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LR79-AR 1(E) Rule 1.  County Caseload Plan 
 

 As of the date of the Order adopting these Rules, and subject to any modifications which 

may subsequently be made, the Tippecanoe County Caseload Plan reads as follows: 

 

 All cases wherein the most serious charge alleged is Murder, a Class A, B, or C felony or 

a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony and those Class D felonies or Level 6 felonies specified below shall 

be assigned to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, and Superior 

Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County, on a random basis according to the following ratio: 

 

Court                Ratio 
Tippecanoe Circuit Court    2 

Superior Court of Tippecanoe County  4 

Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County  4 

 

 For any defendant who has a Class A, B, or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony case 

pending or who is serving a Class A, B, or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony sentence, 

whether executed or suspended, any new case in which the most serious charge alleged is a Class 

A, B, or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony shall be filed in the court having jurisdiction of 

the oldest such prior case.  Upon learning that such a case has been filed in the wrong court, the 

prosecutor shall within 14 days move to transfer the case to the proper court. 

 

Class D felony and Level 6 felony cases assigned to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, Superior 

Court of Tippecanoe County, and Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County are as follows: 

  Battery on a Child 

 Possession of Child Pornography 

 Child Exploitation 

 Vicarious Sexual Gratification 

 Child Solicitation 

 Child Seduction 

 Dissemination of Matter Harmful to Minors 

 Neglect of a Dependent 

 Arson 

 Sexual Conduct in Presence of Minor 

 Kidnapping 

 

All Class D felonies, Level 6 felonies, misdemeanors, and infractions alleging a violation 

of Indiana Code Title 9, Traffic Code, and only those civil plenary cases with claims up to 

$10,000 shall be assigned to Superior Court No. 6 of Tippecanoe County. 
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All Class D felonies, Level 6 felonies, misdemeanors, and infractions alleging a violation 

of Indiana Code Title 35, Article 48, Controlled Substances, and not set forth in paragraph 2 

above, and only those civil cases involving small claims and landlord tenant’s claims, shall be 

filed in Superior Court No. 4 of Tippecanoe County.  Glue Sniffing, in violation of Indiana Code 

35-46-6-2, and Public Intoxication cases shall be filed in Superior Court No. 4 of Tippecanoe 

County, along with search warrants and 72 hour holds approved by the Tippecanoe County 

Magistrate. 

 

All remaining Class D felonies, Level 6 felonies, misdemeanors, and infraction cases not 

specifically set forth above shall be filed in Superior Court No. 5 of Tippecanoe County. 

 

Superior Court No. 3 of Tippecanoe County exercises juvenile jurisdiction and will not 

receive filings of felony or misdemeanor cases.  A case wherein juvenile jurisdiction is waived 

may be assigned to a court by agreement of the parties.  In the absence of such agreement, the 

case shall be filed in accordance with the Local Rule on Assignments of Criminal Cases. 

 

When it is alleged that defendants jointly commit a crime or crimes and the most serious 

charge alleged is Murder, the cases shall be assigned together to Tippecanoe Circuit Court, 

Superior Court of Tippecanoe County or Superior Court No. 2 of Tippecanoe County on a 

random basis in the ratio of 2:4:4 set forth above. 

 

Where it is alleged that defendants jointly commit a crime or crimes, and the most serious 

charge alleged is a Class A, B or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony, their cases shall be 

filed together in the same court.  In any such cases where one or more of the defendants has a 

Class A, B or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felony case pending or is serving a Class A, B, 

or C felony or a Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 sentence, whether executed or suspended, all the cases shall 

be filed in the court having jurisdiction of the oldest such prior case. 

 

Any case in which the most serious charge is a Class D felony, Level 6 felony, 

misdemeanor or infraction shall be filed as specified above, notwithstanding any charges against 

co-defendants. 

 

A judge, by appropriate order may transfer and reassign to any other court of record in 

the county, any pending case, subject to acceptance by the receiving court. 

 

A case transferred to Tippecanoe County by reason of change of venue from another 

county may be assigned to a court by agreement of the parties. In the absence of such an 

agreement, the case shall be filed in accordance with this Local Rule on Case Assignments. 

 

When the State of Indiana dismisses a case and chooses to re-file that case, the case shall 

be assigned to the court from which dismissal was taken. 

 

All petitions for civil orders of protection shall be filed initially in Superior Court No. 5 

of Tippecanoe County. 

 

 Petitions for dissolution of marriage in which a fee waiver is requested shall be filed in 

Superior Court No. 2.   
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Petitions to expunge records under I.C. 35-38-9-1 shall be filed in the  court in which the 

charges were filed under a new expungement (XP) cause without the payment of court costs, and 

if no charges were filed or the petition includes Section 1 requests from multiple courts, then said 

petitions shall be filed in Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 2 under a new expungement (XP) cause 

without the payment of court costs.  

 

Petitions to expunge misdemeanor convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-2, minor Class D or 

Level 6 felony convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-3, less serious felony convictions under I.C. 35-

38-9-4, and certain serious felony convictions under I.C. 35-38-9-5 shall be filed under a new 

expungement (XP) cause with the payment of court costs.  Said petitions shall be filed in the 

court in which conviction was entered, unless the petition seeks to expunge causes from multiple 

courts, then the petition shall be filed in Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 2.  The payment of court 

costs is required so long as the petition includes a request to expunge at least one conviction.    

 

Petitions to expunge records concerning a delinquent child or a child in need of services 

under I.C. 31-39-8 or petitions to seal records of a juvenile under I.C. 35-38-9-1 shall be filed in 

Tippecanoe Superior Court No. 3 under a new expungement (XP) cause without the payment of 

court costs.   

 

The Presiding Judge of the Superior Courts 4, 5, and 6 shall assign the Magistrate to 

serve any of the Tippecanoe Circuit or Superior Courts in a manner which provides the greater 

assistance to the courts with greater caseloads.  Considering the 2014 caseloads, the Superior 

Court No. 4 will be limited to one-half day each week and the Circuit Court to two one-half days 

each week. The balance of the Magistrate’s time will be allocated to the courts as set forth above. 

 

In all other civil cases, parties may file in the court of their choosing. 
Adopted Aug. 1, 2006, effective Jan. 1, 2007.  Amended Nov. 30, 2007, effective Jan. 1, 2008; amended Jan. 6, 2010, 

effective Jan. 1, 2010; amended Oct. 10, 2011, effective retroactive to Jan. 1, 2011; amended effective September 1, 

2012.  Amended effective September 1, 2013.  Amended effective July 1, 2014.  Amended effective July 1, 2015. 

 

  

LR79-TR 5(E)-2  Filing 
 

A. Flat filing. All papers presented for filing with the Clerk or Court shall be flat and unfolded. 

 

B. Number of copies. All Orders submitted to the Court shall be in sufficient number so that the 

original and one copy may be retained by the clerk and a copy mailed to each party. 

 

C. Proposed orders required. The moving party, unless the Court directs otherwise, shall furnish 

the Court with proposed Orders in the following matters: motions for enlargement of time, for 

continuance, for default or default judgment, to compel discovery, for restraining order or  

injunction, for immediate possession of real estate or personal property, for appointment of 

receiver, for findings of fact and conclusions of law, for dismissal of an action, for judgment in a 

collection matter or mortgage or lien foreclosure, and in such other matters as the Court directs. 
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LR79-TR 5(E)-3  Motion Hour 
 

If the Court conducts motion hour, the same shall be for the consideration of routine matters, 

procedural motions, setting dates for trials, pre-trial conferences, and hearings and for other 

matters which can ordinarily be heard without evidence or argument. Attorneys shall notify 

opposing counsel in advance before approaching the Judge at motion hour for any matter 

requiring action to be taken by the Court. 

 

LR79-TR 6(B)-4  Extensions of Time 
 

(1) Initial Extension. In a civil action where a party desires an initial 30 – day extension of time 

to file a responsive pleading or to respond to a discovery request, the party shall contact  

opposing counsel before the due date and solicit agreement to the extension. If there is no 

objection or opposing counsel cannot with due diligence be reached, the party seeking the 

extension shall file a notice with the Court reciting the lack of objection to the extension or that 

opposing counsel could not with due diligence be reached. No further filings with the Court nor 

action by the Court shall be required for the extension. If opposing counsel objects to the request 

for extension, the party seeking the extension shall file a formal motion for such extension and 

shall recite in the motion the efforts to obtain agreement. 

 

(2) Other extensions. Any other request for an extension of time, unless made in open Court or at 

a conference, shall be made by written motion. If opposing counsel objects to the request for 

extension, the party seeking the extension shall recite in the motion the effort to obtain 

agreement; or recite that there is no objection. 

 

(3) Due dates. Any notice or motion filed pursuant to this rule shall state the date such response 

was initially due and the date on which the response will be due after the extension. 

 

LR79-TR73-5  Telephone Conferencing 
 

A. Purpose. To expedite the Court’s business, the Court encourages telephone conferencing for 

the hearing of motions, for pre-trial and status conferences, and for other matters which may 

reasonably be conducted by telephone. 

 

B. Hearing on motions or status conferences. Within five (5) days after receipt of notice of 

hearing on a motion, any party or attorney may request that the Court conduct the hearing by 

telephone conference with the Court. If the Court sets the hearing for telephone conference, the 

party requesting the telephone conference shall arrange and place the call, unless otherwise 

ordered by the Court. 

 

LR79-TR12-6  Motions 
 

A.  Applicability. This rule shall apply to motions under Trial Rule 12, contested motions to 

continue hearings or trials, discovery motions, and any other contested motions. 

 

B.  Briefs and Memoranda. Unless the procedure for a motion is governed otherwise by the 

Indiana Rules of Trial Procedure, an adverse party shall have fifteen (15) days after service of a 
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motion in which to file a response, and the moving party shall have seven (7) days in which to 

file a reply. The court may in its discretion shorten or lengthen the time for a response or a reply. 

Failure to file a response or reply within the prescribed time shall subject such motions to 

summary ruling. Any party may request the court hold a hearing on a motion. 

 

C.  Notice of hearing. If the movant procures a date for hearing on a motion, the movant shall 

promptly give notice to all adverse parties of the date and time of such scheduled hearing. 

 

LR79-TR-53.5-7  Continuances 
 

Before requesting a continuance of a matter, the moving party shall confer with the other parties 

to determine any objections and dates for rescheduling when all parties are available.  Such 

objections and alternative dates shall be reported in the motion for continuance. 

 

LR79-TR-3.1-8  Withdrawal of Appearance 
 

Motions to withdraw an appearance shall be in writing with an attached notice to the client of 

intention to withdraw. The notice to the client of the intention to withdraw shall include an 

explanation to the client of (i) the present status of the case; (ii) the dates of scheduled hearings 

or other pending matters in the case; and (iii) the potential consequences to the client’s case 

resulting from failure of the client to act promptly or to secure new counsel. 

 

LR79-TR 79-9  Withdrawal of Original Records 
 

Original pleadings, papers, exhibits or other official materials in the custody of the Clerk, 

reporter or other officer of the Court shall not be withdrawn from the officer having custody 

thereof except upon (i) the Order of the Judge of the Court where the record is held, and (ii) upon 

leaving a proper receipt with the Clerk, reporter or officer. 

 

LR79-CR 2.2-10 Case Reassignment and Special Judges in Criminal Cases  
   

In the event a change of judge is granted pursuant to Indiana Criminal Rule 12 or it becomes 

necessary to assign another judge in any felony or misdemeanor proceeding, the case shall be 

returned to the Clerk of court for random selection of another court from among all the courts in 

Tippecanoe County other than Superior Court No. 3.  On selection, the case shall be reassigned 

by the Clerk to the selected court. 

