REGULATED AMUSEMENT DEVICE SAFETY BOARD Interpretation of Building Law Compliance Officer Division of Fire and Building Safety Indiana Department of Homeland Security

Title: Interpretation of <u>685 IAC 1-4-6</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-7</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-8</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-9</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-10</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-10</u>, <u>685 IAC 1-4-10</u>.

Date: April 15, 2008

Purpose: To assist regulated amusement device inspectors, owners, and operators in understanding and ensuring compliance with rules concerning operating permits, inspections, and inspection fees.

Interpretation: The Building Law Compliance Officer interprets these rules as follows:

- 1. An annual inspection includes the review by the inspector of the maintenance records and owner/operator manuals for each regulated amusement device (device). If the maintenance records and owner/operator manuals for each regulated amusement device are not available to the inspector at the time scheduled for the annual inspection, the operating permit seal **will not be** issued, but a correction order **will** be issued, prohibiting the owner/operator from operating the device until the owner/operator has notified the Division of Fire and Building Safety, Amusement Device Section (Section) via e-mail at rides@dhs.in.gov that the relevant maintenance records and owner/operator manuals are available on site. An inspector from the Section will perform a subsequent inspection and determine whether the relevant maintenance records and owner/operator manuals are available and that the device complies with owner/operator's manual or manuals. A subsequent inspection fee of \$100, under 675 IAC 23-1-63(c), shall be charged for the inspection that is necessary to determine that the relevant maintenance records and owner/operator manuals are available and that the device complies with owner/operator's manual or manuals. The device shall not be operated until the subsequent inspection fee has been received by the Section.
- 2. Upon inspection, the Section shall seal out of service any device that is operated without the required Indiana seal, any device that is operated without compliance with any correction order issued by the Section, and any device that creates a clear and immediate hazard of death or serious bodily harm to anyone other than a trespasser. Such seal out shall be an emergency order under lC_22-12-7-6 and is immediately effective. A reinspection of any device sealed out of service shall be performed by the Section within twenty-four (24) hours of a request by the owner/operator of the device reinspection, or as soon as practical, but in no event longer than three (3) days after a request. Such request shall be made by e-mail to rides@dhs.in.gov. Each reinspection of a device that has been sealed out of service shall include a citation for a reinspection fee of \$72, under 675 IAC 23-1-63(d), and shall be issued at the time of the reinspection, and the device shall not be operated until the reinspection fee has been received by the Section.

Posted: 05/07/2008 by Legislative Services Agency An html version of this document.