STATE OF INDIANA EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT INDIANAPOLIS

EXECUTIVE ORDER: 08-09

FOR: DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN ADAMS, BARTHOLOMEW, BENTON, BOONE, BROWN, CARROLL, DEARBORN, DECATUR, ELKHART, FRANKLIN, FULTON, GREENE, HANCOCK, HENRY, HUNTINGTON, JACKSON, JEFFERSON, JENNINGS, JOHNSON, LAGRANGE, LAWRENCE, MADISON, MARION, MIAMI, MONROE, MORGAN, NEWTON, OHIO, OWEN, RANDOLPH, RUSH, SHELBY, SULLIVAN, TIPPECANOE, UNION, VERMILLION, VIGO, WABASH, WARRICK, WAYNE, WHITE, COUNTIES, INDIANA, DUE TO HEAVY RAINFALL, TORNADOS, SEVERE WINDS AND FLASH FLOODING

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS MAY COME, GREETINGS:

WHEREAS, beginning on May 30, 2008 and continuing until June 4, 2008, a severe weather system moved through much of Indiana. The weather system included severe storms, heavy rains, and tornadoes which swept through Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Dearborn, Decatur, Elkhart, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lagrange, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Ohio, Owen, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warrick, Wayne, and White counties; and

WHEREAS, the storms included heavy rainfall which resulted in flash flooding in many of these areas. In all, a total of 26 severe thunderstorm and 15 tornado warnings were issued statewide; and

WHEREAS, thousands of citizens were without power due to downed, damaged or destroyed power transmission lines caused by this storm system in those counties; and

WHEREAS, numerous state, federal and local roads throughout the affected counties became impassable due to storm debris or high water; and

WHEREAS, the tornadoes and storms resulted in many damaged homes, businesses and structures, as well as downed trees and power lines as a result of the tornadoes, high winds, heavy rain and flooding. There has been significant damage to both public and private property in the areas of Indiana impacted by this storm system.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Indiana, do hereby

DECLARE, that a state of disaster emergency exists in Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Dearborn, Decatur, Elkhart, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lagrange, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Ohio, Owen, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, Warrick, Wayne, and White counties. This declaration of disaster emergency shall be effective beginning on May 30, 2008, and shall continue for thirty (30) days unless, prior to June 30, 2008, I determine that emergency conditions no longer exist and I terminate the state of disaster emergency by a subsequent executive order or proclamation, and

ORDER, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, having already begun implementation of the State Emergency Plan, to enlist the support of such other state agencies as needed to provide necessary emergency services.

ORDER, the Executive Director of the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to coordinate all necessary assistance with appropriate federal, state and local agencies. Such assistance may include financial assistance from the state disaster relief fund; however, any assistance from the state disaster relief fund is to be limited to appropriate individual assistance grants to the damaged areas of the aforementioned counties impacted by the tornadoes, high winds, heavy rains and subsequent flooding.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I, Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., have hereunto set my hand and cause to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Indiana on this 6th day of June, 2008.

Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr.

Indiana Register

Governor of Indiana

SEAL

ATTEST: Todd Rokita Secretary of State

Posted: 06/25/2008 by Legislative Services Agency An <a href="https://