- Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST
  • widget1
  • widget2

Indiana Department of Environmental Management


Chapter 5: Table of Contents

Return to the Index

Chapter 5 - Section III: Environmental Boards

After Indiana’s legislature enacts an environmental bill and the Governor signs it into law, it falls to the state’s environmental boards to adopt environmental rules to carry out the law. Indiana has five environmental boards that specialize in a specific part of environmental protection:

Membership on APCB, WPCB, RMDB, and SWMB are similar. Three representatives from other agencies sit on each board: the Lieutenant Governor, the Commissioner of the State Department of Health, and the Director of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. Each member can choose to send a representative in their place. The boards also have eight citizen members appointed by the Governor to represent various interests including: manufacturing, industry, agriculture, small business, local government, environmental groups, a medical doctor, and a member of the general public.

The SWMB has two additional members: a solid waste management industry representative and a solid waste management district member.

The UST FAB has a different structure than the other four boards. Four representatives from other agencies sit on the board: the Commissioner of IDEM, the State Fire Marshal, the State Treasurer, and the Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Revenue. Twelve other members represent various interests and are appointed by the Governor.