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STATE OF INDIANA /
INDIANA UTILITY REGULATORY COMMISSION Q—

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

IURC RM #09-08
LSA #09-792

The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (the “Commission”), pursuant to IC 8-1-1-
3(g) and IC 8-1-2-34.5, hereby proposes to amend 170 IAC 4-1-1, 170 IAC 4-1-16, 170 IAC 4-5-
14,170 1AC 5-1-1, 170 IAC 5-1-16, 170 IAC 6-1-16, 170 IAC 8.5-1-1, 170 IAC 8.5-2-4 and 170
IAC 8.5-2-6 to add references to the proposed consumer affairs rules and delete references to the
rules which are being repealed as part of this rulemaking. In addition, the Commission proposes
- to add 170 IAC 16-1-1 through 170 IAC 16-1-6 establishing new consumer affairs rules. The
Commission shall hear public comments on the attached proposed rule at a date and time to be
determined, in Suite 220, of the National City Center, 101 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis,
Indiana.

The Secretary of the Commission is hereby directed to maintain five (5) copies of the
proposed rule continuously on file in the Commission Offices for public inspection, and forward
copies of the attached proposed rule to the Indiana Legislative Services Agency for publication
in the Indiana Register.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

HARDY, ATTERHOLT, GOLC, LANDIS, AND ZIEGNER CONCUR:
APPROVED: N0V 1 2 2008

I hereby certify that the above is a true
and correct copy of the Rule as approved.

Brenda A. Howe
Secretary to the Commission



TITLE 170 INDIANA UTILITY REGULATORY COMMISSION

Proposed Rule
LSA Document #09-792

DIGEST

Amends 170 1AC 4-1-1, 170 1AC 4-1-16, 170 IAC 4-5-14, 170 IAC 5-1-1, 170 IAC 5-1-16, 170
IAC 6-1-16, 170 1AC 8.5-1-1, 170 1AC 8.5-2-4 and 170 IAC 8.5-2-6 to add references to the proposed
consumer affairs rules and delete references to the rules which are being repealed as part of this
rulemaking. Adds 170 IAC 16-1-1 through 170 IAC 16-1-7 establishing new procedures for resolving
customer complaints. Repeals 170 IAC 4-1-17; 170 IAC 5-1-17; 170 IAC 6-1-17; and 170 IAC 8.5-2.5.
Effective 30 days after filing with the publisher.

170 IAC 4-1-1; 170 IAC 4-1-16; 170 IAC 4-5-14; 170 IAC 5-1-1; 170 IAC 5-1-16; 170 IAC 6-1-16; 170
IAC 8.5-1-1; 170 IAC 8.5-2-4; 170 1AC 8.5-2-6; 170 JAC 16-1-1; 170 IAC 16-1-2; 170 IAC 16-1-3; 170
TAC 16-1-4; 170 TAC 16-1-5; 170 IAC 16-1-6; 170 IAC 16-1-7;

SECTION 1. 170 IAC 4-1-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 4-1-1 Definitions
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC §-1-2-4
Affected: 1C 8-1-2-1

Sec. 1. Definitions. (A) Where applicable the definitions set forth in IC 8-1-2-1 (Burns 54-105) shall be
applied to these rules, and

(B) The word "customer" shall mean any person, firm, corporation, municipality or other government
agency which has agreed, orally or otherwise, to pay for electric service received from a utility; provided,
that for the purposes of Rules 13D, 15, 16 and 16.1 /170 IAC 4-1-13(D), 170 IAC 4-1-15, 170 IAC 4-1-16;
$7034€C4-4-17], the word "customer” shall be limited to mean persons who have agreed to pay for such
service exclusively for residential purposes.

(C) The word "disconnection" shall mean the termination or discontinuance of electric service.

(D) The words "late payment charge” shall mean the one time penalty assessed by a utility upon all carrent
bills at such time as they become delinquent.

(E) The word "commission" shall mean the Indiana utility regulatory commission.

SECTION 2. 170 IAC 4-1-16 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

. 170 IAC 4-1-16 Disconnection of service; prohibited disconnections; reconnection
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-4
Affected: 1C 8-1-2-113; IC 8-1-2-122

Sec. 16. (a) The customer shall notify the utility at least three (3) days in advance of the day disconnection
is desired. The customer shall remain responsible for all service used and the billings therefor until service
is disconnected pursuant to such notice. Upon request by a customer of a utility to disconnect service, the
utility shall disconnect the service within three (3) working days of the requested disconnection date. The
customer shall not be liable for any service rendered to such address or location after the expiration of three
(3) such days.
(b) A utility may disconnect service without request by the customer of the service and without prior notice
only:

(1) if a condition dangerous or hazardous to life, physical safety or property exists; or

(2) upon order by any court, the commission or other duly authorized public authority; or

(3) if fraudulent or unauthorized use of electricity is detected and the utility has reasonable

grounds to believe the affected customer is responsible for such use; or

(4) if the utility's regulating or measuring equipment has been tampered with and the utility has

