## TITLE 312 NATURAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

## Emergency Rule

LSA Document #08-536(E)

## DIGEST

Temporarily amends <u>312 IAC 9-3-2.5</u> to govern hunting white-tailed deer during the special youth season. Adds a rifle as a legal firearm that can be used to hunt deer. Temporarily amends <u>312 IAC 9-3-7</u> to govern hunting white-tailed deer in a designated county under an extra deer license by identifying counties for herd reduction. Effective September 1, 2008.

SECTION 1. (a) This SECTION supersedes <u>312 IAC 9-3-2.5(e)(4)</u> and governs the activities of an individual youth who is hunting deer.

(b) A youth hunter must not hunt deer with a firearm under this SECTION of this document except as follows:

(1) A shotgun:

(A) must have a gauge 10, 12, 16, 20, or .410 bore loaded with a single projectile; and

(B) may be possessed in the field outside lawful shooting hours only if there are no shells in the chamber or magazine.

(2) A muzzleloading gun must be .44 caliber or larger, loaded with a bullet at least .357 inch or larger. A muzzleloading gun must be capable of being loaded only from the muzzle, including both powder and bullet. A muzzleloading gun may be possessed in the field outside lawful shooting hours only if:

(A) for percussion firearms, the cap or primer is removed from the nipple or primer adapter; or (B) for flintlock firearms, the pan is not primed.

- (3) Over-and-under combination rifle-shotguns are prohibited.
- (4) A rifle must fire a cartridge that meets the following specifications:
  - (A) fire a bullet of three hundred fifty-seven thousandths of an inch (.357) diameter or larger;
  - (B) have a minimum case length of one and sixteen-hundredths (1.16) inches; and

(C) have a maximum case length of one and six hundred twenty-five thousandths (1.625) inches.

SECTION 2. (a) As anticipated by <u>312 IAC 9-3-7</u>, this SECTION of this document governs hunting deer under an extra deer license.

(b) This SECTION of this document is supplemental to <u>312 IAC 9-3-2</u> and governs the activities of an individual who is either:

(1) issued a license to take an extra deer under IC 14-22-11-10(b), IC 14-22-12-1(a)(18), IC 14-22-12-1(a)(19), IC 14-22-12-1(a)(24), IC 14-22-12-7(a)(4), IC 14-22-12-7(a)(5), or IC 14-22-12-1.7; or (2) hunting under IC 14-22-11-1.

(c) A person must not take an antierless deer under this SECTION unless the person possesses an antierless deer license issued by the department of natural resources, division of fish and wildlife, under this SECTION of this document.

- (d) The season for hunting deer under this SECTION of this document is as follows:
- (1) From October 1, 2008, through November 30, 2008, with a bow and arrow.

(2) From November 15, 2008, through November 30, 2008, with firearms.

(3) From December 6, 2008, through December 21, 2008, with muzzleloading guns.

(4) From December 6, 2008, through January 4, 2009, with a bow and arrow or crossbows.

(e) The seasonal limit for hunting under this SECTION of this document is one (1) antlerless deer for each license issued under this SECTION of this document.

(f) A person who hunts under this SECTION of this document must obtain an extra deer license for each deer.

(g) A person who hunts under this SECTION of this document may use bow and arrows, crossbow, or any firearms that may otherwise be lawfully used to take deer under <u>312 IAC 9-3</u>.

(h) 312 IAC 9-3-3(d) through 312 IAC 9-3-3(f) and 312 IAC 9-3-4(e) through 312 IAC 9-3-4(h) apply to a

