
In the 

Indiana Supreme Court 
 

 

CAUSE NUMBER: 94S00-1003-MS-128 
 

 

ORDER AMENDING INDIANA RULES FOR ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION 
 
 Under the authority vested in this Court to provide by rule for the procedure employed in 

all courts of this state and this Court’s inherent authority to supervise the administration of all 

courts of this state, Indiana Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules 2.3 and 2.5 are amended to 

read as follows (deletions shown by striking and new text shown by underlining): 

. . . 

Rule 2.3. Listing of Mediators: Commission Registry of Mediators 

Any person who wishes to serve as a registered mediator pursuant to these rules must register 

with the Indiana Supreme Court Commission for Continuing Legal Education (hereinafter 

"Commission") on forms supplied by the Commission. The registrants must meet qualifications 

as required in counties or court districts (as set out in Ind. Administrative Rule 3(A)) in which 

they desire to mediate and identify the types of litigation which they desire to mediate. Two or 

more persons individually who are qualified under A.D.R. Rule 2.5 may register as a mediation 

team. All professional licenses must be disclosed and identified in the form which the 

Commission requires. 

The registration form shall be accompanied by a fee of $50.00 for each registered area (Civil or 

Domestic).  An annual fee of $50.00 shall be due the second June 30
th

 December 31
st
 following 

initial registration. Registered mediators will be billed at the time their annual statements are 

sent. No fee shall be required of a full-time, sitting judge. 

The Commission shall maintain a list of registered mediators including the following 

information: (1) whether the person qualified under A.D.R. Rule 2.5 to mediate domestic 

relations and/or civil cases; (2) the counties or court districts in which the person desires to 

mediate; (3) the type of litigation the person desires to mediate; and (4) whether the person is a 

full-time judge. 

The Commission may remove a registered mediator from its registry for failure to meet or to 
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maintain the requirements of A.D.R. Rule 2.5 for non-payment of fees. A registered mediator 

must maintain a current business and residential address and telephone number with the 

Commission. Failure to maintain current information required by these rules may result in 

removal from the registry. 

 

For the billing of calendar year 2011, when this Rule becomes effective, registered mediators 

must pay the $50.00 annual fee and a one-time fee of $25.00 for the time period July 1, 2011-

December 31, 2011, for a total of $75.00 per registration area.  The annual fee shall be $50.00 

per calendar year per registration area thereafter.   

 

On or before May 31 October 31 of each year, each registered mediator will be sent an annual 

statement showing the mediator's educational activities that have been approved for mediator 

credit by the Commission. 

. . . 

 

Rule 2.5. Qualifications of Mediators 

. . . 

(C)  Continuing Mediation Education (“CME”) Requirements for All Registered 

Mediators.  A registered mediator must complete a minimum of six hours of Commission 

approved continuing mediation education anytime during a three-year educational period. A 

mediator’s initial educational period commences January 1 of the first full year of registration 

and ends December 31 of the third full year. Educational periods shall be sequential, in that once 

a mediator’s particular three-year period terminates, a new three-year period and six hour 

minimum shall commence. 

(1) Mediators registered before the effective date of this rule shall begin their first three-

year educational period January 1, 2004. 

(2) Attorney mediators may petition the Commission to align their three-year mediator 

educational period with their three-year continuing legal education  educational period. 

During the period of realignment, attorney mediators must report a prorated number of 

continuing mediation hours. 

. . . 
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These amendments shall take effect January 1, 2011. 

The Clerk of this Court is directed to forward a copy of this Order to the clerk of each 

circuit court in the state of Indiana; Attorney General of Indiana; Legislative Services Agency 

and its Office of Code Revision; Administrator, Indiana Supreme Court; Administrator, Indiana 

Court of Appeals; Administrator, Indiana Tax Court; Public Defender of Indiana; Prosecuting 

Attorney’s Council; Public Defender’s Council; Indiana Supreme Court Disciplinary 

Commission; Indiana Supreme Court Commission for Continuing Legal Education; Indiana 

Board of Law Examiners; Indiana Judicial Center; Division of State Court Administration; 

Indiana Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program; the libraries of all law schools in this state; the 

Michie Company; and Thomson Reuters. The Clerk is also directed to post this Order to the 

Court’s website. 

Thomson Reuters is directed to publish this Order in the advance sheets of this Court. 

The Clerks of the Circuit Courts are directed to bring this Order to the attention of all 

judges within their respective counties and to post this Order for examination by the Bar and 

general public. 

 

DONE at Indianapolis, Indiana, this 21
st
 day of September, 2010. 

 

      /s/Randall T. Shepard 

     Randall T. Shepard 

      Chief Justice of Indiana  

 

All Justices concur. 
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