IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana State Department of Health

Environmental Public Health Home > Lead & Healthy Homes Program > Lead and Healthy Homes Program Professional Licensing Lead and Healthy Homes Program Professional Licensing

Lead Professional Licensing

Indiana law requires that any person who engages in lead-based paint activities must first obtain a license from ISDH for each activity. “Lead-based paint activities” means the inspection, risk assessment, and abatement of lead-based paint in target housing and child-occupied facilities. The term includes project design and supervision.

Who Needs a Lead-Based Paint License?
What Kinds of Licenses are Available?
How Do I Apply for a License?
How Do I Renew a License?
How Do Get a Duplicate License?
Where Do I Get Training?
How to Become A Training Course Provider?
Where Do I Obtain More Licensing Information?

Who Needs a Lead-Based Paint License?

Anyone who conducts lead-based paint activities must be licensed. Such activities include:

  • Inspection for lead based paint
  • Risk assessment for lead hazards
  • Clearance examination following lead abatement
  • Abatement of lead-based paint
  • Project design, supervision, and work in abatement projects

Licenses are issued only after an applicant has successfully completed course certification by an accredited training facility and has passed the licensing examination administered by the ISDH. A separate license is required for each of the authorized lead disciplines. All licenses must be renewed every three (3) years by successfully completing refresher training approved by the ISDH.

What Kinds of Licenses are Available?

Risk Assessor License

A Risk Assessor conducts on-site investigations to determine the existence, nature, severity, and location of lead-based paint hazards; and provides a written report explaining the results of the investigation and options for reducing lead-based paint hazards. A Risk Assessor may also sample for the presence of lead in dust and soil for the purposes of abatement clearance testing.
License Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 49240 Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • High school or general equivalency diploma (GED) and three (3) years of related experience (with lead, asbestos, or environmental remediation or construction); or,
  • Associate degree and two (2) years related experience; or,
  • Bachelor's degree and (1) year of related experience.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Inspector training course (a minimum of 24 hours)
  • Complete the approved Risk Assessor training course (a minimum of 16 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Risk Assessor certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Inspector certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Risk Assessor licensing exams administered by ISDH.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Inspector licensing exams administered by ISDH.

Lead Inspector License

A Lead Inspector conducts a surface-by-surface investigation to determine the presence of lead-based paint; and provides a written report explaining the results of the inspection. A Lead Inspector may also sample for the presence of lead in dust and soil for the purposes of abatement clearance testing.
License Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 49240 Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • High school or general equivalency diploma (GED)

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Inspector training course (initial course a minimum of 24 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Inspector certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the third party Lead Inspector licensing exam administered by ISDH.

Project Supervisor License

A Lead Supervisor oversees abatement activities, prepares occupant protection plans, and reports on abatement activities.
License Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 49240 Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • One year of experience as a licensed lead-based paint abatement worker; or,
  • Two years of experience in a related field such as lead, asbestos, or environmental remediation, or construction.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Supervisor training course (initial course a minimum of 32 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Supervisor certification exam as administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the third party Lead Supervisor licensing exam administered by ISDH.

Contractor License

Contractors perform to which the department has issued a license to perform lead-based paint abatement activities conducted for compensation. The applicant must have a Lead Designated Representative from the company.
License Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 48739 Application for Lead Contractor License

State Form 50745 Application Checksheet for Lead Contractor

State Form 49150 Notification of Lead Abatement Activities

Education/ Experience

  • One year of experience as a licensed lead-based paint abatement worker; or,
  • Two years experience in a related field such as lead, asbestos, environmental remediation or work in the construction trades.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Supervisor training course (initial course a minimum of 32 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Supervisor certification exam administered by the training course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the third party Lead Supervisor licensing exam administered by ISDH.

Project Designer License

A Project Designer prepares abatement project designs, occupant protection plans, and abatement reports.
License Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 49240 Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • Bachelor's degree in engineering, architecture, or a related professional field; and,
  • One year of experience in building construction design or a related field; or,
  • Four years of experience in building construction design or a related field.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Supervisor training course (initial course a minimum of 32 hours).
  • Complete the approved Project Designer training course (initial course a minimum of 8 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Supervisor certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Project Designer certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Supervisor licensing exams administered by ISDH.
  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Project Designer licensing exams administered by ISDH.

Worker License

A Lead Worker performs abatement activities using lead safe work practices.

Application

State Form 49240  Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • Not applicable.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Lead Worker training course (initial course a minimum of 16 hours).

 

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Lead Worker certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • A Lead Worker license does not require a licensing examination by ISDH.

 

Clearance Examiner
License

A Clearance Examiner conducts a visual examination and collects dust wipe samples for the purpose of establishing proper completion of interim controls of lead hazards. The person interprets sample results, determines whether the unit passes, and produces a written report of the findings. Note that a Clearance Examination can be conducted by a licensed Lead Inspector or a licensed Risk Assessor.
Fee: $150. License Term: three (3) years.

