- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

  • Business & Agriculture
  • Residents
  • Government
  • Education
  • Taxes & Finance
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Family & Health

Indiana State Department of Health

Trauma System/Injury Prevention Program Home > Trauma Centers Trauma Centers

 Click to subscribe

"In the Process of ACS Verification" Trauma Centers

Hospitals in Indiana that are working on becoming a verified trauma center can apply to become "In the Process of ACS Verification" trauma center status for purposes of the Triage and Transport Rule.  Currently there are eight "In the Process" trauma centers in Indiana:

Trauma Center Name Location Adult Designation Pediatric Designation
Community Hospital of Anderson & Madison Anderson Level III
Franciscan St. Elizabeth - East Lafayette Level III

Franciscan St. Anthony Health-Crown Point

Crown Point Level III
Good Samaritan Hospital Vincennes Level III
Methodist Hospital - Northlake Campus Gary Level III

Reid Health

Richmond  Level III 

Terre Haute Regional

Terre Haute Level II 

Union Hospital-Terre Haute

Terre Haute Level III 

Verified Trauma Centers

Indiana relies upon the American College of Surgeons — Committee on Trauma (ACS-COT) to verify trauma centers.  Currently there are twelve verified trauma centers in Indiana:

Trauma Center Name Location Adult Designation Pediatric Designation
Deaconess Hospital Evansville Level II
Eskenazi Health Indianapolis Level I
IU Health Arnett Hospital Lafayette Level III
IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital Muncie Level III
IU Health Methodist Hospital Indianapolis Level I
Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health Indianapolis Level I
Lutheran Hospital of Indiana Fort Wayne Level II Level II
Memorial Hospital South Bend South Bend Level II
Parkview Regional Medical Center Fort Wayne Level II Level II
St. Mary's Medical Center of Evansville Evansville Level II

Level II

St. Vincent Anderson Regional Hospital Anderson Level III

St. Vincent Indianapolis Hospital

Indianapolis  Level I  

Locations of ACS Verified and "In the Process of ACS Verified" Trauma Centers in Indiana

Public Health Preparedness Districts in Indiana

Rural Trauma Team Development Course Information

The Rural Trauma Team Development Course (RTTDC) emphasizes the important role of smaller, often rural, non-trauma hospitals in the overall state trauma system.  The RTTDC program covers key concepts in the triage of trauma patients, including the decision whether the hospital can meet the patient’s needs or needs to transfer the patient to a trauma center.  Understanding everyone’s role in a statewide trauma system is crucial in providing good care to trauma patients, especially in light of the fact that at least 60% of all trauma deaths occur in areas where only 25% of the population lives.

If your facility is interested in participating in the RTTDC program with a nearby trauma center, please contact the ISDH (Katie Hokanson at 317.234.2865 or ) or your nearest trauma center:

Deaconess Hospital
Jill Swearer
Trauma Program Manager

Eskenazi Health
Sherri Marley
Clinical Educator, Trauma Services

IU Health – Methodist Hospital
Jill Castor, RN
Injury Prevention Coordinator

Lutheran Hospital
Annette Chard
Trauma Program Manager

Memorial Hospital South Bend
Dusten Roe
Director of Trauma Services 

Parkview Hospital
Lisa Hollister
Trauma Program Manager

St. Mary’s Hospital
Lisa Gray
Director of Trauma Services

St. Vincent's Hospital - Indianapolis
Judi Holsinger
Trauma Injury Prevention, Education & Outreach Coordinator

Contact Information

Katie Hokanson
Director, Division of Trauma and Injury Prevention

Email Updates

Please enter your e-mail address to sign up for updates about hospitals engaged in the trauma system or to access your subscriber preferences.