reasonable grounds to believe that the affected customer is responsible for such tampering.
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In all other instances a utility, upon providing the customer with proper notice (as defined in subsection (e)
of this section) may disconnect service subject to the other provisions of 170 IAC 4-1.
(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (a) and (b) of this section a utility shall postpone the
disconnection of service for ten (10) days if, prior to the disconnect date specified in the disconnect notice,
the customer provides the utility with a medical statement from a licensed physician or public health
official which states that disconnection would be a serious and immediate threat to the health or safety of a
designated person in the household of the customer. The postponement of disconnection shall be continued
for one additional ten (10) day period upon the provision of an additional such medical statement.
A utility may not disconnect services to the customer:
(1) upon his failure to pay for merchandise or appliances;
(2) upon his failure to pay for the service rendered at a different metering point, residence, or
location 1f such bill has remained unpaid for less than forty-five (45) days;
(3) upon his failure to pay for services to a previous occupant of premises to be served;
(4) upon his failure to pay for a different form or class of utility service; or
(5) if the customer or user shows cause for his inability to pay the full amount due (financial
hardship shall constitute cause), and said customer:
(A) pays a reasonable portion (not to exceed $10 or one tenth (1/10) of the bill whichever
is less unless the customer agrees to a greater portion) of the bill; and
(B) agrees to pay the remainder of the outstanding bill within three (3) months; and
(C) agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due; and
(D) has not breached any similar agreement with the utility made pursuant to this section
within the past twelve months.
Provided, however, that the utility may add to the outstanding bill a late payment charge
not to exceed the amount set pursuant to 170 1AC 4-1-13(B). Provided further, that the
above terms of agreement shall be put in writing by the utility and signed by the customer
and by a representative of the utility.
(6) If a customer or user is unable to pay a bill, which is unusually large due to a prior incorrect
reading of the meter, incorrect application of the rate schedule, incorrect connection or functioning
of the meter, prior estimates where no actual reading was taken for over two months, stopped or
slow meters, or any human or mechanical error of the utility, and the customer:
(A) pays a reasonable portion of the bill, not to exceed an amount equal to the customer's
average bill for the six (6) bills immediately preceding the bill in question;
(B) agrees to pay the remainder at a reasonable rate; and
(C) agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due;Provided,
however, that the utility may not add to the outstanding bill any late fee. Provided,
further, that the above terms of agreement shall be put in writing by the utility and signed
by the customer and a representative of the utility.
If a customer proceeds with a review pursuant to $70JAC 4117183} 170 IAC 16-1-5, the
utility may disconnect only as provided in +763AC4-1-3HE) 170 IAC 16-1-7.
(d) No utility may disconnect service unless it is done between the hours of 8:00 AM. and 3:00 P.M.,
prevailing local time. Disconnections pursuant to subsections (a) and (b) of this section are not subject to
this limitation. A utility may not disconnect service for nonpayment on any day, or beyond twelve noon
(12:00 noon) of the day immediately preceding any day, on which the utility office is not open to the
public.
(e} Except as otherwise provided herein, eleciric service to any residential customer shall not be
disconnected for a violation of any rule or regulation of a utility or for the non-payment of a bill, except
after fourteen (14) days prior written notice to such customer by either:
(1) mailing the notice to such residential customer at the address shown on the records of the
public utility; or,
(2) personal delivery of the notice to the residential customer or a responsible member of his
household at the address shown on the records of the utility;
(3) no disconnect notice for nonpayment may be rendered prior to the date on which the account
becomes delinquent.
The notice must be in language which is clear, concise, and easily understandable to a layman and
shall state in separately numbered large types or printed paragraphs:
(1) the date of proposed disconnection;




(2) the specific factual basis and reason for the proposed disconnection;

(3) the telephone number of the utility office which the customer may call during regular business

hours in order to question the proposed disconnection or seek information concerning his rights;

(4) a reference to the pamphlet furnished to the customer pursuant to 170 IAC 4-1-18 for

information as to the customer's rights.
(f) Immediately preceding the actual disconnection of service, the employee of the utility designated to
perform such function shall make a reasonable attempt to identify himself to the customer or any other
responsible person then upon the premises and shall announce the purpose of his presence and shall make a
record thereof to be maintained for at least thirty (30) days. The employee shall have in his possession
information sufficient to enable him to inform the customer or other responsible person the reason for
disconnection, including the amount of any delinquent bill of the customer, and shall request the customer
for any available verification that the outstanding bill has been satisfied or is currently in dispute pursuant
to review. Upon the presentation of such credible evidence, service shall not be disconnected. The
employee shall not be required to accept payment from the customer, user, or other responsible person in
- order to prevent the service from being disconnected. The utility shall notify its customers pursuant to 170
IAC 4-1-18 its policy with regard to the acceptance or non-acceptance of payment from such employee,
and shall uniformly follow such policy without discrimination.
When the employee has disconnected the service, the employee shall give to a responsible person at the
user's premises or, if no one is at home, shall leave at a conspicuous place on the premises, a notice stating
that service has been disconnected and stating the address and telephone number of the utility where the
user may arrange to have service reconnected.
(g) A utility may charge a reasonable reconnection charge, not to exceed the charge approved by the
commission in the utility's filed tariffs. A utility shall inform its customers of such reconnection fee
pursuant to 170 TAC 4-1-18. If the utility disconnects service in violation of 170 IAC 4-1, the service shall
immediately be restored at no charge to the customer.
The utility must reconnect the service to the customer or user as soon as reasonably possible but at least
within one (1) working day after it is requested to do so if the customer has satisfied the requirements of
170 IAC 4-1.

SECTION 3. 170 TAC 4-5-14 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 1AC 4-5-14 Complaints; review
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-36.5
Affected: IC 8-1-2-36.5

Sec.-14. Complaints and Review. (a) Complaint procedure: (1) A customer may complain at any time to the
owner about any bill which is not delinquent at that time or any other matter relating to its service and may
request a conference thereon. Such complaints may be made in person, in writing, or by completing a form
available from either the commission or the owner. A complaint shall be considered filed upon receipt by
the owner, except mailed complaints shall be considered filed as of the postmark
date. In making a complaint and/or request for conference, the customer shall state at a minimum, his name,
service address, and the general nature of his complaint.
(2) Upon receiving each such complaint or request for conference, the owner:
(A) Shall promptly, thoroughly and completely investigate such complaint, confer with the
customer when requested, and notify in writing the customer of the results of its proposed
disposition of the complaint after having made a good faith attempt to resolve the complaint.
(B) Such written notification shall advise the customer that he may, within seven (7) days
following the date in which such notification is mailed, request a review of such proposed
disposition by the commission.
(b) Review: (1) If the customer is dissatisfied with the owner's proposed disposition of the complaint as
provided in (a)(2), he may request the commission in writing within seven (7) days following the date in
which such notification is mailed to informally review the disputed issue and the owner's proposed
disposition thereof. Such request shall certify that the customer has also sent a copy of his request for
review to the owner involved. Upon receiving such request, the commission shall provide an informal
review within twenty-one (21) days. The review shall consist of not less than a prompt and thorough




investigation of the dispute and shall resuit in a written decision to be mailed to the customer and the owner
within thirty (30) days after the commission's receipt of the

customer's request. Upon request by either party or the commission, the parties shall be required to meet
and confer to the extent and at such place as the commission may consider to be appropriate.

(2) The records of the commission relating to such review shall be kept in a systematic order.