## license issued under this SECTION of this document.

(i) A person must not exceed the county bag limit from each county as fo	llows:
(1) Adams - 2.	
(2) Allen - 4.	
(3) Bartholomew - 4.	
(4) Benton - 1.	
(5) Blackford -1.	
(6) Boone - 3.	
(7) Brown - 3.	
(8) Carroll - 2.	
(9) Cass - 3.	
(10) Clark - 8.	
(11) Clay - 4.	
(12) Clinton - 2.	
(13) Crawford - 4.	
(14) Daviess - 4.	
(15) Dearborn - 8.	
(16) Decatur - 2.	
(17) Dekalb - 3.	
(18) Delaware - 4.	
(19) Dubois - 4.	
(20) Elkhart - 3.	
(21) Fayette - 3.	
(22) Floyd - 8.	
(23) Fountain - 8.	
(24) Franklin - 8.	
(25) Fulton - 4.	
(26) Gibson - 8.	
(27) Grant - 3.	
(28) Greene - 3.	
(29) Hamilton - 3.	
(30) Hancock - 3.	
(31) Harrison - 8.	
(32) Hendricks - 8.	
(33) Henry - 3.	
(34) Howard - 4.	
(35) Huntington - 4.	
(36) Jackson - 4.	
(37) Jasper - 4.	
(38) Jay - 2.	
(39) Jefferson - 8.	
(40) Jennings - 4.	
(41) Johnson - 8.	
(42) Knox - 3.	
(43) Kosciusko - 3.	
(44) LaGrange - 4.	
(45) Lake - 4.	
(46) LaPorte - 8.	
(47) Lawrence - 3.	
(48) Madison - 8.	
(49) Marion - 8.	
(50) Marshall - 4.	
(50) Martin - 2.	
(52) Miami - 2.	
(53) Monroe - 3. (54) Montgomery - 4	
(54) Montgomery - 4. (55) Morgan - 4	
(55) Morgan - 4. (56) Nouton - 3	
(56) Newton - 3. (57) Noble - 3	
(57) Noble - 3. (58) Obio - 8	
(58) Ohio - 8.	

(59) Orange - 4. (60) Owen - 3. (61) Parke - 8. (62) Perry - 4. (63) Pike - 4. (64) Porter - 4. (65) Posey - 3. (66) Pulaski - 3. (67) Putnam - 4. (68) Randolph - 1. (69) Ripley - 3. (70) Rush - 1. (71) St. Joseph - 4. (72) Scott - 8. (73) Shelby - 3. (74) Spencer - 3. (75) Starke - 3. (76) Steuben - 3. (77) Sullivan - 3. (78) Switzerland - 8. (79) Tippecanoe - 8. (80) Tipton - A. (81) Union - 2. (82) Vanderburgh - 8. (83) Vermillion - 8. (84) Vigo - 8. (85) Wabash - 2. (86) Warren - 4. (87) Warrick - 4. (88) Washington - 8. (89) Wayne - 3. (90) Wells - 1.

(91) White - 3. (92) Whitley - 3.

A county bag limit of "A", as used in this subsection of this document, is one (1) antierless deer. Notwithstanding subsection (d), a deer taken in a county with a bag limit of "A" must be taken only from November 27, 2008, through November 30, 2008, or from December 6, 2008, through January 6, 2009.

(j) The extra deer license authorized by this SECTION of this document does not apply to the department properties listed in this subsection. The license is invalid on these properties:

- (1) Atterbury Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (2) Chinook Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (3) Crosley Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (4) Francis Slocum State Forest.
- (5) Glendale Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (6) Green-Sullivan State Forest.
- (7) Hillenbrand Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (8) J. Roush Lake (including adjacent lands administered by the department of natural resources).
- (9) Kankakee Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (10) Kingsbury Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (11) Lasalle Fish and Wildlife Area.

(12) Mississinewa Lake (including adjacent lands administered by the department of natural resources).

(13) Patoka Lake, except east of State Road 145 (in Orange County and Crawford County) and south of State Road 164 (in Dubois County and Crawford County).

- (14) Pigeon River Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (15) Salamonie Lake (including adjacent lands administered by the department of natural resources).
- (16) Salamonie State Forest.
- (17) Splinter Ridge Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (18) Stucker Fork Wildlife Management Area.

- (19) Tri-County Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (20) Wilbur Wright Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (21) Willow Slough Fish and Wildlife Area.
- (22) Winamac Fish and Wildlife Area.

(k) The extra deer license authorized by this SECTION of this document does not apply to the department properties listed in this subsection from November 15, 2008, through November 26, 2008. The license is invalid on these properties from November 15, 2008, through November 26, 2008:

- (1) Fairbanks Landing Fish and Wildlife Area
- (2) Minnehaha Fish and Wildlife Area.

SECTION 3. This document expires on February 1, 2009.

LSA Document #08-536(E) Filed with Publisher: June 24, 2008, 11:33 a.m.

Posted: 07/09/2008 by Legislative Services Agency An <u>html</u> version of this document.