Application

State Form 49240 Application for Individual Lead License

Education/ Experience

  • Not applicable.

Training Disciplines

  • Complete the approved Clearance Examiner training course (initial course a minimum of 5 hours).

Examination

  • Passing score of at least 70 percent on the Clearance Examiner certification exam administered by the course provider.
  • A Clearance Examiner license does not require a licensing examination by ISDH.


How Do I Apply for a License?

Once the certification course is successfully completed, a separate application for each license is sent to the Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH). The application form for licenses is available at:

State Form 49240  Application for Individual Lead License

When required, the applicant must also register to take the third-party examination administered by ISDH.  Registration is completed with the form:

State Form 50748 Registration Form for Lead-Based Paint Third-Party Examinations

The licensing exam will be scheduled for the next available date on the ISDH schedule.  Exams are given approximately twice per month. Tests are administered at the Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH), 2 North Meridian, Indianapolis, IN 46204. (Other testing locations may be available in the future.) Applicants will be notified with details of the testing time and place as the application is processed.

A score of seventy percent (70%) is passing. ISDH will issue a license through the Indiana Public Licensing Agency (IPLA). IPLA mails the actual license document, tracks the status of licenses, and maintains the online public lists of licensees in each lead discipline. Reminders are sent to licensees by IPLA when the license is about to expire so that renewal applications can be made

The license application for each discipline, registration for the third-party exam, copies of the accredited training facility’s certification, and the application fee are mailed to:

Cashier’s Office
Indiana State Department of Health
PO Box 7236
Indianapolis, IN 46204

How Do I Renew a License?

To renew a license, the applicant must possess a license in the discipline up for renewal which has been valid within the previous six (6) months.  The applicant must successfully complete approved refresher training. For an Inspector, Risk Assessor, Supervisor, or Worker, the refresher training includes a minimum of 8 hours within the previous 36 months.  A minimum of 4 hours of refresher training within the previous 36 months is required for a Project Designer.

A license may not be renewed in the instance that forty-eight (48) months have elapsed between training courses for the same discipline.   

Refresher course training is most often conducted by an accredited training facility.  Additional opportunities for approved training will be communicated to licensees by ISDH. ISDH will consider approval of a licensee’s request for specific training to apply to the renewal requirements.

As with the original training, a refresher Lead Inspector course is required for Risk Assessors and a refresher Supervisor course is required for Project Designers.

To apply for the license renewal, license applications for each specific discipline, copies of the accredited training facility’s certification and the application fee are mailed to:

Cashier’s Office
Indiana State Department of Health
PO Box 7236
Indianapolis, IN 46204

How Do Get a Duplicate License?

A duplicate license is available upon request by completing the form available at:

State Form 50746  Application for Duplicate Lead License

A maximum of two duplicates will be issued in any calendar year.

Where Do I Get Training?

Prior to applying for a license you must successfully complete certification by an ISDH accredited training course in each applicable discipline.  The list and contact information for all of currently approved training providers is available online at:

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (IPLA)

Instructions: At this IPLA website complete the dropdown menus as follows:Profession: Lead License

Type: Lead Training Course Provider
License Status: Active

Contact the training facility directly to register for classes.

How to Become A Training Course Provider?

To become an approved training course provider the applicant must submit one application per license training discipline to be provided. The form used to apply is available at:

State Form 50747 Application for Lead-Based Paint Training Course Provider Approval

An organization wishing to become a training provider should first contact the Indiana Lead and Healthy Homes Program at 317.233.1250 for additional information.

The applicant organization will be required to provide information such as:

  • qualifications of the organization to conduct training;
  • a course curriculum;
  • the intended course fee per course discipline;
  • how the course curriculum meets the requirements of the Lead-based Paint Program, as well as EPA training requirements;
  • names and qualifications of the instructors;
  • copies of course certification examinations and an explanation as to how they were developed; and 
  • a list of states which have approved organization as a training facility.

The application(s) and other materials are submitted to: 

Cashier’s Office
Indiana State Department of Health
PO Box 7236
Indianapolis, IN 46204

The initial fee is $1000 per training discipline. Training course accreditation must be renewed every three years. The cost for renewal is $500 per course discipline.

Where do I Obtain More Licensing Information?

Additional information is available by calling the ISDH Lead and Healthy Homes Program at 317.233.1250 or the ISDH Family Helpline at 800.433.0746.

Detailed licensing regulations are available at  410 IAC 32-2 - Licensing

All state forms, including lead licensing forms, are available at the Indiana Commission on Public Records at:


http://www.in.gov/icpr/2362.htm