(3) In those mnstances when the customer and owner cannot agree as to what portion of a bill is
undisputed, it shall be sufficient that the customer pay on the disputed bill an amount equal to his average
bill for the six (6) months immediately preceding the disputed bill. However, in those cases where the
customer has received fewer than six (6) bills the customer shall pay an amount
equal to the average (arithmetical mean) of such bills as have been received.

(c) Record of complaints: (1) Each owner shall keep a written record of complaints and requests for
conferences pursuant to +78-3AC4-1-17 170 IAC 16-1-4. Such records shall be retained at the location
where such complaints were received and/or any conferences were subsequently held. Such written records
are to be readily available upon request by the concerned customer, his agent possessing

written authorization, or the commission. '

(2) Each owner shall annually submit a report to the commission which shall state and classify the

number of complaints made to the owner pursuant to 370dAC-4-3-37 170 IAC 16-1-4, the general

nature of the subject matter thereof, how received (in person, by letter, etc.) and whether a

commission review was conducted thereon.

SECTION 4. 170 1AC 5-1-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 5-1-1 Definitions
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-4
Affected: IC 8-1-2-1

Sec. 1. (a) Where applicable, the definitions set forth in IC 8-1-2-1 apply throughout this rule.

(b) As used in this rule, "customer” means any person, firm, corporation, municipality, or other government
agency which has agreed, orally or otherwise, to pay for gas service received from a public utility.
However, for the purposes of sections 13(d) and 15 through 1716 of this rule, "customer" shall be limited to
mean persons who have agreed to pay for such service exclusively for residential purposes.

(c) As used in this rule, "disconnection" means the termination or discontinuance of gas service.

(d) As used in this rule, "late payment charge" means the one (1) time penalty assessed by a public utility
upon all current bills at such time as they become delinquent.

(e) As used in this rule, "cubic foot of gas" means, for testing purposes, the amount of gas in a volume of
one (1) cubic foot when saturated with water vapor, at sixty degrees Fahrenheit (60° F) and at an absolute
pressure of thirty (30) inches of mercury at a temperature of thirty-two degrees Fahrenheit (32° F).

(f) As used in this rule, "commission" means the Indiana utility regulatory commission.

(g) As used in this rule, "check rate" means thirty-five percent (35%) of a meter's rated capacity.

(h) As used in this rule, "open rate” means eighty percent (80%) of a meter's rated capacity.

SECTION 5. 170 IAC 5-1-16 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 5-1-16 Disconnection of service; prohibited disconnections; reconnection
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-4
Affected: IC 8-1-2-87; IC 8-1-2-122; IC 8-1-2.5
Sec. 16. (a) The customer shall notify the utility at least three (3) days in advance of the day disconnection
is desired. The customer shall remain responsible for all service used and the billings therefor until service
is disconnected pursuant to such notice. Upon request by a customer of a utility to disconnect service, the
utility shall disconnect the service within three (3) working days of the requested disconnection date. The
customer shall not be liable for any service rendered to the address or location after the expiration of three
(3) such days.
(b) A utility may disconnect service without request by the customer of the service and without prior notice
only:

(1) if a condition dangerous or hazardous to life, physical safety, or property exists;

(2) upon order by any court, the commission, or other duly authorized public authority;
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(3) if fraudulent or unauthorized use of gas is detected and the utility has reasonable grounds to
believe the affected customer is responsible for the use;
(4) if the utility’s regulating or measuring equipment has been tampered with and the utility has
reasonable grounds to believe that the affected customer is responsible for the tampering; or
(5) if the utility’s equipment is used in a manner disruptive to the service of other customers.
In all other instances a utility, upon providing the customer with proper notice (as defined in subsection
(f)), may disconnect service subject to the other provisions of this rule.
(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (a) and (b), a utility shall postpone the disconnection of
service for ten (10) days if, before the disconnect date specified in the disconnect notice, the customer
provides the utility with a medical statement from a licensed physician or public health official that states
that disconnection would be a serious and immediate threat to the health or safety of a designated person in
the household of the customer. The postponement of disconnection shall be continued for one (1) additional
ten (10) day period upon the provision of an additional such medical statement. The utility shall be required
to provide the customer a total of twenty (20) days postponement of disconnection for medical reasons
under this subsection only once in any twelve (12) month period. Further postponement of disconnection
for medical reasons shall be at the utility's discretion.
(d) A utility may not disconnect service to the customer as follows:
(1) Upon the customer's failure to pay for:
(A) merchandise or appliances purchased from the utility furnishing the gas or other
nonutility or unregulated services;
(B) the service rendered at a different metering point, residence, or location if the bill has
remained unpaid for less than forty-five (45) days;
(C) services to a previous occupant of premises to be served, unless the utility has good
reason to believe the customer is attempting to defraud the utility; or
(D) a different form or class of utility service.
(2) If the customer shows cause for thé customer's inability to pay the full amount due (financial
hardship shall constitute cause), and the customer:
(A) pays a reasonable portion, not to exceed:
(i) twenty-five dollars ($25); or
(ii) one-tenth ('/,0) of the bill;
whichever is less, unless the customer agrees to a greater portion of the bill;
(B) agrees to pay:
(i) the remainder of the outstanding bill within three (3) months; and
(ii) all undisputed future bills for service as they become due; and
(C) has not breached any similar agreement with the utility made under this section
within the past twelve (12) months. Provided, however, that the utility may add to the
outstanding bill a late payment charge not to exceed the amount set under section 13(B)
of this rule. Provided further, that the above terms of agreement shall be put in writing by
the utility and signed by the customer and by a representative of the utility. Only one (1)
late payment charge may be charged to the customer under this section. "Unregulated
services”, as used in subsection (d)(1)(A) [subdivision (1)(4)], does not include utility
services provided under an alternative regulatory plan approved by the commission under
IC 8-1-2.5 et seq.
(3) If a customer is unable to pay a bill, which is unusually large due to prior incorrect reading of
the meter, incorrect application of the rate schedule, incorrect connection or functioning of the
meter, prior estimates where no actual reading was taken for over two (2) months, stopped or slow
meters, or any human or mechanical error of the utility, and the customer:
(A) pays a reasonable portion of the bill, not to exceed an amount equal to the customer's
average bill for the twelve (12) bills immediately preceding the bill in question; and
(B) agrees to pay:
(i) the remainder at a reasonable rate; and
(13) all undisputed future bills for service as they become due.
Provided, however, that the utility may not add to the outstanding bill any late fee. Provided,
further, that the above terms of agreement shall be put in writing by the utility and signed by the
customer and a representative of the utility. If a customer proceeds with a review under sectien




17B)-of-this-rule; 170 IAC 16-1-5 the utility may disconnect only as provided in sectiontH{C)-of
thisrule 170 IAC 16-1-7.