 

In the event no judge is available for assignment or reassignment of a felony or a misdemeanor 

case, such case shall be certified to the Indiana Supreme Court for the appointment of a special 

judge.  In the event the judge presiding in a felony or misdemeanor case concludes that the 

unique circumstances presented in such proceeding require appointment by the Indiana Supreme 

Court of a special judge, the presiding judge may request the Indiana Supreme Court for such 

appointment. 
Amended effective June 1, 2010. 
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LR79-TR79-11  Special Judge Selection in Civil Cases 
 

Juvenile Cases:  To ensure the effective use of all judicial resources within this 

Administrative District, the juvenile court shall maintain a list of eligible judges including judges 

(1) regularly presiding over juvenile cases within this Administrative District and (2) from 

contiguous counties who have agreed to serve as special judge in juvenile court and, when 

required pursuant to Trial Rule 79 to assign a special judge, shall assign a judge from said list on 

a rotating basis. 

 

All Other Civil Cases:  The six (6) judges of Tippecanoe County (not having juvenile case 

load) shall maintain a computer generated random selection system among said six (6) judges, 

and from among eligible judges pursuant to TR 79 (J), to be managed through the County 

Clerk’s Office and the County Data Processing Department.  Whenever a special judge needs to 

be assigned pursuant to Trial Rule 79 (H), the judge shall direct that a judge be selected by said 

random process first from the eligible judges in Tippecanoe County and then from the eligible 

judges from within the Administrative District. 

 

If the judge selected by this Rule is disqualified or no judge is eligible to serve as special 

judge, the judge having jurisdiction of the cause shall notify the Indiana Supreme Court of the 

circumstances relevant thereto and request that a special judge be appointed by the Supreme 

Court. 
Adopted June 23, 2010, effective June 1, 2010; Amended effective Jan. 1, 2012; Amended effective April 1, 2013. 

 

LR-79-AR00-12 Tippecanoe County Court Services Program 
 
Program 575       Program 576 

 

Alcohol and drug evaluation   $150  Community Service $100 

Case Management*    $150  Reschedule   $25 

Transfer Fee     $100 

2nd case before 1st case closed   $100 

Reschedule     $25 

 

*Case Management fee assessed only if defendant referred to in-patient or out-patient alcohol or 

drug treatment program.  
Amended effective May 1, 2012. Amended effective August 1, 2015. 

 

LR79-AR15-13 Court Reporter Services  
   

Section One.  Definitions  The following definitions shall apply under this local rule: 

(1) A Court Reporter is a person who is specifically designated by a court to perform the 

official court reporting services for the court including preparing a transcript of the record.   

(2) Equipment means all physical items owned by the court or other governmental entity and 

used by a court reporter in performing court reporting services.  Equipment shall include, 

but not limited to, telephones, computer hardware, software programs, disks, tapes, and any 

other device used for recording and storing, and transcribing electronic data. 
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(3) Work space means that portion of the court’s facilities dedicated to each court reporter, 

including but not limited to actual space in the courtroom and any designated office space. 

(4) Page means the page unit of transcript which results when a recording is transcribed in the 

form required by Indiana Rule of Appellate Procedure 7.2, and includes the index and table 

of contents pages. 

(5) Recording means the electronic, mechanical, stenographic, digital, or other recording made 

as required by Indiana Rule of Trial Procedure 74. 

(6) Regular hours worked means those hours which the court is regularly scheduled to work 

during any given work week.  Depending on the particular court, these hours may vary from 

court to court within the county but remain the same for each work week. 

(7) Gap hours worked means those hours worked that are in excess of the regular hours worked 

but hours not in excess of forty (40) hours per work week. 

(8) Overtime hours worked means those hours worked in excess of forty (40) hours per work  

(9) Workweek means a seven (7) consecutive day week that consistently begins and ends on the 

same days throughout the year; i.e. Sunday through Saturday, Wednesday through Tuesday, 

Friday through Thursday. 

(10) Court means the particular court for which the court reporter performs services.  Court may 

also mean all of the courts in Tippecanoe County. 

(11) County indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from county funds and is for 

the use on behalf of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court. 

(12) State indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from state funds and is for the use 

on behalf of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court. 

(13) Private transcript means a transcript, including but not limited to a deposition transcript that 

is paid for by a private party. 

 

Section Two.  Salaries and Per Page Fees 

(1) Court Reporters shall be paid an annual salary for time spent working under the control, 

direction and direct supervision of their supervising court during any regular work hours, 

gap hours or overtime hours.  The supervising court shall enter into a written agreement with 

the court reporters which outlines the manner in which the court reporter is to be 

compensated for gap and overtime hours; i.e. monetary compensation or compensatory time 

off regular work hours. 

(2) Court reporters may contract to prepare transcripts outside the hours in which their 

attendance is required and outside hours they perform other work pursuant to their 

employment relationship. 

(a) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a county 

indigent transcript shall be $4.00; the court reporter shall submit a claim to the ancillary 

court reporter, who shall submit the claim to the county for the preparation of any county 

indigent transcripts.  The ancillary court department shall have the responsibility of 

maintaining the budget for county indigent transcripts. 
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(b) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a state 

indigent transcript shall be $4.00.  The court reporter shall submit the invoice for state 

indigent transcripts directly to the state. 

(c) The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a private 

transcript shall be $4.00.  The court reporter shall submit the invoice for private 

transcripts directly to the attorney requesting the transcription.  A deposit in the amount 

of the estimated work shall be required from the attorney making a private transcript 

request. 

(d) The per page fee for expedited transcripts shall be $6.50 within 24 hours notice and $5.00 

within three (3) days notice. 

(e) An additional labor charge may be assessed in the amount of the court reporter’s hourly 

rate based upon the court reporter’s annual court compensation or $15.00 per hour, 

whichever is greater, for the time spent binding the transcript and the exhibit binders.  An 

additional charge shall be assessed for the office supplies required and utilized for the 

binding and the electronic transmission of the transcript, pursuant to Indiana Rules of 

Appellate Procedure 28 and 29, pursuant to a Schedule of Transcript Supplies published 

annually by the Judges of the County. 

(3) Each court reporter shall report, at least on an annual basis, all transcript fees received for 

the preparation of county indigent, state indigent or private transcripts to the Indiana 

Supreme Court Division of State Court Administration.  The reporting shall be made on 

forms prescribed by the Division of State Court Administration. 

 

Section Three.  Private Practice 

(1) If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition 

and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, and the court reporter desires to utilize the 

court’s equipment, work space and supplies, and the court agrees to the use of the court 

equipment for such purpose, the court and the court reporter shall enter into a written 

agreement which must, at a minimum, designate the following: 

(a)  The reasonable market rate for the use of equipment, work space and supplies; 

(b)  The method by which records are to be kept for the use of equipment, work space and 

supplies; and 

(c)   The method by which the court reporter is to reimburse the court for the use of the 

equipment, work space and supplies. 

(2) If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice through the recording of a deposition 

and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, all such private practice work shall be conducted 

outside of regular working hours. 

 

LR79-AR15-14  Assigned Counsel and Guardian Ad Litem Fees 

1. Assigned Counsel Fees 

 a. Assigned counsel in pauper cases shall be paid by the court at the rate of $85.00 per 

hour, or at the rate required to continue receiving reimbursement from the Public Defense 

Fund, whichever is greater, unless state law requires a different rate of payment.  
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 b. Assigned counsel shall submit verified, itemized claims using units of time no larger 

than one-quarter hour, detailing the work for which they seek payment. 

2. Guardian Ad Litem Fees 

 a. The order appointing a guardian ad litem shall specify the guardian's hourly fee, the   

amount of the retainer, and the allocation of the guardian's fee between the parties. 

 b. Guardians ad litem may agree with the parties to a case upon the fee they will charge. 

 c. If there is a written agreement signed by the parties, or a court order entered at the time 

of appointment establishing the guardian's fees, the court will approve an agreed fee no  

greater than $200.00 per hour. 

 d. A fee established by court order entered at the time of appointment or by written 

agreement may be enforced by judgment and supplemental proceedings. 

 e. In the absence of a written agreement or court order entered at the time of appointment, 

the court shall enforce payment at the assigned counsel rate established by  section 1 (a) 

of this order. 

 f. If the guardian is unable to collect his or her fee from the parties, the guardian may 

apply for payment to the court. The court shall then conduct a hearing to determine if the 

delinquent party is indigent. If the court finds that the delinquent party is indigent, the 

court shall order payment of the guardian's fee from the Family Relations Fund. The 

payment from the Family Relations Fund shall be calculated by multiplying the total 

hours billed by the guardian by the assigned counsel rate and subtracting the total amount 

previously received by the guardian. 

 

LR79-JR4-15 Local Rule Regarding Jury Rules 
 

Pursuant to the Order of the Supreme Court of Indiana, adopted December 31, 2001, and  

amended July 19, 2002, amending the Indiana Jury Rules, and in the exercise of its inherent 

authority to supervise the administration of all courts of this state, this Local Rule is adopted and 

promulgated. 

 

Jury Rule 4, Notice of Selection of Jury Pool and Summons for Jury Service, mandates that the 

Judges of the Courts of Record of Tippecanoe County select by Local Rule, one of the two 

procedures outlined therein for summoning jurors. 

 

The Judges of the Courts of Record of Tippecanoe County, being duly advised, hereby 

promulgate this Local Rule adopting the two-tier notice and summons system described in Jury 

Rule 4. The jury qualification form and notice will be the first tier and summoning the 

prospective juror at least one week before service will be the second tier. 

 

The Bailiff of each court of record, as well as the Clerk of Tippecanoe County, is hereby 

designated as a Jury Administrator. 
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LR79-CR00-16.   Bail Schedule 
 

Unless otherwise ordered by a judicial officer, the Sheriff of Tippecanoe County is hereby 

ordered to follow this bail schedule for the setting of bail for all persons arrested without 

warrants for criminal offenses committed in Tippecanoe County: 

 

 

OFFENSE CLASS 

 

CASH AMOUNT      + 

 

SURETY AMOUNT 

 

Murder 

 

No Bond 

 

No Bond 

 

Level 1 felony 

 

$5,000 

 

$50,000 

 

Level 2 felony 

 

$2,500 

 

$25,000 

 

Level 3 felony 

 

$1,500 

 

$15,000 

 

Level 4 felony 

 

$1,000 

 

$10,000 

 

Level 5 felony 

 

$500 

 

$5,000 

 

Level 6 felony 

 

$500 
 

 

Misdemeanors 

 

$250 
 

 

Escape (L6f) 

Failure to Register (L6f) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

$5,000 surety only 

 

 

 Persons arrested for Level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 felonies must pay the CASH AMOUNT and the 

SURETY AMOUNT shown above.  The CASH AMOUNT shown above represents a 10% cash 

bond amount paid if posted through the Clerk with an executed Agreement on Disposition of 

Bonds.  

 

A. Multiple offenses.  If a person is arrested for allegedly committing more than one 

offense, bail shall be in the amount established for the most serious offense. 

 

B. Posting Bond.  The total surety and total cash (100% of cash – not 10% cash) amounts 

may be paid in full with cash only or surety bond only, unless otherwise ordered by a judicial 

officer.  Property bonds must first be approved by a Judge.  When a 10% cash bond is posted 

with the Clerk, the arrested person and depositor must sign an Agreement on Disposition of cash 

bond, and the 10% cash bond must be posted in the arrested person’s name only.  Upon non-

filing, dismissal, or acquittal, the 10% cash bond posted may be returned less publicly paid costs 

of representation and the administration fee.  Otherwise, after the sentencing of an arrested 

person, the 10% cash bond will be retained by the Clerk to pay public defender fees, restitution, 

court costs, fines or other fees ordered by the Court.     
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C. No bond until seen by judicial officer.  This bail schedule shall not be used for any 

person arrested for committing an offense, attempting to commit an offense, or conspiracy to 

commit an offense, listed below: 

Child Molesting      

Child Solicitation       

Rape      

Criminal Deviate Conduct    

Vicarious Sexual Gratification    

Sexual Conduct in Presence of Minor  

Child Exploitation     

Child Seduction     

Sexual Battery 

Kidnapping of Minor 

Criminal Confinement of Minor 

Possession of Child Pornography 

Promoting Prostitution 

Promoting Human Trafficking of Minor 

Sexual Misconduct with a Minor  

Incest 

 

In these cases, the amount and conditions of bail will be set by a judicial officer following a bail 

hearing in open court not more than forty-eight (48) hours after the person has been arrested, 

except if the person is arrested when the courthouse is closed, then the bail hearing will be held 

on the next working day.  The Sheriff shall notify the Magistrate’s Court and the Prosecuting 

Attorney’s Office of any persons held without bail pursuant to this provision. 

