAS, the total cost to Hoosiers of traumatic injuries is estimated to be in the tens of billions of dollars;

WHEREAS, continuing a statewide trauma system can help decrease Hoosier deaths caused by trauma, decrease the number and severity of Hoosiers disabled by trauma, decrease costs associated with initial treatment for trauma and continued rehabilitation of trauma victims, decrease impact of trauma on Hoosier families, and increase productivity through reduced death and disability;

WHEREAS, the Indiana State Department of Health is designated under IC 16-19-3-28 as the lead agency for the development, implementation, and oversight of a statewide comprehensive trauma care system to prevent injuries, save lives, and improve the care and outcome of individuals injured in Indiana; and

WHEREAS, the creation of a trauma committee is an important first step in the development and implementation of a comprehensive statewide trauma system.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Michael R. Pence, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Indiana, do hereby order that:

1. The Indiana State Trauma Care Committee is hereby reestablished and continued.

2. The Committee shall include the following members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the Governor:
a. The State Health Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee.
b. The Executive Director of the Department of Homeland Security or the Executive Director's designee.
c. One physician licensed under IC 25-22.5 from each hospital in Indiana that has an accredited level I or level II trauma center.
d. One emergency medicine physician licensed under IC 25-22.5 recommended by the Indiana Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.
e. One emergency medical services provider.
f. One individual representing fire rescue services appointed by the Governor.
g. Two nurses licensed under IC 25-23 who are employed as trauma care coordinators appointed by the Governor.
h. Two physicians licensed under IC 25-22.5 affiliated with a hospital that
1) is not accredited as a level I or level II trauma care center; and
2) is located in either a rural area or Gary; recommended by the Indiana State Medical Association.
i. A representative from the Indiana Hospital Association who is not from Marion County.

3. The chairperson and vice-chairperson shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

4. Members of the Committee shall serve on a voluntary and unpaid basis.

5. A majority of the members appointed to the Committee shall constitute a quorum. The affirmative vote of a majority of the members appointed to the Committee is required for the Committee to transact any business of the Committee.

6. The Committee shall advise the Governor and the State Health Commissioner regarding the development and implementation of a comprehensive statewide trauma system.

7. The Committee shall submit an annual report on its activities to the Governor.

8. The Indiana State Trauma Care fund is also reestablished and continued. The fund may accept gifts, grants, and donations to go toward the development of a comprehensive statewide trauma system.
a. The Fund shall be administered by the State Department of Health.
b. Money in the fund at the end of the fiscal year shall not revert to the state general fund.
c. The treasurer of the state shall invest money in the fund not currently needed to meet the obligations of the fund in the same manner that other public funds may be invested.

9. This Order is effective as of the date of execution.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I, Michael R. Pence, have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Indiana on this 14th day of January 2013.

Michael R. Pence
Governor of Indiana

ATTEST: Connie Lawson
Secretary of State

Posted: 02/06/2013 by Legislative Services Agency

DIN: 20130206-IR-GOV130039EOA
Composed: May 26,2018 6:08:01AM EDT
A PDF version of this document.