(e) No utility may disconnect service unless it is done between the hours of 8:00 am. and 3:00 p.m.,
prevailing local time. Disconnection under subsections (a) and (b) are not subject to this limitation. A
utility may not disconnect service for nonpayment on any day on which the utility office is closed to the
public, or after noon of the day immediately preceding any day on which the utility office is not open to the
public.
(f) Except as otherwise provided herein, gas service to any residential customer shall not be disconnected
for a violation of any rule or regulation of a utility or for the nonpayment of a bill, except after fourteen
(14) days prior written notice to the customer by either:
(1) mailing the notice to the residential customer at the address shown on the records of the public
utility; or
(2) personal delivery of the notice to the residential customer or a responsible member of the
customer's household at the address shown on the records of the utility.
No disconnect notice for nonpayment may be rendered prior to the date on which the account becomes
delinquent.
(g) The notice in subsection (f) must be in language that is clear, concise, and easily understandable to a
layperson and shall state in separately numbered large types or printed paragraphs the following:
(1) The date of the proposed disconnection.
(2) The specific actual basis and reason for the proposed disconnection.
(3) The telephone number of the utility office at which the customer may call during regular
business hours in order to question the proposed disconnection or seek information concerning the
customer’s rights.
(4) A reference to the pamphlet furnished to the customer under section 18 of this rule for
information as to the customer's rights.
(h) Immediately preceding the actual disconnection of service, the employee of the utility designated to
perform that function shall:
(1) make a reasonable attempt to identify himself or herself to the customer or any other
responsible person then upon the premises;
(2) announce the purpose of his or her presence;
(3) make a record thereof to be maintained for at least thirty (30) days;
(4) have m his or her possession information sufficient to enable him or her to inform the customer
or other responsible person of the reason for disconmnection, including the amount of any
delinquent bill of the customer; and
(5) request from the customer any available verification that the outstanding bill has been satisfied
or is currently in dispute under review under seetion37B)-of this-rule- 170 IAC 16-1-5.
Upon the presentation of such credible evidence, service shall not be disconnected. The employee
shall not be required to accept payment from the customer or other responsible person in order to
prevent the service from being disconnected. The utility shall notify its customers under section 18
of this rule of its policy with regard to the acceptance or nonacceptance of payment by the
employee and shall uniformly follow the policy without discrimination. When the employee has
disconnected the service, the employee shall give to a responsible person at the user's premises, or,
if no one is at home, shall leave at a conspicuous place on the premises, a notice stating that
service has been disconnected and stating the address and telephone number of the utility where
the user may arrange to have service reconnected.
(1) A utility may charge a reasonable reconnection charge, not to exceed the charge approved by the
commission in the utility's filed tariffs. A utility shall inform its customers of the reconnection fee under
section 18 of this rule. If the utility disconnects service in violation of this rule, the service shall
immediately be restored at no charge to the customer. The utility must reconnect the service to the
customer as soon as reasonably possible but at least within one (1) working day after it is requested to do so
if the customer has satisfied the requirements of this rule.

SECTION 6. 170 IAC 6-1-16 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 6-1-16 Disconnection of service; prohibited disconnection; reconnection
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-4




Affected: 1C 8-1-2-4; IC 8-1-2-113

Sec. 16. Disconnection of Service. (A) Upon Customer's Request. (1) The customer shall notify the utility
at least three (3) days in advance of the day disconnection is desired. The customer shall remain responsible
for all service used-and the billings therefor until service is disconnected pursuant to such notice.
(2) Upon request by a customer of a utility to disconnect service, the utility shall disconnect the
service within three (3) working days of the requested disconnection date. The customer shall not
be liable for any service rendered to such address or location after the expiration of these three (3)
days.
(B) Without Customer's Request. (1) A utility may disconnect service without request by the customer and
without prior notice only:
(a) if a condition dangerous or hazardous to life, physical safety or property exists; or
(b) upon order by any court, the commission or other duly authorized public authority; or
(c) if fraudulent or unauthorized use of water is detected and the utility has reasonable
ground to believe the affected customer is responsible for such use; or
(d) if the utility's regulating or measuring equipment has been tampered with and the
utility has reasonable grounds to believe that the affected customer is responsible for such
tampering.
(2) In all other instances a utility, upon providing the customer with proper notice (as defined in
Rule 16 (E) [subsection (E) of this section]), may disconnect service subject to the other
provisions of these rules.
(C) Prohibited Disconnection. (1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 16 (A) and 16 (B)
[subsections (A) and (B) of this section], a utility shall postpone the disconnection of service for ten (10)
days if, prior to the disconnect date specified in the disconnect notice, the customer provides the utility with
a medical statement from a licensed physician or public health official which states that disconnection
would be a serious and immediate threat to the health or safety of a designated person in the household of
the customer. The postponement of disconnection shall be continued for one additional ten (10) day period
upon the provision of an additional such medical statement.
(2) A utility may not disconnect service to the customer:
(a) upon his failure to pay for merchandise or appliances purchased from the utility
furnishing the water;
(b) upon his failure to pay for the service rendered at a different metering point,
residence, or location if such bill has remained unpaid for less than forty-five (45) days;
(c) upon his failure to pay for services to a previous occupant of premises to be served,
unless the utility has good reason to believe the customer is attempting to defraud the
utility by using another name;
(d) upon his failure to pay for a different form or class of utility service; or
(e) if the customer shows cause for his inability to pay the full amount due (financial
hardship shall constitute cause), and said customer:
(i) pays a reasonable portion (not to exceed $10 or one tenth (1/10) of the bill,
whichever is less, unless the customer agrees to a greater portion) of the bill; and
(i) agrees to pay the remainder of the outstanding bill within three (3) months;
and
(1ii) agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due; and
(1v) has not breached any similar agreement with the utility made pursuant to
this rule within the past twelve months.
Provided, however, that the utility may add to the outstanding bill a late payment charge
not to exceed the amount set pursuant to Rule 13 (B) /170 IAC 6-1-13(B)]. Provided
further, that the above terms of the agreement shall be put in writing by the utility and
signed by the customer and by a representative of the utility. Only one late payment
charge may be made to the customer under this section.
(f) If a customer is unable to pay a bill, which is unusually large due to prior incorrect
reading of the meter, incorrect application of the rate schedule, incorrect connection or
functioning of the meter, prior estimates where no actual reading was taken for over two
months, stopped or slow meter, or any human or mechanical error of the utility, and the
customer:




