STATE OF INDIANA EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT INDIANAPOLIS

EXECUTIVE ORDER: 09-04

FOR: DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN ALLEN, CARROLL, DEKALB, FULTON, JASPER, KOSCIUSKO, LAKE, LAPORTE, MARSHALL, NOBLE, PULASKI, WHITE AND WHITLEY COUNTIES, INDIANA, DUE TO TORNADOS, HIGH WINDS, TORRENTIAL RAINFALL, SIGNIFICANT FLOODING AND FLASH FLOODING

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS MAY COME, GREETINGS:

WHEREAS, tornados, high winds, and torrential rains swept through Allen, Carroll, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, White and Whitley counties on March 8, 2009; and

WHEREAS, nearly eight inches of rain fell over a 72 hour period in some locations, with heavy rain falling over frozen and partially frozen ground that quickly led to flooding conditions; and

WHEREAS, the groundwater table combined with heavy rainfall, caused structural damage to foundations and basements due to hydrostatic pressure; and

WHEREAS, roads and bridges have been damaged or washed out creating inaccessibility or long detours and levees have been breached.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Indiana, do hereby:

DECLARE that a state of disaster emergency exists in Allen, Carroll, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, White and Whitley counties, Indiana. This declaration of a disaster emergency shall be effective beginning on March 8, 2009 and shall continue for thirty (30) days unless I determine that emergency conditions no longer exist and I terminate the state of disaster emergency by a subsequent executive order or proclamation; and

ORDER the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, having already begun implementation of the State Emergency Plan, to provide needed emergency services to the areas of Indiana impacted by the storms.

ORDER the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, having already begun implementation of the State Emergency Plan, to provide needed emergency services, to the damaged areas of Allen, Carroll, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, White and Whitley counties impacted by the tornados, high winds and torrential rains and subsequent flooding and to coordinate assistance with all appropriate federal, state and local agencies. Such assistance may include assistance from the State Disaster Relief Fund; however, any assistance from the State Disaster Relief Fund is to be limited exclusively to appropriate individual assistance grants to individuals in the impacted areas of the aforementioned counties who have residential real or personal property damaged or destroyed during this disaster and who are not eligible for assistance under the United States Small Business Administration Agency disaster declaration.

This declaration of disaster emergency was in effect beginning on March 8, 2009 and continues.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I, Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Indiana on this 7th day of April, 2009.

Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr. Governor of Indiana

SEAL ATTEST: Todd Rokita Secretary of State Posted: 05/06/2009 by Legislative Services Agency An <u>html</u> version of this document.