Providence Jr./Sr. High School
Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility
9310 5. State Road 67

P.O. Box 900

Pendleton, IN 46064

Phone: (765} 778-3778 Fax: (765) 778-5430

5] INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION

Dear Parent/Guardian or Eligible Student:

This is to advise you that pursuant to the Federal "Family Educationai Rights and
Privacy Act of 1874" (FERPA), and its implementing regulations parents/guardians and
students under 18 years of age and students over 18 years of age {"eligible students")
are entitled to certain rights with respect to a student's education records. These rights
are set forth below:

1. Parents/Guardians and eligible students have a right fo inspect and review the
student's education records defined by law to include those records, files,
documents, and other materials which contain information directly related to the
student and are maintained by the facility. A parent/guardian or an eligible
student shall make a request for access to that student's education records, in
writing to the Supervisor of Education of the school at which the student is in
attendance. Upon receipt of such request, arrangements shall be made o
provide access to such records within a reasonable period of time, but in any
case, not more than forty-five (45) days after the reguest has been received.

2. Parent(s)/guardian(s) and eligible students are also entitled to challenge the
contents of such records, to ensure that they are not inaccurate, misleading, of
otherwise in violation of the privacy or other rights of the student, and to ask for
the correction or deletion of any such inaccurate misleading, or otherwise
inappropriate data contained therein. Parents/guardians and eligible students are
also entitled to notice of any decision by the school not ta amend a student's
education records as requested by the parent/guardian or eligible student, and of
their right to a hearing regarding the school’'s denial of a request for such an
amendment. Any questions concerning the procedure to be followed in making a
challenge and/or requesting a hearing should be directed to the

Director of Education
Indiana Department of Correction
IGCS #329
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204

3. Parents/guardians and eligible students have a right that student education
records, and any material contained therein which is personally identifiable, are
confidential and may not be released or made available to persons other than
parents/guardians or eligible students without the prior written consent of such
parents/ guardians or eligitle students except:
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a. As directory information unless the parent/guardian or eligible student objects
by October 1 of each school year. School student directory information includes
name, address, telephone listing, date and place of birth, and the name of the
educational agency or institution previously attended by the student.

Parents/Guardians and eligible students may refuse to let the school designate
any or all of the above information about the student as directory information. To
refuse the inciusion of the information fisted above a parent/guardian or eligible
student may inform, in writing, the supervisor of education of that refusal.

b. Upon request, this School shail disciose educational records without the
parents/guardians’ or eligible student’s consent to officials of another school
district in which a student intends to enroll. This school will not notify you of its
intention to forward educational records upon request.

¢c. Te individuals employed by the School or the Indiana Department of
Correction either as an administrator, supervisor, instructor, or support staff
member including health or medical staff, custody personnel, IDOC employees
when acting upon the behalf of the Department in the discharge of statutory
duties and responsibilities, and individuals with whom the School has contracied
to perform a special task (i.e., the school atiorney, auditor, medical consultant or
therapist) who have a legitimate educational need for access to such records. A
legitimate educational need for any of these individuals to access a student's
records without prior written consent of a parent/guardian or eligible student will
be deemed to exist only when it can be shown that such access and disclosure is
necessary and in accordance with the individual’'s job duties andfor
responsibilities whether statutory or contractual, or

d. As otherwise expressly permitted by law.

Parents/quardians and eligible students have a right to obtain a copy of the
school’s policy and accompanying regulation pertaining to the confidentiality of
student education records. A copy of said policy and regulation may be obtained
from the Supervisor of Education of the school at which the student is in

attendance.

it you feel that your rights under the "Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974
have been abridged as a resuit of alleged failures by the Indiana Department of
Correction to comply with the requirements of FERPA, you may file a complaint with the

U.S. Department of Education
Family Policy Compliance Office,
600 independence Avenue, S.W.

Washington, D.C. 20202-4605.

&

Yours fruly, :

e lAots.