(1) pays a reasonable portion of the bill, not to exceed an amount equal to the
customer's average bill for the twelve (12) bills immediately preceding the bill in
question; and, .
(i1) agrees to pay the remainder at a reasonable rate, and _
(i11) agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due;
Provided, however, that the utility may not add to the outstanding bill any late fee.
Provided, further, that the above terms of agreement shall be put in writing by the utility
and signed by the customer and a representative of the utility.
(3) If a customer proceeds with a review pursuant to Rule 16.1 (B) f703AC-6-1-1738B)} 170 IAC
16-1-5, the utility may disconnect only as provided in Rule 16.1 (C) H70IAC-6-1-17HCSY 170
IAC 16-1-7.
(D) Time. (1) No utility may disconnect service unless it is done between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 3:00
P.M., prevailing local time. Disconnections pursuant to Rules 16 (A) and 16 (B) [subsections (A) and (B) of
this section] are not subject to this limitation.
(2) A utility may not disconnect service for non-payment on any day on which the utility office is
closed to the public, or after twelve noon (12:00 noon) of the day immediately preceding any day
on which the utility office is not open to the public.
(E) Notice Required Prior to Involuntary Disconnection. (1) Except as otherwise provided herein, service to
any residential customer shall not be disconnected for a violation of any rule or regulation of a utility or for
the non-payment of a bill, except after seven (7) days prior written notice to such customer by either:
(a) Mailing the notice to such residential customer at the address shown on the records of
the utility; or,
(b) Personal delivery of the notice to the residential customer or a responsible member of
his household at the address shown on the records of the utility.
(c) No disconnect notice for non-payment may be rendered prior to the date on which the
account becomes delinquent.
(2) The notice must be in language which is clear, concise, and easily understandable to a layman
and shall state in separately numbered large typed or printed paragraphs
(a) the date of proposed disconnection;
(b) the specific actual basis and reason for the proposed disconnection;
(c) the telephone number of the utility office at which the customer may call during
regular business hours in order to question the proposed disconnection or seek
information concerning his rights;
(d) a reference to the pamphlet or the copy of the rules furnished to the customer pursuant
to Rule 16.2 /170 IAC 6-1-18] for information as to the customer's rights.
(F) Procedure for Involuntary Disconnection. (1) Immediately preceding the actual disconnection of
service, the employee of the utility designated to perform such function shall make a reasonable attempt to
identify himself to the customer or any other responsible person then upon the premises and shall announce
the purpose of his presence and shall make a record thereof to be maintained for at least thirty (30) days.
(2) The employee shall have in his possession information sufficient to enable him to inform the
customer or other responsible person of the reason for disconnection, including the amount of any
delinquent bill of the customer, and shall request from the customer any available verification that
the outstanding bill has been satisfied or is currently in dispute pursuant to review under Rule 16.1
(B) [H70IAC61173B) 170 TAC 16-1-5]. Upon the presentation of such credible evidence,
service shall not be disconnected.
(3) The employee shall not be required to accept payment from the customer or other responsible
person in order to prevent the service from being disconnected. The utility shall notify its
customers pursuant to Rule 16.2 [170 IAC 6-1-18] of its policy with regard to the acceptance or
non-acceptance of payment by such employee, and shall uniformly follow such policy without
discrimination.
(4) When the employee has disconnected the service, he shall give to a responsible person at the
customer's premises, or if no one is at home, shall leave at a conspicuous place on the premises, a
notice stating that service has been disconnected and stating the address and telephone number of
the utility where the customer may arrange to have service reconnected.



(G) Reconnection. (1) A utility may charge a reasonable reconnection charge, not to exceed the charge
approved by the commission in the utility's filed tariffs. A utility shall inform its customers of such
reconnection fee pursuant to Rule 16.2 [170 IAC 6-1-18].
(2) If the utility disconnects service in violation of these rules /170 IAC 6-1], the service shall
immediately be restored at no charge to the customer.
(3) The utility must reconnect the service to the customer as soon as reasonably possible but at
least within one (1) working day after it is requested to do so; provided however, that the utility
shall not be required to reconnect the service until
(a) the conditions, circumstances or practices which caused the disconnection have been
corrected;
(b) payment of all delinquent charges owed the utility by the customer and any deposit
authorized by these rules /770 IAC 6-1] has been made; and
(c) a responsible person is present in the premises to see that all water outlets are closed
to prevent damage from escaping water.

SECTION 7. 170 IAC 8.5-1-1 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 8.5-1-1 Definitions
Authority: I1C 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-47; IC 8-1-2-69; 1C 8-1-2-89
Affected: IC 8-1-2-1; IC 8-1-2-89

Sec. 1. (a) The definitions in this section, except where otherwise defined, and, where applicable, in IC 8-1-
2-1 apply throughout this article. _
(b) "Certificate of territorial authority” or "CTA" means the authority for a utility to operate within a
specified geographic area.
(¢) "commission" means the Indiana utility regulatory commission.
(d) "customer” means any:

(1) person;

(2) firm;

(3) corporation;

(4) municipality; or

(5) other government agency;
that has agreed, orally or otherwise, to pay for sewage disposal service rendered by a sewage disposal
company, provided that, for the purposes of 170 IAC 8.5-2-3 through 170 IAC 8:5-2-5 8.5-2-4, the term
shall be limited to mean persons who have agreed to pay for such service exclusively for residential
purposes.
(e) "Disconnection” means the termination or discontinuance of sewage disposal service.
(f) "Late payment charge” means the one-time penalty assessed by a sewage disposal company upon all
current bills at such time as they become delinquent.
(g) "Lateral sewer" means sewerage pipe owned, operated, or maintained by a sewage disposal company
that is used to transport sewage. The term does not include service pipe.
(h) "NARUC" refers to the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.
(1) "NARUC Uniform System of Accounts" means the rules and regulations governing the classification of
accounts applicable to a utility as: '