 

D. No-Contact Order and 12 Hour Hold Required.  If a person is arrested for a “crime of 

domestic violence,” a crime of violence (other than a driving offense) resulting in bodily injury 

to a victim, or a crime listed below, the person shall be detained for twelve (12) hours without 

the opportunity to post bond. 

 Battery resulting in bodily injury 

 Aggravated Battery 

 Domestic Battery 

 Criminal Recklessness resulting in bodily injury 

 Criminal Recklessness with a firearm 

 Strangulation 

 Criminal Confinement 

 Custody Interference 

 Intimidation 

 Harassment 

 Stalking 

 Invasion of Privacy  

 

After the expiration of twelve (12) hours, the person may be released upon the posting of bond in 

the amount set forth in the bond schedule above, and by signing and agreeing to follow a “10 

DAY NO-CONTACT ORDER AS A CONDITION OF PRE-TRIAL RELEASE” as to the 

alleged victim(s), as set forth in Appendix A below.  The person shall not be released without 
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their signature, even if they post the monetary bond.  When the person is released, the Sheriff 

shall provide notification to any alleged victims if so requested.  

 

E. Exceptions to the bond schedule.  All persons living outside Tippecanoe County or its 

adjacent counties (including Benton, Carroll, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery, Warren and 

White) must post bond pursuant to the bail schedule above.  However, the following exceptions 

apply to persons living in Tippecanoe County and its adjacent counties:  

 

1.     Public Intoxication:  Hold 12 hours, then release on own recognizance if not impaired. 

 

2.  Operating While Intoxicated or Operating Over Legal Limit (Misdemeanor):  Hold for 

time period specified below, then release on own recognizance.   

 

.08 - .09 3   hours 

.10 - .11 4   hours 

.12 - .13 5   hours 

.14 6   hours 

.15 - .16 7   hours 

.17 8   hours 

.18 - .19 9   hours 

.20  10 hours 

.21 - .22 11 hours 

.23  or breath 

test refusal 

 

12 hours 

.24 - .25 13 hours 

.26 14 hours 

.27 - .28 15 hours 

.29 16 hours 

.30 17 hours 

.31 or above 24 hours 

 

3.     Minor Consuming (Class C Misdemeanor), Possession of Marijuana (Class A and Class 

B Misdemeanor), Possession of Paraphernalia (Class A and Class B Misdemeanor):  If not 

impaired at time of arrest, book-in and immediately release on own recognizance.  If impaired or 

actively using at the time of arrest, book-in, hold a minimum of four hours (and longer if still 

impaired after four hours) and then release on own recognizance.   

 

4.   Operating While Suspended (Class A Misdemeanor) or Operating While Never Receiving 

a License (Class C Misdemeanor):  Release on own recognizance. 

F. Deviations from Bail Schedule.   

 

1.   Before Initial Hearing:  A judicial officer may deviate from the Bail Schedule, or order 

that the arrested person be held without bail until seen by a judicial officer, upon reviewing a 

verified motion concerning safety or flight.   
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2.   At Initial Hearing:  A judicial officer may deviate from the Bail Schedule, and may order 

other conditions of pre-trial release, after considering evidence at the Initial Hearing.  

 

3.  After Initial Hearing:  Once a judicial officer has set the amount of bail or other 

conditions of pre-trial release after the Initial Hearing, motions to modify the order shall be 

presented to the respective court in writing, and proper notice of the hearing shall be given to the 

parties and attorneys of record.    

 

G. Waiver from Juvenile Court.  When a child is waived to adult court, the initial bail 

amount set in the juvenile court shall remain in effect unless and until it is modified in the adult 

court.  

 

H. Conditions of Pre-Trial Release.  Whether released after posting bond, or released on 

their own recognizance, the arrested person’s pre-trial release is conditioned upon maintaining 

good and lawful behavior, appearing in court for all court appearances, informing the respective 

court in writing of any change of address within 48 hours, not using or possessing illegal drugs 

or alcohol, and complying with all other conditions of pre-trial release set by a judicial officer.  

For all Class A, B, and C felony and Level 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 offenses, the arrested person may not 

leave the State of Indiana without prior approval of the court.  A violation of any condition of 

pre-trial release may result in the court revoking the arrested person’s bond and the issuing a 

warrant for arrest.   
Adopted April 1, 2013, effective April 1, 2013.  Amended effective July 1, 2014. 
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APPENDIX A 

 

10 DAY NO-CONTACT ORDER 

AS A CONDITION OF PRE-TRIAL RELEASE 

 

The Arrested Person listed above has been arrested for committing a violent crime 

resulting in bodily injury to another person, a crime of domestic violence, or other 

crime concerning the safety of another person.  As a condition of their release 

from jail, the Arrested Person shall have no contact with the Protected Person 

listed below, effective immediately, and lasting for ten (10) days after being 

released from jail.  This order is issued in accordance with Tippecanoe County 

Local Rule 16 and Indiana Code 35-3-8-3.6.    

 

To be read and initialed by the Arrested Person: 
 

_____ For 10 days after my release from jail, I cannot have any contact with 

the Protected Person, directly or indirectly, even if they contact me first, and even 

if they tell me that it is okay. 
 

_____ “No contact” means that I cannot be within the eyesight of the Protected 

Person, their home, or any other place where I know they will likely be located.  It 

also means that I cannot contact the Protected Person by telephone, text, 

correspondence, fax, Facebook, or any other means, even while I am in jail.   
 

_____ I cannot use or possess alcohol or illegal controlled substances while this 

matter is pending. 
 

_____ I cannot possess any firearms, ammunition or other dangerous weapons 

while this matter is pending, and I will surrender any such items to law 

enforcement for safekeeping until this matter is resolved.   
 

_____ If I intentionally violate this 10 Day No-Contact Order As A Condition Of 

Pre-Trial Release, my bond may be revoked (meaning I may be held in jail until 

my case is resolved) and/or I may be charged with a separate crime of Invasion of 

Privacy. 
 

 I understand and agree to the above conditions. 
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TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT COURT PROBATE RULES 
 

LR79-PR-1    Scope and Title 
 

1.1  These Rules shall apply in the Tippecanoe Circuit Court (hereafter referenced as “the 

 Court”) and shall be applicable as guidelines in all probate matters. 

 

1.2  These Rules are intended to be interpreted consistent with State statutes and any 

 applicable regulations and Indiana Common Law as now existing and as may hereafter 

 develop. 

 

1.3  These Rules shall be known as the “Tippecanoe Circuit Court Probate Rules” and are 

 occasionally referenced herein as “these rules” 

 

LR79-PR-2    Access to Court and Representation 
 

2.1  The Court maintains regular business hours of 8:00 a.m. – Noon and 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m., 

 Monday through Friday, and is open to the public. Motion Hour is conducted each day 

 from 8:30 -9::00 a.m., unless pre-empted due to a trial. Motion Hour is the time set aside 

 by the Court to schedule contested hearings and consider routine motions. Counsel is 

 encouraged to contact opposing counsel to arrange a mutually agreeable date and time to 

 meet at Motion Hour rather than ask the court to order counsel to appear. Matters 

 relevant to these rules (such as estates, guardianships, and adoptions) are complicated 

 proceedings normally requiring the assistance of an attorney. Therefore, these Rules are 

 adopted in the belief that an experienced attorney will represent parties before the Court. 

 The Court and its employees can not give legal advice or refer unrepresented persons to 

 attorneys. 

 

2.2  All probate filings shall be typewritten or word processed and shall be consistent with 

 these rules. Any deviation from these rules shall be brought to the Court’s attention when 

 any document is submitted. When documents are filed by mail, or left with the Court for 

 filing, a self-addressed, stamped envelope shall be included for return of documents 

 unless other arrangements for document return are made. 

 

2.3  Routine pleadings such as Inventories, Inheritance Tax Schedules, and Final Reports may 

 be filed with the Probate Commissioner for transmittal to the Court. Pro-forma hearings 

 may also be set with the Commissioner. 

 

LR79-PR-3     Notice 
 

3.1  Whenever notice by publication or written notice by U.S. Mail is required to be given, 

 the attorney shall prepare such notice and mailing envelopes (including postage) and 

 shall ensure that such notice is properly published or served. In all respects, the notice 

 shall comply with all statutory requirements. It shall be the attorney’s responsibility to 

 ascertain and provide adequate proof that notice was properly served prior to bringing a 

 matter to Court or that notice will be properly served as part of any proceeding. 

3.2  Copies of petitions shall be sent to interested parties along with all notices of hearings. 
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3.3  Notice of the opening of an estate shall be sent by First Class United States Mail to all 

 reasonably ascertainable creditors; however, the use of certified mail, return receipt 

 requested, to serve such notice is recommended. 

 

3.4  Notice of the hearing to be held on a Petition to determine if an Estate is insolvent shall 

 be served on all interested parties, including the local representative of the Inheritance 

 Tax Division of the Indiana Department of Revenue. 

 

LR79-PR-4     Bonds 
 

4.1  Bonds are required by statute in some circumstances. If discretionary, the Court intends 

 to exercise that discretion for the protection of creditors, heirs, legatees or devisees, or 

 other interested individuals or entities. 

 

4.2  Existing law requiring bond includes circumstances where the Will requires the 

 execution and filing of a bond or the Court finds that a bond is necessary (see I.C. 29-1- 

 11-1). 

 

4.3  A non-resident individual or corporate fiduciary serving jointly with a resident personal 

 representative or a non-resident individual qualifying to serve as a personal 

 representative or a personal representative who becomes a non-resident of Indiana (see 

 I.C. 29-1-10-1) requires that a bond be filed. 

 

4.4  If the filing or amount of a bond is discretionary with the Court, the Court will consider 

 factors such as provisions of decedent’s will and any consent filed by a creditor or heir, 

 or other interested party regarding the amount or conditions of bond. 

 

LR79-PR-5     Inventory 
 

5.1  In supervised and unsupervised estates the personal representative shall within two 

 months after the appointment of a personal representative furnish a copy of an Inventory 

 complying with the requirements of I.C. 29-1-7.5-3.2 or I.C. 29-1-12-1 et. seq. to 

 interested persons who request it unless the original of the Inventory or any supplement 

 or amendment to it is filed with the court. 

 

LR79-PR-6     Confidentiality 
 

6.1  Most probate actions are matters of public record and the files thereof are open to review 

 by the general public, subject to excluded and confidential information such as Indiana 

 Tax Returns and reports thereon. Unless required by law or dictated by circumstances of 

 the case, filings with the court need not include dates of birth, social security numbers, or 

 other information which is not necessary for probate administration. 

 

LR79-PR-7     Time Guidelines 
 

7.1  Orderly administration of estates requires at a minimum compliance with notice 

 requirements, such as notice to creditors and preparing an inventory and timely 
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 preparation of an inheritance tax return to entitle the estate to a discount for payment of 

 inheritance tax within nine months of a decedent’s death. Unless there is unavoidable 

 delay in estate administration related to sale or making distribution of assets like real 

 estate or a unique asset owned by a decedent or tax related matters such as awaiting an 

 inheritance tax or estate tax closing letter, most estates should be concluded within one 

 year. 