Steve White
Supervisor of Education, PNJCF



TO: PARENT(S)/ GUARDIAN(S)
FROM: Tim Greathouse, Program Director
SUBJECT: ADMISSION AND ORIENTATION FPROCESS

Your son has been classified to the Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility. He will be residing in the
Admission and Orientation (A&Q) Unit for approximately one (1) week. During this period, he will be
participating in and completing an Orientation Program. The purpose of this process is to present him with
an understanding of the expectations for him and from the staff and programs at Pendleton Juvenile
Correctional Facility, He will receive a Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility handbook. Any student
who does not understand English will receive translations in his own language. If a literacy problem exists,
a staff member will assist him in understanding the orientation material.

The primary function of the Orlentation process is to ensure that the student and his parent(s)/guardian(s)
are informed of the process and have opportunities for asking questions and providing information. After
being introduced to the A&O Unit staff, he will receive information regarding the following:

Confidentiality,
Classification, re-classification and appeal process;
Juvenile Code of Coaduct;
Religion,
Cultural diversity;
Program modei;
Treatment Plan;
Treatment Team,;
Level System and Length of stay information;
Privileges and expectations;
School schedule;
Group schedule;
Recreation schedule;
Visitation schedule;
1. Approved visiting list;
2. Guidelines
Personal items/clothing;
Phone calls and mail;
Student rights and responsibilities;
Grievance procedure;
Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility evacuation plan;
Trafficking and contraband;
Zero tolerance for fighting, battery and STG activity;
1. Battery law and gang information sheet;
v, Physical force policy/procedure;
W, Lscape law;
X. Tort claims;
y. Public Defender information;
z. Temporary leave policy;
aa. Transition process;
bb. Parole and Discharge Process.

BECATOEE Mo o o

g0 e oo

He will be assigned 2 Psychiatric Social Service Specialist during his time in Admissions & Orientation
and you will be notified of the name and telephone number of this staff person. You are encouraged to
make contact with the Psychiatric Social Services Specialist if questions should arise.



Health Care Services personnel will also present the Health Care Services Orientation Program to ail new
arrivals. Material covered will include hygiene, cleanliness, appearance, sick call procedures, sexually
ransmitted diseases, universal precautions, and HIV/AIDS education.

During this fume, your son will be evaluated to determine his placement in the most appropriate programs
based on his needs, and in accordance with the mission and goals of the Pendleton Juvenile Correctional
Facitity. Included in this period will be various educational, psychosocial and medical/dental evaluations.
He will also be assessed for his recreational, spiritual, and vocational interests.

During the third week of the Orientation Process, vour son will appear at his first Treatment Team meeting
and before the Classification Comumnittee to determune his new Housing Unit. In addition, the Treatment
Team will determine the treatment, educational and programming needs that will be addressed during his
stay at Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility. You are invited and encouraged to attend this meeting.
After Classification, you will receive a letter from the Psychiatric Social Services Specialist in your son’s
newly assigned Unit. This letter will provide you with information regarding the Psychiatric Social
Services Specialist’s name, telephone number and hours of avatlability. You will also be advised of his
treatment, educational and progranuning needs and areas of focus. After he is meved to his new Unit, your
son will begin his treatment program immediately.

We at the Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility strongly encourage you to participate in your son’s
treatment programs. His Psychiatric Social Services Specialist will maintain regular contact with you
during his stay here. Regular visitation is an important component of this process. You will be required to
participate in a parent/guardian orientation sessien prior fo your first visit. These Parent Orientation
sessions are offered beginning Saturday, February 4, 2006 every other Saturday starting at 8:38
AM. and beginning 02-13-06 every other Monday at 5:30 p.m. Flease contact (765) 778-3778 ext.#
2124, during the hours of 8:00a.m. {o 4:00p.m. to schedule an appointment. On arrival contact Main
Control and advise them you are here to participate in Parent Grientation. Picture ID is required.
Enclosed with this letter is a copy of the Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility Visitation Schedule.
Please visit whenever possible.

Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA)

‘The Division of Youth Services of the Indiana Department of Corrections is committed to providing a safe
and secure environment in which students can work on their individual needs and issues and successfully
return. to their comnwunity. The Division of Youth Services adheres to a zero tolerance policy for any and
all sexual activity at all facilities within the Division. To suppart this commitment the Division of Youth
Services has implemented several reporting methods for students and families in case of a sexual incident:

e The Division of Youth Services has placed at every facility a student reporting system call the
“Pound 22 System”. A student can pick up any unit phone and dial # 22 and report sexual abuse
or misconduct. All reports are taken seriously and investigated thoroughly.  Students are
encowraged to use this system to report sexual abuse issues or any issues or concerns they may
have,

¢  All Division of Youth Services Staff receive PREA. training and are ready to respond to any and
all reports of sexual misconduct or abuse. All staff members are trained to respond immediately
and report all incidents of sexual abuse or misconduct. Students reporting sexual abuse or
misconduct will be free of any staff reprisals and will not have the report affect them negatively in
any way.

o The Division of Youth Services has a grievance system af each facility. Students who do not feel
comfortable using #22 or teliing staff can use a grievance to identify sexual misconduct or abuse
and submit the grievance into a confidential and secure location within the facility. All submitted
grievances will be taken seriously and fully investigated.

L]

Students who do not teel comfortable talking to staff or using the other reporting methods to report sexual
abuse or misconduct can tell their family or community caseworker who can then forward the information
to the Division of Youth Services for follow up. The Division of Youth Services takes all reports from
outside agencies or entities very sericusly and will investigate the claims thoroughly.



Regular mail correspondence is also encouraged, especially if vou are unable fo visit on a regular basis
after completing the Parent Orientation session. It is important that your son receives letters of support and
encouragement from family and friends. Also included in this packet is information regarding the
Pendleton Juvenile Correctional Facility Mail, Money, Telephone, Contraband and Trafficking information
and Personal Property Policies for your reference.

PENDLETON JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Visitation is an important component in the treatment efforts directed to students at Pendieton Juvenile
Correctional Facility, All appropriate and approved family members are encouraged to visit whenever
possible. We offer a Parent Orientation that 1s required before any visits take place. The parent or legal
guardian must attend this orientation before ANY wvisits take place. Parent Orientations are held on the
following days and times:

Beginning Saturday, February 4, 2006 every other Saturday starting at 8:30 A M.

and beginning G2-13-006 every other Monday at 5:30 p.m.

Once your son 15 assigned to his regular Housing Unit, additional persons may be allowed to visit. This
includes stepparent(s), sibling(s) and or stepsiblings living in the household. Parent/guardian’s live-in
relationship {if they have lived together at least one (1) year) may be approved. Aunts and Uncles over the
age of 21 may also be approved. Spouses of the students are allowed to visit, Children of the students are
allowed to visit if the birth certificate identifies the student as the father. Enclosed in this packet is State
Form #14387, “Application For Visiting Privileges”. This form must be completed and returned,
prior to the Parent Orientation Visit. Any individual not on the student’s approved visitor’s list will not
be ailowed to remain on the facility grounds during the visiting period. It will be the responsibility of the
authorized visitor to arrange for such individuals to leave the grounds and return at the conclusion of the
visit. If these arrangements cannot be made, visitation will not be allowed and it will be necessary for all
individuals to leave the facility grounds.

Students may receive one (1} visit per week on one of the designated visiting days.

Student visitation is once every seven days. If a student has a visit on Tuesday his next eligible visit
will be the fellowing Tuesday. The visiting days and times are as follows: (Note: visitors should call
zhead of time to confirm that student is allowed & visit.)

Sunday Morning: Odd Number Units (8:30a.m. to 11:00a.m.)
Sunday Afternoon: Even Numbered Units (1:00p.m. to 3:15p.m.)
Sunday Evening: Odd Numbered Units (6:30p.m. to 8:00 p.m.)
Monday Evenings: Even Numbered Units (6:30p.m. o 8:00 p.m.)
Tuesday Evenings: Odd Numbered Units (6:30p.m. to 8:00p.m.)
Thursday Evenings: Even Numbered Uniis {6:30p.m. to 8:00p.m.)
Friday Evenings: Odd Numbered Units (6:30p.m. to 8:00p.m.)
Saturday Morning: Even Numbered Units (8:30a.m. to 11:00a.m.}
Saturday Afternoon: Odd Numbered Units (1:060p.m. to 3:15p.m.)

