
                                                        

                 ASSOCIATION OF BOXING COMMISSIONS 
                  MMA JUDGES AND REFEREES CERTIFICATION COURSE 

                             Arkansas State Athletic Commission 
September 28 & 29, 2013 

 
Saturday, Sept. 28, 2013 
MMA JUDGES Course (a must for ref’s too)  

8:30am – 4pm  
 
Sunday, Sept. 29, 2013 
MMA REFEREE Course- 10am-3pm 

 
Examinations:  After Instruction on each day 

 
The MMA courses will be taught by none other than “Big” John McCarthy Those who obtain a score of 80% and 
higher will receive a certificate from the Association of Boxing Commissions noting that Basic MMA Certification 
has been achieved. The official’s name will also appear on www.asac.arkansas.gov as being certified. 
 
“Big” John McCarthy has refereed thousands ob bouts worldwide, including hundreds of Ultimate Fight Championships. (UFC)  H has also refereed 
for a diverse number of organizations globally including K-1 (Japan), Strikeforce, Affliction, Bellator, King of the Cage and others. Over the past 20 
years, John has served as a licensed referee in 21 states as well in many countries around the world.  McCarthy was the key figures in the writing of 
the Unified Rules for the sport of MMA, which is recognized by the ABC (Association of Boxing Commissions) of which the Arkansas State Athletic 
Commission is a member.    John  is  also a licensed Boxing Refeee, a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Black Blet, and was inducted into the Masters Hall of Fame 
in 2006 for “Outstanding Achievements in the Martial Arts” and was the first ever recipient of the 2008 World MMA Award “Lifetime Achievement.” 
 
The nickname of 'Big John' came about because of his stature. He stands 6'4" and weighs 270 lb; making him larger than the majority of the athletes 
over whom he presides. According to a UFC interview, the nickname was given to him by UFC co-founder and promoter Art Davie. McCarthy recalls 
that the nickname began when he forcibly lifted Davie off the ground and held him in the air.  

 

Please note, the Arkansas State Athletic Commission has amended its Rules and the 
Legislature has changed Statute 17-22-101 – 17-22-306 so that anyone who referees or 
judges a professional bout must have ABC certification.  The Course can be taken out of state 
(when offered, if instructor is one of the ABC certified instructors), but this will be the only 
course taught in Arkansas for the balance of 2013.   
 
Referees must be present for the Judge’s portion and ASAC highly recommends that judges 
stay for the referee class, although it is not required. Officials that are re-certifying are not 
required to Saturday’s class. The cost of the training is as follows:  
$100.00 per person if RECEIVED by ASAC by September 9, 2013 and, 

     LOCATION SET!! 

    Mariott, Little Rock 

   Formerly The Peabody 

https://mail.arkansas.gov/owa/redir.aspx?C=LbcCZW0gAkS12XCnjIn4s4oiS8H8ZtAIOqX3HYll8rYxif6olLJ_VAtI-xy7imKMTXBRsoelCzs.&URL=htt


$125.00 per person if entry is received 9/10 or later 
 
(Please note, these two classes are expected to fill up quickly.  Arkansas officials have 
priority attendance, but the Commission will open up the course nationwide after Sept. 9.   
The fact Arkansas has secured the world’s top instructor for such a nominal fee guarantees 
the FIFTY (50) class room spots will go quickly. The registration fee of $100.00 is for one or 
both classes.) 

 
A check or money order may be sent to the Arkansas State Athletic Commission, 415 N. 
McKinley, Suite 440, Little Rock, AR   72205  The check should be made payable to the 

Arkansas State Athletic Commission. 
 
Many hotels are located in the downtown area, and the Commission will try to secure a good 
room rate and if your registration is in, you will be notified of meeting rooms, exact times, 

and hotel contact information. 
 
The classes will be held at the Marriott, Little Rock (formerly The Peabody) located at #3 
Statehouse Plaza, Harris Brake Room (which has theatre seating!)  If you have any questions, 
contact Brandon Dawson at 501-687-1038 or email to:  Brandon.Dawson@arkansas.gov 
 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------cut along this line--------------------------------------------------------------- 

Registration is only complete when the Commission receives payment.  Class is expected to be full.  Include check or 

money order for $100 if application is received by Sept. 9 or $125 if received by ASAC Sept 10 or later.    Day of 

Registration; $125 

Name______________________________________________________ 

Email Address_______________________________________________ 

Regular Mail______________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone_______________________________________________________ 

_________I will take the MMA Judges’ Course on Saturday, Sept. 28 (times TBD, but plan on 8:30am-3pm).  This course 

is a must for the ref’s as well. 

_________I will take the MMA Referee’s Course on Sunday September 29 from approximately 10a-3pm 

Money order or check for $_________  (either $100 or $125, see above) included. 

Mail this form to:  Arkansas State Athletic Commission, 415 N. McKinley, Suite 440, Little Rock, AR   72205 

 

 

mailto:Brandon.Dawson@arkansas.gov

