The effects of tobacco may take years to destroy a person’s health, but one burning cigarette butt could start a massive fire in just seconds. The Indiana State Police reminds all Hoosiers that throwing burning material from any moving vehicle is illegal and it can cost you a fine of up to $10,000.
• The 2011 American State Litter Scorecard ranked Indiana as the 45th worst state for littering.
• Tobacco products, mostly cigarette butts, are the most littered item on U.S. roadways (38%).
• It takes 10 to 12 years for a cigarette butt to decompose. The cigarette butt you throw out of your car window could be on the road longer than the car it’s thrown out of. Literally.
Easy things motorists can do:
• Use a car ashtray or portable ashtray to dispose of cigarette butts, ashes, and lighting material.
• Keep a litter bag in your vehicle.
• Do not throw any litter out of vehicle windows.
Not so easy thing motorists can do:
• Quit smoking.
Smoking is legal, but depending on what county you live in, burning may not be. Due to severely dry weather conditions many counties have issued burn bans. Check the status of your county by visiting http://www.in.gov/dhs/files/burn-ban/.