Supreme Court press release letterhead
July 2, 2010
Contact: Kathryn Dolan


The Judicial Nominating Commission received thirty-four applications for the upcoming Indiana Supreme Court vacancy.  The following attorneys and judges have applied for the seat which will be available when Justice Theodore Boehm retires in September.  The list below indicates when each applicant will be interviewed and includes a link to their application. 


Interview Time

Hon. Cynthia J. Ayers, Marion Superior Court, Civil Division 4

July 7th, 10:55 a.m.- 11:15 a.m.

Hon. Mary Beth Bonaventura, Lake Superior Court, Juvenile Division

July 7th, 11:50 a.m.- 12:10 p.m.

Ms. Ellen E. Boshkoff, Indianapolis

July 6th, 9:00 a.m.- 9:20 a.m.

Hon. Elaine B. Brown, Indiana Court of Appeals

July 6th, 10:55 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.

Mr. Sean M. Clapp, Fishers

July 6th, 9:20 a.m. - 9:40 a.m.

Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael, Clark Superior Court 1

July 6th, 2:10 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Hon. Jane Spencer Craney, Morgan Superior Court 3

July 6th, 12:10 p.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Hon. Steven H. David, Boone Circuit Court

July 7th, 11:30 a.m. - 11:50 a.m.

Ms. Kiply S. Drew, Bloomington

July 6th, 1:30 p.m. - 1:50 p.m.

Hon. Cynthia S. Emkes, Johnson Superior Court 2

July 7th, 9:40 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Mr. Thomas M. Fisher, Indianapolis

July 7th, 10:35 a.m. - 10:55 a.m.

Ms. Monica Foster, Indianapolis

July 6th, 10:35 a.m. - 10:55 a.m.

Hon. Frances C. Gull, Allen Superior Court

July 6th, 2:45 p.m. - 3:05 p.m.

Mr. Lyle R. Hardman, Granger

July 7th, 2:10 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Ms. Christine Talley Haseman, Bloomington

July 6th, 1:50 p.m. - 2:10 p.m.

Hon. Susan Orr Henderson, Fountain Circuit Court

July 6th, 4:00 p.m. - 4:20 p.m.

Hon. William J. Hughes, Hamilton Superior Court 3

July 7th, 1:30 p.m. - 1:50 p.m.

Ms. Abigail Lawlis Kuzma, Indianapolis

July 7th, 3:25 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.

Ms. Christine M. Marcuccilli, Fort Wayne

July 6th, 3:05 p.m. - 3:25 p.m.

Hon. William C. Menges, Jr., Howard Superior Court 1

July 7th, 10:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.

Hon. Robyn L. Moberly, Marion Superior Court, Civil Division 5

July 7th, 9:20 a.m. - 9:40 a.m.

Mr. Karl L. Mulvaney, Indianapolis

July 7th, 9:00 a.m. - 9:20 a.m.

Hon. Steven R. Nation, Hamilton Superior Court 1

July 6th, 9:40 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Ms. Clare Kraegel Nuechterlein, South Bend

July 7th, 1:50 p.m. - 2:10 p.m.

Mr. Bryce D. Owens, Pendleton

July 6th, 4:20 p.m. - 4:40 p.m.

Mr. Curtis E. Shirley, Indianapolis

July 7th, 3:05 p.m. - 3:25 p.m.

Mr. Geoffrey G. Slaughter, Indianapolis

July 6th, 3:25 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.

Hon. Robert A. Spahr, Miami Circuit Court

July 6th, 4:45 p.m. - 5:05 p.m.

Sen. Brent E. Steele, Bedford

July 6th, 11:50 a.m. - 12:10 p.m.

Ms. Yasmin L. Stump, Zionsville

July 6th, 11:30 a.m. - 11:50 a.m.

Mr. Donald J. Tribbett, Logansport

July 6th, 5:05 p.m. - 5:25 p.m.

Hon. Allen N. Wheat, Steuben Circuit Court

July 7th, 2:45 p.m. - 3:05 p.m.

Hon. Mary G. Willis, Henry Circuit Court

July 7th, 12:10 p.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Ms. Judy L. Woods, Indianapolis

July 6th, 10:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.

Because of the voluminous nature of the applications, the links above only include the application itself.  The press and public are invited to view applications with lengthy writing samples in person on Friday, July 2nd from 1 p.m.- 4 p.m. EDT in the Law Library on the third floor of the State House. Application photocopies can be made on the library copier for 25 cents a page.  The copier takes 1 and 5 dollar bills, change is not available.  

On July 6th and 7th the Judicial Nominating Commission will interview applicants at the State House. All interview times are EDT and the interviews will take place in room 319 on the third floor of the Indiana State House near the Supreme Court courtroom.  The interviews are open to the press and public.  Please respect the interview process and help us remove distractions for the candidates.  We request that the news media and public follow the guidelines below.

Guidelines For Attending Judicial Nominating Commission Interviews

  1. Enter and exit the room only between interviews.
  2. Set-up tripod and other equipment for video and still cameras between interviews.
  3. Refrain from moving about the room during interviews.
  4. Only ambient lighting will be permitted.  Artificial lighting such as flashbulbs and frezzi lights shall not be used.
  5. No mult box/audio equipment will be provided.  Individual lavalier microphones will not be attached to applicant lapels.  Wired or wireless microphones can be placed on the table in front of the applicant prior to the start of the interview.   
  6. Questioning of the applicant during the interview is reserved for the Judicial Nominating Commission. 
  7. At the applicant’s discretion, members of the public or the media may interview him or her before or after the Commission interview outside the interview room.
  8. Members of the audience are requested to refrain from all other activities that might distract from the interview process.

On July 7th or 8th a press release naming the semi-finalists will be posted to the website.  The exact date of the release will depend on Judicial Nominating Commission deliberations.  The semi-finalists will be named after the executive session concludes.  When a list of all semi-finalist applicant interview times is available it will also be posted online. 
On July 30th the Judicial Nominating Commission will interview semi-finalist candidates.  A press release naming the three finalists will be posted online.  The vote on the final nominees is public, and the release will be posted shortly after the public vote.

In May, Justice Theodore R. Boehm announced he would step down from the bench on September 30, 2010.  The seven-member Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission will search for Justice Boehm’s successor. Chaired by Chief Justice Shepard, the Commission will interview the candidates listed above and will send the names of three candidates to Governor Mitch Daniels.  The Governor will select Indiana's next justice.

Media with questions can contact Supreme Court Public Information Officer, Kathryn Dolan at (317) 234-4722 or

[an error occurred while processing this directive]