Saturday Evening: Even Numbered Units (6:30p.m. to 8:00p.m.)
{Exception for parent orientation participants)

#% EXTRA VISITS THAT DO NOT COUNT FOR THE ONE VISIT A WEEK ARE AS

FOLLOWS:(Last Tues of Each Month)
Jan, 26, 2010 —Feb. 23, 2016 - Mar.30, 2010 - Apr. 27, 2010 — May 25, 2010 - June 29, 2010 ~ July 27,2010 -~ Aug. 31, 2010 -
Sept. 28, 2610 - Oct. 26, 2010 — Nov. 30, 2010 — Dec.28, 2010. Odd or Even Numbered Units (8:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. or 1:00 p.m.
0 3:15 p.m.}




HOLIDAYS: Visitation time is 8:30 a.m. to 11:00 or 1:00 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.
New Year's Day — Friday — Jan. 1, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday — Jan. 18, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Good Friday — Friday — April 2, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Primary Election Day — Tuesday —~ May 4, 2016 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Memorial Day - Monday— May 31, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Independence Day - Sunday/Monday — July 4, 5, 2010  Odd or Even Numbered Units
Labor Day — Monday, Sept, 6, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Columbus Day - Monday — Oct. 11, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Uniis
General Election Day — Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2010 Qdd or Even Numbered Units
Veteran’s Day — Thursday - Nov. 11, 2018 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Thanksgiving Day — Thursday — Nov. 25, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Lincoln’s Birthday — Friday — Nov. 27, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units
Washington’s Birthday — Thursday/Friday — Dec. 23/24, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Uniis
Christmas Day ~Friday/Saturday — Dec. 24725, 2010 Odd or Even Numbered Units

All visits are one (1) hour in length. Additional time may be granted to those traveling over one hundred
{100) miles, dependent on room availability.

All visits will conclude at the designated time regardless of the time of arrival at the facility by the
visitor(s). Visits may be terminated prior to the designated times to accommodate more visitors, should this
situation arise.

The maximum number of individuals allowed to visit at one session is four. Children under the age of
12 months will not be counted as one of the four approved visitors, and only two (2) children under the age
of tweive months will be permitted per visit. A parent or legal guardian must accompany visitors under
the age of 18,

All visitors sixteen (16) or over will be required to produce a state issued picture identification before entry
to the visiting area. Exceptions may only be granted by the Superintendent/designee. Visitors under the age
of eighteen (18) must be accompanied by parent or guardian at all times while on PNJCF grounds. This
procedure does not apply to a stndent’s spouse whoe is under the age of eighteen (18} years. Based upon a
request from the student, the Superintendent may grant an exception to this requirement. In cases where a
parent or guardian cannot accompany a minor child, the Superintendent or designee may approve another
responsibie adult to accompany the child during the visit. In these cases, the accompanying adult must be
on the student’s approved visitor’s list. Also, the minor child’s parent or legal guardian must sign and have
notarized State Form 48965, “AUTHORIZATION FOR MINQR CHILD TO VISIT”, prior to the minor
child being able to visit. This form is included with this information packet.

Upon arrival at the facility, please park in the designated area. You will then report to the
Administration Building. A staff member wili ask you: “Do you have in your possession any firearms,
weapons, knives, ammunition, narcofics, medication, controfled substances, alcohol beverages, marijuana,
tobacco or tobacco related items, money/currency, cameras, video or audio recording equipment or
electronic devices?”



if the visitor responds negatively and no contraband or prohibited property is found in the search process,
eniry into the visiting room may be allowed. If the visitor responds affirmatively or contraband or
prohibited property is found during the search process, staff shall advise the visitor that he/she will not be
allowed into the visiting room.

If the visitor is in possession of prohibited property, the staff person shall advise the visitor what action
{(method of disposal of the prohibited property, such as patting in vehicle or a locker if available) may be
taken so that the visit may proceed. If the property is contraband, the staff person shall notify his/her
Supervisor immediately for instructions regarding how to proceed and whether law enforcement will be
notified. Staff shall foilow the facility’s procedures for entry into the facility.

