NEW GAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1.  What type of new training is required for attorney GAL’s?
The new requirement is that attorneys serving as GAL’s in juvenile court must complete training in:  (1) the identification and treatment of child abuse and neglect; and (2) early childhood, child and adolescent development.
2.  When does this new requirement go into effect?

July 1, 2012

3.  Does this new requirement apply to Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) volunteers?

Yes.  However, certified CASA programs already provide training to volunteers on these topics in the initial 30 hour training course that volunteers receive.  As a result, no additional training is required for CASA volunteers.   

4.  If I am an attorney and I have completed the 30 hour training for CASA volunteers, do I still need additional training?

No.  If you have completed the 30 hour training through a certified GAL/CASA program, then additional training is not required.  
5.  Does this new requirement apply to attorneys serving as GAL’s in divorce, custody, paternity or guardianship cases?  

No.  It only applies to persons serving as a GAL or a CASA in juvenile court proceedings, such as CHINS, TPR and juvenile delinquency cases.

6.  Where can I find a copy of this new law?

The new requirement is contained in Senate Enrolled Act 286, which you can find here:  
http://www.in.gov/legislative/bills/2012/SE/SE0286.1.html.
7.  Why was Indiana law changed to require this training for attorneys?
The training requirements derive from federal law, the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (“CAPTA”), and are mandatory in order for Indiana to receive federal CAPTA funds
8.  Will training on the required topics be offered to attorney GAL’s?
Yes.  State Court Administration is collaborating with the Department of Child Services and others to create a training on the required topics which will be offered in various parts of the state in live or electronic format in the fall.  (Dates have not been determined yet.)

9.  Will CLE be offered for the training in the fall?

Yes.  CLE hours will be offered for the live training in the fall.  

10.  What will the cost of the fall training be?  
We have some funding available to pay for the training and should be able to provide the training to everyone at no cost.  
11.  Can CASA directors, staff or volunteers attend the training on these topics if they want to?  

Yes.  CASA directors and staff will be offered an opportunity to receive additional training on these topics in the fall as well.  

12.  How can we comply with the training requirement by July 1, 2012?

You can review the initial training materials prior to July 1 and send in the verification form to State Court Administration.  

13.  Where can I find the initial training materials?

The CHINS primer on the identification and treatment of child abuse and neglect can be found at:

http://www.kidsvoicein.org/programs/clci/chins/
Please note that this primer should be available on this website shortly, and will be posted on or before July 1.  
The materials on early childhood, child and adolescent development can be found at:

http://iuhealth.org/riley/for-patients-and-families/education/caring-for-kids/
(Please see Section Two, “Growth and Development”, of “Caring for Kids, Useful Information and Hard-to-Find Facts about Child Health and Development.”  
14.  What is the verification form for?
The verification form confirms that the materials have been reviewed and ensures that you will receive notification of the additional, free training on the required topics in the fall.  

15.  Where can I get a copy of the verification form?
A copy of the verification form was sent to every juvenile judge.  The verification form will be available next week at this website:  www.CASA.in.gov.  You can also email the State GAL/CASA director and request the form at:  Leslie.Dunn@courts.in.gov.
16.  Where do I send the verification form to?
Please send the verification form to this address:

                                                  Indiana Supreme Court


                        

                                                  State Court Administration

                                                  Office of GAL/CASA

                                                  30 South Meridian Street, Ste 500

                                                  Indianapolis, IN 46204

The form can also be signed, scanned and emailed to:  IndianaGAL@courts.in.gov
17.  When do I have to turn in the verification form?

Please return the verification form to the address indicated above on or before July 31, 2012.  
18.  Do I have to attend the free training offered by the State?

No.  The free training that will be offered in the fall is not mandatory.  However, it is mandatory that all attorneys serving as a GAL in juvenile court receive training on the required topics.
19.  If there is training on the required topics in my county that is approved by our juvenile judge, can I attend that training instead?  
Yes, as long as the training you receive covers the required topics and is approved by your juvenile court judge, then you have complied with the training requirements and can serve as a GAL.  
20.  Who can I contact if I have additional questions?

Please contact Leslie Dunn at 317-233-0224 or Leslie.Dunn@courts.in.gov if you have any additional questions.  