(1) developed by the NARUC; and

(2) adopted by reference by the commission for Indiana utilities.
(j) "Premises” means a tract of land or real estate, including buildings and other appurtenances thereon.
(k) "Service pipe" means the pipe that:

(1) runs from the customer's premises to the lateral sewer; and

(2) receives sewage from the customer's premises.
(1) "Sewage disposal company” means any:

(1) natural person;

(2) firm;

(3) association;

(4) corporation; or

(5) partnership;




owning, leasing, or operating any sewage disposal service within the rural areas of this state.
(m) "Sewage disposal service" means any utility service whereby liquid and solid waste, sewage, night soil,
and industrial waste within the limitations of section 2(c) of this rule of any single territorial area is
collected, treated, purified, and disposed of in a sanitary manner. The term includes all of the following:

(1) Sewage treatment plants.

(2) Main sewers.

(3) Submain sewers.

(4) Local or lateral sewers, or both.

(5) Intercepting sewers. '

(6) Outfall sewers force mains.

(7) Pumping stations.

(8) Ejector stations.

(9) Other equipment and appurtenances necessary or useful and convenient for the rendition of the

service.

SECTION 8. 170 1AC 8.5-2-4 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 8.5-2-4 Disconnection of services
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-47; IC 8-1-2-69; IC 8-1-2-89
Affected: IC 8-1-1-3

Sec. 4. (a) Without Customer's Request.
(1) A company may disconnect service without request by the customer and without prior notice

only:

(A) If a condition dangerous or hazardous to life, physical safety or property exists; or
(B) Upon order by any court, the commission or other duly authorized public authority;
or

(C) If fraudulent or unauthorized use of sewage disposal service is detected and the
company has reasonable grounds to believe the affected customer is responsible for such
use; or

(D) If the company's regulating or measuring equipment has been tampered with and the
company has reasonable grounds to believe that the affected customer is responsible for
such tampering. ;

(2) In all other instances, a sewage utility upon providing the customer with proper notice (as
defined in Rule 16(E) [subsection (d) of this section]) may disconnect service subject to the other
provisions of these rules [170 IAC 8.5].

(b) Prohibited Disconnection.
(1) Except as otherwise provided in Rule 16(B) /subsection (a) of this section], a sewage disposal
company shall postpone the disconnection of service for ten (10) days if, prior to the disconnect
date specified in the disconnect notice, the customer provides the company with a medical
statement from a licensed physician or public health official which states that a disconnection
would be a serious and immediate threat to the health or safety of a designated person in the
household of the customer. The postponement of disconnection shall be centinued for one
additional ten (10) day period upon the provision of an additional such medical statement.
(2) A company may not disconnect service to the customer:

(A) Upon his failure to pay for the service rendered at a different metering point,
residence, or location if such bill has remained unpaid for less than forty-five (45) days;
(B) Upon his failure to pay for services to a previous occupant of premises to be served,
unless the company has good reason to believe the customer is attempting to defraud the
company by using another name;

(C) Upon his failure to pay for a different form or class of sewage disposal service, or

(D) If the customer shows cause for his inability to pay the full amount due (financial
hardship shall constitute cause), and said customer:

(i) Pays a reasonable portion {not to exceed $10 or one tenth (1/10) of the biil, whichever
is less, unless the customer agrees to a greater portion) of the bill; and

(ii) Agrees to pay the remainder of the outstanding bill within three (3) months; and
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(111) Agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due; and
(iv) Has not breached any similar agreement with the utility made pursuant to this rule
[170 I4C 8.5-2] within the past twelve months.
Provided, however that the company may add to the outstanding bill a late payment
charge not to exceed the amount set pursuant to Rule 13(B) /170 IAC 8.5-2-1(b)].
"Provided further, that the above terms of the agreement shall be put in writing by the
company and signed by the customer and by a representative of the company. Only one
late payment charge may be made to the customer under this section.
(E) If a customer is unable to pay a bill, which is unusually large due to prior incorrect
reading of the water meter, incorrect application of the rate schedule, incorrect
connection or functioning of the water meter, prior estimates where no actual reading was
taken for over two months, stopped or slow water meter, or any human or mechanical
error of the sewage disposal company, and the customer:
(i) Pays a reasonable portion of the bill, not to exceed an amount equal to the customer's
average bill for the twelve (12) bills immediately preceding the bill in question; and
(11) Agrees to pay the remainder at a reasonable rate, and
(1i1) Agrees to pay all undisputed future bills for service as they become due;Provided,
however, that the company may not add to the outstanding bill any late fee. Provided,
further, that the above terms of the agreement shall be put in writing by the company and
~ signed by the customer and a representative of the company.
(3) If a customer proceeds with a review pursuant to Rule 16.1(B) [£20-HA4C-85-2-5¢8) 170 IAC
16-1-5], the sewage disposal company may disconnect only as provided in Rule 16.1(C) [##0-14€
8&5-2-5¢e)} 170 IAC 16-1-7].
(c) Time.
(1) No sewage utility may disconnect service unless it is done between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and
3:00 P.M., prevailing local time. Disconnections pursuant to Rule 16(B) [subsection (a) of this
section] are not subject to this limitation.
(2) A company may not disconnect service for non-payment on any day on which the company
office is closed to the public, or after twelve noon (12:00 noon) of the day immediately preceding
any day on which the company office is not open to the public.
(d) Notice Required Prior to Involuntary Disconnection.
(1) Except as otherwise provided herein, service to any residential customer shall not be
disconnected for a violation of any rule or regulation of a sewage disposal company or for the non-
payment of a bill, except after seven (7) days prior written notice to such customer by either:
(A) Mailing the notice to such residential customer at the address shown on the records of
the utility; or,
(B) Personal delivery of the notice to the residential customer or a responsible member of
his household at the address shown on the records of the sewage utility.
(C) No disconnect notice for non-payment may be rendered prior to the date on which the
account becomes delinquent.
(2) The notice must be in language which is clear, concise, and easily understandable to a layman
and shall state in separately numbered large type or printed paragraphs:
(A) The date of proposed disconnection;
(B) The specific actual basis and reason for the proposed disconnection;
(C) The telephone number of the sewage disposal company office at which the customer
may call during the regular business hours in order to question the proposed
disconnection or seek information concerning his rights;
(D) A reference to the pamphlet or the copy of the rules furnished to the customer
pursuant to Rule 16.2 [/170 IAC 8.5-2-6] for information as to the customer's rights.
(e) Procedure for Involuntary Disconnection.
(1) Immediately preceding the actual disconnection of service, the employee of the sewage
disposal company designated to perform such function shall make a reasonable attempt to identify
himself to the customer or any other responsible person then upon the premises and shall make a
record thereof to be maintained for at least thirty (30) days.
(2) The employee shall have in his possession information sufficient to enable him to inform the
customer or other responsible person of the reason for disconnection, including the amount of any
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delinquent bill of the customer, and shall request from the customer any available verification that
the outstanding bill has been satisfied or is currently in dispute pursuant to review under Rule
16.1(B) [+7044E€-8-5-2-5¢b)} 170 IAC 16-1-5]. Upon the presentation of such credible evidence,
service shall not be disconnected.
(3) The employee shall not be required to accept payment from the customer or other responsible
person in order to prevent the service from being disconnected. The sewage disposal company
shall notify its customers pursuant to Rule 16.2 /170 IAC 8.5-2-6] of its policy with regard to the
acceptance or non-acceptance of payment by such employee, and shall uniformly follow such
policy without discrimination.
(4) When the employee has disconnected the service, he shall give to a responsible person at the
customer's premises, or if no one is at home, shall leave at a conspicuous place on the premises, a
notice stating that service has been disconnected and stating the address and telephone number of
the company where the customer may arrange to have service reconnected.
(f) Reconnection.
(1) A sewage disposal company may charge a reasonable reconnection charge, not to exceed the
charge approved by the commission in the company's filed tariffs, to compensate the company for
the costs of disconnecting and reconnecting the service. The company shall inform its customers
of such reconnection charge pursuant to Rule 16.2 /170 IAC 8.5-2-6] .
(2) If the company disconnects service in violation of the rules, the service shall immediately be
restored at no charge to the customer.
(3) The company must reconnect the service to the customer as soon as reasonably possible but at
least within five (5) working days after requested if conditions permit; provided however, that the
company shall not be required to reconnect the service until:
(A) The conditions, circumstances or practices which caused the disconnection have been
corrected; and
(B) Payment of all delinquent and reconnection charges owed the utility by the customer
and any deposit authorized by these rules /170 IAC 8.5] has been made.