Additionally, all visitors shall be asked, “Are you or have vou ever been an employee of the Department of
Correction?” 1If the visitor answers affirmatively, facility staff shall determine whether the visitor has
received the necessary approval as indicated in Procedure V1. If the visitor has not received the necessary
approval, staff shall advise the visitor of the proper request procedures and deny entry until approval is
obtained. If it is determined that the visitor has not been truthful, the Facility Head shall be notifled. The
Facility Head shali submit a written report to the appropriate Regional Directer or TDeputy
Commissioner/luvenile Services. All facilities shall be notified that the individual shall not be permitted
entry into any department facilitv. The visitor shall have the right to appeal the decision to the
Commissioner or designee. You will then sign in on the Visitor’s Log and be escorted to the visiting area.

You are required to show one state issued picture identification, and may have up to twenty (20)
dollars in coins per visiting family, Change will be in a small clear container (i.e. Ziploc baggie). If you
have infants or toddlers, you may bring one baby bottle, one small toy and two diapers into the visiting
area. No car or carry seat will be allowed in the visiting room. No food or drink will be allowed into the
visiting area from outside the facility. Vending machines will be available in the visiting area, and you will
use them at your own risk. No refunds will be given. If candy, snacks or pop is bought from the vending
machines, those items are to be consumed in the visiting room and cannot be taken with the visitor upon
leaving.

Physical contact is limited to ap embrace and/or kiss at the beginning of the visit and an embrace
and/or ldss at the conclusion of the visit. The student is to remain in their seat until their visitors have
exited the visiting area and are secured beyond the sally port.

The facility does conduct random searches for contraband. If reasonable grounds exist, visitors may be
asked to submit to a personal search. This includes small children {diapers may be searched), visitors in
wheelchairs, and visitors with a medical appliance.

If you choose not to be searched, you will not be allowed to visit and you will be asked to leave the facility.

Additional conditions for visitation are as follows:

s Visits will not be split between visitors. Once a visit starts, no one else will be permitted to
enter the visit,

e  Visitors will enter the visiting areas at their own risk. The Department of Correction shall
assume no responsibility for any injury,

= Visitors will not be permitted to re-enter the visiting area once they leave.

e Visitors will visit only the designated student.

e  Visitors will wear clothing that reflects accountable standards, 1.e. no bikini or halter tops,
crop tops; no “hot pants”™, “no-shorts”, mini-skirts, no shirts with offensive or gang related
symbols, no bandanas or “do rags”; shoes and shirts are required. No jewelry is to be worn
except wedding band or set. The Superintendent or Shift Supervisor will have final authority
in decisions regarding acceptable dress.

e Visitors will supervise smali children at ail times.

e Visitors will remember that smoking or possession of tobacco products is prohibited in all
buildings and on the grounds.

e Any person who is suspected of being under the influence of drugs or alcohol will be denied
enfry into the facility and will be required to leave the grounds.



VIOLATION OF THESE CONDITIONS FOR VISITATION COULD RESULT IN THE DENIAL
OR TERMINATION OF A VISIT.

Shounld your sen’s behavier deteriorate to the point where segregation is required, visitationm
privileges may be lost or suspended. We suggest vou call the facility and speak to the Lieutenant on
duty to check your son’s status prior to visiting, especially if you are traveling a long distance.

Visttors enter the facility and visiting area at their own risk and the department shall assume no
responsibility for any injury or damage to property. Your cooperation during visiting will be appreciated.

CONTRABAND, TRAFFICKING, MalL, MONEY, PERSONAL ITEMS AND PHONE CALL
POLICIES

CONTRABAND AND TRAFFICKING

Contraband is defined as any item in the student’s possession ot brought on facility grounds without staff
knowledge or approval. All contraband will be confiscated pending an investigation. All items determined
to be contraband will be disposed of in accordance with Department of Correction policy. Examples of
contraband include, but are not limited 1o, the following:

Fire producing materials, i.e., matches, lighters, cigarettes, etc.