 

7.2  Closing Estates: 

 

 7.21  Unsupervised Administration: Unless otherwise ordered by Court in a particular 

  proceeding, closing statements complying with requirements of I.C. 29-1-7.5-4 

  are sufficient to result in closing an estate. Any objections thereto will be 

  scheduled for hearing. No orders approving closing statements will routinely be 

  provided. 

 

 7.22  Supervised Estates: As part of the closing process, the Court will accept 

  Affidavits in Lieu of Vouchers. 

 

LR79-PR-8     Guardianships 
 

8.1  In guardianship matters seeking to declare an adult incapacitated for any reason, the 

 incapacitated person shall be present at the hearing or sufficient evidence shall be 

 presented showing that notice of the hearing was given and that the incapacitated person 

 is unable to appear. 

 

8.2  In guardianship matters seeking to declare an adult incapacitated for any reason, a report 

 or similar statement or document from the doctor treating the alleged incapacitated 

 person, or such additional evidence as the Court shall require, shall be presented to the 

 Court at the time the petition is filed or on the hearing date. No determination will be 

 made without a supporting medical report or other evidence clearly demonstrating the 

 reasons supporting the need for a guardianship. 

 

8.3  An inventory of property within a guardian’s control shall be filed within ninety (90) 

 days after the guardian’s appointment or within thirty (30) days of the appointment of a 

 temporary guardian. A verified account of the guardian’s administration shall be filed as 

 required by statute. In addition to the information required by law, the Court requires 

 changes in the protected person’s physical or mental condition, place of residence, and 

 the financial status of the guardianship estate to be included in any account of 

 administration. The current report shall also contain information indicating that the 

 living arrangements for the incapacitated person are appropriate. 

 

8.4  In every petition for the appointment of a guardian of the person of a minor child, the 

 following information shall be given: 

 8.4.1 The child’s present address. 

 8.4.2 The places where the child has lived within the past two years and the names and 

 present addresses of persons with whom the child has lived during that period. 
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 8.4.3 Whether, to Petitioner’s knowledge, any other litigation is pending concerning the 

 custody of the child in this or any other state. 

 8.4.4 Whether, to Petitioner’s knowledge, any person not a party to the guardianship 

 proceeding has physical custody of the child or claims to have custody or visitation rights 

 with respect to the child. 

 8.5 Nothing herein shall be deemed as amending, superseding or altering the Probate 

 Rules and Regulations promulgated by the Veteran’s Administration of the United States 

 of America, and every fiduciary and attorney shall comply with same if applicable. 

 8.6 Other than for routine matters, unless permitted by law, the Guardian shall obtain 

 Court approval prior to taking any action on any financial matter pertaining to carrying 

 out the Guardian’s duties and responsibilities for the protected person. 

 

LR79-PR-9    Principles Applicable to Fee Determinations 
 

9.1  Attorney fees. Although fee guidelines have been promulgated by the Court in probate 

 matters, those guidelines do not assure that all fees allowed by the Court will adhere to 

 them and other factors may be considered by the Court in making any final determination 

 which may be required. The Court may consider any of the following: 

 

 9.1.1  The skill required to perform services properly in probate matters; the attorney's 

  expertise in probate matters; the time and labor required; the novelty, complexity, 

  or difficulty of the questions involved; and a determination as to how much of the 

  attorney's time was devoted to legal matters and how much of it was devoted to  

  ministerial functions. 

 9.1.2  The nature and extent of the responsibilities assumed by the attorney and the  

  results obtained; the identity of the personal representative; the character of the  

  probate and non-probate transferred assets; and whether real estate or other assets  

  are located outside of the State of Indiana. 

 9.1.3  The sufficiency of assets properly available to pay for legal services, and whether  

  the attorney's duties are expanded by the existence of non-probate assets because  

  of their inclusion for tax purposes, either federal or state. 

 9.1.4  The timeliness with which the necessary services are performed consistent with  

  statutory requirements; whether the attorney was engaged in a timely fashion or  

  was required to perform services close to deadlines through no fault of such  

  attorney; the Court's rules of procedure; and the Rules of Professional Conduct  

  applicable thereto. 

  In considering all of these factors, all attorneys are urged to discuss their fee and 

  that of the personal representative at the time they are retained in all probate 

  matters. Further, the parties are urged to enter into a written engagement 

  agreement which documents their understandings in this regard. 
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9.2  Administration-There are two methods by which fees are typically determined. One is on 

 an hourly basis based upon the amount of time spent by the attorney in handling the 

 matter. The other is based upon a percentage of the size of the gross estate. 

 9.2.1  Hourly Method: The amount of an hourly fee can vary considerably. Among the 

  factors taken into consideration in arriving at an hourly rate are the considerations 

  listed in the paragraphs of 9.1 above. Additional considerations include the 

  nature and length of the professional relationship between the attorney and the  

  client as well as the experience, reputation and ability of the attorney performing  

  the services. 

 9.2.2  Percentage Method: In this method the fees are computed based upon the size of 

  the gross estate. The following are typically normal services : Opening of the 

  Estate; qualifying the Personal Representative; preparing the Inventory; paying 

  claims; collecting assets; preparing and filing the Indiana Inheritance Tax Return 

  IH-6; obtaining a Court Order IH-9 thereon, and paying Inheritance taxes; 

  preparing and filing the Final Report or Closing Statement; obtaining an Order 

  approving same; distributing assets as required; obtaining discharge of the 

  Personal Representative; and preparing and serving all notices on interested 

  parties and readily ascertainable creditors throughout the proceedings. Fees 

  herein shall not include services for preparation or filing of federal or state 

  income tax returns 1040, IT-40, 1041, IT-41, federal form 709, or forms relating 

  to employment of third persons by the decedent or estate. This list shall not be 

  considered to be exclusive. Percentage fees shall be computed on the Gross 

  Estate as defined for purposes of the Indiana Inheritance Tax. The maximum fee 

  for these normal services is computed as follows: 

   Up to $ 100,000, not to exceed ....................................6% 

   Next $ 200,000, not to exceed......................................4% 

   Next $ 700,000, not to exceed......................................3% 

   Excess over $ 1,000,000, not to exceed........................1% 

 

  In addition to the normal services described above, many times additional 

  services are necessary, for which an additional fee is appropriate. Such additional 

  services and the maximum related fees may include for example the following: 

  A. Sale of Real Estate:  Minimum fee of $500.00 except that there shall be  

       a fee no greater than 2½% (.025) of the gross sales price of the real estate 

       where no real estate professional receives a commission 

  B. Federal Estate Tax Return Form 706:  Basic Fee-the greater of  $3,000.00 or  

      .15% (.0015) of the total gross estate as shown on Form 706, Part 2, Line 1,  

      Page 1 Additional fee for non-probate assets....1.5% (.015) 

 

9.3  Miscellaneous-Fees shall be hourly for the following services: Spreading Will of 

 Record, small estate settlement procedure, defending a will, construing a will, contesting 

 claims, adjusting tax matters, any contested hearing, petition for instructions, heirship 

 determination, and fees to continue a business or to generate additional income for the 

 estate. 
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9.4  Wrongful Death Administration 

  Fees not to exceed: 

  Settlement prior to filing...............................25% 

  Settlement after filing and prior to Trial.......33 1/3% 

  Trial...............................................................40% 

  Appeal, or extra work....................................50% 

 

 The above fee schedule may be increased under circumstances where the litigation is 

 complex and the potential for recovery is difficult, provided one of the following has 

 occurred: 

  A. All of the beneficiaries who will participate in the wrongful death recovery, or 

  their legal representative(s), sign a written contingent fee contract providing for a 

  fee greater than above. 

  B. The Court, having probate jurisdiction of the estate, approves a contingent fee 

  contract providing for a fee greater than the above. 

 

9.5  General-Except as otherwise specified above, fees in other proceedings involving 

 guardianship and docketed trusts and related matters, will be computed on a hourly basis. 

 Hourly fee services shall be rendered with specificity and may include: sale of personal 

 property, sale of real property, partial distributions, contesting claims, adjusting tax 

 matters, any contested hearing, petition for instructions, heirship determination, and fees 

 to continue a business or to generate additional income for the trust or guardianship. 

 

9.6  Personal Representative Fees 

 

 9.6.1  Professional: Their applicable reasonable rate to be reviewed in light of all 

  prevailing circumstances. 

 

 9.62  Non-Professional: An amount not in excess of one-half (1/2) of the Attorney’s 

  fee, computed via the method being employed by the attorney handling the estate. 

  In determining the amount of the fee, consideration shall be given to the amount 

  of work performed by the personal representative as compared to the attorney as 

  well as the nature of the work performed by the personal representative. For 

  example, the hourly rate to be charged for lawn care or house cleaning should be 

  comparable to typical laborer charges as compared to the rate for negotiating a 

  sale of property or the transfer of securities. Further, although some  

  consideration should be given to the compensation ordinarily earned by a  

  personal representative in their regular employment, the fact that they miss some 

  work in order to perform their duties as personal representative does not  

  automatically justify them to be compensated for such at their normal pay level. 
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TIPPECANOE COUNTY RULES OF FAMILY LAW 
 

PREAMBLE 
 

These local rules have been enacted to help effectuate a dignified and effective means of 

resolving all family law disputes, but especially those disputes involving minor children.  While 

recognizing our adversarial system for resolving family law problems, these local rules mandate 

that attorneys not ignore but embrace their equally important roles as negotiators and advisors 

and their special responsibility for the quality of justice. 

 

These local rules are based upon the Lake County Rules of Family Law.  The Lake County Rules 

contain extensive commentary which is incorporated herein by reference.  The Judges of 

Tippecanoe County are grateful to Charlie Asher for advocating the philosophy of Cooperative 

Divorce and developing the websites incorporated into these rules.  

 

TR 79-FL00-1  Scope, Citation, and Definition, Cooperative Approach and Liberal  

   Construction 

 

A.  Scope. These rules shall apply to family cases in the Tippecanoe Circuit Court and all the 

Superior Courts, I, II, III, IV, V, and VI of Tippecanoe County. 

 

B.  Citation. These rules may be cited as the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and 

abbreviated as F. L. R. 

 

C.  Definition. Family cases shall include all cases involving claims for or related to marital 

dissolution or separation, paternity, child custody, parenting time or visitation with a child, and 

support of a child or spouse. 

 

TR 79-FL00-2   Statement of Policy and Purpose 

 

The Circuit and Superior Courts of Tippecanoe County are committed to a cooperative 

model for the handling of family cases by parents, attorneys, and judges.  These rules shall 

be liberally construed and applied to serve the healthy and child-sensitive functioning of 

families. In all family cases with children, the goal will be protecting the best interests of those 

children. 

 

TR 79-FL00-3   General Obligations of Cooperation of Attorneys and Parties 

 

A.  Attorneys and parties in family cases are expected to act with the courts as co-problem 

solvers, not mere problem-reporters. Attorneys shall both inform and remind their clients about 

the judicial expectations of cooperation in family cases, assist their clients to understand and 

observe these standards, and encourage clients to participate in co-parenting classes, counseling, 

mediation, and other appropriate problem-solving processes. 
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B.  To establish and maintain an atmosphere which fosters cooperative problem-solving, all 

parties and attorneys shall: 

 

(1)  explore resources which may reduce conflict, build cooperation, and 

protect children; 

 

 (2)  attempt reasonable cooperative measures before resorting to the court; 

 

 (3)  avoid disrespectful language and behavior; and, 

 

 (4)  avoid unnecessary motions or petitions, hearing and arguments. 

 

LR 79-FL00-4   Initial and Provisional Hearings 

 

Unless considerations of safety or other good cause make it unreasonable, before the date and 

time set for an initial or provisional hearing, counsel shall meet with each other (or any 

unrepresented party) in a good-faith attempt to resolve all matters. 

 

LR 79-FL00-5   Mandatory Website Work for Parents 

 

A.  Dissolution of Marriage. In all dissolution cases where the parties have any children 

together under the age of 18, both parties shall complete the work on www.UpToParents.org 

within 30 days of initial filing. 

