Indiana Judicial Center > Committees > Alternative Dispute Resolution Alternative Dispute Resolution


The Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Committee monitors current developments in fields of mediation, private judges, arbitration, and other means of settling lawsuits before and after a civil claim or complaint is filed.  This committee reviews legislation and caselaw affecting ADR, examines Indiana's Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules, and studies improvement suggestions.  The committee recently examined the ethical concerns related to a mediator's role with self-represented litigants, and is currently exploring issues related to foreclosure prevention and settlement conferences, the use of parenting coordinators, and expanding the use of arbitration.  This committee plans to meet approximately three times a year.


Judge David Avery, Chair
Allen Superior Court (Civil)
Fort Wayne

Mag. Larry L. Ambler
St. Joseph Circuit Court
South Bend

Hon. Elaine B. Brown
Indiana Court of Appeals

Hon. David A. Cox
Senior Judge

Hon. Brent Dickson, Liaison
Indiana Supreme Court

Hon. J. Jeffrey Edens
Boone Circuit Court

Hon. Calvin D. Hawkins
Lake Superior Court
East Chicago

Com. James A. Joven
Marion Superior Court

Hon. Thomas K. Milligan
Senior Judge

Hon. David E. Northam
Rush Circuit Court

Mag. Nanette K. Raduenz
Lake Superior Court #3

Mag. Victoria M. Ransberger
Marion Superior Court

Hon. John T. Roach
Vigo Superior Court #1
Terre Haute

Hon. Kim Van Valer
Senior Judge

Hon. Randy J. Williams
Tippecanoe Superior Court

Staff Contact

Jennifer L. Weber, Staff Attorney
Indiana Judicial Center
30 S. Meridian St., Ste. 900
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone:  (317) 232-1313
Fax:  (317) 234-2622

Julia Orzeske, Executive Director
Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education
30 S. Meridian St., Ste. 950
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-1943
TDD: (317) 233-6112
Fax: (317) 233-1442

Visit the Alternative Dispute Resolution Fund website at

Meeting Minutes