Any type of weapon, blade, scissors, needles or glass items;

Book bags;

Any tools or keys;

Drugs (prescribed, illegal or over the counter), paraphernalia, any substance containing

alcohol or derivatives;

Ay jewelry other than an approved watch or item specifically authorized by the

Superintendent. This includes aill body jewelry;

Money;

Aerosol containers;

Credit cards or other non-approved negotiable instruments;

0. Any gum, candy or food item in your possession other than during approved meal and

snack times. Food items are not allowed in rooms at any time;

il Printed/written materials or illustrations referring to drugs, alcohol, sex, obscene
language, violence, racism, or which contain gang or satanic symbols. Any items
considered to be offensive are also prohibited.

12 CI>’s, cassettes, records or 8-track tapes.

13. Any item which could be used in an offensive, self-destructive or otherwise harmful

manner.
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TRAFFICKING

Traflicking with an incarcerated offender is strictly prohibited. It is a violation of state law {1C35-44-3-9) to
knowingly or intentionally, without the prior authorization of the Facility Head (Superintendent) to:

1. Deliver, or carry into the penal facility with the intent to deliver to an offender
of the facility any article into a facility, or
2. Carry, or receive, with the intent to carry out of the facility

any article from an offender of the facility.

Trafficking is a Class A Misdemeanor; however, if is a Class C Felony if the article is a
controlled substance or deadly weapon, Additionally, itisa

Class C Infraction for a person to furnish an alcoholic beverage o a person confined in a
correctional facility, unless the alcoliolic beverage is prescribed by a physician or is
distributed as a sacramental wine for a religious purpose by a minister, priest or rabbi.



MAIL

Smdents will have a limited amount of paper supplied for their use by the facility. They will also be
allowed to purchase stamps and envelops from Commissary. NO CASH IS TO BE SENT through the mail
- only money orders will be accepted through the mail from anyone on the student’s approved visitors list.
Money orders are to be made out to the student, and will be deposited into his trust fund account. If money
order received is not from a person en student’s visitor list then the money order will be returned to the
sender,

All books, magazines etc. must be shipped through the mail from the publisher. The facility has the right to
confiscate any inappropriatc materials,

MONEY

Students will receive .50 cents per day for attending school, cleaning their rooms and living areas and for
participation in their treatment groups. This money will be placed into their Trust Account and any monies
received via money order will be deposited into this account as long as the person sending the money order
1s on the student’s visitor list. No personal checks or cash will be accepted. Students will have opportunities
to purchase personal hygiene items through the facility commissary, after they are assigned to their
permanent housing. Any monies deposited into their Trust Accounts can be used to purchase these items.

PERSONAL ITEMS

Personal items will be limited. The facility will provide the students with underwear, socks, uniform pants,
shirts, coat and jacket/sweatshint (seasonal). They will also be provided with the following personal
hygiene items, 1f they are deemed indigent:

Shampoo, conditioner, bar soap, toothpaste and toothbrush.

They will be allowed to purchase a wide variety of hygiene and some personal items from Commissary.
Tennis shoes are on the Commissary List for your son to order,
Tennis shoes available on Commissary are as listed:
s New Balance priced at $54.32
TELEPHONE CALLS

Your son will be allowed one phone call per week during the Arrival and Orientation phase. This will be a
15-minute coliect call made to the parent / guardian approved by the Psychiatric Social Services Specialist.
If you have a block on your phone, you are encouraged to remove it to allow your son an opportunity to
contact you. Use of call waiting and three way calling services will result in termination of the phone cal}
as well as jeopardize future calling privileges. Students are not allowed to use staff phones for

calls. Parents, guardians, relatives or friends are not allowed to call the facility to speak to the students.

Once your son has been assigned to his regular housing unit, he wili be allowed to place up o four (4)
fifteen (i3) mimute calis per month. Additional phone calls may be considered in the event your son’s
Psychiatric Social Services Specialist or Team Member identifies a special need.