 

B.  Legal Separation.  In all separation cases where the parties have any children together 

under the age of 18, both parties shall complete the work on www.WhileWeHeal.org within 30 

days of initial filing. 

 

C.  Paternity. In all paternity cases, both parents shall complete the work on 

www.ProudToParent.org within 30 days of the court’s finding of paternity. 

 

D.  Following completion of the website work required by this rule, the parents shall merge 

or exchange their chosen Commitments from their website work. 

 

LR 79-FL00-6   Co-Parenting Class 

 

A.  Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation. Mandatory Attendance.  In all dissolution 

and separation cases where the parties have any children together under the age of 18, both 

parties shall complete a co-parenting class. The court may order both parties to attend additional 

co-parenting classes in post-decree matters.  

 

B.  Paternity. In all paternity cases the court may order the parties to attend and complete a 

co-parenting class.  
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LR 79-FL00-7   Proof of Compliance 

 

A.  Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation.  To monitor compliance, within 60 days of 

the initial filing of an action for dissolution or separation, each party shall file a verified 

certification of their completion of the mandatory website work as required under FLR. 5, above, 

and of any mandatory co-parenting class as required under FLR. 6, above, a sample form of 

which is attached hereto as Appendix “A”. 

 

B.  Paternity.  To monitor compliance, within 45 days of the court’s finding of paternity, 

each party shall file a verified certification of completion of the mandatory website work as 

required under FLR 5, above. A sample form is attached hereto as Appendix “B”.   

 

C.  Any party failing to timely file such a certification may be subject to a hearing on such a 

failure. 

 

LR 79-FL00-8   Parenting Plan Proposals 

 

A.  The Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines provide useful outlines of the minimum time 

each parent should have with the children to maintain frequent, meaningful, and continuing 

contact with them. Any parenting time plan submitted by agreement that provides for less then 

the minimum time allowed under the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines must contain a written 

explanation for deviating from those guidelines. Agreed parenting plans that exceed the 

minimum time allowed under the Guidelines will not require a written explanation. 

 

B.  Unless they have already executed an agreed parenting plan, the parties shall each 

prepare and exchange their written Parenting Plan Proposals utilizing the form which is attached 

hereto as Appendix “C”. Parents, personally and with the help of counsel and all useful 

counseling, mediation and other problem-solving resources, shall continue to attempt to reach an 

agreed parenting plan.  Parents shall bring their respective Parenting Plan Proposals to all 

hearings, mediation sessions, and settlement discussions. 

 

LR 79-FL00-9   Protocols after Initial Filing 

 

A.  Duties Regarding Consultation. Except in emergencies or when it might create a danger 

or substantial prejudice or is otherwise unreasonable to do so, counsel and pro se parties shall 

have a personal or telephonic consultation to resolve any issue before filing or seeking any other 

relief through the court. Counsel and pro se parties contacted for a consultation shall make 

themselves reasonably available for consultation. The duty of consultation shall be continuing. 

 

B. Substance of Consultation. In the consultation, counsel and pro se parties shall: 

(1)  attempt to resolve all matters at issue; 

(2)  confirm the parties’ compliance with FLR 5, FLR 6, FLR 7 and FLR 8;  

  and, 

(3)  discuss the resources they believe the parents could use to resolve current 

and future issues and to build cooperation. 

 

 

 



26 

 

C.  Cooperation Update - Mandatory.  All motions and pleadings other than the initial filings 

shall include a statement confirming compliance with items (1) through (3), above, including the 

date of the required personal or telephonic consultation; or, shall recite the specific reasons for 

the lack of a consultation. 

 

D.  Parents shall review and bring a copy of their website Commitments, as required by FLR 

5 and the current Parenting Plan Proposals, as required by FLR 8, to every hearing. 

 

LR 79-FL00-10   Requirements before Custody Evaluations 

 

All requests for custody evaluations must be (1) in writing (2) certify that both parties and their 

counsel, if any, have engaged in at least one good faith attempt to resolve the issues through the 

use of a settlement conference or mediation. 

 

The court will not grant a request for or otherwise order a custody evaluation except following a 

Status Conference in the presence of both parties and their attorneys, if any, during which the 

court has been satisfied that: 

A.  both parties have completed the mandatory website work pursuant to FLR 

6, above; and, 

B.  both parents have completed any required co-parenting class pursuant to 

FLR 7, above; and, 

C.  both parties have exchanged Parenting Plan Proposals pursuant to FLR 8, 

above; and, 

D.  both parties and their attorneys, if any, have engaged in at least one good 

faith attempt to resolve the issues through the use of a settlement 

conference or consultation pursuant to FLR 9, above; and, 

E.  the court has carefully considered and reviewed, with both parties and 

their attorneys, if any, the use of other resources. 

 

LR 79-FL00-11   Case Captioning 

 

Parties in dissolution, separation, and paternity cases shall not be captioned or designated as 

“petitioner”, “respondent”, “plaintiff”, or “defendant”. The parties shall be designated as 

“Mother”, “Father”, “Husband”, or “Wife”, “Former Husband”, “Former Wife”, and “Putative 

Father”. All captions shall comply with applicable statutes and case law. 

 

LR 79-FL00-12   Form of Summons 

 

Parties in dissolution, separation, and paternity cases shall prepare and utilize forms of summons 

as set forth herein. 

 

A.  Dissolution of Marriage and Legal Separation. In dissolution and separation cases, the 

appropriate summons shall be used and shall be substantially the same as the form(s) which 

attached hereto as Appendix “D” and “D-1”. 
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B.  Paternity.  In paternity cases, the summons shall be substantially the same as the form 

which is attached hereto as Appendix “E”. 

 

LR 79-FL00-13   Judges’ Notice 

 

Whenever the initial filing is prepared by an attorney, the attorney shall also prepare and provide 

the client and the Clerk with a sufficient number of copies of the appropriate the Judges’ Notice 

as required herein. In cases filed by pro se parties, the Clerk shall provide the appropriate Judges’ 

Notice. The Judges’ Notice to Parents Going Through Divorce is attached as Appendix “F” and 

Judges’ Notice to Parents in Paternity Cases is attached as Appendix “G”. 

 

LR 79-FL00-14   Financial Declaration Form 

 

A.  Requirement.  In all relevant cases including dissolutions, separation, paternity, post-

decree, or support proceedings and, irrespective of which court, each party shall prepare and 

exchange, within 60 days of initial filing for dissolution or separation or within 30 days of filing 

of any paternity or post-decree matters, the appropriate Financial Declaration Form (see 

Appendix “I” and “J”). These time limits may be extended or shortened by court order for good 

cause shown. In those cases where there is service, but no appearance by counsel, it is the 

responsibility of the initiating party to provide the other party with the appropriate blank Form 

and to notify that party of the duty to prepare and serve the same. 

 

B.  Exceptions.  The Form need not be exchanged if: 

(1)  the parties agree in writing within 60 days of the initial filing to waive  

  exchange; 

(2)  the parties have executed a written agreement which settles all financial  

  issues; 

(3)  the proceeding is merely at a provisional or emergency relief stage; 

(4)  the proceeding is one in which the service is by publication and there is no 

response; or, 

(5)  the proceeding is post-decree and concerns issues without financial  

  implications. 

 

Provided, however, when the proceeding is post-decree and concerns an arrearage, the alleged 

delinquent party shall complete the entire Form, while the support recipient need complete  

merely the portion thereof which requires specification of the basis of the arrearage calculation 

(with appropriate supporting documentation). 

 

C.  Use at trial.  The Forms are intended primarily as mandatory discovery though, subject to 

appropriate objection, they shall be admissible at the request of any party.  Therefore, 

particularly in view of the presumptive nature of the Indiana Child Support Guidelines, direct 

examination on form data shall address only unusual factors which require explanation or 

corrections and shall not, particularly with respect to issues of support, be routinely permitted. 

For evidentiary purposes, the pages of the Form shall be deemed severable. 

 

D.  Supporting documents. For the purposes of providing a full and complete verification of 

assets, liabilities, and values, each party shall attach to the form all information reasonably 

required and reasonably available.  This shall include recent bills, wage and tax records, and 
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bank, pension and year-end mortgage statements.  “Reasonably available” means that material 

that may be obtained by letter accompanied with an authorization, but does not mean material 

that must be subpoenaed or is in the possession of the other party. Appraisals of real estate and 

pensions, or appraisals of personal property such as jewelry, antiques, or special collections 

(stamps, coins, or guns, for example) are not required.  However, once an appraisal is obtained, it 

must be exchanged unless the appraisal was obtained in accordance with the provisions of Trial 

Rule 26(B) (4) (b) and is not expected to be utilized during trial.  Moreover, the court may direct 

that an appraisal be obtained just as it may designate the appraiser. 

 

E.  Privacy - Sealing of Forms.  Whenever the interest of privacy so requires, the court may, 

upon motion, direct the admitted Forms sealed until further order. However, such requests shall 

not be made as a matter of course.   

 

When ordered sealed, the Court Reporter shall place the Forms in a flat manner in an envelope of 

sufficient size, seal the envelope, and affix a copy of the order. Forms may be withdrawn at the 

conclusion of the case on such terms as the court allows. 

 

F.  Financial Declaration Form as Mandatory Discovery.  The exchange of Forms constitutes 

mandatory discovery.  Thus, Indiana Rules of Procedure, Trial Rule 37 sanctions apply.  

Additionally, pursuant to Trial Rule 26(E) (2) and (3), the Form shall be supplemented if 

additional material becomes available.  Further, any additional discovery, such as a motion to 

produce, interrogatories, or depositions of the parties shall not commence until the Forms are 

exchanged and, once exchanged, shall not seek information already obtained. 

 

LR 79-FL00-15   Indiana Child Support Guidelines 

 

A.  Worksheet Required. In all proceedings involving child support, each party shall file with 

any settlement or enter into evidence during any trial Indiana Child Support Guidelines 

Worksheets - one or more depending upon the facts. Further, the Worksheet(s) shall, when 

reasonably possible, be delivered to the other parent simultaneously with the Financial 

Declaration Form, but, in any event, within 10 days of receiving the other parent’s Form. The 

Worksheets shall be promptly supplemented if any changes occur prior to resolution. All 

Worksheets shall be signed by the party(ies) submitting the Worksheet. 

 

B.  Support Settlement Agreements.  If an agreement concerning support provides any 

deviation from the amount calculated under the Indiana Child Support Guidelines, the parents 

shall present the court with a written explanation justifying the deviation. 

 

LR 79-FL00-16   Preparation of Orders 

 

A.  Exchange. It shall be the duty of the parties’ attorneys to prepare decrees and other orders 

as directed by the court. The attorney so directed is first to submit them to all other attorneys of 

record or to the unrepresented party to enable them to challenge any provision thereof before 

submission to the court for entry. 

 

B.  Additions. If the preparing attorney believes the other attorney or the other party, if the 

other party is proceeding pro se, is unreasonably withholding approval as to form, or if either 

believes the other is attempting to make additions not addressed by the court, either may submit 
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a proposed form to the court and shall attach thereto a written explanation of the dispute. The 

other party shall have 7 days to respond before the court enters any order. The court may enter 

sanctions against a party who has unreasonably withheld approval or attempted to make 

additions not addressed by the court. 

 

C.  Signatures. The signature line for counsel or pro se litigant shall indicate Approved As 

To Form. Such signature indicates that the order correctly reflects the court’s ruling. It does not 

necessarily signify that the signing party or attorney agrees with the ruling. 

 

LR 79-FL00-17   Sanctions 

 

If a party or counsel fails to timely prepare, exchange or file a Financial Declaration Form or  

Child Support Worksheet or to cooperate in providing information therefore in a timely manner, 

either is subject to sanctions under Trial Rule 37. 