SECTION 9. 170 1AC 8.5-2-6 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 8.5-2-6 Information to applicants and customers
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-47; IC 8-1-2-69; IC 8-1-2-89
Affected: IC 8-1-1-3

Sec. 6. Information Provided by Sewage Disposal Companies to Applicants and Customers. (a) All sewage
disposal companies must publish and distribute, without request, to all applicants for service and to all
current customers, a copy of Rules 11 to 16.2 [170 IAC 8.5-2-1; 170 IAC 8.5-2-2; 170 IAC 8.5-2-3; 170
IAC 8.5-2-4; 17014C-85-2-5: 170 IAC 8.5-2-6; 170 IAC 16-1-3] inclusive of these rules.
(b) A sewage disposal company shall supply free of charge a copy of the rate schedules applicable to the
types of service available to new applicants for and existing customers of residential service, upon request
by the applicant or customer.
(c) Each sewage disposal company whenever it petitions the commission for a change in any of its base rate
schedules must furnish within forty-five (45) days of such request and prior to the date of the public
hearing a notice which fairly summarizes the nature and extent of the proposed changes.
(d) System Maps or Records. Each sewage disposal company shall maintain up-to-date maps, plans or
records of its entire force main and collection systems, with such other information as may be necessary to
enable the company to advise prospective customers, and others entitled to the information, as to the
facilities available for serving any locality.
(e) Persons to Contact. Each sewage disposal company shall file with the commission the name, title,
address, and telephone number of the person who should be contacted in connection with:

(1) General management duties

(2) Customer relations (complaints)

(3) Engineering operations

(4) Emergencies during non-office hours
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SECTION 10. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 1, IS AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

Rule 1. Customer Complaints

170 IAC 16-1-1 Scope and Applicability, and Definitions
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5
Affected:

Sec. 1. (a) This Article implements the authority of the Indiana utility regulatory commission under
IC 8-1-2-34.5.

(b) This Article applies to any utility subject to the Indiana utility regulatory commission’s
jurisdiction that offers gas, electric, water or sewage disposal services.

(¢)The procedures for the resolution of customer complaints involving telephone utilities can be
found in 170 IAC 7.

SECTION 11. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 2, 1S AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 16-1-2 Definitions
Authority: I1C 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5
Affected:

Sec. 2. (a) Where applicable, terms used in this rule shall have the meaning assigned to them in IC
8-1-2-1.

(1) As used in this rule, “consumer affairs” means the consumer affairs division of the
commission.

(2) As used in this rule, “customer” means any person, firm, corporation, municipality, or
government agency who has agreed to pay for service from a utility, or a person authorized
under a valid power of attorney to act on another person’s or the entity’s behalf.

(3) As used in this rule, “utility” means electric utilities, gas utilities, water utilities and sewage
disposal services.

(4) As used in this rule, “commission” means the Indiana utility regulatory commission.

SECTION 12. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 3, 1S AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 16-1-3 Customer dispute process; time periods
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5
Affected:

Sec. 3. (a) Disputes regarding any utility service or billing matter that have not been resolved at the
utility level may constitute a complaint and may be resolved through the following process:

(1) A customer may appeal a utility’s proposed resolution of a dispute by filing an informal
complaint with consumer affairs in accordance with section 5.

(2) A customer or utility may request commission review of a consumer affairs decision in
accordance with section 6.
(b) In computing any period of time prescribed or allowed by these rules, the day of the act from
which the designated period of time begins to run shall not be included. The last day of the period so
computed is to be included unless it is:

(1) a Saturday;

(2) a Sunday;

(3) alegal holiday as defined by state statute, or

(4) a day that the utility or commission office in which the act is to occur is closed during

regular business hours.
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(c) The period of time runs until the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, a Sunday, a legal
holiday, or a day on which the office is closed.