Pendleton juvenile Correctional Facility has established a student calling system with a company that
requires students fo have a personal identification number (PIN) in order to

place telephone calls, They will be advised of the rules governing proper use of the student calling system.
Violation of these rules will be grounds for a loss of telephone privileges and/or disciplinary action to the
student. Phone calls may be monitored and recorded at any time.

Students may designate up to ten (10) telephone mumbers that they wish to call. This list will be subject to
the approval of the Psychiatric Social Services Specialist/Treatment Team. Names approved wili be in the



best interest of the student and of the safety and security of the facility, and may be limited to family
merbers. Any decision to deny a telephone number will be documented in writing to both the student and
t0 the person in whose name the telephone is listed,

The student may file a grievance regarding any denial in accordance with Policy (0-02-301, “The Offender
Grievance Process”. Also, the person whose telephone number was to be placed on the student’s telephone
list may appeal to the Commussioner or designee.

The cost of each phone call is established by AT&T for local and local-long distance calls and Secureus for
long distance calls. The rates for these calls are as follows:

Secureus Long Distance only:
Local-long distance: .25 a minute w/no sur-charge
Cut-of-state long-distance: $1.75 to connect the call, and $.25 for each minute
thereafter.

Note: If your family are not outside the local calling area they will not qualify for the CALLED PARTY
PREPAID.

AT&T Local and Local-Long Distance:
32.55 to connect the call and $.30 for each minute thereafter,
All calls going out to the Anderson and Pendleton area cost a $2.95 Flat rate.
Your son’s Psychiatric Social Services Specialist or the Shift Supervisor will receive any incoming
emergency telephone calls, These staff will determine the name and telephone number of the calling party
and the exact nature of the emergency, and they will advise your son of the emergency as soon as possible.

If it 1s determined appropriate, your son may be given permission to place a retumn telephone call. These
telephone calls will not count against your son’s regular four {4) phone calls.

in the event that your son becomes aware of a need to place an emergency telephone call, he may make a
request to his Psychiatric Social Services Specialist or the Shift Supervisor. These staff will determine the

immediacy of the request and will approve or deny the request. This type of call will not count as one of the
four (4) regular calls.

We look forward to your son’s eventual release and we will make every effort to return him with the skills
necessary to ensure his success in the home and the community. Your assistance in this process is
extremely important and greatly appreciated.

Should you have questions about this information, please contact your son’s counselor,

Thank you.

R-4/6/10



Introducing
PREPAID CALLING
Now at Pendleton Juvenile Facility

Your friends and family have a new way to hear from you
and save money™ fool
e Save the $1.50 connect charge, and pay just $0.25 per minute plus tax

Prepaid calling is available sutside of the regional calling area
of this facility.

Here's how it works:

Step i
Tell your family and friends to call 1-888-882-2325 Monday through

Friday between 7:00 AM and 8:00 PM Central Time to open a prepaid
account. _

Your party will need to provide the call center representative with
your DOC Number and your Bed Number,

Prepaid calling is alse available for international called porties. Please have your

friends or :
family members caoll 972-241-1535 and ask to speak with a Prepaid Billing

Representative
for details.

Step 2
Your family or friend sends payment to SECUREUS, Inc. by Western

Union, cashiers check, money order, personal check or credit card.
Accounts must be opened with at least $20.00.

Step 3 -
After a prepaid account is established for your friend or family

member, you will receive the authorization code and digling
instructions in the mail.

PLEASE NOTE:

Time limits, phone number restrictions, and monitoring will be the same for prepaid
calls as for regulor coliect calls.




AdvanceConnectis 4 traditional prepaid; ea af-co nindunication

for friends and family members of inmates.’ . 'ési-a.bl-ishéné__; 4 prepaid
Advance Connect account, you do not have lo warry about calls .being blocked
by your local carrier,

AdvanceConnect alfows you to establish a prepaid collect account directly with
Correctional Bifling Services. Onc e established, you can then prepay using the
USPS, the CBS E-pay aption (check or credit card} , or at nationwide electron-
ic payment locations such as Western Usion, for the callect calls you receive

on your cell phone,

To open an AdvanceConnect account today call: 800.844.6591.
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