 

LR 79-FL00-18   Attorney Fee Requests 

 

A.  Affidavits. When attorney fees (except those sought provisionally) are requested from the 

opposing party, the requesting attorney shall submit an appropriate affidavit, which, if the 

affidavit comports with these rules, the court shall admit as an exhibit. 

 

B.  Content.  The affidavit shall indicate the: 

(1)  requested fee and the basis thereof; 

(2)  amounts counsel has billed, contracted for, or been promised; and, 

(3)  amount counsel has received from all sources. 

A copy of the written fee contract, if any, shall be attached to the affidavit and deemed a part 

thereof.  Opposing counsel may cross examine the requesting attorney as to any of the submitted 

material. 

 

LR 79-FL00-19   Agreed Matters - Submission 

 

No agreed matter shall be submitted unless accompanied with a signed agreement, and other 

appropriate documents, such as the decree, a wage withholding order, or a qualified domestic 

relations order.  However, if the parties reach a settlement on the courthouse steps, then the court 

shall accept evidence of that settlement on the record, and enter the appropriate order upon 

preparation and filing by counsel within 21 days after submission, or such additional time as the 

court may allow. 

 

LR 79-FL00-20   Orders Excluding Parent from the Residence 

 

In all instances where emergency or extraordinary relief is requested including, but not limited 

to, excluding a parent from the residence, the court shall require full compliance with the 

provisions of Trial Rules 65(B) and 65(E). In situations involving allegations of physical abuse, 

intimidation or stalking, relief may be sought by a separate filing for an Order of Protection. 
(Effective January 1, 2102) 
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Appendix A 
 

CAPTION 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE 

IN DISSOLUTION CASES 

 

 

The undersigned, as the (select: Mother or Father) in the within cause, does hereby certify 

that: 

1.  On (type date) I did complete the mandatory website work as required by FLR 5 

and have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same; and, 

2. On (type date) I did complete the mandatory co-parenting class as required by 

FLR 6 and have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same. 

I affirm under the penalties for perjury that the foregoing representations are true. 

Date: _______________    _______________________________ 

(Type name), (select: Mother or Father) 
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Appendix B 
 

 

CAPTION 

 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE 

IN PATERNITY CASES 

 

 

The undersigned, as the (select: Mother or Father) in the within cause, does hereby certify 

that: 

 On (type date) I did complete the mandatory website work as required by the FLR 5 and 

have attached hereto my certificate to confirm the same. 

 I affirm under the penalties for perjury that the foregoing representations are true. 

 

Date: _________    _________________________________ 

          (Type name), (select: Mother or Father) 
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Appendix C 
 

In Re The (select: Marriage/Paternity) of: _________________________ 

 

Cause No.: _____________________________ 

 

(Select: Mother’s/Father’s) Parenting Plan Proposal 

 
Parent’s Affirmation 

 

I hereby affirm, under the penalties for perjury, that before preparing this proposal I have: 

 

1.  carefully read the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines, including the Preamble and 

General Rules and understand that they reflect the minimum parenting time; and, 

 

2.  completed all the work assignments for parents at (select: www.UpToParents.org/ 

www.ProudToParent.org [delete paragraph # 3 in paternity cases] ; and, 

 

3.  completed the co-parenting class required by the court. 

 

Dated: _________________________        

(Select: Mother/Father) 

 

 

Terms of This Proposal 

 

The following proposal for the parenting plan for our children was prepared and is submitted in 

compliance with the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and is part of the effort of both 

parents to devise a parenting plan to include the decision making and living arrangements that 

will serve to nurture and protect our children as the years progress. As stated in the Tippecanoe 

County Rules of Family Law, the following proposal was prepared and is submitted as part of 

the effort to compromise and settle these and other issues which now exist between the parents 

and, as a result, unless all of the terms of the following proposal are accepted as shown by the 

signature of both parents on page four (4) hereof, the following proposal and all of its terms, 

constitute privileged communications which are inadmissible for any purposes. 

 

1.  As the parents, important decisions in our children’s lives (such as place of 

residence, school selection and other educational decisions, healthcare and religious upbringing) 

will be made as follows: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
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2.  The declared legal residence of our children for school and legal purposes will be: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

3.  Due to the circumstances of the lives of the members of our family, including 

work schedules and the like, our parenting time schedule for our children to be with each of us 

will vary from the minimum set forth in the Indiana Parenting Guidelines, as follows: 

 

Weekdays: ______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Weekends: ______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Holidays and Special Days: _________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Extended Parenting Time/Summer Vacation: ___________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

4.  In the event of disagreement, we will speak to one another first to try to resolve 

any parenting issues. If we are unable to resolve all the issues, then we will utilize the following: 

(Circle all that apply and add any additional ones.) 

 

A.  Redoing the (select: www.UpToParents.org/www.ProudToParent.org) 

website work. 

B.  Additional co-parenting classes, including re-attending the basic class or 

attending high-conflict classes. 

C.  Mediation. 

D.  Arbitration. 

E.  Individual, joint, family, or child counseling. 

F.  Appointment of a parenting time coordinator (PTC) to work with us. 

G.  Appointment of a guardian ad litem (GAL) for our children. 

H.  Other (specify): ______________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________ 
 

5.  Other provisions of our parenting plan would be: _________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

http://www.proudtoparent.org/
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Dated: ____________________________         

(Select: Mother/Father) 

 

____________________________________ 

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: _________________ 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 
 

 

 

 

ACCEPTANCE 

 

 

By our signatures, we, as the parents, now agree to all of the terms set forth above as our 

Parenting Agreement and that this document is now admissible in to evidence in court. 

______________________________________ 

(Select: Mother/Father) (Select: Mother/Father) 

Date: _______________, 20__. Date: ___________________, 20__. 

____________________________________ 

(attorney’s name) (attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: Indiana Attorney No.: _____________ 

(firm name) (firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) (address) 

(phone number) (phone number) 

 

As dedicated parents, we will do our best to: 

Remember that our children's only job is to be children, not our messengers, spies, counselors, 

confidants, or carriers of our hurt. 

Be sure to remember that our love for our children is greater than any issue we could have with 

each other. 

Respect each other’s parenting time while also being flexible, so the children's lives can be as 

normal as possible. 

Educate our extended families and close friends that they need to make peace as well. 

Pay special attention to keep our appointments and schedules with each other and calling 

promptly if any problems come up. 
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Appendix D 
 

STATE OF INDIANA  )   IN THE (Title, Address and Phone Number of 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE ) SS:    Court) 

 

IN RE: THE MARRIAGE OF 

(Name of Filing Party), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband)   Cause No. ____________________________ 

and 

(Name of Spouse), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

 

 

S U M M O N S  A N D  N O T I C E  O F  H E A R I N G 

I N  P R O C E E D I N G S  F O R  D I S S O L U T I O N  O F  M A R R I AG E 

 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO :  (name of spouse being served) 

(address) 

 

Your spouse has filed an action for dissolution of marriage in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in 

some cases, other documents) together with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are 

attached to or otherwise served with this Summons and contain important details regarding the nature of these 

proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe County require that both you and your spouse complete certain, specific 

tasks and you should immediately and carefully review those requirements. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that a hearing on Provisional Orders has been scheduled for __________, 20_ 

, at ___M. before this Court, in (room number) which is located on the ( floor), at the address listed in the upper 

right hand corner of this Summons. If you wish to hire an attorney to represent you in this matter, it is advisable to 

do so before that date. If you do not appear for that hearing, a provisional order could be entered by default which 

could remain in effect until this action is concluded. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that a final hearing has been scheduled for _____________, 20__ , at 

_______.M. before this Court, in (room number) which is located on the ( floor), at the address listed in the upper 

right hand corner of this Summons.  If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on your 

spouse's attorney, you may not receive notice of any further proceedings in this action. If you do not make such an 

appearance, a final decree could be entered by default which grants the relief sought in your spouse's Petition after 

the expiration of sixty (60) days from the date of the filing of the Petition. You are not required to file any written 

Answer to respond to the Petition; however, certain grounds for dismissal must be asserted in a timely fashion or are 

waived; and, if you have a claim for relief against your spouse you may be required to assert such a claim in a 

written pleading which must be filed with the Clerk and served on your spouse's attorney. 

 

The following manner of service of this SUMMONS is hereby designated: 
 

Date: 

 

(Name of attorney for Filing Party) 

Indiana Attorney No: (insert) 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

(address) 

(phone number) 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

By:         

        Deputy Clerk 
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PREPARATION DATA: 

All summons are to be prepared in triplicate with the original of each to be placed in the Court file with two copies available for 

service. 

If service is by certified mail a properly addressed envelope shall be provided for the party being served. Certified mail labels and 

return receipts must also be furnished for each mailing and the cause number must appear on each return receipt, which shall be 

returnable to the Clerk at the address of the Court. 

 
CLERK'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING 

 

I hereby certify that on the _____ day of _________________, 20___ , I mailed a copy of this Summons and a copy of the 

Petition to the party being served, , by mail, requesting a return receipt, at the address furnished by the filing party. 

 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

 

Dated: _____________________    BY: _______________________________________________ 

        Deputy Clerk 

 

RETURN ON SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY MAIL 

 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition mailed 

to the party being served, ____________________________, was accepted by the party being served on the __________ day of 

_________, 20____ . 

 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition was 

returned not accepted on the ________ day of __________________, 20___ . 

 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

 

Dated: ______________, 20___.    BY: _______________________________________________ 

        Deputy Clerk 

 

RETURN OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY SHERIFF 

 

I hereby certify that I have served the within Summons: 

1) By delivering on ________________, 20___, a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to each of the within 

named person(s). 

2) By leaving on ______________________, 20___, for each of the within named person(s) a copy of the Summons and a copy 

of the Petition at the respective dwelling house or usual place of abode, in , Indiana, with a person of suitable age and discretion 

residing within, whose usual duties or activities include prompt communication of such information to the person served, or by 

otherwise leaving such process thereat, and by mailing a copy of the Summons without the Petition to the said named person(s) at 

the address listed herein. 

3) This Summons came to hand this date, __________________, 20__. The within named ___________________________ was 

not found in my bailiwick this date __________________________, 20__ . 

ALL DONE IN TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA. 

TRACY BROWN 

SHERIFF OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA 

By:___________________________________________________ 

SERVICE ACKNOWLEDGED 

I hereby acknowledge that I received a copy of the within Summons and a copy of the Petition at in 

________________________________, Indiana, on this date, ______________________, 20__ . 

___________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Party Served 
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Appendix D-1 
STATE OF INDIANA 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE, SS: 

IN THE (Title, Address and Phone Number of 

Court) 

IN RE: THE MARRIAGE OF 

(Name of Filing Party), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 

(Name of Spouse), 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

Cause No. 

S U M M O N S 

I N  P R O C E E D I N G S  F O R  D I S S O L U T I O N  O F  M A R R I AG E 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO : (name of spouse being served) 

(address) 

Your spouse has filed an action for dissolution of marriage in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in some cases, 

other documents) together with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are attached to or otherwise 

served with this Summons and contain important details regarding the nature of these proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe 

County require that both you and your spouse complete certain, specific tasks and you should immediately and carefully review 

those requirements. 

If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on your spouse's attorney, you may not receive notice of 

any further proceedings in this action. If you do not make such an appearance, a final decree could be entered by default which 

grants the relief sought in your spouse's Petition after the expiration of sixty (60) days from the date of the filing of the Petition. 

You are not required to file any written Answer to respond to the Petition; however, certain grounds for dismissal must be 

asserted in a timely fashion or are waived; and, if you have a claim for relief against your spouse you may be required to assert 

such a claim in a written pleading which must be filed with the Clerk and served on your spouse's attorney. 

The following manner of service of this SUMMONS is hereby designated: 

(select: Registered or certified mail, return receipt # 

Sheriff of Tippecanoe County 

Private service by: 

Other (specify): ) 

Date: 

(Name of attorney for Filing Party) 

Indiana Attorney No: (insert) 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

(address) 

(phone number) 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

By: 

Deputy Clerk 
PREPARATION DATA: 

All summons are to be prepared in triplicate with the original of each to be placed in the Court file with two copies available for service. 