SECTION 13. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 4, IS AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 16-1-4 Disputes; utility responsibilities
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5
Affected:

Sec. 4. (a) A utility shall provide the following means for customers to bring disputes to its attention:
(1) by telephone;
(2) in writing;
(3) through the utility’s website;
(4) at the utility’s business office; or
(5) by any other method made available by the utility.
(b) The utility shall retain records of disputes received under this rule and the resolutions thereof for
a period of six (6) months from the date of final resolution of the dispute under this rule and the
records shall include, at a minimum, the following information:
(1) the customer’s name;
(2) the customer’s service address;
(3) the telephone number at which the customer may be contacted, if such number is available;
(4) the customer’s account number; and
(5) the general nature of the dispute.
(c) A utility shall take the following action with regard to each dispute:
(1) inform customer that any portion of a bill which is undisputed must be paid by the date due
stated on the bill in order to avoid disconnection of service in accordance with section 7;
(2) investigate the matter promptly and thoroughly; :
(3) make a good faith effort to resolve the matter;
(4) advise the customer of utility’s proposed resolution by telephone, written notice mailed to
customer’s billing address, e-mail, or other means reasonably calculated to reach the customer;
(5) advise the customer that if he or she is not satisfied with the utility’s proposed resolution, the
customer may submit an informal complaint to consumer affairs within seven (7) days of the date
the proposed resolution is rendered; and
(6) offer to provide the customer with the following consumer affairs contact information:
(A) mailing address;
(B) toll free complaint number; and
(C) local telephone number.
(7) A utility shall make records available upon request by the commission once an informal
complaint has been submitted.
(d) Each utility shall annually submit a report to the commission which shall state and classify the
number of complaints made to the utility pursuant to 170 IAC 16-1-3, the general nature of the
subject matter thereof, how received (in person, by letter, etc.) and whether a commission review was
conducted thereon.

SECTION 14. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 5, IS AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 YAC 16-1-5 Consumer affairs review of utility’s proposed resolution; consumer affairs’
responsibilities

Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5

Affected:

Sec. 5. (a) If a customer is dissatisfied with a utility’s proposed resolution of a dispute, customer may

appeal the proposed resolution to consumer affairs by submitting an informal complaint. A
complaint must be submitted under this section within seven (7) days of the date customer receives
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utility’s proposed resolution. At its discretion, consumer affairs may waive the time limitation for
good cause. A complaint shall be considered submitted upon receipt by consumer affairs.
(b) A customer may file a complaint with consumer affairs in the following ways:

(1) by telephone;

(2) in writing; or

(3) by completing a form available at the commission’s office and on the commission’s website.

(c) Upon receipt of a complaint, consumer affairs shall take the following action:

(1) provide the utility a copy of the complaint if in writing, or a summary of the complaint if not in
writing and provide the utility an opportunity to respond

(2) conduct an informal review consisting of not less than a prompt and thorough investigation of
-the disputed facts of the complaint;

(3) to the extent that consumer affairs may deem necessary to ensure the accuracy and
completeness of the consumer affairs record, meet with the parties or require additional information
or documentation from the parties, to which parties must respond within fourteen (14) days unless
otherwise directed by consumer affairs;

(4) preserve in a systematic order all information and decumentation received and generated
during the review, and the consumer affairs decision, which shall comprise the consumer affairs
record and be made readily available to the parties for inspection and copying upon request;

(5) render a decision to customer and utility within thirty (30) days of the complaint submission
date, except that if the complexity of issues or circumstances involved in a complaint require
additional time, consumer affairs shall notify parties within thirty (30) days of the complaint
submission date that additional time is required.

(d) If a customer or utility is dissatisfied with the consumer affairs resolution of the informal
complaint, either party may request a review by the director of consumer affairs or director’s
designee, within seven (7) days of the date consumer affairs renders the proposed resolution of the
informal complaint.

(e)Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, consumer affairs may refer a complaint to the
commission for review at any time during the review process based on the complexity of issues or
circumstances involved in a complaint as determined by the director of consumer affairs or
director’s designee.

SECTION 15. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 6, IS AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 IAC 16-1-6 Request for commission review of consumer affairs decision
Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5
Affected:

Sec. 6. (a) Either party may request commission review of the consumer affairs’ decision pursuant to
IC 8-1-2-34.5 within twenty (20) days from the date the director of consumer affairs’ or director’s
designee’s decision is rendered. A request under this section must be in writing and shall be
considered filed upon receipt by the commission.

(b) Upon receiving a request for commission review, the commission shall provide a copy of the
request to the opposing party and the office of the utility consumer counselor (“OUCC”) within seven
(7) days from the date the review is requested. The non-requesting party and the QUCC shall be
permitted to file an answer within the timeframes provided in 170 IAC 1-1.1-10(c).

(¢) Commission review of a consumer affairs decision shall be reasonably limited to the matters
raised in the request for review and the answer, and to a review of the consumer affairs record as
compiled during the review conducted pursuant to section 5, or as otherwise determined by the
presiding officer
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SECTION 16. 170 IAC, AS ADDED AT, SECTION 7, IS AMENDED BY ADDING A NEW ARTICLE
TO READ AS FOLLOWS:

170 JAC 16-1-7 Continuation of service during complaint process; payment of undisputed charges;
disconnection for nonpayment; determining payment amount

Authority: IC 8-1-1-3; IC 8-1-2-34.5

Affected:

Sec. 7. (a) If a customer receiving service has paid and continues to pay all undisputed charges, the
utility shall not disconnect any service related to the disputed charges:

(1) while the utility’s proposed resolution is under review by consumer affairs or the commission;
or

(2) sooner than ten (10) days after a decision by consumer affairs or the commission;

(b) If a customer and utility cannot agree what portion of the charges in a bill is undisputed, to avoid
disconnection, the customer should pay on the disputed bill an amount equal to one-twelfth (1/12) of
the estimated annual billing for service to be rendered to customer. For a customer who has been a
customer for at least twelve months, the estimate will be based on the customer’s average bill for the
twelve (12) months immediately preceding the disputed bill.

SECTION 17. THE FOLLOWING ARE REPEALED: 170 IAC 4-1-17; 170 IAC 5-1-17; 170 1AC 6-1-17,
170 IAC 8.5-2-5.
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