

Indiana Supreme Court

ESTABLISHED 1816

THE COURT

- The state's highest court, established in 1816
- The justices are appointed on a merit basis • and then stand for retention in a general election
- There are five members: Chief Justice Loretta Rush, Justice Steven David, Justice Mark Massa, Justice Geoffrey Slaughter, and Justice Christopher Goff

AGENCIES

More than 200 employees comprise the various	 Court Technology – Appellate & Trial
agencies of the Court:	Fiscal Office
Attorney Services	 Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission/
Admissions and Continuing Education, Disciplinary	Indiana Commission on Judicial Qualifications
Commission, Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program	 Indiana Office of Court Services

- Appellate Clerk's Office •
- Communication, Education, and Outreach
- Personnel & Operations
- Supreme Court Services

OTHER INFORMATION

- The Justices generally meet once a week in Court Conference to discuss cases and administrative matters
- The Supreme Court posts information at courts.in.gov, twitter.com/incourts, and photographs at flickr.com/incourts

CASES

The Court was asked to review about 900 cases and handed down 70+ majority opinions in FY 2017

ORAL ARGUMENTS

Attorneys argue in person

- No witnesses are called
- Each side typically has 20 minutes
- Arguments are open to the public and webcast

All data fiscal year 2016-2017. For additional information about the Supreme Court, visit courts.in.gov/supreme, or contact the Indiana Supreme Court's Public Information Officer at kathryn.dolan@courts.in.gov.