If service is by certified mail a properly addressed envelope shall be provided for the party being served. Certified mail labels and return receipts 
must also be furnished for each mailing and the cause number must appear on each return receipt, which shall be returnable to the Clerk at the 

address of the Court.  
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STATE OF INDIANA IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

JUVENILE DIVISION, 301 Main Street 

COUNTY OF TIPPECANOE Lafayette, Indiana 47901 (765) 423-9295 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PATERNITY OF:  ____________________ 

CAUSE NO. 79D03-0107-JP-0000 

(Name of Child) 

(Gender and Date of Birth) 

(Name of Father), 

Putative Father, 

and 

(Name of Mother). 

Mother 

(Name of Child) b/n/f (Name of Petitioner) 

SUMMONS 

AND NOTICE OF INITIAL HEARING IN A PATERNITY CASE 
THE STATE OF INDIANA TO: (Name of Respondent) 

(Address of Respondent) 

 

A paternity action has been filed in the Court stated above. A copy of the Petition (and, in come cases, other documents) together 

with a separate Notice from the Court which is printed on yellow paper are attached to or otherwise served with this Summons 

and contain important details regarding the nature of these proceedings. Local Rules in Tippecanoe County require that both 

parties to this case complete certain specific tasks. You should immediately and carefully review those requirements. 

 

THIS IS YOUR OFFICIAL NOTICE that an Initial Hearing to Establish Paternity is scheduled for the ___ day of 

___________, 20__, at _____ o’clock ___.m. at the address listed in the upper right hand corner of this Summons. If you wish 

to hire an attorney to represent you in this matter, it is advisable to do so before that date. If you do not appear for that hearing, 

a final order could be entered by default determining paternity, custody, parenting time and child support. 

If you do not file a written appearance with the Clerk and serve a copy on the attorney whose name and address is set forth at the 

bottom of this page, you may not receive notice of any further proceedings in this action. You are not required to file any written 

Answer to respond to the Petition; however, certain grounds for dismissal must be asserted in a timely fashion or are waived; and, 

if you have a claim for relief against the person who filed the Petition, you may be required to assert such a claim in a written 

pleading which must be filed with the Clerk and served upon the attorney whose name and address is set forth at the bottom of 

this page. 

The following manner of service is designated: Sheriff (or CMRRR, or Private Server etc.) 

Date: CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, SUPERIOR COURT OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY 

Attorney for Putative Father By: ________________________________________ 

(Address of Attorney) 

 

 
CLERK'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING 

I hereby certify that on the day of __________, 20 , I mailed a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to the party being 

served, , by mail, requesting a return receipt, at the address furnished by the filing party. 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

Dated: ___________________, 20__ . BY: ________________________________ 

          Deputy Clerk 

RETURN ON SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY MAIL 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition mailed 

to the party being served, , was accepted by the party being served on the ____ day of ____________________, 20____ . 

I hereby certify that the attached return receipt was received by me showing that the Summons and a copy of the Petition was 

returned not accepted on the ______ day of______________________, 20___. 

CHRISTA COFFEY 

CLERK, TIPPECANOE CIRCUIT/SUPERIOR COURTS 

Dated: _________________, 20__. BY: __________________________________ 

     Deputy Clerk 
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RETURN OF SERVICE OF SUMMONS BY SHERIFF 

I hereby certify that I have served the within Summons: 

1. By delivering on ______________________, 20__, a copy of this Summons and a copy of the Petition to each of the within 

named person(s). 

2. By leaving on _____________________, 20__ , for each of the within named person(s) a copy of the Summons and a copy of 

the Petition at the respective dwelling house or usual place of abode, in , Indiana, with a person of suitable age and discretion 

residing within, whose usual duties or activities include prompt communication of such information to the person served, or by 

otherwise leaving such process thereat, and by mailing a copy of the Summons without the Petition to the said named person(s) at 

the address listed herein. 

3. This Summons came to hand this date, _______________________, 20__. The within named __________________________ 

was not found in my bailiwick this date, ________________________, 20__ . 

ALL DONE IN TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA. 

TRACY BROWN 

SHERIFF OF TIPPECANOE COUNTY, INDIANA 

By:____________________________________ 

SERVICE ACKNOWLEDGED 

I hereby acknowledge that I received a copy of the within Summons and a copy of the Petition at in __________________, 

Indiana, on this date, ________________________, 20__ . 

_______________________________________ 

Signature of Party Served 
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Appendix F 
 

JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS GOING THROUGH DIVORCE 

 

We, the Judges and Magistrates of Tippecanoe County, share the following information 

so that you will know of our commitment to the best interests of children. Please read this 

information carefully, as we expect you and all other persons involved in your case to be 

partners in serving those best interests. 

 

1.  As soon as possible, read the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law for 

important information about how divorce cases will be handled to: 
 

ensure safety; 

reduce conflict; 

build cooperation; and, 

protect the best interests of all family members, especially all children. 

 

2.  If you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18, you must do the 

following within 30 days: 

 

a.  Register for a co-parenting class.  

 

b. Complete the work on www.UpToParents.org, and take your completed work to 

your co-parenting class, give a copy to your attorney, and bring it with you to all 

court appearances and other meetings. 

 

 3.  If you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18, you should attempt 

to establish your own plan for the decision making and living arrangements that will serve to 

nurture and protect your children. A plan which is worked out between the parents to fit the 

needs of their children and family is almost always the best. You should review the Indiana 

Parenting Time Guidelines.  The Court considers those Guidelines to be the minimum parenting 

time for each parent to have frequent, meaningful, and continuing contact with their children.  

 

 4.  You and your spouse must complete and exchange Financial Declaration Forms 

with all required attachments.  
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Appendix G 
 

JUDGES’ NOTICE TO PARENTS IN PATERNITY CASES 
 

We, the Judges and Magistrates of Tippecanoe County, share the following information so that 

you will know of our commitment to the best interests of children. Please read this information 

carefully, as we expect you and all other persons involved in your case to be partners in serving 

those best interests. 

 

1.  If either of you question whether or not the man named as the father in this case is 

the father, and the man named as the father has not signed a paternity affidavit admitting 

paternity of the child at issue, the Court will order genetic testing at the initial hearing to 

establish paternity. If the man named as father is found not to be the father by genetic testing, the 

case will be dismissed. 

 

2.  If paternity is established, whether by agreement or otherwise, or following genetic 

testing, the Local Rules of the Circuit and Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, Indiana, require 

you to do the following: 

 

A.  Complete the work on www.ProudToParent.org and furnish the Court with a 

certification that you have done so. 

 

B.  Complete and exchange Financial Declaration Forms with all required 

attachments.  

 

3.  In addition, if paternity is established, whether by agreement or otherwise, or 

following genetic testing, you will be expected to do the following: 

 

A.  Devise a Parenting Plan for your children. A Parenting Plan consists of the 

decision making and living and financial arrangements that will serve to nurture 

and protect your children as the years progress. A plan which is worked out 

between the parents to fit the needs of their children and family is almost always 

best. You should review the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines.  The Court 

considers those Guidelines to be the minimum parenting time for each parent to 

have frequent, meaningful, and continuing contact with their children.  If you fail 

to devise a successful Parenting Plan for your children, this Court may require 

you to attend and complete, at your own expense, a co-parenting class.  

 

B.  Read the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law and the Indiana 

Parenting Time Guidelines for additional important information on the Court’s 

expectation that everyone involved in your case will be a partner in: 

 

ensuring safety; 

reducing conflict; 

building cooperation; and, 

protecting the best interests of all family members, especially all children. 

Appendix H 
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DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM 

STATE OF INDIANA: CIRCUIT AND SUPERIOR COURTS OF TIPPECANOE 

COUNTY 

 

IN RE THE MARRIAGE OF: Cause No. _______________________ 

____________________________ 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 

____________________________ 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

 

FINANCIAL DECLARATION OF: __________________________________ 

 

This declaration is considered mandatory discovery and must be exchanged between the 

parties within 60 days of the initial filing of the Dissolution of Marriage. Parties not represented 

by counsel are required to comply with these practices. Failure by either party to complete and 

exchange this form as required will authorize the court to impose sanctions set forth in Rule 6 of 

the Tippecanoe County Rules of Family Law. If appraisals or verifications are not available 

within 60 days the from must be exchanged within 60 days with a notation that appraisals or 

verifications are being obtained and then the Declaration shall be supplemented within 30 days 

thereafter. 
Husband: ___________________________ Wife: ______________________________ 

Address: ____________________________ Address: ___________________________ 

___________________________________  ___________________________________ 

Soc. Sec. No.: _____________________      Soc. Sec. No.: _______________________ 

Badge/Payroll No.: _________________      Badge/Payroll No.: ___________________ 

Occupation: _______________________     Occupation: _________________________ 

Employer: _________________________    Employer: __________________________ 

Date started this employment: __________   Date started this employment: ___________ 

Birth Date: _________________________   Birth Date: __________________________ 

Date of Marriage:  _______________________________ 

Date of Physical Separation: _______________________ 

Date of Filing: __________________________________ 
35 

List Names, dates of birth, and social security numbers of all children of this relationship, whether by 

birth or adoption: 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

List Names and dates of birth of any other children living at the residence of the person responding 

(identify if these are children of the responding party) and for each such person indicate the amount of 

support, if any, that is received: 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 
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Part I. INCOME AND EXPENSES STATEMENT 

Attach COMPLETE copies of your Federal Income Tax Returns for the last three taxable years 

including all W2's and 1099's. Also attach proof of all wages earned in the present year up to the 

date of your response. If current wage statement shows year to date wages and itemized deductions this 

is sufficient. If current wage statement does not indicate year to date earnings and deductions attach the 8 

most recent pay stubs. 

 

Person Responding 

A. Gross yearly income from Salary and Wages, including commissions, bonuses, allowances and 

overtime received in most recent year. ___________ 

Average gross pay per pay period (indicate whether you are paid weekly each 2 weeks or twice per 

month) ___________ 

 

B. Gross Monthly Income From Other Sources1 

List and explain in detail any Rents received, Dividend income, or Pension, Retirement, Social 

Security, Disability and/or Unemployment Insurance benefits - or any other source including Public 

assistance, food stamps, and child support received for any child not born of the parties of this marriage. 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 
1Some of these items may not apply to support or maintenance computations. 

36 

 

C. SELECTED LIVING EXPENSES: List names and relations of each member of the household of 

the Responding party whose expenses are included. 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

For each expense attach verification of payment even if it is not specifically requested on this form – 

please note that Indiana uses an Income Shares model for determining support and thus in most cases the 

expenses that a party has or does not have are not relevant in determining support under the Indiana 

Support Guidelines. 

However if you claim your expenses justify a deviation from the support guidelines attach a detailed list 

of expenses together with verification of same. 

Person Responding 

Rent or Mortgage payments (residence) ___________ 

Real Property Taxes (residence) if not included in mortgage payment ___________ 

Real Property Insurance (residence) if not included in mortgage payment ___________ 

Cost of all Medical Insurance - specify time period - 

Attach verification of payment if not on pay stub ___________ 

Cost of only that medical insurance that is related to the 

children of this action - specify time period - attach 

verification from employer or insurance company ___________ 

Child care costs - to permit work - specify time 

period (per day, week, month) - attach verification ___________ 

Pre-School Costs (specify time period week, semester or year) ___________ 

School Tuition - per semester (Grade or High School) ___________ 

Book Costs - per semester (Grade or High School) ___________ 
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For Post High School Attach separate list with explanation 

of loans and scholarships and grants ___________ 

Child support paid for children other than those involved in this case - attach proof of payment 

___________ 

 

D. IN ALL CASES INVOLVING CHILD SUPPORT: Prepare and attach any Indiana Child Support 

Guideline Worksheet (with documentation verifying your income); or, supplement with such a Worksheet 

within ten (10) days of the exchange of this Form. 

