About Us : 

Board Members

The Indiana Charter School Board has a seven-member Board appointed in the following manner: two members, who may not be from the same political party, are appointed by the Governor; one member, who has previous experience with or on behalf of charter schools, is appointed by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction; and four additional members, who may not be legislators, appointed as follows: (a) one member appointed by the president pro tempore of the senate; (b) one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate; (c) one member appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; and (d) one member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives. 

Board members, who are appointed to serve four-year terms, are ultimately responsible for the ICSB’s authorizing activities, including decisions to grant, renew and/or revoke a charter.

Maureen Weber, Chair

Vice President of Customer Experience, IU Health

Ms. Weber currently oversees the development and implementation of solutions to create a consistent, best-in-class customer experience for patients at IU Health, Indiana’s most comprehensive healthcare system. Prior to her work at IU Health, she served as the Chief Operating Officer for the Indiana Department of Education. Ms. Weber has held additional public offices as the Deputy Commissioner for the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles and Deputy Commissioner for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development. Prior to her work in the public sector, she was an associate at Barnes & Thornburg, LLP. Ms. Weber was appointed to the Indiana Charter School Board by Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Tony Bennett.

Virginia Calvin, Ed.D.

Former Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College-North Central

Dr. Virginia Calvin has served the community as an educator and community leader for over 30 years. In 1993 she was named superintendent of the South Bend Community School Corporation – the first woman and the first African American to hold that position. While serving as superintendent, Dr. Calvin moved the corporation out of a deficit, initiated various programs for at-risk students and increased school campus security. In 2000, Dr. Calvin became chancellor of Ivy Tech Community College-North Central which has campuses in South Bend, Elkhart and Warsaw. As chancellor, she helped expand the college’s mission from a career/technical institution to a full-service community college. Calvin’s region was the first to offer the associate of arts degree which benefited students who wanted to complete the first two years of a bachelor’s degree at Ivy Tech and then transfer to a four-year institution. She was appointed to the Indiana Charter School Board by House Minority Leader B. Patrick Bauer.

Lawrence DeMoss

High School Teacher, Edgewood High School

A graduate of Hamilton Heights High School and Indiana University, Mr. DeMoss has been teaching English at Edgewood High School for more than 25 years. He has been actively involved in school improvement and served on the Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation's Strategic Planning Team in the early '90s. He is interested in improving students' engagement in their own education, especially through involvement with the school community. Mr. DeMoss was named Monroe County Educator of the Year in 2004, and competed in the first ever Jeopardy! Teachers Tournament, where he made the finals. He was appointed to the ICSB by Senator Vi Simpson.

Jamie Garwood

Director of Programming and Development, Fort Wayne Urban League

Ms. Garwood previously managed the Fort Wayne Urban League’s efforts to close income and education gaps and was responsible for staff training, fund development, community relations and program development. Prior to joining the Urban League, she served as the Director of Education Initiatives for United Way of Allen County where she launched a community effort to close the 3rd grade reading gap and the "Real Men Read" project. Her primary duties included community education and advocacy as well as evaluating education and poverty data. She has served as adjunct faculty at several universities and colleges teaching courses in sociology and early childhood education. Ms. Garwood was recently hired as a Data Coach for Timothy L. Johnson Academy, a charter school authorized by Trine University. She serves on several boards and committees, including the 21st Century Scholars State Advisory Board and chairs the Allen County College Success Coalition. She was appointed to the ICSB by Senate President Pro Tempore David Long.

David Kogan

Director of Business Development, Belden, Inc.

Mr. Kogan currently serves as the Chief Operating Officer at Heartland Food Products Group. Prior to Heartland, Mr. Kogan served as the Director of Business Development at Belden, Inc., where he managed Mergers & Acquisitions and Strategic Planning. Prior to his role at Belden, he has been responsible for the general management of several companies, including Home Products International, Oscar Winski, CMW Inc., and ASAP Automation. Due to his expertise in finance, operations, and business development, he has also overseen the successful turnaround of many of these companies. Recently, Mr. Kogan served as Board Member and Chair of the Finance Committee for KIPP Indianapolis College Preparatory, a charter school authorized by the Mayor of Indianapolis. He began his career as an Arvin Scholar at Arvin Industries, and holds an MBA from Harvard Business School. He was appointed to the ICSB by Governor Mitch Daniels.

M. Karega Rausch

Research Associate, Equity Project at CEEP

Mr. Rausch is currently a Research Associate at the Equity Project at Indiana University in the Center for Evaluation & Education Policy. Formerly, he oversaw Indianapolis operations at Stand for Children.  Prior to joining Stand, he served as the education director on the senior staff of two Indianapolis Mayors – Mayor Bart Peterson and Mayor Greg Ballard. He was responsible for executing each Mayor’s education initiatives, particularly the development, oversight, quality expansion, and enhancement of the Mayor-sponsored charter schools initiative. Mr. Rausch has authored or co-authored more than 20 professional publications on special education and school discipline systems reform, serves on a number of national and local boards, and has taught as a high school social studies teacher. He was appointed to the Indiana Charter School Board by House Speaker Brian Bosma.

William Shrewsberry

President and CEO, Shrewsberry & Associates, LLC

Mr. Shrewsberry, is President and CEO of the engineering and environmental consulting firm Shrewsberry & Associates. He previously held several public positions, including Deputy Mayor of the City of Indianapolis, Executive Director of the White River State Park, Commissioner of Indiana Department of Administration and Executive Assistant to the Governor. In the private sector, he had 27 years of management experience at Indiana Bell/Ameritech. His current service to the community includes Hanover College Board of Trustees, Methodist Health Foundation and The Mind Trust Board. He also previously served on the Mayor’s Office Charter School Advisory Council. Mr. Shrewsberry graduated from Indiana University and received his M.S. in Business Management from Indiana Wesleyan University. He was appointed to the ICSB by Governor Mitch Daniels.