Commission for CLE > Frequently Asked Questions Frequently Asked Questions


Question: What are Indiana's CLE requirements?

Answer: Attorneys and judges are required to attend at least 6 hours of approved CLE per year and at least 36 hours of approved CLE per three-year cycle. Also, attorneys and judges are required to take at least 3 hours of ethics credit anytime within the three-year cycle.


Question: What are Indiana's CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Answer: Newly admitted attorneys (attorneys within the first three-year cycle) are required to attend at least 6 hours of approved CLE per year and at least 36 hours of approved CLE per three-year cycle. Also, newly admitted attorneys are required to attend an approved six-hour "Applied Professionalism" program in lieu of the ethics requirement in their first three-year cycle. See Indiana Mandatory CLE for New Lawyers - Questions & Answers for more information.


Question: What if I don't have my CLE hours by December 31st?

Answer: You may take your hours late and pay a late fine. Names of attorneys who have not reported the required hours and paid the late fee will be given to the Supreme Court on April 1st of each year.


Question: How much do I owe if I take my CLE hours late?

Answer: You are required to pay a $150 late fee. Additionally, you must pay a surcharge of $100 for each consecutive late year.


Question: Does the Commission grant extensions?

Answer: Yes, for hardship reasons. The attorney must petition the Commission for an extension before December 31st setting out the reasons for the extension and providing proof that the hardship prevented timely compliance.


Question: When does the Supreme Court suspend delinquent attorneys for the CLE requirements?

Answer: A listing of attorneys who have not complied with the CLE requirements is submitted to the Supreme Court on May 1st each year, thereafter, the suspension may become effective at anytime the Supreme Court orders.


Question: How do I place my license on inactive status?

Answer: Submission of affidavits of inactive or retired status are now accomplished online through the Clerk of Courts Portal


Question: I am over 65 year old, how can I retire?

Answer: Submission of affidavits of inactive or retired status are now accomplished online through the Clerk of Courts Portal.


Question: Is the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education the same as ICLEF?

Answer: No, the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education is an agency of the Indiana Supreme Court. It regulates CLE in Indiana. ICLEF is a provider of CLE training. ICLEF is at 230 East Ohio Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46204. ICLEF's phone number is (317) 637-9102. http://www.iclef.org/


Question: Does Indiana have an ethics requirement?

Answer: Does Indiana have an ethics requirement?
Yes, Indiana does have an ethics requirement. Attorneys are required to complete at least three hours of approved ethics CLE anytime during each three-year cycle. State Level Judicial Officers are required to complete at least five hours of approved ethics CJE anytime during each three-year cycle. For special rules for judicial education please visit http://www.in.gov/judiciary/center/2431.htm.

 Commission on CLE Ethics Policy


Question: When is the CLE year?

Answer: The CLE year is based on a calendar year of January 1st - December 31st.


Question: When do I become responsible for fulfilling CLE requirements?

Answer: Attorneys admitted by exam shall commence meeting the yearly and educational period requirements beginning on the January 1st following their admission. Attorneys admitted by foreign license shall commence meeting the yearly and education period requirements beginning on the January 1st of their admission. Non-attorney judges shall begin meeting the yearly and education period requirements January 1st of the first full calendar year in office.


Question: May I carry over excess credit hours from one three-year period to the next three-year period?

Answer: No, Indiana does not allow excess credit to be carried into a new three-year cycle.


Question: When do I get an Official transcript from the CLE Commission?

Answer: The Official transcript is sent on or before October 1st of each year to your designated address maintained by the Roll of Attorneys, Clerk of the Indiana Supreme Court. You may access your record at any time from our website using your attorney number and pre-assigned password.


Question: How do I change my address information?

Answer: Address changes are now accomplished online through the Clerk of Courts Portal.


Question: Is Indiana based on a 60-minute hour or a 50-minute hour?

Answer: Indiana is based on a 60-minute hour.


Question: Do I have to attend seminars located in Indiana?

Answer: No, there are approved CLE providers located throughout the world. You may check this web page for a listing of those providers. CLE Approved Sponsors.


Question: How can I find an approved course in a particular area of the law?

Answer: This search function is included on our web page. CLE Course Database


Question: Does self-study courses receive credit?

Answer: No, self-study courses do not receive credit; unless the attorney can qualify under Admission and Discipline Rule 29 Section 8 (c).


Question: How can I get a CLE course approved?

Answer: You may apply using the "Application for Accreditation of Continuing Legal Education Activity" (Adobe PDF) located on this web page.


Question: How is teaching credit figured?

Answer: Four hours of CLE is given for every hour spent in presentation.


Question: I recently attended a CLE course, how do I know that my CLE credit has been reported?

Answer: Follow through with the sponsor and ask that they report your attendance.