Further, if there exists a parenting plan or pattern then state the number of overnights the non-custodial 

parent will have the child during the year. 

The yearly number of overnights is _____________________ 

 

E. POST HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION EXPENSE 

If any of the children subject to this case are attending post high school classes, or will attend within 

the next six months list the following information for each such student. Further attach to this financial 

affidavit any documentation you have in support of these answers. 

Name of Student _______________________________ 

Name of School ________________________________ 

Cost of School per year - If applicable, include room and board __________________ 

Identify all student financial aid including grants, scholarships, and loans and for each indicate what it 

is and how much will be received:________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

Note in those cases where it is appropriate parties may want to engage in additional discovery 

concerning assets that might be applied to education such as IRA’s, 401 K’s etc. Note further that 

withdrawals from IRA’s for educational expenses do not suffer a 10% penalty (IRC code sec 72 (t) 2 (e). 

 

F. Debts And Obligations: (Include credit union) attach additional sheets as needed. Indicate any special 

circumstances, i.e., premarital debts, debts in arrears on the date of physical separation, or date of filing 

and the 

amount or number of payments in arrears. 

ATTACH A COPY OF THE MOST RECENT STATEMENT FOR EACH LISTED DEBT 

 

Creditor’s Name & Persons on 

Account 

Balance 

Monthly Payment 

 

PART II. NET WORTH - ATTACH ALL AVAILABLE DOCUMENTATION TO VERIFY 

VALUES - 

List all property owned either individually or jointly. Indication who holds or how the title is held: (H) 

Husband, (W) Wife, or (J) Jointly or other appropriate indication. WHERE SPACE IS INSUFFICIENT 

FOR COMPLETE INFORMATION OR LISTING PLEASE ATTACH SEPARATE PAGE. 

A. Household Furnishings: (Value of Furniture, Appliances, and Equipment, as a whole - You need not 

itemize - indicate whether you use replacement cost or garage sale value) ________________ 

B. Automobiles, Boats, Snowmobiles, Motorcycles, Etc.: 

Year - Make & Present Value 

Titled Owner 

Balance Owed 
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C. Cash and Deposit Accounts: (including ALL banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions, 

thrift plans, mutual funds, certificate of deposit, savings and/or checking accounts, IRA’s and annuities).  

This also includes listing the contents of any safety deposit boxes. Use additional page if necessary. 

Name of Institution & 

Type of Account 

Owners 

Account No. 

Balance 
 

D. Securities: (Stocks, Bonds, Etc) - use additional page if necessary 

Company Name 

Owner 

Shares 

Value 

 

E. Real Estate: (attach separate sheet with the following information for each separate piece of real 

estate). 

Address: ________________________________ Type of Property: ____________________ 

__________________________________ Date of Acquisition: __________________ 

Original Cost: ____________________________ Present Value: ______________________ 

Basis for Valuation: __________________ 

(Attach appraisal if obtained) 

1st MORTGAGE BALANCE AS OF DATE OF ANSWER: ____________________________ 

Other liens (amount and type): ____________________________________________________ 

Monthly payment on each mortgage: 1st: ___________________ 2nd: _____________________ 

To whom paid: ________________________________________________________________ 

Taxes (if not included in Mtg. payment): ____________________________________________ 

Insurance (if not included in Mtg. payment): _________________________________________ 

Special Assessments (including utility or condo assessments): ___________________________ 

Identify Individual contributions to the real estate (for example, inheritance, pre-marital assets, personal 

loans, etc.): __________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

F. Retirement Plans: List monthly amount you would be entitled to at earliest retirement date (indicating 

that date) if you stopped work today. Your response should indicate date of valuation. Further, if it is a 

defined interest plan list present amount in plan and date of valuation. 

Also, identify whose plan it is and list both the name and the address of administrator of plan - indicate 

whether plan is vested - if not vested, indicate when it will vest: 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Attach documents from each plan verifying information. If not yet received, attach a copy of your 

written request to the plan(s). 
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G. Life Insurance: Give name of insured, beneficiary, company issuing, policy #, type of insurance 

(term, whole life, group), face value, cash value and any loans against - include plans provided by 

employer: 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

H. Business or Professional Interests: Indicate name, share, type of business, value less indebtedness, 

etc.: 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I. Other Assets: (this includes coin, stamp or gun collections or other items of unusual value). Use 

additional pages as needed: 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

PART III. VERIFICATION 

I declare, under the penalty of perjury, that the foregoing, including any valuations and attachments, is 

true and correct and that I have made a complete and absolute disclosure of all of my assets and liabilities. 

Furthermore, I understand that if, in the future, it is proven to this court that I have intentionally failed to 

disclosure any asset or liability, I may lose the asset and may be required to pay the liability. Finally, I 

acknowledge that sanctions may be imposed against me, including reasonable attorney’s fees and 

expenses incurred in the investigation, preparation and prosecution of any claim or action that proves my 

failure to disclose income, assets or liabilities. 

DATE: _________________   ________________________________________ 

              PARTY’S SIGNATURE 

 

PART IV. ATTORNEY’S CERTIFICATION 

I have reviewed with my client the foregoing information, including any valuations and attachments, 

and sign this certificate consistent with my obligation under Trial Rule 11 of the Indiana Rules of 

Procedure. 

DATE: ________________ 

____________________________________________ 

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 
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Appendix I 

 

PATERNITY & POST DECREE: FINANCIAL DECLARATION FORM 

STATE OF INDIANA: CIRCUIT AND SUPERIOR COURTS OF TIPPECANOE 

COUNTY 

IN RE THE MARRIAGE OF: Cause No. _______________________ 

____________________________ 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 

and 

____________________________ 

(select: Mother, Wife, Father, Husband) 
 

FINANCIAL DECLARATION OF: ________________________________ 

This declaration is considered mandatory discovery and must be exchanged between the parties within 30 

days of the filing of any paternity case or any post decree matter. Parties not represented by counsel are 

required to comply with these practices. Failure by either party to complete and exchange this form as 

required will authorize the court to impose the sanctions set forth in Rule 6 of the Tippecanoe County 

Rules of Family Law, these include costs and attorney fees. 

Father: ___________________________  Mother: ___________________________ 

Address: __________________________ Address: ___________________________ 

__________________________________ __________________________________ 

Soc. Sec. No.: _____________________   Soc. Sec. No.: _______________________ 

Badge/Payroll No.: _________________   Badge/Payroll No.: ___________________ 

Occupation: _______________________  Occupation: _________________________ 

Employer: _________________________ Employer: ___________________________ 

Date stated this employment: __________ Date started this employment: ___________ 

Birth Date: ________________________  Birth Date: __________________________ 

List the following Dates as Applicable: 

Date of Dissolution: ________________   Date of most recent support order: ______________ 

Date of Filing of this paternity action: _______________________________ 

Date of Filing of this post decree action: _____________________________ 
 

List Names, dates of birth, and social security numbers of all children of this relationship, whether by 

birth or adoption: 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

List Names and dates of birth of any other children living at the residence of the person responding 

(identify if these are children of the responding party) and for each such person indicate the amount of 

support, if any, that is received: 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 

____________________________________ ___________________________________ 
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Part I. INCOME AND EXPENSES STATEMENT 

Attach COMPLETE copies of your Federal Income Tax Returns for the last three taxable years 

including all W2's and 1099's. Also attach proof of all wages earned in the present year up to the 

date of your response. If current wage statement shows year to date wages and itemized deductions this 

is sufficient. If current wage statement does not indicate year to date earnings and deductions attach the 8 

most recent pay stubs. 

 

Person Responding 

A. Gross yearly income from Salary and Wages, including commissions, bonuses, allowances and 

overtime received in most recent year. ___________ 

Average gross pay per pay period (indicate whether you are paid weekly each 2 weeks or twice per 

month) ___________ 

 

B. Gross Monthly Income From Other Sources2 

2Some of these items may not apply to support or maintenance computations. 

List and explain in detail any Rents received, Dividend income, or Pension, Retirement, Social 

Security, Disability and/or Unemployment Insurance benefits - or any other source including Public 

assistance, food stamps, and child support received for any child not born of the parties of this marriage. 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

C. SELECTED LIVING EXPENSES: List names and relations of each member of the household of 

the Responding party whose expenses are included. 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

_____________________________________ __________________________________ 

For each expense attach verification of payment even if it is not specifically requested on this form – 

please note that Indiana uses an Income Shares model for determining support and thus in most cases the 

expenses that a party has or does not have are not relevant in determining support under the Indiana 

Support Guidelines. 

However if you claim your expenses justify a deviation from the support guidelines attach a detailed list 

of expenses together with verification of same. 

Person Responding 

Rent or Mortgage payments (residence) ___________ 

Real Property Taxes (residence) if not included in mortgage payment ___________ 

Real Property Insurance (residence) if not included in mortgage payment ___________ 

Cost of all Medical Insurance - specify time period - 

Attach verification of payment if not on pay stub ___________ 

Cost of only that medical insurance that is related to the children of this action - specify time period – 

attach verification from employer or insurance company ___________ 

Child care costs - to permit work - specify time period (per day, week, month) - attach verification 

___________ 

Pre-School Costs (specify time period week, semester or year) ___________ 

School Tuition - per semester (Grade or High School) ___________ 

Book Costs - per semester (Grade or High School) ___________ 

For Post High School Attach separate list with explanation 

of loans and scholarships and grants ___________ 

Child support paid for children other than those involved in this case - attach proof of payment ________ 
 

D. IN ALL CASES INVOLVING CHILD SUPPORT: Prepare and attach any Indiana Child Support 
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Guideline Worksheet (with documentation verifying your income); or, supplement with such a Worksheet 

within ten (10) days of the exchange of this Form. 

Further, if there exists a parenting plan or pattern then state the number of overnights the non-custodial 

parent will have the child during the year. 

The yearly number of overnights is _____________________ 

 

PART II. ARREARAGE COMPUTATION 

If case involves a claim of a support or other arrearage, attach all records or other exhibits regarding 

payment history and compute the arrearage as of the date of the filing of the petition or motion which 

raises that issue. Explain in detail how arrearage is calculated. 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

PART III. POST HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION EXPENSE 

If any of the children subject to this case are attending post high school classes, or will attend within 

the next six months list the following information for each such student. Further attach to this financial 

affidavit any documentation you have in support of these answers. 

Name of Student _______________________________ 

Name of School ________________________________ 

Cost of School per year - If applicable, include room and board __________________ 

Identify all student financial aid including grants, scholarships, and loans and for each indicate what it 

is and how much will be received: 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Note in those cases where it is appropriate parties may want to engage in additional discovery 

concerning assets that might be applied to education such as IRA’s, 401 K’s etc. Note further that 

withdrawals from IRA’s for educational expenses do not suffer a 10% penalty (IRC code sec 72 (t) 2 (e). 
 

PART IV. VERIFICATION 

I declare, under the penalty of perjury, that the foregoing, is true and correct and that I have made a 

complete and absolute disclosure of all of my income and expenses as asked. I acknowledge that 

sanctions may be imposed against me, including reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses incurred in the 

investigation, preparation and prosecution of any claim or action that proves my failure to disclose 

income or liabilities. 

DATE: _______________  ____________________________________ 

                    PARTY’S SIGNATURE 

 

PART V. ATTORNEY’S CERTIFICATION 

I have reviewed with my client the foregoing information, including any valuations and attachments, 

and sign this certificate consistent with my obligation under Trial Rule 11 of the Indiana Rules of 

Procedure. 

DATE: _______________  ____________________________________________ 

(attorney’s name) 

Indiana Attorney No.: 

(firm name) 

Attorney for (select: Mother/Father) 

(address) 

(phone number) 


