
TITLE 410 INDIANA STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
 

Proposed Rule 
LSA Document # 12-268 

 
DIGEST 

 
Adds 410 IAC 15-5 to establish the license fees for hospitals, ambulatory outpatient 

surgical centers, abortion clinics, and birthing centers.  Effective date January 1, 2013. 
 
410 IAC 15-5 
 

SECTION 1.  410 IAC 15-5-1 IS ADDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS: 
 
Rule 5. License Fees for Hospitals, Ambulatory Outpatient Surgical Centers, Abortion 
Clinics, and Birthing Centers 
 
410 IAC 15-5-1 Hospital license fees 

Authority: IC 16-21-2-12; IC 16-21-2-14 
Affected: IC 16-21-1; IC 16-21-2; IC 16-21-6-3 

 
Sec. 1. (a) Each hospital licensed under IC 16-21-2 and 410 IAC 15 shall pay a license 

fee or annual renewal fee. 
(b) An application for a hospital license must be accompanied by a licensing fee at the 

rate set in the fee schedule in this subsection. Annual renewal fees will be due upon 
application, as provided by 410 IAC 15-1.3, for an annual renewal of a hospital's license 
based upon total operating expenses as reported to the state department of health on the 
most recently filed hospital fiscal report (State Form 49520) required by IC 16-21-6-3. The 
fee schedule shall be as follows:  
 
Total Operating Expenses 

 
 
Fee  

0 – $49,999,999 
 
$1,000  

$50,000,000 – $99,999,999 
 
$2,000  

$100,000,000 – $199,999,999 
 
$3,000  

$200,000,000 – $299,999,999 
 
$4,000  

$300,000,000 and above 
 
$5,000 

(Indiana State Department of Health; 410 IAC 15-5-1) 
 
410 IAC 15-5-2 Ambulatory outpatient surgical center license fees 

Authority: IC 16-21-2-12; IC 16-21-2-14 
Affected: IC 16-21-1; IC 16-21-2 

 
Sec. 2. (a) Each ambulatory outpatient surgical center licensed under IC 16-21-2 and 

410 IAC 15 shall pay a license fee or annual renewal fee. 
(b) Ambulatory outpatient surgical center license fees will be due upon initial 

application for and annual renewal of the ambulatory outpatient surgical center's license 



based upon total annual procedures performed as reported to the state department of health 
in section III, total patients and procedures, on the annual utilization review report (State 
Form 49933). The fee schedule shall be as follows:  
 
Total Annual Procedures 

 
 
Fee  

0 – 799 
 
$500  

800 – 3,499 
 
$1,000  

3,500 – 6,999 
 
$2,000  

7,000 and above 
 
$3,000 

(Indiana State Department of Health; 410 IAC 15-5-2) 
 
410 IAC 15-5-3 Abortion clinic license fees 

Authority: IC 16-21-2-12; IC 16-21-2-14 
Affected: IC 16-21-1; IC 16-21-2 

 
Sec. 3. (a) Each abortion clinic licensed under IC 16-21-2 and 410 IAC 26 shall pay a 

license fee or annual renewal fee. 
(b) An application for an abortion clinic license must be accompanied by a licensing 

fee at the rate set in the fee schedule in this subsection. Annual renewal fees will be due upon 
application for renewal of license, as provided by 410 IAC 26-2, based upon total annual 
surgical abortion procedures performed as reported to the state department of health on the 
terminated pregnancy report (State Form 36526). The fee schedule shall be as follows: 
 
Total Annual Surgical Abortion Procedures  

 
Fee 

0 – 799  $500 
800 – 3,499  $1,000 
3,500 – 6,999  $2,000 
7,000 and above  $3,000 
(Indiana State Department of Health; 410 IAC 15-5-3) 
 
410 IAC 15-5-4 Birthing center license fees 

Authority: IC 16-21-2-12; IC 16-21-2-14 
Affected: IC 16-21-1; IC 16-21-2 

 
Sec. 4. (a) Each birthing center licensed under IC 16-21-2 and 410 IAC 27 shall pay a 

license fee or annual renewal fee. 
(b) An application for a birthing center license must be accompanied by a licensing 

fee at the rate set in the fee schedule in this subsection. Annual renewal fees will be due upon 
application for renewal of license, as provided by 410 IAC 27-2, upon total annual births as 
reported to the state department of health on the most recently filed annual birthing center 
report (State Form 52236). The fee schedule shall be as follows: 
 
Total Annual Deliveries  

 
Fee 

0 – 799  $500 
800 – 3,499  $1,000 



3,500 – 6,999  $2,000 
7,000 and above  $3,000 
(Indiana State Department of Health; 410 IAC 15-5-4) 
 
 
  


