IN.gov - Skip Navigation

Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.

Amber Alert
Amber Alert - TEST

Indiana Department of Environmental Management

IDEM > Compliance > Land Compliance > Hazardous Waste > Hazardous Waste: ID Numbers, Reporting, Fees, and Manifests > Hazardous Waste Fees Hazardous Waste Fees

Annual Operation Fees

Overview

The Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) must assess Hazardous Waste Annual Operation Fees by January 15 of each year for Large Quantity Generators and Treatment, Storage, and Disposal facilities.

Regulatory Citation

INDIANA CODE 13-22-12
329 IAC 3.1-1-14.1

Who Owes the Annual Operation Fees?

The annual operation fee applies to any handler that acted as a large quantity generator (LQG) in any month during the year prior to the billing year. They also apply to facilities that are operating under a permit, have interim status, or otherwise manage hazardous waste subject to regulation under 329 IAC 3.1-1-14.1, as of January 1 of the billing year.

What Are the Fee Categories?

The annual operation fee categories and fee amounts are as follows:

  • Land Disposal: $37,500
  • Incinerator (Per Unit): $10,000
  • Storage: $2,500
  • Treatment: $10,000
  • Generator: $1,565
  • Post Closure Activity: $1,500
  • Groundwater Compliance Sampling At Active Facilities (Per Well): $1,000

What Is Post Closure Activity?

You are subject to the post closure activity fee if your facility has permanently discontinued accepting waste for disposal or is subject to a post closure care plan as of January 1 of the billing year.

What Is Groundwater Compliance Sampling?

You are subject to the groundwater compliance sampling fee if you are operating a land disposal facility with a Part B permit. This fee is assessed on a per well basis (each well in a cluster is counted separately) and only includes those wells required by the Part B permit or by rules that were in existence on January 1 of the billing year.

How Are Fees Assessed?

The annual operation fees for your facility have been assessed by IDEM staff based upon your permit or other available information. A facility that is described in more than one annual operation fee category must pay the applicable fee for each category. Large Quantity Generators owe a fee each year for activities of the previous year. Annual operation fees are assessed from TSDs that are operating as of January 1 of the billing year. If you disagree with this assessment, please submit the fee assessed to you by IDEM and a written explanation of your disagreement to the remit to address on the invoice. A reimbursement will be issued if IDEM's assessment was in error. A semi-annual or quarterly installment plan can be granted if requested in writing by January 31. The request must be written with an explanation and addressed to the attention of the cashier’s office at the remit to address on the invoice. Late fees of 10% are assessed for late payments and for late installment payments.

Where Do I Send the Payment?

Make check or money order payable to the Indiana Department of Environmental Management. Please send your payment/check and a copy of the invoice to the address indicated on the invoice.

When Is the Payment Due?

Your payment must be postmarked by February 15. NOTE: if the fee is not remitted 30 days after the installment is due, or within 60 days after the date the fees are assessed, a delinquency charge equal to 10% of the fee will be assessed, and you may be liable for a civil penalty of up to $25,000 per day. Further delinquency may result in revocation of a permit.

Disposal Fees

A fee is imposed on the disposal of hazardous waste in Indiana. The operator of the disposal facility is liable for this fee. Statutory provisions governing this fee are cited in IC 13-22-12-3.5. The fees are due quarterly: April 20, July 20, October 20 and January 20.

The Hazardous Waste Fee form is available on the IDEM Forms page.

Whom Do I Contact If I Have Questions?

If you have any questions regarding your fees, you may contact:

  • Phone: (317) 233-0066
  • FAX: (317) 234-0428
  • E-mail: olqregulatoryreporting at idem.IN.gov