Question: Can I receive credit for non-legal subjects?

Answer: See Admission and Discipline Rule 29, Guidelines Section 3 (b) (2).


Question: Is an application fee charged?

Answer: As of January 1, 2015, non approved sponsors must pay a $25 application fee.  If an application is untimely submitted, a late processing fee of $50 must be paid.  Attorneys will not pay application fees, but they are subject to a $50 late processing fee for applications that are not timely submitted. Approved sponsors do not pay application fees, but they must pay late processing fees of $25 for attendance untimely submitted. Non approved sponsors that are not for profit and who do not charge a registration fee may have application fees, but not late processing fees, waived.


Question: How can I find out the CLE requirements for other states?

Answer: Most mandatory CLE states are linked into a national web site. This web site is located at: http://www.clereg.org/.


Question: What does the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education consider to be distance education?

Answer: Distance Education courses are those that do not require a student to be in the same location as the instructor and do not require an attendant at the learning site to monitor attendance.


Question: What courses qualify for Indiana CLE Distance Education?

Answer: In addition to all other approval criteria of Admission and Discipline Rule 29, the course must be interactive and the sponsor must be able to verify continuing attendance during the presentation of the course to the Commission.  Activities that are non-interactive and do not provide verification of continuing attendance are considered self study and are denied accreditation.

Question: How does the sponsor monitor continuing attendance of an attendee of a distance education course?

Answer: Verification may be through the use of PIN numbers, random prompts, polling, quiz questions or otherwise throughout the presentation of the course.


Question: How many distance education credits may an attorney or State Level Judicial Officer report during the educational period?

Answer: An attorney may report up to six hours of credit per three year education period for approved distance education activities.  An attorney may report any or all of the 6 allowable distance education hours in a single course or a given year. State Level Judicial Officers are allowed a maximum of nine hours per three-year cycle.


Question: How do I obtain CLE course approval for a distance education course?

Answer: To see if the course has previously been approved, go to http://www.courts.in.gov/cle.  If the course has not been approved, you may apply for accreditation of the course using the Application for CLE Accreditation available at http://www.courts.in.gov/cle .  You will be asked to explain the attendance verification method of the sponsor.  Applications must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the course.  The sponsor must submit proof of attendance to the Commission within 30 days of the conclusion of the course.


Question: What are in-house educational programs?

Answer: In-house programs include those primarily designed for the exclusive benefit of attorneys employed by a private organization or law firm.


Question: What courses qualify for Indiana CLE in-house education?

Answer: To qualify as in-house education, the program must be provided by a judge, attorney or sponsor of legal education who is not a member, employee or acting of counsel of the organization or law firm.


Question: How many in-house credits may an attorney report each educational period?

Answer: Attorneys may receive up to three hours of credit per three year education period for in-house activities.  Governmental and academic attorneys may receive unlimited in-house credits.


Question: How do I obtain in-house CLE course approval?

Answer: First ask the sponsor if the course has been approved by the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education.  If the course has not been approved, you may apply for accreditation of the course by using the Application for CLE Accreditation available at http://www.courts.in.gov/cle.  You will be asked to explain the attendance verification method of the sponsor. Applications must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the course.  Proof of attendance must be submitted to the Commission within 30 days of the conclusion of the course.


Question: What is the definition of a non-legal subject matter (“NLS”), course?

Answer: NLS courses are those courses that are not substantively legal, but enhance an attorney’s competence in his or her individual practice.


Question: How many hours may I receive for NLS courses during a three-year educational period?

Answer: Attorneys can report a maximum of twelve hours of NLS credits each educational period.  An attorney may report any or all of the twelve allowable in-house education hours in a single course or a given year. . State Level Judicial Officers are allowed a maximum of 18 hours per three-year cycle. For special rules for judicial education please visit: http://www.in.gov/judiciary/center/2431.htm.


Question: May a sponsor apply for accreditation of an NLS course?

Answer: Yes, a sponsor or an attorney may apply for accreditation.


Question: How do I obtain NLS course approval?

Answer: First ask the sponsor if the course has been approved by the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education.  If the course has not been approved, you may apply for accreditation of the course by using the Application for CLE Accreditation available at http://www.courts.in.gov/cle.


Question: Are wellness courses approved for NLS credit?

Answer: In the case of a sponsor application, wellness courses must be specifically targeted to attorneys and judges and meet all the other criteria of Guidelines Section 3(a).  In the case of an attorney-attendee submitted application, the course must be directly related to a subject matter directly applicable to the applicant’s practice.


Question: May a course qualify for both CLE and NLS?

Answer: Yes, some portions of a course may be CLE and others may be NLS.  The applicant will be directed to designate those portions of a course that are NLS versus legal in your application for accreditation.